2009 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by mod55fan after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

When i went through last night. i thought it wasn't going to be scary. because of when i walked in the door there was nothing. until you actually began the haunt. this was the first time i ever went through. the wait was kinda long. but it was definitely worth the 15 dollars. because you scared the S*** out of me. I guarantee i will make the visit to your haunted attraction again next year.

Summary

It was a very amazing scary haunted warehouse. I suggest if you haven't went through yet. i suggest that you do it is definitely worth the money. there was not a point that i wasn't freaked out.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by mod55fan after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I thought the burial chamber was great. The make up artists did such a good job they looked totally real. the sound effects was great also.

Summary

When i went to this i thought it wasn't gonna be as good as what i thought after i went through it. if you haven't went through yet i suggest you do.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by spangieangie after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

NO NEED TO SAY MUCH BUT GO THERE AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF!! IM TELLING EVERYONE I KNOW TO GO THERE ITS THE BEST!!!

Summary

EASY TO FIND!! YOU'LL HAVE A GREAT TIME POOPING IN YOUR PANTS! HAHAHHA

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Cool with a capital "K," and that stands for "Kick Ass," loyal reader.  Schuster's It's-Not-Playtime-After-Dark (tm) Haunted Forest is a first-class outdoor haunt that clearly a lot of time and creativity goes into.  From the moment you get to the front of the line and are carted off in a rickety tractor-pulled cattle pen driven by a trembling and crazy "old lady" in a babushka and housedress, to when you finally emerge from the woods and find yourself unexpectedly back in the very same cattle pen and it whisks you off again (!), this place never lets up.  Terrific ghouls, mega-misdirections, and unexpected surprises and scenes, and over it all the oppressive incredibly dark forest setting, all adding up to a most enjoyably harrowing evening.  I could usually give a sh** about spoilers in haunts, but they asked us specifically not to reveal too much, so I'm kind of constrained in illustrating how cool this haunt really is, but, boy, this is one excellent haunt, boys and ghouls. 

Signage / Visibility / Location


Right there on the main highway (12/18? I wasn't the one driving), all lit up and beckoning you in, follow directions from haunted wisconsin.  Pretty close to Madison.  Park on the lawn near the corn maze, it's a little confusing driving up to the farm, I think we had to kind of circle around something as we left the highway, but it's really quite easy to find. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We had to wait for a while, maybe 25 minutes, because the cattle pen/transport cart broke down while we were there and they had to weld it back together or something (!).  When we got on, we found a hole punched out of the mesh, perhaps someone panicked, heh heh heh, or maybe something tried to get in....  We also heard in the line that someone had a heart attack in the haunt, but couldn't get this confirmed.  Wait wasn't too awful, though, there's lots of stuff to do; snacks and hot cider and hot kettle korn are sold at either a little trailer or a tent or by people wandering around like the little cigarette girls from the olden times.  They also have what looked like a small bakery on premises (!) in the main outbuilding, where they sell little crafts and homemade fudge and cookies.  Wait is alongside the building, and they projected the first Children of the Corn movie on a shed wall while we were waiting, so that was pretty cool; that's not as impressive a movie as when it first came out, by the way.  No ghouls really roamed around while we were there, but that was fine, I think they saved them all for the forest. 

Actors' Performance


Some really cool characters and actually some little scenes for you to watch, sprinkled out amongst the usual ghouls-emerging-from-unlikely-hiding-places.  Tip of the scalp to the "little old lady" who drives your cattle pen at breakneck speed down to the forest and her trembling "little old lady" voice and patter ("and if you're pregnant, well, now, you probably shouldn't have come here anyway") and there's a terrible accident in the middle of the forest but someone called the wrong kind of cop...And, I have to say, they must have some kind of first class training program for teaching some of these ghouls to motionlessly mimic mannequins, because we got to the point where we were all mixed up and thinking mannequins were ghouls and about to jump out at us and then a ghoul would arise from some other area and everyone would start screaming, etc etc I assume you know the drill.  There are some other actors (and pairs of actors) I'd like to highlight here, but don't want to give anything away, so, find out for yourselves!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really great ideas and sets and excellent use of the wonderfully creepy night-time forest setting, some creative people are obviously involved here.  There are little vignettes in some locations, numerous small buildings to make your way through, and even a weird junkyard.  They also do things like attack your sense of smell at one point, which makes things even more disconcerting.  Again, I don't want to give too much away, so won't go into any further detail...except to say there is an abandoned bus.  And there are clowns.  Enjoy!

