ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by willyscream165 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

wow it was very good! we went last year and its just as good! some parts are cool but not that scary but the awesome ones make up for it! we had a great time!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mklady after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was awesome. The actors did a great job. Special effects were way cool. Loved the room with all the zombies coming at you. We even did a little dance with them before we went to the next room. We will be back again next year.

Summary

First time there and we will be making it an annual stop. All I can say is awesome. See you next year.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by BlackDazey after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After being slightly disappointed at Wisconsin Feargrounds, we decided to go here at the suggestion of one of our group members. I have to say, this place did a MUCH better job and creeping me out and getting a couple screams out of me. It takes a LOT to scare me, and they did a good job of it a couple times. The costumes and atmosphere were really well done, especially with all the burning fires around every corner.

Summary

After a short hearse ride into the woods, you wander through worn down shacks full of zombies, clowns, blood, gore, and even Santa. Men with chainsaws jump out around every dark corner.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by BlackDazey after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Although all three houses at the Wisconsin Feargrounds offered something interesting and different, I honestly expected more scares. The makeup was well done and the houses were well put together, but it takes quite a bit to scare me and this place didn't really accomplish that. They relied heavily on gross out humor and acting to scare you, which didn't quite cut it. Don't get me wrong, it was fun, but I spent more time laughing then screaming. The second house is definitely not for the claustrophobic, just as a warning.

Summary

Although entertaining, it was not incredibly scary, and not worth $30 for an hour of gross out humor and dark hallways.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Andya after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

The begining is the same as last year and not as many rooms or scares as in previous years. So unfortunately a little dissapointing. They have two revolving doors and make each patron choose, which makes you wonder what would happen if someone chose right instead of left and vice-versa. The hanging bodies and room of masks was good. You did not know which mask was behind a person intending to frighten yourself until they moved. Sparks flew in one room when a deformed guy ran his metal claw like hand across the screens. This was a very nice effect. The fright factory often had areas where one would crawl through smaller and smaller doorways or slimmer and slimmer pasageways. This really gives one a sense of fear for tight spaces, which occurred throughout the haunted house. The end included two huge airbags side by side, and you could not turn around or stop, otherwise thought could get stuck. Best to keep moving forward. This ending I did not care for and felt they could use a monster at the end once you emerged from the air bags. Too predictable frights and too few, unfortunately for the entrance fee.

Summary

The number of areas with frights was a little disspointing and about half as many as was last year. They did bring back two classics of a fortune teller and this room did frighten some of our group. We alo encountered the same room twice in our journey or did we? And this special effect was good. However, most of the frights were predictable and not a lot of them for the price we payed. Also odd was the concession stand was after the booth for tickets. You had to buy the concessions after bought the ticket and take the concessions into the haunted house, even though said no eating in the haunted house. The concession stand was right at the end of the line within the waiting area and just before entering the door to the area of frights and haunts. So thought this was a bit odd.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by thatonedude after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This has been the best haunt i have been to so far. I have more to see. It was nice to see someone actually supporting mj. I liked how the rooms were well detailed and there was alot more to go through this year.
my favorite room was the one with neon paint on the walls and floor. I got scared a few times but i have been going to haunts every year for about 7 years. so im used to it. but dont let that prevent you from coming because i guarantee you will get frightend because i did a couple of times.
this is a must do event.

Summary

although the parking and admission is quite pricy it is well worth 20 dollars all together.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by thatonedude after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

I went last night with a friend to check out a different haunt. It was ok. There was room for improvment. I didnt like that the girl in the first elevator was not in character at all. she just stared at us with a plain look the whole time. and on top of that she wasnt in costume. like she had blood on her face with a t shirt and a jacket. it didnt take that long to go through. i was slightly disappointed.

Summary

although it wasnt that long and not worth 12 dollar although its cheap the story line was on pace throughout the haunt. and it could use more advertising.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by jujub after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The factory of fear was awesome!!! It was totally worth the wait in line and the money. I came with my 15 year old daughter and a friend of hers and the were scared crazy the whole way through. I applaud the people who made all this happen. It was great to have a haunted house here in Racine to give our youth something to do on a weekend night. I see from other reviews I've read that you can't please everyone, but we most definitely do not fit in that category. We hope that you bring it back next year because we will surely attend again!!!!! Thank you for a fun night!!!

Summary

Racine's Factory of Fear worth every penny!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by scaredstiff after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Oh my gosh! This was by far the best in Southern Wisconsin that I have been to ever. The previous review that I read may have been true for the night they attended but not so for Saturday. First let me say that this attraction for the money is way under priced. For only $8 you will be more than satisfied. The covered entrance is awesome. You feel you are at an amusement park with the way it is set up. When you start up you are given the instructions and rules of the Haunted Barn and that is great. You are surprised at every point during your walk thru. I have been to the others in surrounding areas and although they may have some cool props, the Haunted Barn actually thought things through with secret passages that the actors can surprise you at and believe me they do. You could go throught the haunted barn a dozen times and although certain scenes may not change the surprises around the corners always do, and that keeps the level of excitement up throughout the whole thing. Bloodshed was a great addition this year. It is very ghory and the elements of blood and bones everywhere leaves you to thinking that you want to get out as quickly as possible. The walk up to the woods and the woods together are almost like a nother whole attraction.

