ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

A rather unpleasant, moody night set the the tone for this horrifying adventure through a Southeastern Wisconsin Farm. Glacier Rock Farms, normally a petting zoo, takes a sinister atmosphere after dark.

They first send you through a haunted mine. This is one of the neater haunted experiances this year. Seeming like a real mine, you are sent down a mine shaft and through a cave populated only by the spirits of departed. Things pop up and out all over sending you yet further on.

Your carriage awaits you after freeing yourself from the mine. You find yourself going through a forest populated with all sorts of fire-breathing ghouls and shadowy ghosts.

This section of our adventure provided me with the very real fear that we really were not going to make it back out. The mud on the paths was deep and my trust in the tractor taking us back into the woods was not terribly strong at times. We did make it through safely and without too much issue.

Then you are left out in the woods and must make your way back along a path in the woods. Many demons are encountered along the way. At the edge of the woods you find yourself making your way through the corn. The corn seems to move on it's own and it seems as though something is there in the fields with you...Or is it all your imagination?

I enjoyed my time at Glacier Rock Farm. The weather really was not ideal for this event, though the individuals whom run it put a lot of effort into still making it an experiance to remember for those whom attend.

Like I mentioned, I was worried that their tractor would not make it down the paths it was supposed to go on. I was also worried, due to the fact that the mud made the walking paths nearly impossible to go down without slipping. Having to be as worried as I was about my footing really took away a lot of enjoyment that I could have had going through it.

I am deeply appreciative to the staff and all that make this event possible even in harsh conditions.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The signage to the starting point for this haunted adventure was fairly decent. Do know, though, that once you turn onto Hoard Road, you will be going a ways. My directions off the internet didn't seem to provide for the fact that you go that far back and a few times I had thought I had must have gone too far.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Due to the weather on the night I attended, the wait was almost non-existant, though we did wait for enough people to show up to make it worth their while to send us back on the farm.

Actors' Performance


They did an A+ job for the conditions that they were presented with. Most of them were colder and more wet then those of us in attendance. I give them credit for the energy they had.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Dark Side is not the most technically advanced adventure. They

Length


Comprising, in all, a haunted house, a haunted hayride, and a haunted corn maze, this event is one of the longer haunted events in the area. It might be too long for some, but I enjoyed myself.

Crowd Control


There were not enough people(due to the weather) to make this an issue.

Most Memorable Moment


Creeping into an old hunting shack in the woods can never lead to good things in October...

Summary

This is a fun mixture for anybody that enjoys being scared. This event is populated by quite a number of dedicated haunters.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 5:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Monster Mayhem, an outbreak experience!  The night began with kind of a boring wait, you purchased our tickets and waited, no music, no monsters, but this is to be expected, you are waiting in a pizza parlor after all.  Once in, you are led to a dark staiway, where you wait in another line, for a gentleman to get you.  Monster Mayhem was very actor and prop heavy.  The central theme is an outbreak, and zombie takeover.  At times you are rushed by "guards" to get from area to area, this is a great effect, gets the heart pumping.  This haunt has two fake elevators that give the effect that you are going down deep into the ground.  There is a couple effects that involve getting sprayed with water, always nice when there are physical scares like this.  The best part of Mayhem was the giant alien at the end that appears to be an animitronic, you walk by, it follows you!  Mayhem was a short, but fun thrill ride!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you are not looking for it, you will miss it, no real outside signage, just inside.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It is in a pizza joint, so not much they can do, don't want to upset other patrons

Actors' Performance


the actors were totally into this!  they made you believe you were in a heap of trouble!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


the sets were great, unbelievable effects

Length


about 10 minutes, a little short, but fun

Crowd Control


lacking, once you get your wristband, you can sit wherever, seemed like it could get chaotic

Most Memorable Moment


Large alen chasing us

Summary

Short but sweet, Monster Mayhem was full of infected ghouls and heart racing activity.  A full throddle haunt!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Gilly's the haunt I was least excited for, turned out to be the best so far!  The line was short and fast, there were no actors entertaining, but there were, "newspaper clippings" explaining the history of Gilly's.  I really liked the music that was being played as we waited, part circus, part halloween, part ska, it was fun to listen to.  After the line we were led down a path to a very smokie greenhouse-ish area where we boarded an animated boat!  It was great.  A ghoulish woman then boarded the boat and went over a few rules with you.  The smoke was so dense, you couldn't see a thing, it was very cool.  The theme was very circus heavy, which is alright with me, sideshows, clowns and freaks all in one place!  The highlights of the haunt were the spinning room, this left you feeling real disorientated.  There was a room with a swirl on the floor, a strobe light and what appeared to be a fake clown contorsionist on the wall, but he wasn't fake!  Creeped us out!  Another great part was the mirrored hallway, my girlfriend said the highlight of her season was me leading the way down this hallway, walking up to one turn, seeing my refection, and saying "oh wait, that's me"  Great effect!  In all, the effects were great, the actors were top notch, the staff was awesome, and Gilly's was the best haunt of the year!  

