ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by Haunting Reviewer after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Not a scary haunted house at all. I love to be startled & made to jump and that never happened. The description talks of two Vortex's in the house, I only saw one. That one needed some fresh neon paint to give it the full effect too. And I know I'm tall(6'2") but I was hitting my head in the Vortex and that's not cool either. My favorite things in the house were the black & white room & the room of doors. Very cool. It can be a very good haunted house if they put the time in to make it a little better.

Summary

This would be a good attraction for people who scare easily or younger kids. I'm not saying it's horrible it's just not my kind of thing.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Ski Sprites Haunted Cinema

by HauntedScuba after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was our first visit. It was relatively easy to find. They had about a dozen rooms that were all well decorated and staffed. They had good actors that seemed to "get into the scene". Some frights were predictable and short. There were no mazes or very dark spots which can be a bonus or disappointment depending on which you prefer.

Summary

It took us 10 minutes to get through. Seemed a bit pricy for the time we were there. The effects are good and most actors did good, just needed to be a little less predictable. Overall, I think it is pretty good.

View all Ski Sprites Haunted Cinema reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Feargrounds have built a reputation as one of the best Halloween events in Wisconsin.  The praise is well deserved because this big-budget production pays attention to all the details, both big and small.  Find out for yourself why this is the busiest haunt in the Milwaukee area.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Waukesha County Fair Grounds.  Look for the parking area with lots and lots of cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Bring warm clothes because although the waiting area is covered it is not heated and lines will get very long closer to Halloween.  A handful of Waukesha police are around every night and security is monitored both inside and outside all three haunts.

Actors' Performance


Very good overall.  We especially liked Jasper the goat and the leather trench coat maniac.  His face looked like the doll from Saw and he was all over the place.  Expert room construction allows these monsters to shortcut between rooms and continue the scare.  Having such active ghouls makes it seem as though there are twice as many people out to get you.  However, there were too many times when an actor delivers a line and then proceeds to physically block your path to the next room or tries to corner someone in the group.  This is not scary, just really uncomfortable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All three attractions have a different theme and stick to it.  In the manor you wind through the library, dining room, bedroom and hallways of a decrepit and demonically inhabited mansion.  Torment messes with your senses a bit more and sends you through a maze and several dark passageways.  Finally, Unstable makes you aware of fears involving farms and livestock that you didn’t know existed.   The continuity is impressive, but I actually prefer a hodgepodge of ideas and rooms that don’t necessary connect.  Attention to detail and room design is superb from beginning to end including the actors’ makeup.

Length


Morgan Manor was long.  Torment was short.  Unstable was average.  I obviously forgot to look at my watch.

Most Memorable Moment


Waiting in line always sucks, but Morgan Manor made it a bit more fun this year.  A camera is set up inside the haunt and people in the queue can watch each scare on a screen.   I was surprised how many people went limp and fell on the floor when scared…not exactly fight-or-flight.  We tried to guess where the camera was located on our walk-through and failed.

Summary

Morgan Manor will not disappoint but Torment and Unstable are more of the same.  Save the $15 and check out another haunted house in the area.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Although the theme is Neverland, don't expect MJ to make too many appearances at Hauntfest. It is unfortunate because there are some truly terrifying scenes that could have been created from his life.
Push that disappointment aside and enjoy the haunted house for what it is: a series of well done rooms meant to scare and entertain you. What you get is a group of themes that make no sense at all when put together (a disembodied robot Micheal Jackson skull as an example). Why are you
getting into an elevator or traveling through a swamp? Who cares, it's fun!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Hauntfest is located on the State Fair grounds just south of I-94. No, it is not inside the big pumpkin. Keep driving down 84th St. until you see flashing lights and signs. Street parking is available in the adjacent neighborhood, or you can pay to park in the secure lot operated by State Fair personnel.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We got in right away but the wait area seemed well equipped to handle crowds. Large screens pay tribute to the best videos from the King of Pop and there is a tent equipped with lights and a DJ booth ready to break out a dance party when groups get bigger/wetter. Several ghouls trolled those waiting looking for easy marks to scare.

