ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2009 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 4 of 15 on this page (11 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by HannahBalLecter after attending on Saturday, November 7, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

First of all, i was glad that the lines were small, but that may have been due to the fact that it was the last day of the season. However, they way they split us up into groups was sort of weird... The entrance to the house was a little lacking, i felt that they could have done more with that, since it is your first impression of the house. The next rooms were pretty good though. I liked all the narrow dark hallways and things that "jumped out"... especially the wall of spikes. That one confused me, but in a good way The scenes were good, but maybe not well thought out, but i do give them kudos for the hiding spots they had.... and they would have one thing to distract you while something else would come at you from another angle. The actors, however, could have been better They didn't interact much with us or with each other or their rooms... all they did was run out, thrash around a bit, hit stuff, and disappear. In fact, i didn't even hear any of them say a single word, they just grunted and growled. I expected more from them. The other problem i had was the size. They had a lot of space that seemed wasted. They also claim to be the "largest single haunted house" in the state, but they don't use it and i also doubt that claim because it only took us 15 minutes to get through, and we went so slow that the group behind us caught up! For costing $15, I was expecting a better show. Also, the outside isn't well done like other houses are... they had only one sign that was very hard to read, and no music while you waited... the only music was in the house. Splatter Haus definatley could have been better.

Summary

Not the best house by far, but it was mildly entertaining. Maybe in the top 10 in the state, I guess. It definatley didn't live up to the hype and it cost way too much considering the mediocre quality... not proffessional by any means, so i'm just goning to call it "ok."

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by bigefan after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first trip to this haunt which is a shame as I have lived in the area for about 7 years and havent attended until now. My take on it was amazement. I have been boasting about this experience for over a week now and really cant wait to go again next year. I thought right from the start it was a combination of fun and scary. You moved through each area with scares and time to appreciate the detail that went into each themed room. The clowns were awesome and my 9 year old boy will never forget that little dude that looked like chucky. There were some times where people seemingly came out of nowhere which is a trick when I'm really trying to anticipate the next suprise. After attending some of the other haunts in the area you get a real appreciation for how well they transitioned you from one room to the next as well. The charectors, scenery and themes were really great.

Summary

I highly recommend this haunt. If you have never been to one, this is a great one to start with. If your a seasoned pro at this, you will really appreciate how much professional effort was put into seemingly every detail.

Scary....high

Fun...very high!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by bigefan after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

First off, for a handfull of kids and preeteen girls this was probably an ok haunt. For anyone else.....there were some suprises but for the most part you could see everything coming from a mile away....swamp thing????? My son...(9 years old) thought it was pretty cool but this was only his second one. The property is really great, the house, barn and woods all have great potential and it appears there are some dedicated people who can really put this haunt over the top with a little more work. Here are my suggestions;

1. Get some scary charectors greeeting people coming and going through the wooded area on their way in and out of the park. I could see someone like Mike Myers or Jason coming out by your car as you drive in or out of the park.

2. Get a lot better at transitioning people from one area to the next. The scenes were pretty decent but all too often we stood around wondering if we were supposed to move on to the next room or not. The guys in the kitchen were great but they wondering how to move us along too.

3. Lose the air bag things...not scary...annoying.

4. The mechanical things are ok for a startle but they stayed out long enough for you to get a long look at them and realize how fake and lame they were.

5. Do something with the staging area. Once you leave the barn and end up in the tent, you almost lose the mood as it isnt in theme anymore.

Summary

Ok haunt with great potential.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by drscarys after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Was pretty scary. Lot of variety

Summary

Worth the trip, worth the money, I'll come back

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by Jrmass after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I loved the bench that tips back in the first room. That was pretty much the highlight of this haunted house. Some of the actors were good and but most were pretty poor. I liked that the building has been proven to have unexplained paranormal activity in it and I liked being told the history of this old orphanage before entering the house.

Summary

Has potenial to be great, but needs work.

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Jrmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I wasn't very impressed by this place. I thought that some of the young actors where poor and I heard a few of them talking to each other and not acting. I also didn't like the pole dancer. There was NOTHING scary about her. In fact I thought it was out of place. It would have been better if the dancer turned around and was goulish or something. Also, the guy that pretended to get electrocuted...that just wasn't cool.

