2009 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Elements of Fear

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Bravo! A very nicely done haunt especially for younger visitors. While Elements of fear may not rock your world if you're a haunted house fanatic, those closer to the age of 12 (...the recommended minimum age for this event...) will definitely enjoy themselves. ....of course that's if they enjoy being scared.



The tour begins with a creepy video presentation that contains a little gore but nothing over the top...just enough to set the tone and make it nearly impossible to resist looking over your shoulder. The remainder of the tour features a fun interactive summoning of spirits, a very comfortable spook filled ride, one of the best vortex rooms I've seen this year and several rooms that very effectively leverage lighting and fog effects to maximize scare and creep opportunities. I really enjoyed how some of the actors seemed to appear out of nowhere and then suddenly vanish. There were others who I knew were there but still managed to make me jump...nicely done!



What I particularly enjoyed about this haunt was how some very simple household items (mirrors, cloth, curtains...etc.) were used to create some really creepy effects and scares.....it really captured my dreams of someday creating my own haunt. What I also was VERY pleasantly surprised to find was that group sizes were kept to a maximum size of 4-5. While this limitation was mostly likely set due to the logistics of some of the rooms it also helped maximize my immersion into the Elements of Fear found at this haunt.



This haunt was a challenging one for me to rate. My inner youth definitely would place this haunt at a 5 out of 5 for the fun and fear factors. The adult haunted connoisseur placed it at a 4 out of 5 for the following reasons: For the fun factor there were only a few rooms that allowed you to interact with the actors/scenes via a skit. Most of the haunt is more of a walk-thru style. For the scare factor while there are some parts that have the potential to make you jump most of the scares are geared more towards a younger crowd.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located along a major street (27th St) with a lighted sign, a 12ft lighted pumpkin monster and rope light in the shape of an arrow. You really can't miss this location as long as you're looking on the west side of the street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Arrived early during a non-peak night (Wednesday) so there really wasn't a wait. The volunteers were very social. A few concessions were available for purchase to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Actors' Performance


Most of the actors were young but did a great job making you jump and seemingly vanishing into thin air. The actors summoning the spirits from beyond were quite good as they succeeded in getting a spirit to appear!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


One of the best vortex rooms I've been in this year. Some of the scenes were elementary in nature but were still very effective in achieving ghoulish results. This haunt probably did the best job of any haunt that I've been too this year with pulling off some great effects without the luxury of elaborate props. This isn't meant to imply that there weren't any elaborate props, just that the creative staff at Elements of Fear were very successful in getting the most out of what they had to work with. Bravo!

Length


It took our group approximately 10 minutes to complete the terrorizing tour.

Crowd Control


Arrived early during a non-peak night (Wednesday) so there really wasn't a crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


Being unable to resist the temptation to look over my shoulder even though I was instructed to "watch my back"! I found it to be a creepy and irresistible temptation!

Summary

As an adult touring this haunt I gave Elements of Fear a 4 on the scale of 1-5...but for those closer to the age of 12 (...the recommended minimum age for this event...) this one is definitely a 5.

View all Elements of Fear reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Elements of Fear

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

EleMents of Fear is a great haunt for a youmger generation. For those of us that enjoy a graduated haunt with lots of psychological thrills, this one probably won't be for you. I would have been THRILLED about this haunt if I was in middle or high school, though. So those with kids - send them here! They did have a few aspects in the haunt that I'd never experienced before that were pretty neat, so I enjoyed that. Overall, though, I spent most of the 15 minute walk-through wondering if the "scare" was over and if I should move on to the next room...

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find with directions from the site. Labeled clearly - shares the parking lot with the church.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


You wait for the haunt in a church activity center basement - no entertainment or any sort of "mood enhancers" to get you ready for the haunt. It looks like a school room - not scary at all.