Oh, and I should add that there is one compression scene here in which even I, after all my years of going to haunted houses, started to feel claustrophobic and vulnerable.

Length


Took us more than an hour to get through; you first wait in line to get on the cattle pen, and then they drive you out into the freaking middle of nowhere.  I'm not kidding, there was no light, no sense of civilization, nothing; we weren't even sure where the farm or road were compared to our location.  Anyways, you're dumped off at the edge of a forest all by yourselves and have to find your way up a forest path in the pitch black, until you run into a slanted cabin, all lit up by a torch, where you wait to be sorted into groups and get let into the haunt proper.  This is totally cool -- there are no directions here, you just have to find your way up to the cabin and get in line.  Let me tell you, there's nothing like waiting in a pitch black forest with some thing wandering in the woods around you but never really revealing itself. 

Crowd Control


As above, two waits; you can watch movies during the first wait, and you just have to hope you're not attacked during the second wait in the cold dark of the endless forest with the shivery stars shining down on you as you catch glimpses of the fire-lit cabin up the hill there, right past that grim reaper statue....Also, an excellently-paced haunt, we never ran into another group. 

Most Memorable Moment


1)  One rambunctious companion wandered off the trail in the forest and apparently surprised a ghoul who was "tinkling," with said ghoul literally chasing him down the path and then following us menacingly for the rest of the haunt.  We weren't sure if he was actually upset or just really intimidatingly into his character.  These bitches don't mess around, folks. 
2)  Best. Vortex. Ever.  Seriously.

Summary

This is one of those experiences in which the seasoned members of our group were really excited and energized when we left the haunt; lots of thrills and chills, and you really felt like you had been through something exciting and impressive.  Excellent characterizations and scenes at different points, terrific and creative strategies for freaking out the squares, and overall a real sense of menace and darkness and being kind of lost and out there on your own in the middle of the woods where someone might have had a heart attack earlier that night...or maybe something came through the mesh of that cattle pen cart and dragged them away....  Highly recommended. 

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by brlmnt after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

My Favorite Haunted House...turned Bad :(

Summary

Sorry to be a buzz kill, but i thought that this year was a bad year for the morgue. I go to this haunted house every year and i really enjoy it. This year though, i did not. I went with a group of 7 friends. The haunted trail was pitch black, i had to hold the rope along the side to know where i was going, and there were only 2 people along the trail that tried to "scare" our group.(One with a chain saw and one wearing a black hooded sweatshirt with a white painted face.) The fire was nice and toasty and i enjoyed hang'n with my friends. But we were told there was supposed to be a band and there wasn't so we were kind of dissapointed about that, we love live music! Finally, we get to go to the house! The enterance was freaky and i was so excited to go inside. Sadly, the whole house only had 4 people inside to "scare" our group. 1 was in the first crawl space blocking our way through,(i thought that was creepy and cool!) The next 2 were in the room that rocks back and forth. The last one was hiding behind some stuff in a corner and just making it rustle around so you couldn't really see the person. The rest of the house was just pitch black like the trail through the woods, so unless you are extremly afraid of the dark it wasn't scary at all. I thought the new ending after the slide was a neat idea. I hope the people who do all the work to make this haunted house a success take this review as helpful critisism so that the house can be scary again next year.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by ladeedaa after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Boring! No, really. I was bored. Im usually the 1st to admit being scared in haunted houses. But I actually yawned while visiting this one . The "actors" were very "blah" I caught more than one checking their watches! The wait was disorganized. They promised 40 mins of fear.. We got about 15 mins of nothing. Sorry!