Summary

Not impressed

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by Jrmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Splatter Haus has some good rooms. I loved the guy in the pig mask and the giant "Hell Raiser" guy. Very cool! I would say that the music was way too loud though. I could barely hear myself scream! I would have also liked some spooks in those dark hallways. It was just pitch black.

Summary

Great spooky place to check out, but maybe bring your earplugs.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Jrmass after attending on Thursday, October 8, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was so much fun going through the Haunted Mansion! You can tell that a lot of hard work was put into that place. It had some great rooms. I would say the vortex is my favorite! I loved the huge creepy monster walking around outside. He was awesome!

Summary

Great place to see....well worth it!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by Howlinghour after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

I was not at all impressed with this thing. A bunch of young kids screaming in oyur face is not amusing. Lots of wasted space. Being an Onalaska Jaycee, we know what to do, and where to do it. I wish we could have the rooms they do. Lots of advertising for a not scary event. In my opinion the way they have people wait with numbers is very time consuming. But they tried.

Summary

Come see ours!

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by toneym after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I've helped set up and worked the Haunted Mansion the past couple of years but this is the first opportunity I've taken to join the crowds and be scared. And I was not disappointed. The actors throughout the four attractions played their parts to a T. I don't normally get scared easily but more times than I care to admit I was from the dark path through the graveyard followed by the corn maze and Roadkill Cafe. The chilly and windy night just added to the creepiness of the outdoors attractions. But the Mansion itself was the best. Got lost a couple of times but got scared straight by some of the best freaks and ghouls. The crazy assortment of rooms of rooms was unbelieveable and the vortex at the end almost made me lose lunch.

Summary

A great, frieghtful experience. Can't to see and experience what the organizers dream up for next year. A must see in Door County in October!!!!!!!!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by Excalibur7021 after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I enjoyed every moment of it. The actors were very talented and my family also had a lot of fun. I would definitely return and I would recommend it to anyone. AWESOME!!!!!!

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by iron eagle after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

splatter haus is by far the BEST haunt ever! most other haunts have props from stores and dont customize them, but splatter haus made it look like their props were PROFESSIONALLY made just for them! 5 people were in my group and we all had fun! the spiked wall REALLY scared us as well as that PIG!! loved it when the actors came out, the strobe lights flicked on and made things ever FREAKIER!!

Summary

the best place to go if u want to be scared, the $15 charge seems wack but its sooo worth it! the haunt is long and the waiting time is short!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by iron eagle after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place was awesome!! i went with 7 other people and we all had a blast! didnt really like waiting in a line but it was worth it!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by Boo2U2 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I think that this haunted house deserved better reviews than it got. I've been to seven haunted trails/houses total and this is one of my top three. Definitely was worth going to. Only thing I would say was bad was being one of the last groups to go through the group before the room full of bins was completely not ready to scare us. Some actually had cell phones out and we had to close our eyes and wait for them to set up. Otherwise though, it was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the slide the most but also the pitch dark sections and the school bus (I got a hug from one of the actors on the bus even, lol).

Summary

Worth the money. I liked it a lot. Good group and not a bad wait at all. You should definitely go next year if you didn't have the chance this year.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Boo2U2 after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

OVERRATED. I was so excited to go to this house because I had heard great reviews. I drove an hour and a half to come to it I was very disappointed when it took me maybe 15 minutes to get through. They did however have some very good and very unique points. Ronald McDonald was an awesome actor. The slide was unique and so was the light affect in the room right after. There was a young child in the room with the green light (and thriller) who did a good job coming up and touching us, but everyone else in the room just kind of stood there. It would have been scary if they had approached us. The girl pole dancing was too random but I did jump in that room. The spinning vortex was awesome! The room with the mannequins was bizarre and inappropriate. The area where the guy got shocked and then the other was screaming "this isn't a part of the act", that, well, that just wasn't cool. I'm not sure the affect they were wanting from that. And the scene from Grease was ok. Chainsaws are cliche, but classic and they work.

Summary

Not worth the drive or the thirteen dollars, but there were some parts that were very unique.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:55 a.m. CST 1.5.1