Actors' Performance


The monsters inhabiting Hauntfest use a number of different tactics to terrorize their victims. Some are quiet and creepy while others will scream your brain fuzzy. It's not overdone, but be prepared to leave with your ears ringing. Scares come from above and below with unsettling dialogue breaking up the usual in-your-face surprises. No particular performances stood out, but the actors were at least average.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Almost all actors had great makeup and unique costumes. Try to notice some of those details before running out of a room. The different scenes try to assault all of your senses during a visit. You will be spun around, lost, disoriented, blinded, squeezed and probably end up on your hands and knees at some point. Trust me; it's better than it sounds. Again, no particular room was groundbreaking but all were well done.

Length


I forgot to check, but it was longer than expected. The entertainment is sustained throughout because there is no wasted space or empty hallways. Most guests went as groups of two, but later in the season expect group size and pacing to increase.

Most Memorable Moment


We briefly ran into the man in charge of Hauntfest who was sporting fangs and creepy contacts. He wasn't doing it to scare guests or staff a particular room. Apparently it pumps him up and helps him get into the spirit of Hauntfest. Those are the types of people you want running a haunted house.

Summary

A "standard" haunted house done really well. After visiting multiple years, it seems that Hauntfest can be a schizophrenic production that has good years and bad years. Luckily, this is a good year.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by angie619s after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great for people of all ages. Times are set aside for the different levels of fear desired. You will not be disappointed. This is an amazing place run by professionals. The corn maze is not your run-of-the-mill haunt, but one of a kind with its theatrical sets straight out of a movie. The price is right and you will get more than your money's worth. If you really want a scare, this is the place.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Midwest Paranormal after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

My 3rd year here and it only gets worse. Seems like they pull no punches when it comes to old standbys. I have seen enough of the Hearse,Chainsaws and RopeBridge.One room featured the only way out squeezing through a old refigerator,which was identical to last year and not very scary. This profit based haunt has become nothing but predictable. The same delapitated shacks strewn through a muddy woods populated with country bumpkins who feel hootin and hollerin is a good scare. There are enough bumps and bangs to make you jump but nothing too scary. The props and scenes appear unfinished and rushed. The actors are very off-cue and most half costumed and out of character. As we walked from shack to shack there were masked people just standing around warming themselves by the bonfires or talking to one another. One scene in a tent had a Real Coffin but no action,another a false truck cab was very unoriginal as well as the trailer with Santa Clause which lacked in both Class and a Scare. Seemed more like a Day After Christmas sale at WalMart in which I'm sure most of the props originated. If you enjoy good old fashioned country fun this may be the haunt for you. The woods is Creepy in itself. The wait was not very long but I do not feel it is worth the asking price for it does not take long to walk through.

Summary

Pricey for the amount of scares. Predictable scenes. Lack of originality with the exception of one scene I found disturbing. The room was lit by candles and birthday music was playing and it was all done up like a kids birthday party. I thought this is not normal! All I saw was zombie children seated at the table until we looked for a exit and were greeted by a creepy little clown asking if we came for the party. Another clown knew my name and squirted us with party strings and laughed a evil laugh. It was original,unexpected and freaked us out,Clowns throwing a birthday party in a abandoned shack in the woods and evidence of prior lured victims. Enough to make the wheels of my mind spin. This could really happen! VERY ORIGINAL. I'd go back next year for that,but the rest needs work.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Hauntedhousefan12 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! They have done it again. I have been going to Haunted Houses for years and have always been in awe of what goes on here at the Wisconsin FearGrounds. We got there a lil late and they were still going strong!! These houses are the best i have seen in a long time!

Summary

This year they brought back the horse stalls, which help make you feel like you are all alone, when we started our way in I could see that this was going to be worth the money. The Costumes, Sets, and Makeup were incredible. Every thing in the houses fit perfectly. The Actors knew right where to strike, and not just yell at you. All in All, The Wisconsin FearGrounds is Worth the time and Money! You will not be disappointed!!!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror Trail

by ghostlygoddess666 after attending on Saturday, September 19, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Not even remotely scary- I would recommend this haunt for little kids or beginners, not avid haunt goers like myself. Not worth the $10 or the gas to drive there.

Summary

Unoriginal, short (only took us about 10 mins to get thru) and very amateur. There were several minutes towards the end where nothing happened at all; just the sounds of us walking and that's about it.