Signage / Visibility / Location


Gilly's was well lit, and easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Waiting area could have used some actors, but the clippings on the wall and the music was very entertaining.

Actors' Performance


The best actors around, very dedicated.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were great, all in the circus theme.  They spent a lot of time!

Length


15 minutes to complete, but felt like we were in there for an hour, lots to see, lots of fun!

Crowd Control


The lines were contained very well, nobody bouncing around

Most Memorable Moment


The boat ride was the best, it was just the rules, but nothing I had experienced in a haunt before.  The spinning room definately was second.

Summary

I have been to Gilly's a few times in the past and never was "WOWed" by it, but this year Gilly's made a believer out of me.  It was by far the funnest experience haunt wise.  They had the most dedicated actors.  Lots of fun!

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Meadowbrook is always one of the highlights of the season for me.  This year was a bit different, but good none the less.  We arrived, the parking was ample.  Decorations on the outside were the same as years past, highlighted by the Killer Clowns From outerspace exhibit and the penned animals that at times can freak you out.  Nothing scarier than a goat making noises when you are not expecting it!  We got our wristbands and headed to the campfire, where a gentleman was
telling ghost stories, this is new to me, there was no fire the last
time I was there.  After about 20 minutes listening to stories and warming up by the fire, our numbers were called and we proceded to the line.  This line would have been uneventfull, had it not been for the above mentioned animals, it was fun watching them.  After about 20 minutes in this line we entered the cornfield.  The cornfield had AMAZING effects, I couldn't even begin to guess how much money was spent on props and electricity.  There were a minimal amount of actors in the haunt, which was a little dissapointing to me, I would have liked more interaction.  With that said Meadowbrook went above and beyond decorating the haunt.  The best part, by far was an animitronic at the end that was reminiscent of an alien from the Alien films, fery good detail and very big!  The field took a good 45 minutes to an hour to get though.  In all, Meadowbrook is probably the best haunt for your money, long and detailed, Meadowbrook knows what they are doing! 

Signage / Visibility / Location


The directions provided on the site take you to where you need to go, The large sign in front and the visable bonfire don't hurt either!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The bonfire before the line definately help warm you up, in years past I remember waiting in that line for, what seemed like, forever, freezing.  The line itself was shorter due to this, but no real entertainment, aside from some penned animals.

Actors' Performance


There were few actors in the field, the ones that were there were pretty good, the corn all around them made it hard for them to "sneak" up on you, but they did well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A++++, the best props this side of the Rocky Mountains!  but seriously, unbelievable stuff, these people know what they are doing and don't hold back a thing!

Length


Another stellar area for Meadowbrook, If you want to get your moneys worth, this place is it.  Your are looking at upwards of an hour, that is rediculously good!

Crowd Control


The bonfire was a great addition, this keeps the crowd down and eliminates what I remember from the past, lines extending across the main road.

Most Memorable Moment


The LARGE alien at the end, very cool looking, very awesome

Summary

Meadowbrook is a visual masterpiece of horror!  A lengthy journey through the corn with unbelievable effects.  Fun for the entire family!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by CrazyKathy after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house had a lot of wonderful technology and a lot of creativity intertwined throughout each room. It was very scary. There were a lot of great ideas.

Summary

This is definitely worth the $12.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by matrix2974 after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I live in the Fox Valley and have attended Haunted Houses in that area only for the past several years with some fellow "haunt" searchers. The hauntings in our area are ok, but this was hands-down the best haunted house I've ever been too! I never screamed so much in my life and I'm 35 years old! Highly recommended if you're looking for a good scare!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin Fear Grounds, what a treat this was!  Three haunts in one, all three completely different.  Our night began with a little confusion, as the grounds have many areas , and not all of them are haunt related!  We arrived only to discover we went to the wrong area.  This was totally our fault as there were signs directing us to the haunt, that we missed.  Once we finally made it to the right area, things ran smoothly.  Tickets and concessions along with port-o-pottys are readily available.  We got our tickets and headed into a short waiting area.  The line wasn't too ling and was entertaining due to a television that was running a loop of one of the hallways in the haunt.  You could see, thanks to night vision, some visitors being scared, some to the point of falling!  Next, we were herded up like cattle and lead to a pen, where I can only guess houses cows during the fair season.  The pen was entertaining because just when you thought it was just another waiting area, out come some ghouls to get you!  They were great, smelling us and telling my girlfriend she had gone bad!  After the pen, we were led to the first of three haunts...