Summary

I was sooo looking forward to visiting this one, too! I forced my entire group to re-work our plans because I was so convinced they'd be pleased. Well, it is a waste of time and money. Bummer, too because the location is so FUN! Lots of missed oppertunities to make this a wicked fun place! boo

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by burial_screamer after attending on Thursday, October 15, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my third and final stop of the night. I came to see there redone haunted Adrenaline, however it was closed this night, went back on sunday(will talk about in a minute). Since this haunt was closed I ended up going through Phobia. I have not been through Phobia in a couple of years so I enjoyed what I say. I like the natural feel where it is self pace. The only way you know you are going the correct way is the light from the night sky and and the path. It feels like you are actually walking through the woods and things are jumping at you. Because Adrenaline was not open on that Thurs I came back on Sunday to go throught this haunted house. I ended up going in with two screaming girls so it made the experience so much fun. All I can say is Holy Shit, this house rocks. If you have been though this haunt in the last couple years you are in for a treat. This haunted offers all new scares at new level. There were actors every place you looks. They were above, below and side to side of you. You would see them and they would be gone ready to get you again. These actors had so much energy that is was insane.

Summary

Burial Chamber you guys put on a great show again and out of the house I have been to this year by far my favorite. There is a reason you claim to be #1, that is because you are. Every well done...

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by burial_screamer after attending on Thursday, October 15, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my second stop of the night. This was my first time to this haunted house, so I not know what to expect. Once again I bought just the basic $13 ticket, didn't seem like many were in line. It was kind neat how they have there food stand in line. Also about half way up the trail you can upgrade your ticket for ten dollars and go to there VIP area. When in line I was right at the front so I combined with a boyfriend and girlfriend. Some how the actors found out that is was her birthday so they based a lot of the scares off the birthday. i do have to so my favorite part of the whole haunted house was the first two rooms where they drop the story line on you. Each of the rooms are done up in 3D so it gives the haunt a different feeling, well done. My favorite rooms was the twister room, never saw the scare coming.

Summary

Overall my night waa great Dave and the team (shawano manor) staff put a really great so, I was delighted to finally make it up there to see what they put on.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by burial_screamer after attending on Thursday, October 15, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

So those who know me, know that I love haunted house, so this was my first stop out of three haunted houses. When in line there was not many people there so I just went with the combo package instead of a VIP package. So entering the haunted house they had the train, the train was good but was not one of my favorites. We got off the train and was split up, one way was the main house the other was the combo line. I would have to say the tent haunts were my favorite. These were my favorite due to entertainment value. Between a nurse get lifted off her feet and thrown to a wall to the dark mazes. The other part I loved was the tour guide in the holiday section of the test. This actor never broke character was crack jokes about all the rooms, he was great. If you are looking for the vortex the tent haunts are the way to go because it is inside. Overall spending the extra money to go through the extra haunts is well worth it. When we finshed the tents we were off the the main haunt. As the boys are know for they put on a great main attraction, between the new prop, added detail and expanded rooms. There was one part it didn't like in both area and that was the air bag things. I hated the feeling of not having control.(hated in a good way, scared way). Once again great job on the cave looks like it has been expanded again and then you end up in the railway tunnel. What I was disappointed about was the number of actors in the house, seemed as if they were low numbered, however I did go on a off night(thursday)

Summary

Overall Terror on the Fox is still one of my favorite haunted house, and design wise hands down the greatest, keep it up bad boys. Good luck with the rest of year number 13.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Cavanaugh's Carriages Haunted Hayride

by lauriecolon after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Do not waste your money! I went on friday night, the signs to the place are brown so you can not see them at night, and once you got there no one was telling you where to park, it was a guessing game if you were going into the right door to buy the tickets. I was the second or third group to go out. There was an issue with the tractor that was pulling the wagon, it was bucking and stalling out the whole time. They have a very small area where you can see some animals while you waited for almost an hour for the tractor to come back and pick up the next group.

