2009 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Haunt_Master_Terri after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

It pains me to have to give a haunted house a poor rating, but my reviews are always realistic and honest. I would recommend this haunt to no one except those with very young children.

Hay Ride: You sit on a bale of hay and ride around the grounds and parking lot. No props, no animatronics. Just a guide who you can hardly understand because he has no microphone and is only facing you 1/3 of the time. Out of the 15-20 minute ride around the grounds/parking lot I only saw two actors. One barely made a boo appearance and the other seemed confused (and neither were scary). The hay ride was the worst I have been on. It was not haunted. IT WAS JUST A HAY RIDE.

Theater of Lost Souls: Mediocre in all aspects. Special effects and actors did not stand out at all. I was barked at to keep moving and to hurry up by actors... then not even 1/3 of the way through I ran into the group ahead of me. Ten seconds later the group behind me ran into me... after that it was just a "fun" time of watching the group ahead of me get scared and hearing screams come from behind me. The actors did a halfhearted job at breaking the groups up, but everyone kept running into each other making it not very fun. Also the timing of some of the animatronics was off. I heard things going off behind me after I had already passed it. The thing that bothered me the most besides poor crowd control was that there was not enough actors operating the haunt. I'm sure if there were more it would have helped crowd control immensely. I saw actors who were recycled (they'd run ahead and pop out to scare you in another part of the house). The final blow was that many actors didn't seem that enthusiastic or in character. Some were young children and teenagers who tend to not be that scary compared to adult actors.

Theatre of the Absurd: This was much better than the theater of lost souls. Crowd control was top notch here. They only send your group in and had it spaced perfectly. The painting and 3-d glasses created a mind-altering effect. It looked very 3-d! Again, there were hardly any actors in this house. The painting made up for it, but adding props and actors would have gave this attraction a higher rating.

Summary

They have a lot of land and space to work with at this attraction. However, it appears they do not have much of a budget allotted for actors and props. With the prices they charge to visit all three attractions, it would seem there would be more to see and do here. I think this will be the biggest disappointment of the season for me after all of the hype I read online and in some of the past reviews. I'm surprised there are not more bad reviews after seeing the looks of shocked disappointment (that's it?) after the "haunted" hayride especially. More actors and better crowd control would greatly improve the fun and fear ratings.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

From the start of the haunt you experience things that are completely different from other haunts. They do an excellent job at setting the feel of what a haunt should be like.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find. They have signs and lights right in front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Their wait area is inside of a heated gym which is always nice. They also have one or two actors walking around as well as a few video games and a TV screen set up to make your wait more enjoyable.

Actors' Performance


I was a little bit disappointed with their actors this year. Most did an excellent job scaring you but there were a few that didn't stay in character very well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Their scenes are very unique compared to other haunts. They add in things you never would expect which make it even better.

Length


The wait for this haunt is very long I've noticed from this year and in the past, so get there a little early.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt for anyone over the age of 10.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was amazing again this year. This is one of the haunts I always go to every year and I just enjoy it every time. From the beginning, you don't know what's coming around the next corner or who or what is going pop out right in front of you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, its right off the main road in Hartford and has a sign on the corner to turn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They do a very good job at entertaining you during your wait, there's an actor waiting for you before you buy the tickets as well as a few lurking around in the wait area.

Actors' Performance


Terror on Rural Street always has good actors. They stayed in character very well and were always in spots you would never have guessed they were in.

Length


We got there early so the wait wasn't very long if any at all. The haunt itself took about 25-30 minutes to walk through the entire thing.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was when we were leaving. The actor that was working the wait area had a thing for the friend I was with, and actually followed her all the way back to the car. It was definitely a sight to see with her looking back the whole way out of the parking lot to see if he was still coming for her. But she made it out alive!

Summary

Overall, one of my favorite haunts to go to. They are always adding new scenes every year and creating new surprises. I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 14 who loves a good scare!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Haunted Mansion is a great local Haunt. There are four parts to this Haunt. The first is a walk through the haunted graveyard/woods. The walk was brief but plenty of actors from every angle. If you have to go to the bathroom I highly recommend holding it, don't trust the ghouls. The cornfield was more fun than scary. There was a great roadside kill cafe with "skunk burgers". We even found ourselves undecided as to which way to go. When we finally made our way through we jumped on the haunted bus. You are only allowed to sit one person per seat, this allows for easy victimization. Lopsided Lilly was clearly irritated by the group of teens at the back of the bus, and I don't blame her ... I was about to start screaming with her!