Morgan Manor:  Manor was great, reminiscent of haunts I attended as a child, relying heavily on props and ambiance to scare you.  There were few actors in here, but the decoration and effort they had to put in payed off.  Loud sounds, darkness, and ghoulish props made manor very fun and creepy.  This haunt lasted about 10-15 minutes, after we exited, there was a path that led to the next haunt...

Morgans Torment:  Torment was the best of the three haunts.  Torment  utilizes darkness, which is always my favorite feature of a haunt.  The best part of the house was the vinyl balloonish material on the walls and ceiling to give you that claustrophobic feeling as you have to SQUEEZE your way though these hallways.  It was great!  I have experienced this before, but my girlfriend had never, and it totally blew her mind!  There were a few actors in this house, which played there parts very well, separating us from the rest of the group to add an additional scare to those who fear abandonment! 

Unstable:  Unstable was a the most actor friendly of the three houses.  You are first greeted by a tall goat man, who talks similar to Jim Breuer's "Goat Boy" character on SNL, he was a laugh riot, very funny.  This haunt was very much like walking though an insane asylum, lots of crazies, and creepy rednecks!  The actors were very into what they were doing and committed, no pun intended, to spooking you out!   

Signage / Visibility / Location


There were signs, but small ones, simillar to candidate signs on lawns, if it is dark, you may miss them.  Once you find your way though, you can't miss it!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Line was good, filled with a loop of haunt highlights and actors.

Actors' Performance


The actors were dedicated to spooking you, none of them seemed like they were ready to retire for the night, which is always my pet peave at haunts.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The set and all props and FX were top notch.  You can tell they spend a ton putting this thing together, and it pays off in the end.

Length


Each house is about 15 minutes long, so plan on spending a good hour to an hour and a half if you count lines.

Crowd Control


Everything was orderly, the lines were roped off so no stragglers!

Most Memorable Moment


Ballooned hallways were the best!

Summary

Definately worth the time and money, Wisconsin Fear Grounds is three haunts that have something for everyone!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by Jrmass after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Having worked for several haunted houses in the past I try to keep an open mind about haunts that are volunteer based as you obviously get some excellent actors and some well you get where I'm going. This house followed that to the tee. My wife and I had been talking about attending House of Shadows (HoS) for the past two years but it never worked out for our schedules. This year we made sure to set this weekend as the one to go and the best word(s) I can use to describe the HoS was disorganized (refering to the way tickets are dealt with) un-professional (in how the actors *front entrance people included* need to learn to stay in character) and lastly un-utilized (there were sooooooooo many places that could have had an actor or prop to yet I was left disapointed just about everytime.

With that said though... There was in my mind one upside that both my wife and I agreed upon... The "Saw" room was something that neither of us had ever experienced before and made for an excellent room (although the actors did not do much for the room). The speech about the history of the house was excellent and made for a good way to boost up the moral of the groups.

Summary

-Disorganized ticket taking operation (no explaination on where to meet up when your ticket is called)
-Tons of un-utilized space inside of the house (could have been lack of help I'm not sure but, it still costs the same reguardless if I'm getting my money's worth or not)
-If you are looking for a scare this is not what you are looking for. If you are looking to donate $7/person to a good cause (boys and girls club) then go ahead and be as confused as I was.

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first time at Neenah's Most Haunted, and it was well worth the drive.  It is put on by the Neenah Youth Go, which is a youth drop in center in Neenah. Don't let the above fool you, it's not your typical youth run non-profit haunt. They boast 24 years of experience and it really shows through. While it was not the scariest haunt I have ever been to, the actor's really got into their roles. As soon as you step into the first room, you know how the haunt is going to be. When the king gives you the background on the kingdom, you can see through the dedication he has that he has rehearsed the role to perfection. It sets the remainder of the haunt up very well, and you do not know what to expect around the next corner. The haunt uses their space effectively, with quite a few dark mazes and confusing passages. It took us 24 minutes to get through on an average pace, which was the right amount of scenes in the right amount of time. They also had nice use of common things such as strings, ribbons and mattress pads, all of which you need to see for yourself. Overall, I would say it would be good for anyone ages 10 and up. There are definitely enough scares for those who scare moderately easily, and even a few surprises for those who don't get scared. It is definitely worth your time and money as the quality of the acting and scenes are above average.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow the directions from their profile on Haunted Wisconsin you'll get there no problem. They are easy to see from a distance as they have a lit up sign and some flashing lights that lead you right to them.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We went about a half hour befor closing on a Friday night and there was absolutely no line. I beleieve the weather probably had something to do with that as it was not very nice. It is an outdoor waiting area, so if the weather is iffy dress appropriately.