View all Terror Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by HannahBalLecter after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Well, to be completely honest, not my favorite house. I hate to be critical, because I love all haunted houses :) but It fell well below my expectations. The props were very good, but not the best I've seen by far. The burial simulator was also very corny and seemed like a breeding ground for bacteria, lol. The actor's seemed bored and unenthusiastic.

Summary

Not scary at all, but mildly entertaining. The actor's were very lame. Not worth the money for a ticket.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by HannahBalLecter after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow, what a spectacular haunt!! I went with my closest friends and we all loved it. Everything was great. First of all, the train ride was truly amazing. Even waiting in line was fun! Torment was amazing and all the actor's definatley had fun with what they were doing! Then there was the Void... super awesome and freaky, but I don't want to ruin the suprise!! (Just be careful what you touch!) The 3-D house was unreal and although a little disorientating, it was superb. There was so much going on and it was such a fun time. The guy in the jester outfit was hilarious. But, by far the best part of the haunt was the main house. The details and effort that must go into the scenes is phenominal. Everything looked so real! The actor's were also amazing. They came out of nowhere and made noises and movements that seemed unhuman! I almost forgot that they were people and started believing that they really were zombies and monsters! They must love what they do. Especially the 3 people by the caves. They were so full of energy and were really into what they were doing. (They also scared the crap out of me!) Well done yet again guys! Keep up the good work!

Summary

Everything was great from the music to the detail, but the best part was the actor's. They must be well trained and clearly love what they do, which makes it more entertaining for the rest of us! The best haunt I've been to all year!!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by coririce after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome, awesome, awesome! We went with a huge group, and each of us came away with different experiences and different favorites -- favorite house of three (mine was Unstable!), favorite actor (don't want to give anything away although we universally loved Chicken Man), favorite "scare" (also not going to give anything away). At the time I was too chicken to go, but now I wonder what would have happened had I let myself be coaxed into a few of the creepy places they tried coaxing me into....ug, missed opportunities! I might have to go back!

Summary

I'd highly recommend Wisconsin Feargrounds, and do yourself a favor and do all three!!! They're each so different, so cool and WAY worth the money!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ntothep after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Unbelievable haunt! This place was crazy last year and I really wouldn't have thought it could've gotten bigger or better but it did...on both counts! My favorite is still the second haunt, Morgana's Torment. But the new Unstable was awesome too. It just added a completely new dimension to the three haunts in one location. The cool thing is that it's much more with the theme of the whole experience. I loved it! For the money, you won't find a better experience. Great job to all the actors, they really upped their game this year!

Summary

Three haunted houses in one location that are all in the theme of a haunted manor, its basement and then the haunted stable. Very cool location and the newest haunt is long, entertaining and a different environment than the first two. Awesome time, awesome night!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Bobistoocool after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This has been my favorite haunted house this year and last year. I's been to the haunted house at State Fair Park, and this one blows it away!! Much scarier. Tons of actors jumping out at you.

I give it my highest recommendation!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by malroni2625 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

From the moment I pulled up to the haunt I could tell I was in for a scary night. I bought the tripple 20 dollar package and let me tell you, it was worth it! I am pretty sure I peed my pants during all three sections of this haunted house. I didnt know if i wanted to waste the money on the hayride but after it was done, i knew it was money well spent. All in ALl this is the BEST haunted house ive been to in many years! They had exactly what I was looking for, fun wise and scary wise!

Summary

I would have to give this haunted house a 5 for both because of how well it was put together. Wonderful job a theater of lost souls!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by BlackCat after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

You guys will NOT be disappointed if you chose Wisconsin Fear Grounds!

You can tell that there is so much dedication that goes into these haunted houses every year! The props look so realistic, and in Morgan Manor, there is so much victorian detail that it feels like you have traveled back in time!

The actors are freaking awesome! They are not just your average haunted house actors/actresses. They all have there own way to scare you whether its screaming or just looking at you strange! It's so cool how they interact with each other too! Plus when they come crawling at you... you will freak! I also think it's so cool that each haunted house is a new experience. In my opinion, I feel that they got freakier as we went from one to the next.

So the props are great, actors are awesome, and the haunts are scary! How could they possibly get any cooler?? The staff. They are so friendly and really know how to get things moving. They had these SMOKIN HOT girls in the end giving out free energy drinks! Seeing these beautiful women was the perfect ending.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 22nd, 2019 3:57 a.m. CST 11.0