When the bus ride finally came to a hault we were at the entrance of The Haunted Mansion. There was a nice warm bonfire and a woman walking around with plenty of hot cocoa. There was also a projection screen playing music videos and scenes from Scary movies. Actors were roaming the lines trying to steal screams. Once inside you will find many unique scenes. The Mansion was by far superior to the cornfield, bus ride, and woods. There were many points in the Haunt that would make you jump, and others that were just plain creepy! I found myself alone a lot in this haunt (which was the ghouls intentions) and I loved it! The Haunted Mansion had the most actors of any haunt I have been to. There is NO "dark/dead time". If you live in the area, this is a haunt I would not miss.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There is a sign off Hwy 57 and as you enter. It is located on a campground in Brussels, WI. Make sure you have directions, because if you are coming from out of town you may get lost.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was hot chocolate being sold for only a dollar while you waited in line. There was also a couple goodies at the concessions stand. Watch out for the ghouls while you wait and enjoy scenes from some of the best horror movies displayed on projector screens.

Actors' Performance


The actor's are all volunteers so naturally some were really good and some weren't the greatest. The ghouls on the bus were great, but were a bit distracted by the people they knew on the bus. I loved the shackled ghouls, the crippled ghouls, and the welcoming ghouls of the Haunted Mansion.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some very unique Scenes in this haunt. You may find yourself trapped, lost, and stumbling (in a good way). The Haunted Mansion also incorporates some of the more popular new props.

Length


The woods, cornfield, and bus ride lasted 28 minutes. The Haunted Mansion was 17 minutes long.

Crowd Control


In the cornfield we ran into the group ahead of us, but it was no fault of the actors. The group just decided to be extremely obnoxious.

Most Memorable Moment


There is a moment of the haunt that scared the living daylights out of us. I won't ruin it, but it involves clowns distracting us.

Summary

Overall I would give a 4 for fun, and a 3+ for fear.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by HocusPocus after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt totally rocks! I attended the 3 Hartford area haunted houses along with 11 of my friends and this one was the unanimous favorite. 4 of us also attended 3 in Milwaukee last weekend and this one topped the list of all six!

What rocks about this haunt is the following:

** Length: it took 19 minutes for our tour group of 6 to complete the haunted adventure. (this is nearly twice as long as the Milwaukee haunts!)

** Venue: A haunted forest complete with a terrifying tunnel of torment prelude your adventure through a 3 story house. The journey through the house takes you from a 3rd story balcony all the way to the bowels of the basement.

** Sets / Scenes / Props / FX: Both the haunted forest and house are crammed packed with props and special effects. If you have an eye for detail you'll be blown away with the elaborate decorations found throughout this haunt. ...in fact, the venue is almost packed full of props and sets to a fault as some of the rooms become a bit cramped with 6 adult bodies in the room. The house features several secret passages, trap doors, live actors, animated mannequins, holographic images and even a vortex.

** Actors' Performance: I wouldn't go so far as to say every acting performs blew my socks off but I'd certainly nominate the actor performing in the dining room for an Academy Award....definitely the best actor I've seen this year. Honorable mention also go to the clown and actor welcoming you to the house.

** Sound: Not once was I distracted by the sounds coming from an adjacent room during our tour. Given how many rooms are packed into this house that fact just blows my mind. All rooms appear to be well insulated and equipped with a more than adequate sound system to make you feel as if your group has been totally isolated from the outside world.

Summary

If you go to just one Haunted House this year make it the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House! (...which is in Slinger...) Compared to the other haunts in the area, the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House was the unanimous choice of everyone in our group of 12. Sets are elaborately designed and will entertain even those with the most discerning eyes. The length of the haunted tour and the number and variety of sets allow you to maximize your entertainment value.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by nite raven after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

good

Summary

I loved the beginning i wish more places would do this...i can't say anything more and give it away but i had fun and will be returning next year

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by nite raven after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

great...well worth the drive from milwaukee. I have been coming to splatterhaus since 2000. I don't care where they move too ....I will be going.

Summary

This should sum it up my husband got so startled inside that he ran right into my hand against the wall. I thought he broke my fingers for a second it hurt so bad. When i came out my finger was swollen and fingernail was turning black from blood. All this and i still will keep going it was worth the little bit of pain from my finger being smashed.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Meecee after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

AWESOME! So happy we chose to come here. It was our first time and we will be back! It is worth the money to do all 3 of the houses! (Get the coupon from thier website to save money). The last one (UNSTABLE) was the scariest for us and also the most fun. The people were IN character and had great costumes AND had great timing to scare us! TWO THUMBS UP!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