Actors' Performance


As stated in the above review, the actor's were right on cue. They put a lot of time into their roles and should be very proud of what they have accomplished. They didn't break character, and when the leader of our group would get lost they would direct you the right way, but not by being obvious. This definitely was the strong point of the night. Keep your eyes open for the king and the baby.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were very well done. You could tell here that they have 24 years of experience. They know how to use what they have effectively.  The best example of this would be the ribbon room. They had a few of the standard rooms you have in every haunt but had a few of their own unique rooms as well.

Length


24 minutes, which was a good amount of time for what they have. Definitely enough surprises to keep you interested.

Crowd Control


I believe we were the last ones of the night as some of the actor's were standing outside after we got through, so it's hard to say how they do on the spacing of groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I would probably say the nursery rhyme was very memorable, as it was very creepy and haunting.

Summary

Overall these guys know what they are doing. As I stated before it's not the scariest haunt out there, but I believe for a beginner or even a family this is a great way to spend an evening. it is well worth the time and money. Also  they are wheel chair accessible, which opens more possibilities for people with disabilities as not a lot of haunts have the space to provide that feature. If you are looking for a place to take the kids and see them scared, or just looking for a scare yourself, Neenah's Most Haunted is the place to go in the Fox Cities.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by runningscared after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

First I think the wording of the sign to find the place was a bit confusing. Not sure I was at the right place. The Hunted woods idea is good but it is not much fun when it is raining and cold out. Don't think the actors in the house were top notch. Did not get scared very much. They need a little work on how to scare people. The sound was okay but seemed to be a little loud at times. I was look forward to the room were you get squeezed. Not as much fun as I thought. I been to better event with the same squeezing Idea but it seemed to work better. I think with a little work it could work for them too. Costumes were very good. I will give them that. The whole event took about 20 minutes that was not bad only wish there was more to keep me interested.

Summary

If you are going to come all the way up to that area to see a haunted event I would suggest you try a different one. You may be sorry if you don't Thats just my opinion.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by mindfreak885 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

so we walked thru this really short path thru a bunch of trees and people just randomly jumped out screaming....not scary....then we had to knock on a door and this dude in makeup let us in and i think he was a vampire and was rambling about some vamipre stuff. had to squeeze thru these air filled things on the wall.bunch of loud noises and that was the only "scary" factor. a waste of 12 bucks

Summary

cool decorations inside, but overall just lame.this was my first haunted house and it was just pathetic. great for little kids though. i dont know who would rate this high on anything.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by Andya after attending on Thursday, October 22, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The haunt is a pavillion on a hill and the walk in the light rain felt a bit creepy and added to the anticipation we were going to be scared. Finding Olin Park entrance was not hard because had a white sign on the boulevard pointing an arrow where to turn into. We were travelling north on John Nolen Drive away from the beltline (Hwy 12/18) and made a right turn immediately by the railroad tracks crossing the stop and go lights at the intersection into Olin Park. They have a small canopy over a picnic table to buy tickets and a short walk up a winding road to the doors of the pavillion. The wait was short and we were in quickly after a large group of people. We entered and immediately were feeling around trying to figure which way to go, we wandered briefly and found a reception area. Let me tell you I do not want to be diagnosed by either the receptionist or the doctor. Very creepy and all we did was skeedaddle deeper into the asylum. I will not descrive more, but the volunteers and/or actors really put their heart and hopefully not someone' else's beating heart into either creeping us out or scarying us into a wall. I will say they have an excellent special effect with a victim getting some much needed shock treatment. The effect was very well done and creeped me out. They have insane inmates or monsters, hard to tell roaming the hall and we either screamed ro jettisoned ourselves in the opposite direction. The use of strobes was minimal but very effective use of them, because took us awhile to get out of one room, especially since we found the directions we got from the eerie person/entitiy in the room may or may not have been correct. I will also share this, once you think you are safe from the haunted house, you are not.