Actors' Performance


The majority of the actors in this house are youngsters (middle school, maybe some high school students). I saw maybe 3-4 adults in the house. With young actors come young performances. They rely a great deal on jumping out at you and hoping to scare you rather than interacting with you. One actress in a hallway who was crawling on the ground - great job!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Most of the sets and scenes were very simple, but they definitely accomplished what they needed. Not much in this house that I hadn't seen before. The one exception is the room with the couch - that was something I had never experienced before and it was very interesting! I liked that they played with their space in a different sort of way. Nicely done!

Length


It took my group of two approximately 15 minutes to get through the haunt (the wait time was maybe 10 minutes or so). It could take longer, or maybe be shorter, depending on how quickly you try to run.

Crowd Control


We went on a Wednesday night and there were very few people there, so there was really no crowd to control. All was well.

Most Memorable Moment


My favorite parts included the crawling actress, the couch, and also the polka dot room - very interesting. They play a LOT with optical illusions in this haunt and that's always fun.

Summary

If you scare incredibly easily or have youngsters who want a good haunt for their age, this is the one for you!

View all Elements of Fear reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Burial Chamber has to be one of my absolute favorite haunts.  Upon arriving they did not disappoint.  It may have been pouring rain outside but inside it was raining screams.  When I arrived I was informed that due to the substantial amount of rain that has been going on this month the Phobia-haunted forest attraction was closed.  I was a little disappointed but once inside the haunts, all my disappointment was gone. In honor of the fact that I know this attraction is well worth seeing, because I have faced my fears and gone through Phobia before, I will let you know, that if you can enter this area, definately go for it.  Walking through what is almost a completely pitch black forest, with creepy sounds and ghouls who jump at you and chase after you is totally frightful.  I am not sure how it is exactly set up this year but it never disappoints so I hope you all have the opportunity to attend.   I first went through Adrenaline.  While waiting to get inside I watched the horror movie clips they were showing on one of their two outside big screens.  Then it was time to go inside.  As we entered the Adrenaline, I was pleased to see that the theme, as always, was changed.  This year it was themed around battlefields, tons of heavy artilery going off, and really creepy soldiers and other creeps.  This haunt had it all.  The props were great, the haunt was almost an entire hour long, and every moment was terrifying.  However, the greatest part of the haunt was the actors.  Due to the fact that one haunt was down, there were actors everywhere in both of the haunts.  They were coming at you from below, above, behind, and popping out right in front of you, without you even noticing.  My absolute favorite part were the actors that were literally hanging from the walls and stretched across the hallway blocking the way.  You had to crawl under them to get through, it was one of the most original things I have seen in a haunt in a long time.  I was amazed at the dedication that I see every year in this haunt.  It truly is a one of a kind experience.    We then made it out full of Adenaline and headed to the next haunt, appropriately named. . .Insanity!  This haunt is just as intriguing and as beautifully executed as Adrenaline.  There are crazies everywhere!  They are pole dancing, crying, and laughing uncontrolably.  These actors were also completely committed and worked their rooms wonderfully.  The props were great.  I loved when it felt like blood was being sprayed all over you.  This haunt was also extremely long, probably lasting about 40 minutes to walk through.  I loved every minute I spent at The Burial Chamber and will continue to return each year.  Remeber you only have one weekend left-you must attend this attraction, if you have not already done so-get up, stop reading, and head to the most amazing haunt in Wisconsin!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, right off the freeway.  Huge spotlight showing in the sky and once you turn the corner you can see the immense complex.  

Actors' Performance


All I can say is they rock!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Horrible and beautiful, a wonderful scene to behold.

Length


Extremely worth the admission price.  You can spend hours there.

Most Memorable Moment


Crawling underneath an actor that was hanging between walls while she was screaming!

Summary

I know this review probably seems like I got paid to write it-I promise you I did not.  I just want everyone to know that if you go to one haunt this year it has to be The Burial Chamber Complex!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror Trail

by ateam2009 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I'm afraid that we can not give the Terror Trail a very good review. We drove from Appleton based on the amazing reviews we read on this site and on Terror Trail's own website. We arrived just before 9:00pm on Saturday 10/24/2009. The line was pretty short, but it moved extremely slow. We were at the front just after 10:00pm. We made a point not to rush through the trail, but we were still done in only eleven minutes. A couple of the stops along the haunted trail had neat idea (the mourge and the one with the car), but not really scary. Some of the parts listed in prior reviews were not being used such as the school bus. Although we had a decent but short time on the trail, we did not feel that the Terror Trail lived up to its prior reviews and was not worth the drive or the wait in line.

