2009 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 4 of 15 on this page (11 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Boo2U2 after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I always hear of Terror on the Fox and it's great reviews so this year I made it out there to give it a try. The train ride was, to say the least, disappointing. The wait in front of the house was a good idea with the actors performing. The props and set up were good, you can tell they invest money in this every year. The actors/actresses were decent.

Summary

Overall I was disappointed. I believe it's become too overrated and I did not think it was worth the money.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Shrine Of Horror

by Boo2U2 after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to The Shrine of Horror on three occasions. The first time they were closed because of not having permits, the second they closed a half hour early and we were unaware and the third was, to say the least, AWESOME!

I had been to five haunted houses (and most of having good reps) before this one and I can tell you this was my favorite by far! After going to it myself I sent two more groups their way who were looking for a good haunted house and both groups called me after and gushed about their favorite parts totally loving the experience.

Parking: it was easy enough to park, but it wasn't too busy and you weren't told where exactly to park.

Tickets: sold to us very cheap as compromise for them being closed on those two occasions. After going through it, however, I would have well paid full because it's well worth the ten dollars!

Lines: We only had two groups ahead of us so we got in after maybe 10-15 minutes. The line is outside in a non-covered area. The actors at the entrance were VERY amusing as we waited. We could have left at the door and been more entertained than some haunted houses' full experiences. Also, the jester had scared me at least a few times before even entering! Kudos for that, "ninja" =) The story behind the house should definitely be given to every group before entering. It adds to the effect and there's time while waiting, so why not?

The Set-Up: I was not disappointed in the set-up. They had a good balance with lighting and attention to detail was there. Some more sound effects would be nice to hear next year, but the silence worked. It was brilliant how they separated the "chicken" in the group in the first room. It was fun being separated from your support group.

Actors/Actresses: Altogether was a really good group. They were fun humored (which is so important!) and good at keeping character. There are just a few things I thought could be better however...
-The first room had a man who messed with you while you heard the rules. Some of his comments could have definitely been less rude. You can have the mean guy effect without the insults.
-In the room with the girl running around the pole we spent a lot of time. Too much time. We were eager to get to the house and she spent a lot of time talking, which is better than being too short but didn't need to be so long to have the "she's lost" effect.
-The room with the bags hanging from the ceiling had a girl acting in it. She made a random statement about her chest "being real" and used the "f" bomb which seemed inappropriate. Have to keep in mind there are families that come to these events.
But to end on a good note with acting, the girls who we played Simon Says with and the girl that I "got married" to were very funny.

Summary

The Shrine of Horror is definitely a 5++ for entertainment. They incorporated funny with the scary to create a very memorable experience. Scare level was good. I wish that it was open the weekend after Halloween as well because I would have loved to have gone through it again.

Most memorable moments:
-actors at the line
-playing Simon Says/"getting married"!
-actor who jumped out of a door as the lights turned on and then jumped through a window

Best idea: Separating the group.

Should you go to it next year? Yes!!!

View all The Shrine Of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Hollow

by bittybees after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Great yard display and actors. Deserves a donation!

Summary

Worth finding

View all Haunted Hollow reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hatten Park Haunted Trail

by bittybees after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Great hike through the park. Lots of actors in the woods. Wish more pumpkins were lit up when we went.

Summary

Good deal for $3

View all Hatten Park Haunted Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Opera House

by bittybees after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very neat old opera house. Great deal for $5. Scary kids and loved the mini horror movie.

Summary

Definately worth it!

View all Haunted Opera House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Millers Pumpkin Display

by bittybees after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

SOOOO Great! Almost 100 pumpkins. A must see; and it's great it's lit up late.

Summary

Gotta See!

View all Millers Pumpkin Display reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Hospital

by bittybees after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Great actor outside while waiting. You have to get your wristband around the corner of building before getting in line. The decor is good and nice special effects. When entering they said 20-30 min to get through all 4 floors. I guess we didn't time it, but it didn't seem that long. For $12 I guess I expected a little more, but it was fun.