Summary

The volunteers or actors can tell put a lot into either making you very ill at ease or scared to death, and fluctuated but never let up in either the rooms or the pitch black halls. My skin really crawled and wanted to run out of the hoaunted house. The $8 per person we payed was worth every cent. A lot of the scares in the rooms we did not see coming. The inmates will play games with you if you ask them, all we wanted to do was try not to become a permanent resident.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Screamlori after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I loved this haunt! We got lost on the way there, so watch the highway signs carefully. Believe me it is worth the trip. We waited a little more than an hour. But they have a great snack area with plenty of stuff to eat and drink. This is not your normal haunted house, it is so much better. They start by telling the story of the farm and then you find yourself standing amoung flaming torches outside this abandoned mine shaft with fog rolling out and screams coming from within. (the group ahead of us had to be walked around to the wagon ride). If you can force yourself to enter you will be treated to a unique and terrifying experience. I loved the bonfire while we waited a few minutes for the next wagon to arrive. I loved the wagon part of the Dark Side. There is crawly stuff on your butt and your face, fire, explosions, sparks, trains and hanging bodies. Oh yah, an endless supply ghoulish characters attacking the wagon. Another bonfire as you are dispatched into a black pine forest filled with screams. The grave yard scene is great but the cabin, well I could not scream again after I left the cabin. I could have been done after the forest trail but we had to survive the corn field to finish. I think it was more than an hour and 15 minutes from when we started. We went to four very different haunts for the price of one ticket.

Summary

This is by far the best haunt I have ever been to. The actors are spot on and everywhare . We will be going back this weekend with more friends.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Ray_Jin after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I will start this off by saying I am NO expert on haunted houses. I would not however, take time out of my day to write a review for anything unless it either impressed or completely disappointed me. In this case I am ecstatic! This event blew me away and creeped me the F out.

So we decided to start out in Adrenaline because we figured we would knock out the longest line first (which I might add was the worst part, but it IS a very well known haunt so you should know what to expect! So dress appropriately!) The actors were great and scared the ever living shit out of me. It lasted a good 15-20 minutes. The group I was with was significantly small so it also made it more enjoyable.

Second we went to the woods. I don't know what the hell people on here are talking about because this haunt freaked me out the most! The guy in the robe was growling at me and my group and then just went running back into the wood before we started. I think he followed us the entire time because he jumped out at least twice and startled me. There was also some person in a ditch that I didnt notice until i realized they were crawling on the ground behind us! The best part was when the guy in the robe pointed at the ditch guy and said "thats my ditch bitch!" in a high pitched girly voice. Funniest thing I heard all night.

Last, we hit up insanity. By then there was no line so waiting was no longer an issue. I'll have to say my favorite part was going through the morgue maze, because it actually felt like you were getting lost. Randomly, the tooth fairy was running around pointing his lazer gun at us. He was pretty funny. The girl in the "accident" room was definately my favorite. She was pretty funny. This house was definately more scary than adrenaline. I was in the back so I got to be messed with the most, and I was obviously a pansy about it so they screwed with me more than the rest of the group.

ALSO, the girl dressed up as the dead medic was AWESOME!

Everyone stayed in character and the make up was amazing! Will definately come back next year.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by jacktheripper after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW!! Wisconsin we have a new World Class Haunt. I live in the fox valley and travel a lot with my job. I make a point of visiting haunts all around the country every year. A colleague from Milwaukee called to tell me about the Dark Side haunt. My wife and I drove the nearly 3 hours to get to the middle of nowhere. Boy was it worth the trip. The setting is perfect. The abandoned mine theme for the haunted house portion of the event is great and the detail is wonderful. The house is not your normal room scene after scene but more like an adventure through a mine or cave which gives the actors unique access to the guests. The second part of this haunt is the hay ride. I know many people don’t go to hay rides because they can be lame. (It is hard to get a scare on a wagon full of people) Not so at the Dark Side. The wagon is not a hay wagon at all. It has seats like a theater, a soundtrack that matches what is going on in the scene, and special effects you might find in a Disney Theatre. They use the known location of their guests on the wagon to execute some great pyrotechnics. The third phase of the haunt is a trail through a pitch black pine forest. Again their attention to detail in the scenes is great and the actors use this unique environment to scare the crap out of you. We had several people in our wagon load that would not go through the pine forest after they heard the screams coming from the darkness. Even if you duck out at this point you have already got your monies worth. The final phase of this incredible adventure is a trail through the corn. What they lack in props here is made up for in scares by the actors. The three young girls behind us nearly ran us down screaming in an effort to escape the relentless attacks. The closest haunt I have seen to this, is one of the huge east coast haunts called Bates Motel just outside of Philly. And even they don’t have the pine forest trail. And you would pay $60.00 to see all three of their haunts on a Fri. or Sat. night. The woman in the store told me the two guys who created all of this have already begun work on next year’s attractions, I cannot wait!

Summary

This haunt will be on my must see list for years to come. It looks like they have plenty of room to expand and these guys know what they are doing. It won’t be long before we have another nationally recognized haunt in our back yard.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:54 p.m. CDT 1.12