Summary

Okay for a basic experience for the price if you live nearby, but certainly not worth traveling for. It is a neat concept with different stops along the haunted trail, but not much substance or fear factor to the individual stops. One has to keep in mind that everyone there is a volunteer and that the funds all go to charity. One nice thing was that we were able to get a discounted ticket price by bringing a food pantry donation.

View all Terror Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Hubertus House of Horror is as old as me and I am glad we finally met.  This family-friendly haunt has kept victims coming back for 26 years and I have no reason to doubt they will be around 26 more.  Your journey will lead you deep into a decrepit house to experience a mineshaft, crazy clowns, animatronic monsters, a 20+ft. vortex, and general creepiness.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The online directions made finding the haunted house easy.  Despite the rural setting, there are two welcoming bars located on the same corner.  Who’s up for Karaoke!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A large school gym has food, movies, video games and music to keep everyone occupied while they wait.  And you probably will have to wait because this is a very popular attraction that fills up fast every weekend in October.

Actors' Performance


The actors were more entertaining than scary but there was a lot of energy in their performance.  Several rooms had extended dialogue that encouraged interaction from the guests.  My favorite actor was the prisoner busting out of his jail cell.  Best scare in the house!  I also liked the hands reaching out in the dark to grab at your feet.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The haunt starts off with a bus simulator piloted by Freddy Krueger himself.  It was a great concept but like a lot of rooms I felt it was just a few ghouls away from outstanding.  We were confused about the theme in several areas and were unsure of when to move on. 

Most monsters wore some sort of mask or makeup, but don’t expect to see any gore.  This makes Hubertus appropriate for younger children compared to most haunted houses. The feeling you get from walking through a tired old house is awesome although the uneven footing can be treacherous.

Length


Our group took fifteen minutes to get through the house.  Average length I guess.

Crowd Control


Groups of people are combined to form blocks of eight.  This seems pretty high, but Hubertus does a good job of making it work.  We got shuffled in almost every room and rarely left in the order we entered.  This requires you to get pretty cozy with strangers so get ready to make some new friends.  The pacing was very well timed and we never saw the group in front of us.

Most Memorable Moment


I’m not sure why blacklighting, 3-D artwork, and clowns always get thrown together, but it is definitely trippy.  The 3-D glasses heighten that sensation and Hubertus makes these rooms work better than anyone.

Summary

The evil grandmother of haunted houses in the Milwaukee area.  Hubertus House of Horror continues to entertain customers every year because the operators love what they do and are good at it.   This non-profit organization uses 100% of the proceeds to benefit St. Gabriel School.

For a quick detour, stop by Holy Hill on your way to Hubertus.  The impressive church looks incredibly eerie lit up against a misting October sky.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Beelzebubba after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I readily admit I really wasn't entering into the idea of visiting The Haunted Barn with any high expectations. I figured, what exactly could possibly be done to a family barn that would result in a truly remarkable experience?

Then we arrived at the farm.

There is no problem locating The Haunted Barn even though it is out in the un-street-lit country. In addition to a large lighted sign announcing that you have indeed arrived, the volume of cars turning into the driveway 15 minutes before it even opened was my first clue that this may be better than I hoped. Ample parking was provided in a large mown area.

My husband and I were fortunate to head straight to the entry line; before the 7pm opening a line formed that wove out into the dark farm. The overview of rules given by the witch as you enter is a very good idea as you can also ask her any questions you may have. From there, the tour is mostly self-guided, which did cause us to catch up to the small children ahead of us, but didn't cause any annoying stops. Along the way, you will encounter many well-known horror icons (Freddy, Jason, etc) and many children who do a great job of remaining creepy and not breaking character. There are also some children who are athletic enough to leap from the rafters and land right next to you. In addition, the actors have passageways that allow them to pop up on you again; just because you've left their room doesn't mean they won't be around the corner!