Summary

The level of scare at this attraction is like no other that I have been to. They keep getting better every year and this is by far the best year yet. The actors are more in touch with the parts they play, in fact, some of them you really wonder if they are actors. I have been to places within 100 miles of Stoughton and like I said before, there are difference in all but the haunted barn seemed to bring it all together and combine it all with props, actors, actors that look like props, and props that look like actors. Well done guys and believe me you will see me at least 2 or 3 more times before the month is up. I plan on coming on the 31st this year. If the level of change is anything like last year, I will be bringing a change of clothes for that night. Thank you for the level of intensity that you put into it. Us fear going freight seekers appreceiate the fear that you put into it! Awesome!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Andya after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Haunted Barn has updated itself with a covered waiting area. Do bnot forget to check out their Haunted Horror store across form the waiting area. the store has a lot of useful items for Halloween. Upon entering you are given the rules and let out to wander on your own. i particularily liked the psychedlic room where the 60's meets outer space. The werewolf and the well was very detailed and made me think of the movie the Ring. Fortunately, i did not carry my cell phone. The barn could have used some background sounds or music to add to the fright. One really great area looked like the walls were under construction, and before you took a few steps two young creepy girls blocked your every step to escape. All they wanted to do was play, all I wanted to do was move on because they did a very good job of being creepy. Once out of the barn you moved to the blood shed. The shed was a nice additon but could have used one or two more scenes or frights before moving on to the cemetary. Again more frights along the path would have been nice, however found out they were short some people. So certain, there will be plenty of chances for being scared. One of the characters in the cemetary did scare me pretty well because the set-up was done very well. Some of the monsters came from areas vey unexpectedly, which was more fringtening.

Summary

The timing by the actors was pretty good though could use a little work with a little more practice. They had one pneumatic monster that was cool but seemed to jump out rather slowly, so not sure if that scare was working completely. A few more areas to frighten patrons would be great. The wait line was not long, and the scare started even before getting to the first room. You could tell by the detail in some areas a lot of work or ideas went into this haunt. The actors that were present did a very good job staying in character. If interested in refreshments, The Haunted Barn has snacks like pop corn and hot chocolate.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scardiepants after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is always my first choice of haunted houses to go to. Every year there is something new that is even scarier than the last and it comes as no surprise to me that this year is better than ever before. Everyone in my group was scared the entire way through! I especially liked the costumes and make-up and the detailed scenery in and around the 3 haunted houses. It was well worth the money they charged for admission and I will definitely return with another group of friends.

Summary

We started our journey at the ticket booth and waiting line area. One of my friends was really creeped out by the waiting area alone - but we convinced her to continue on - I knew by the 2nd house she wanted to quit because she was so scared but we would not let her! The first house Morgan Manor has changed since last year and the actors really put on a show. I was scared the moment I walked into the place. The second house brings one part dark evil to the mix and one part totally creepy. The third house called Unstable really grossed me out. It really went with the whole theme/story of the place. I don't want to give much away but the monsters in this one were really weird and everything in there gave me chills down my spine. I RECOMMEND THIS HAUNTED HOUSE OVER ALL OTHERS THIS YEAR!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by Andya after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The theme this year is a Hunted Hotel and they have lots of uninvited ghosts, specters and people you'd be afraid to meet. Any warm live body is invited to check in, but checking out is a different matter. The halls wihth arrows will get you confused and turned-around to meet a specter or two. One hallway you get trapped and surrounded with what seems no way out, very creepy. One very well done scene was the dining room to great detail. The characters did a good job, and goes to show you should pay your bill before leaving the dining area. At least at this hotel, otherwise could be deadly consequences. The finale is great with many "thing" creeping and made my skin crawl. By the way at the very very end do not forget to run, I did.

Summary

The attention to detail is outstanding to the hotel theme and rivals most haunted houses. Hinchley's is deffinitely worth the admission price and will plan to go again, soon. The waiting area is also outstanding with picnic tables inside a tractor barn. The waiting area includes refreshments, t-shirts, and Halloween accessories as you wait for either the Haunted Barn or Hayride. The area for the hayride at the time was unfortunately underwater, but prior years was a beautiful sight to see the stars and be frightened by spooks along your travel. The wait area also shows kid friendly movies, which I thought was spooktacular.

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by bonjovibabe14 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Glad to see that they changed all the rooms from past years. Nothing is worse then walking into a room and remembering it from the past three years you have been there.

Summary

No wait, and warm sitting area is super nice.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by farbeyondtheshadows after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I went with a group of friends, and the scenery in the house was amazing! You could tell that a lot of detail and time went into construction. As for scares, I was not too amused. Their was some parts where I got scared, but it was a bit weak.

Summary

Overall, the house was awesome, but the actors need to work on scares a little better. Other than this everything was amazing!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Mkedward after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had an AMAZING time at wisconsin feargrounds. I love the fact that there are 3 haunted houses, each one of them is SO very different from the next, and all three of them are scary! I've been there before, but i have to say that this year was the BEST! My voice is still hoarse from all of the screaming i did! I also loved the fact that we got free stuff after going through all three. I mean $30 for three amazingly scary houses equals about $10 each, alot of screaming, AND free energy drinks? I couldn't ask for more!

Summary

These haunted houses are the ones i would recommend! The actors are very dedicated, and it shows! The props and rooms are also awesome and look like a lot of hard work and effort was put into it. If you're going to go to a haunted house, Wisconsinfeargrounds is the ONLY place to go. =)

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 21st, 2019 9:55 p.m. CDT 1.8.19