Summary

little pricey, but good

View all The Haunted Hospital reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by runningscared after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very creative and lots of great technology and effects. Loved the house very much. Could tell a lot of hard work and effort went into creating it as well as some very talented minds.

Summary

Would definitely reccommend

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Millers Pumpkin Display

by Boug after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

OMG if you live anywhere near should go see them. it is GREAT for the whole family. You get up close to the pumpkins and just wonder how he does it.. It's not scary just VERY VERY COOL.

Summary

very cool

View all Millers Pumpkin Display reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got lucky here! They close at 10 and we arrived at 10:10. This was our fifth haunted house of the night. They had room on the last wagon so they let us go through. How lucky for us, because this was the best haunted experience of the night. There is lots of outdoor time for this one and the event was effected by the recent downpour, but they adjusted and it was awesome. Plus the night with the wind, the dark sky with the moon slipping behind the clouds at times was an effect never to be simulated. The mine was relief from the freezing wind but the scares got us warm up fast! Great! My favorite was the haunted wagon ride! Being driven through fields and woods via tractor on a huge wagon (by a strong, able and handsome driver) was so fun. The ground was muddy and greasy and I thought we'd get stuck by our reliable driver was awesome. I was scared, scared, scared and then pumped with anticipation for more scares during the ride. The corn maze was pretty muddy and the path was pretty worn, but it was fun. Loved the bonfires to warm up by too!

Summary

I attended 7 haunted houses/attractions this year. This one was by far the BEST! If there was a rating higher than 5 for fun factor I'd give this outfit that #!! The haunted mine was great, just being in it was freaky. Actors were great. The haunted wagon ride was fantastic. There were special effects that made everyone on the wagon jump and scream. Mother nature did a job on the corn maze but it was still very fun. We are already talking of going again!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Shadow Manor

by ShadowManor after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very scary for a home haunt, good actors and nice props. Much more than you would think.

Summary

A Must see, Great value

View all Shadow Manor reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

What a great setting. We got speed passes so we jumped line. The guy running the line was awesome! The haunted house was good, but there was too much waiting after you entered to go into the next area making it feel a bit disconnected. The visual effects in the aud were cool. There was some unique things but the waiting really took away from the experience. I think this one will get better year after year.

Summary

Good first year haunted house with room to grow. Talking during haunted house is disruptive. Has lots of potential.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was a solid haunted house overall. We got speed passes and jumped the line which was great. Our group was divided on the haunted experience that was 2 and 3, but we all liked Unstable the best. The actors made it so fun. They had listened to us calling out to eachother and then pursued us calling our names. The actors made this was one so great.

Summary

Each haunted house is themed, different from the others. We got scared and it was fun. Liked Unstable the best. Felt we were pushed through a bit quickly, didn't get to enjoy the effects as much as we would have liked and sometimes its fun to get a little lost. Would go again. Its a good scare.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by kenjamin after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the best haunted house ever! One of the people in my group soiled themselves. It was great. I give it a 9 out of 10.

Summary

Chainsaws, clowns, mazes, vortexes, axes, syringes. They use everything to scare you and it works. The actors are also superb. They don't break character and they are great at what they do. The creepy guy with the hat and glowstocks that said he ran a flower shop was really creepy. He gave off a sexual offender vibe.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by smmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

A large group of us visited the splatter haus on thurs oct 29 and were so excited to go through. Parking was very easy. There was a very short line to get into the house which is a covered area. We entered the house as myself and my daughter in law. We had a blast. We did'nt expect the scares we recieved and I have to say the pig as incredible!! There are so many black areas where you have to feel your way through which just made you feel a bit on edge. Ghouls came out of no where to do their scare and they were gone. Well trained actors were a huge plus in this house. I was expecting gory scenes, it was not that way at all. It was a great time. I am so glad we visited this haunt.

Summary

we were not expecting such an awesome haunt, but it sure was a great surprise to all of us. If you are in the area of manitowoc, go see this haunt

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 9:38 p.m. CDT 1.6.3