From the barn, you are led to the Blood Shed, which, while still sufficiently gory, benefits more from the tight angles keeping you from seeing what is ahead than the actual contents. Except for the kitchen. That is awesome.

The walk into the woods to the graveyard is a bit long, but actors along the way serve two purposes: they help keep the mood going and also provide some degree of guidance as to which way to go. By all means, take a moment at the top to check out the graveyard... there's nothing in the shack. Just kidding, the teenage girl behind me wouldn't let go of my arm after that. I wonder who she was?

From here, the trail leads you back to the parking area, but don't let yourself be fooled into think it's all over. The chainsaw-toting mainiac was already at a dead run at us before the saw's engine fired up.

Between the concessions offered, gift shop provided, music, lights and other "entertainment" aside from the tour itself, this is quite a production. As we left, we noted the line was even longer than when we started, and cars were still coming down the highway. In a small town like Stoughton, if the product isn't worth the time and $8.00 admission, The Haunted Barn would quickly become a real ghost town.

I highly recommend taking the time to see this.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Monster Mayhem is a one-of-a-kind Halloween attraction.   In only its second year of operation it has already become one of the more intriguing haunts in Milwaukee.  The unique theme should appeal to both adults and kids.  Plus, the great location is worth a trip even if you chicken out.  I would especially recommend it to people who are tired of traditional haunted houses and looking for something new. 

I think there may have been a technical problem or some miscommunication because our tour ended rather abruptly after we stumbled into an access hallway for the staff.  One of the actors tried to stay in character as he led us out but he seemed as confused as we were.   I wasn’t upset because this happened towards the end of the haunt and I believe we were the last group of the night.  The worst part was that I never found out how the story ended after being sucked into the entire theme.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The queue forms in a back stairwell and there was no line entertainment.  That’s okay because we were entering a secret military installation and the screams from the groups ahead kept us on edge. 

Less than 15 people were in line when we got to Monster Mayhem, but I am sure the bar and pizza parlor upstairs make longer waits more enjoyable.  I did not expect to get in so quickly because a quality haunted attraction likes this deserves more customers on a Friday night.

Actors' Performance


All of the actors do a great job of pulling you into the story and making the experience more real.  Brave soldiers sacrifice their lives to keep your group alive and provide safe passage.  Other soldiers and personnel have become infected and hunger for human flesh.   The whole scene is perfectly chaotic as you get whisked from one room to a next.   These actors make this a fantastic haunt.  I promise you will not experience another one like it in the area.  In general, nothing was terrifying but it was a hell of a lot of fun.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I’m guessing the budget is smaller than other haunted houses in Milwaukee.  However, great scene construction and original ideas easily keep it on par with the competition.  Several rooms are worth mentioning but I especially liked the body parts falling down the laundry chute and the zombies devouring a victim on a hospital gurney.

Length


Short but sweet. 15 minutes and I was satisfied.

Most Memorable Moment


It’s called Monster Mayhem for a reason.  This giant beast scared my whole group and I am still not sure how they did it.

Summary

A fully-immersive haunted house and a really cool concept.  Monster Mayhem is one of my favorite two or three haunts this year and I am already excited to see what they come up with next Halloween.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by iamagnomethief after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I have been to this haunted house a few times in the past and I don't know what happened this year, but it was a total waste of time and money.

The "Haunted" Trail through the woods consisted of walking on a pitch black trail toward the fire - there was only one actor during the entire thing -- he walked past us and growled.

The waiting area is always nice - the fire, cheap concessions and interesting choice of music and videos played on a big screen is a lot of fun. The wait wasn't bad at all, despite the large group of people waiting.