On the night of October 9th I visited Mars Haunted House in Milwaukee.  My visit started in grand style as we waited in a fairly short outdoor line.  Mars seems to know what they are doing, as they had ghouls walking up and down the line, interacting with the guests.  It was cold, and the actors made the elements much more enjoyable.  After a short wait, we were invited to go up a flight of stairs to purchase tickets.  Once up the flight of stairs and after getting our admissions squared away , we were greeted by a woman who appeared to be undead!  She took us through a door and into a small area where an audio recording played a brief history of Mars, the undead girl was great.  Once in the haunt, we were on our own.  The set was fantastic, seemed like they put a lot of time and effort into this years event.  The actors were also pretty good.  At times it seemed like they were tired, which is understandable, as they had been haunting for a few hours and I can only assume that takes a toll on you.  A few of the actors really went above and beyond.  One actor that sticks out had stopped my girlfriend and "forced" me to go on without her.  He blocked her from advancing for quite some time, sniffing her as if she was that evenings dinner.  This literaly lasted about 2-3 minutes, finally he let her go.  My favorite part of the haunt was the vibrating floor.  It shook violently as you passed over it.  I love haunts that physically jar you, and as you walked over the floor, it did just that.  In all I would have to say Mars is definitely worth the time, just make sure you dress for the occasion!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Signage was good, the giant hearse that said Mars Haunted House on it was a pretty good sign if you ask me.  Also, the line of people outside the haunt doesn't hurt either.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line was pretty quick moving, with actors that interacted with you.  My only complaint was the drunk gentleman in front of me that kept leaving and entering the line, despite the rope keeping the people in, bumping into me every time, but that is not the haunts fault.

Actors' Performance


Actors were good, some seemed tired and a few were amped up and really into spooking people.  This seemed to even things out and made for a very enjoyable time.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Props were great.  The vibrating floor was amazing.

Length


15-20 minutes

Crowd Control


Well, as stated before, there was a drunk guy in front of me that kept leaving the line and entering, while bumping into me every time.  I really wish someone would have said to him that he either needs to stay in line, or go to the back, but he was with a group, so I understand.

Most Memorable Moment


Definately the vibrating floor

Summary

Mars was a fun haunt, with a great set and props, and dedicated actors.  

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Borzynski's Corn Maze - Outback Adventure

by Meecee after attending on Sunday, September 27, 2009 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Lots of fun! This is our 3rd year. Every year, it has a new layout. It took us about 3 hours to find every station. We did buy the 3D glasses which help a lot if you want to find everything! There are no creepy or scary people jumping out at you. Wear tennis shoes or boots in case it is muddy.

Summary

Awesome and we will be back next year!

View all Borzynski's Corn Maze - Outback Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by Mschnep after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I was quite disappointed in the Haunted High. What a great opportunity setting up a haunted house in a school building no longer used. Wish the effects and scare factor would have been better.

Summary

It was rated 10 and up. I think my 9 year old could have handled it. Might be a good one to take younger children for their first haunted house if you looking for something that isn't too scary.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by denise after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This place gets better every year. The rooms are so cool, the props they have are amazing!! The actors really liked their parts!!! Just when you think wow, I haven't been to scared for a few minutes-BAMMMMM out of nowhere they get you!

Summary

LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!! We go to 3-5 new haunted houses a year but ALWAYS come back to this one. We've had really good luck with the 3 places we visited tonight. Each one had a different feel to them and yet they all scared the $^%#^ out of you quite a few times.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by denise after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Loved it!! Cool building, great rooms, good job everyone!! You can get a dollar off if you go to the haunted barn 1st in Stoughton. (which we did last of course)

Summary

Every room decorated great, Got us quite a few times with scares. People in front and back of the group. The four us loved it!!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by denise after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

AWESOME!! Worth every penny!! We'll be back next year. We try new places each year and this is on our EVERY year list now.

Summary

The place is Huge, Every room looked GREAT, Scares around every corner--hint--if you want them to pick on someone, be sure they over hear you say that persons name!!
The Micheal Jackson video and the dancers were great entertainment while in line. The music inside was great. No complaints!!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by christine after attending on Friday, September 25, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

been there in the past, thought it was pretty good. This year not so much.
The actors didn't really act, they just screamed really loud in your face which got annoying after awhile. It seemed like a repeat from last year, not too much different. Got a little pissed having to pay the extra 5 bucks for parking....they shoud have advertised that ahead of time. All in all a so so haunted house. I go to a bunch every year and the one that stands out way better then all the rest is still the one at waukesha expo. Even doing it twice the second time was just as good as the first!!!

Summary

Was better last year, kinda boring and the same this year. Not sure where the Michael Jackson tribute was, only saw a mask and heard the music once. I didnt care, but if someone is a real fan they will be real disppointed. Maybe if this is the only one someone has been to, they might think its good. But if you have been to a bunch like "Wi Feargrounds" or ""terror on rural" in Hartford or some of the other big ones this ones not as good as those. Sorry Hauntfest you gotta step it up a little if you want to charge the big bucks.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 11:51 a.m. CDT 1.6.3