Summary

Most of the actors were really young kids who were running around playing with their friend instead of trying to scare people. This is not professional and not organized. The scenes have no thought put in to them so they are not scary at all. This place had a nice trail and could have dont alot better with it, like a guy with a chainsaw, scary music playing, classic horror icons, like Jason or Freddy. The only screaming you heard was when we were told to by some tour guide that was on the wagon, he talked way to much and was not funny..Also the dance with the monsters was bad, again they were a bunch of youg kids running around trying to dance to a radio station that was advertising diffrent haunts. Do not waste your time or money to go to this one.

View all Cavanaugh's Carriages Haunted Hayride reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD-

by fyjimo after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 10 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We visted the farm on Sunday afternoon. I brought my 75 yr. old mother-in-law and 11 yr. old niece. We went through the barn and had a BLAST!! What fun!! Great, scary rooms...never knew what was around the corner. Lots of screams as well as laughs! Then we went into the corn maze, took the hayride and picked some pumpkins and squash. What a great way to spend some family time. I would highly recommend getting to this one!!!

View all Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by shimmer_23 after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

As not a fan of clowns, I was apprehensive of attending this haunt. However, I wasn't that traumatized. The concept is a great one though, but I wish there were more scary/jump out circus themes.. a lot of it was more disturbing than anything.

Faves of the night - there were a few!
*Def the door maze...actor asked me to turn the knob and I did and it fell off!! He starts wailing and I'm like was that supposed to happen!? It was quite funny and I liked the concept. The actor did a great job!
*The striped room with the "surgeon" - great ideas for each one of us on how he was going to perform surgery.. way cool and original. His laugh was insane! Great job!
*The last room with the microphone.. great idea! The actor did a great job there too.

Summary

Overall seemed like a slightly scary fun house. Sure I got scared when things jumped out at me, but I laughed a lot too. I really enjoyed it... a great themed haunt.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by shimmer_23 after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

For such an odd location for a haunted house, the story line they chose really made sense. Since we went on a Sunday night they only had a skeleton crew of workers which I heard was about 1/2 of what they usually have. Sort of disappointing, but still a decent haunt!

Great story line setup in the first room, however the follow thru with the "escaped" person failed. Sorry but glasses - no glasses, hair - no hair.. should have done a little more to make actor/prop look more similar.

Loved the elevators and the hydraulics -- so disorientating! Great special f/x with the props..

Best part was towards the end. All I should say is that I saw something I didn't like, screamed and ran away only to be scared by something else, so I ran back, but saw the original thing that scared me, so I screamed again and ran forward again. My group thought it was too funny.

Summary

Wish we would have went when more actors were there - probably would have gotten a higher scare factor. However, great story line and f/x..

Time was a little rushed because we were the last group - the time it took to go through was not worth the $ paid, but the f/x def. made up for some of that.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by shimmer_23 after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

First off - loved the Michael Jackson videos to keep you entertained. I was busting moves out all night there.

In the house, I loved the ideas that went into the rooms. The maze and the balloon areas (you'll know when you go through) were some of my faves.. And the details in the rooms were fantastic.

However, some sides I didn't like was that almost in every other room the actors yelled at you to "get out"! It gets repetitive and not good haunted house etiquette. If I'm a zombie and want to eat your brains, I will not tell you to "get out"! And the fact that a lot of the actors were kids. Not a problem for some themed to say "I'm going to get you next" is a little hard to believe. :)

Summary

Overall, I enjoyed this haunt! There were rooms that scared me, others that made me want to dance a step or two, and others that I laughed at.

Good haunt and good details!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by shimmer_23 after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

What an interesting haunt! I thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience!

The line outside was not long at all and the in-line entertainment was superb. I was laughing and scared at the same time!

Inside the house, every turn brought new surprises.. I really liked all the growling and odd sounds that made me wonder how the actors can keep it up all night. So creepy!!! My fave room had to be, well... I don't want to give it away, so I'll just say that Sir Bubbles was too funny!! :)

What a good haunt.. they really utilized all the space they had to work with.

Summary

Great place for both laughing and to be scared...

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 10:01 p.m. CDT 1.6.3