The most disappointing thing about the actual haunted house is the complete lack of actors (which I believe an earlier reviewer pointed out as well) We encountered several in the rooms we walked through, but most of the time they just sat there, growled, or said stupid stuff (you are so pretty, I am going to eat you, what are you doing later baby, etc...) The lack of costuming was unbelievable. I saw one person actually "dressed up," everyone else was in a sweatshirt with either a bandana tied around their face or with some white face paint. Also, none of the actors (besides the awesome one at the entrance to the house) looked over the age of 16. It was ridiculous.

They did add something new at the end, which I thoroughly enjoyed (even though there was one actor who sat there and stared at us walking past???)

Summary

Overall, I definitely would not recommend this to anyone like I have in the past. It felt like something thrown together over the course of a week, with a bunch of untrained kids from high school thrown in sweatshirts and told to grumble at people.

With a little extra time and money this haunt could be unbelievably unique and scary - the building and grounds it is held on is perfect. I would be more than willing to pay a higher ticket price for them to turn this haunt into something fantastic.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

At Hyatt Street in Janesville, rusty fences and decrepit walls greet the unwary visitor to this haunt. There is a stillness which seems somewhat unnatural...



The scene that greets the unwary visitor here does little to warn them about the wild ride they will soon take. Soon they will be crashing around this old factory, trying to avoid some of the less-savory residents that have refused to leave and now call it home.



This is one of the better haunted houses this year. You are thrown into a bizzare mixture for the senses wherein thngs may pop up from just about anywhere-and I mean anywhere.



All protections and comforts normally afforded to one at a regular haunted house are non-existant here. The comfort of a clearly discernable path, any chance to collect your thoughts, and even the fellowship of one's friends is lost in this bizzare attraction.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This is a fairly visible location, once you are nearby. My internet directions took me up and down a number little streets(probably unnecessarily) in Janesville, but I found it with little difficulty when I was in the vicinity of it. Just keep your eyes open for the huge, lit-up old factory building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


You have to wait in a line, but the full wait was averaging around 30 minutes the night I went, which was much better than other haunted houses that I have recently gone to.

Actors' Performance


Overall, the performances were top-notch. There is a very quick tempo and pace to this place, which is faster than some other area haunted houses. Most of the preformances here are quick and sweet, which are all part of the atmosphere created by this haunts creators.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I would hate to repeat the comments of others here. The setting is used well and help facilitate the scenes that are created here. So, your not going to find any home-like scenes with gentle ghosts at this place. Freddy Kruger look-alikes chasing you through old factory hall-ways and beings trudging through bloody meat lockers are what haunt here.

The effects here are top-notch, yet they are not over done. They never take away from the experiance.

The narrowness to the hallways also helps create a sense of claustrophobia and plays with your senses, as does any number of additional items. Here you are taken to the limits.

Length


For me, it took 45 minutes, though, I am sure, it could be very flexible(from 30 minutes to an hour-depending on how fast you can find your way through the maze).

Crowd Control


I saw no issue with the way that they were handling the pace during my time through the factory.

Most Memorable Moment


With the technical arrangement of the scene, my favorite scene would have to be the creepy meatlocker. It's a fully interactive scene to be sure. Though, when talking about most memorable scene, it would have to have been when the effects in a Fortune Teller scene scared a girl in my group so much that she literally fell to the ground. Due to the fact that she had a death grip on my jacket, this caused me to go sprawling on the ground too. Good Job, Guys.

Summary

Overall, a very enjoyable experiance. This is probably amongst the best I have seen this year. It's an intelligent, well-thought out haunt that utilizes it's surroundings and just about anything to create a head-pounding, extreme experiance. This isn't a place for those who do not want to get scared and will even test the wits of a jaded haunted attraction attendee.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls was a haunt that I always liked in the past but this year I was a little disappointed. They added new additions to the haunt which I liked. I started off on their hayride, which was different for me. I think they did a pretty good job on this. It wasn't very scary but it was fun. The story teller could have seemed a little more enthusiastic about his role but the story behind it was good.



The house itself was put together very well. You start off walking into what I want to call a horse stable. The actors definitely did a good job in there and it was very creepy. There were different noises coming from all over the place and you never knew what was going to jump right in front of you. As you walk through the rest of the haunt there wasn't any scene that was dead. However, because my group got paired with another lets say obnoxious group I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I have in the past.



After the house, we went through their new clown based one. This was very cool but I felt needed a few more actors.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt was kind of hard to find. It is right off the highway but if you aren't looking closely you'll miss the sign to where to turn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is in a barn type building. It had a few actors roaming around as well as a projector playing, however, I couldn't see what was on it because the line forms right in front of it. They also offer the Last Ride simulator for you to do while waiting.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were very well set up. They set it so you never knew what was coming at you around the next corner.

Length


Hayride was about 15 minutes long. The house itself took about 20-25 minutes and the clown one was about 10 minutes.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memborable moment was when my friend fell over on the hayride because one of the actors along the hayride scared her.

Summary

Overall, this was more of a fun haunt than a scary haunt. I would recommend this to anyone 10+.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by charmed (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first experience with Neenah's Most Haunted, put on by Neenah's Youth Go. When we arrived, it didn't appear as if the line was very long, but when we realized how far apart they let people in, our total time in line was over an hour.



There were actors of all ages, but most of them in inside of the actual haunt were kids. However, it's easy to transport yourself from even the thought that these are kids, once you see how good they are.



From the moment you step in, you're given an idea of how the haunt will go. I was selected to entertain the queen, but sadly, did a terrible job for her. :) But, the court jester was a FANTASTIC actor and I really enjoyed him. They did a nice job of explaining the upcoming maze areas, and cautioned us to put our arms out to the side to find our way.



As we moved onward, I found the maze to be much more difficult than I expected. There weren't really dead ends, as much as wrong ways. I unintentionally ended up behind set several times throughout my journey and got turned around enough that even the ghouls barely got me turned back in the right direction. And, since I took their instructions about keeping my arms out to the side at face-value, I think I ran face-first into several actors.



It was not the scariest haunt I've been to, but for as long as the Youth Go have been haunting, they know how to put on a good show!



We were thoroughly entertained!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Visible flashing lights, music, easy to find on Cecil.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Plenty of it. In fact, more than I've EVER seen at a haunt before. They know their wait is long and do their best to keep you occupied. I did feel bad for the Texas Chainsaw guy though...he had technical difficulties with his chainsaw and ended up resorting for a while to an un-scary bat and ultimately to a circular saw hooked up to an extension cord. A chainsaw guy without a chainsaw could really be a detriment, but he did a good job trying to stay in character and work with what he had. I applaud his tenacity. :)

Actors' Performance


For mostly kids, they were good! You could tell the pride they had when they really got you good and scared. I had one laughing at me soooo hard because I couldn't find my way out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


My only criticism was the lack of dead ends in the maze. I'd much rather run into a dead end and have to turn around than end up someplace I'm not supposed to be.

Otherwise, they had some pretty cool scenes. Not much in the way of effects, but good for what they were working with.

Length


About 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


Crowd was calm and there were enough staff and scary actors patrolling that if anything were to get out of hand, they could have controlled it.

Most Memorable Moment


Getting stuck selecting a door...Gotta see it for yourself!!

Summary

Overall, as I mentioned, not the scariest haunt I've been to, but they did such a good job at entertaining us and throwing in surprises you didn't expect. Good job guys!!

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by jess114 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was freakin awesome.The best haunt i have been to this year.The wait wasn't to long about 45 minutes.My favorite part was the haunted hay ride.It was great my friend got the crap scared out of her.It was a little scary with the tractor that was pulling the wagon because it was so muddy we were worried we'd get stuck of tip over.Which only helped with the scare factor.Awesome actors and pyrotechnics.My 2nd favorite part was the mine shaft.When you go inside and down the narrow passages what you encounter towards the end would freak anyone out.

Summary

I recommend this to anyone.It is definatley worth the money.You just have to watch the signs because it can be easy to get lost.But it is defiantley worth it went you get there.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lindners Pumpkin Farm

by jess114 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was an awesome corn maze. I went to 3 different mazes so far this season and this was the best by far.It was a good length of time in the maze and we came a good time where the wait was only about 15 minutes.The actors did a great job.They were very quite when sneaking up on you and knew how to scare and suprise you.The chainsaw guy was awesome.

Summary

I would recommend this to anyone and the price was great for the experience.

View all Lindners Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

by jess114 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

The one good thing about going this late was there we no lines.It was just my 2 friends and me and another group of 3 people there.The length of the corn maze was nice,but there were to many strobes lights where you couldn't see anything around you.By the time i got out i was more dizzy then scared.There were to many animatronics and not enough live people.The animatronics would have been probably better but you could hardly see most of them because of all the stobe lights.They were way overdone.The only part that was kind of scary was the last building we went in with the falling ceiling.It definatley was not worth the money and i would not go back.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by charmed (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first experience with The House of Bathory, and it certainly will NOT be my last. I was so glad we got the chance to meet Dawn and her husband Jim, who definitely know how to make a haunt a great time. We got to learn some of the 20(!!) year history and what they've learned, they've certainly put to good use.



This is definitely not your typical haunt. It is, by far, the most unique in every way imaginable. From the layout to the effects and the props to the actors, you'll have a tough time finding anything that compares to the House of Bathory. I was also pleasantly surprised at the age range of the actors...some of the quite young, but it didn't matter the age, these actors are there to scare! It's also more hands-on than most other haunts...one sneaky actor just about got my hairclip as I was descending the stairs...I had no idea he was even there!



We were put into a group with 3 others, making a nice-sized group of 5. However, for two of the girls, it was their first-ever haunt. I think they made it through in record time...I'm confident they *ran* screaming through the entire thing, leaving the poor guy they came with, and us, trying to catch up with them.



As a note in general to haunt-goers...please remember to be courteous to the others in your group, whether you know the people or not. If you run at top-speed, the people behind you are affected significantly because you have to allow time for the actors to get back into place. Haunted houses are all about timing and in our situation, we missed a tiny bit of the action in the last 1/3rd of the house because they were so far ahead of us. It also affected our own speed through the house, where I would have LOVED to spend a couple more minutes absorbing all of the creative and amazing things Dead by Dawn Productions has put together.



But, even with that happening to us, it was still above and beyond my expectations and meets all of my personal "perfect haunt" criteria!



So, expect the unexpected at The House of Bathory...and enjoy getting the pants scared off of you!



Overall, this is my new favorite haunt. Can't wait to see what their 21st year brings!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We were led faithfully by my GPS, as I'm pretty unfamiliar with Manitowoc. But, easy to find if you can get yourself to 8th street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a pretty long line by the time we got there. There is music to keep you entertained, but they actually have come up with an ingenious idea... there is a bar about a block away (The Fat Seagull) where you can have a few drinks and stay nice and warm while you wait. The bartender will let you know when it's your turn. We didn't take advantage of the option, but heard rave reviews from those who did. Great idea!!

Regardless of the wait time, it was 150% worth it!

Actors' Performance


A++++++++++'s all around. If you dare think a kid isn't going to be able to scare you...think again! We loved every moment of it, from the laughs to the screams.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Amazing, amazing, amazing. Even the stationary props were realistic enough to make you think they were moving. And, scenes like I've never seen in a haunt before!

Length


We were in there for less than 15 minutes, but in any other group, it's probably a 20 minute house.

Crowd Control


Security everywhere, plenty of staff. They did a nice job at keeping everyone in the large line contained.

Most Memorable Moment


I wouldn't dare give it away, but I'll say I left breathless and with a sore throat...from screaming!

Summary

A good haunt knows how to balance, has great timing, and has great stories behind it. Dead by Dawn does it and does it well. You will not be disappointed...go!!! I wish we had 1/2 points, as they would have gotten a 4.5 for fear. For me, it went back to the divided group in the last part of the haunt, since we were stuck behind and ended up with awkward timing.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 10:16 p.m. CDT 1.6.3