ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by jordan112 after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Hauntfest is a must-go every year. Its different every year. Different rooms different themes. I love what they did with the skull in the beginning to match the theme. The Theme is Neverland but there really isn't much at all that has to do with Michael Jackson in the house at all. The website has a bunch of different characters on it and tells how they associate with Neverland so thats a plus. Anyways some rooms were really cool. I really like the big spinning room it makes you feel like your spinning and about to fall over. another room i enjoyed was the movie room. They play Michael Jackson's Ghosts and there are couches... Beware dont try to sit on them the ghouls get pretty cranky and come at you like banshees and take your souls for all eternity! Vampires and Zombies run wild through the haunt your life is threatened in every room! Enter at your own risk.

Summary

This haunt was amazing! The actors did an awesome job. they had us running through the rooms. we barely got a chance to see what the rooms looked like. Hauntfest really knows how to put on a good show. It is a must-go. The best place to get your scare on this fall.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by sos262 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I think the creators did a good job for their first Haunted house in Racine. My girlfriend saw the clowns when we walked in and wouldn't open her eyes for the rest of the show. I'm anxious to see what they will do for next year. Shorter than a haunted hay ride but much more intense. Thanks

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sparky19 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! What a thrill. It is a must to go through all three haunts. Each one is uniquely scarey and entertaining! The actors were spectacular - we loved the make-up and costumes - and each person had their own personal touch. I would highly recommend the Wisconsin Feargrounds to anyone wishing to be freaked for fun!! We will be back again next year.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

If there were a granddaddy of Haunted Houses this one would probably be it. The Hubertus House of Horror has been coming back year after year for as long as I can remember. (what is it, 15, 20 years now?) The venue has always remained the same...a creepy lone standing house in what feels like the middle of nowhere. But if you attended this haunt last year and are worried about finding the same experience, don't be. There are some really cool new effects to go along with a few of the best sets from last year.



I particularly enjoyed some of the special effects this year. Yes some of them were carried over from prior years but there were also some outstanding new ones. If you attend several haunts as I do you'll find that many of them will have a room or two in common. In these instances I did feel that the Hubertus House pulled them off a bit better. (...perhaps the result of years of experience?)



As you may have noticed I didn't give this haunt top marks in either the fun factor or scare factor. None of these were deal breakers for me and I still strongly recommended this haunt for everyone. My rational behind the imperfect scores are based on the following:



* Group size of 8. We weren't given a choice in this matter. While I understand why they group so many people together it definitely distracts from your fun when you're stuck in the back as the scare is often times spoiled by the time you enter a room. Also, in a few of the rooms it was challenging to see/feel/hear the action that was taking place. ...this isn't the only haunt that tries to push as many people through as possible with each group. I often wonder, though, if the time spent cramming a large group through each room could be saved with a smaller group that can move through rooms easier.



* Every once in awhile you come across what I call "mystery sets". You walk into a room, wait awhile and then leave when nothing happens or something happens and you're not sure if you're supposed to run to the next set or wait for something more to happen. Our group encountered two such rooms during our tour.



* There are definitely sets that appear geared to provide a few scares...but for some reason our group found them to be more entertaining than scary. Not sure why. Perhaps due to set execution or perhaps due to the actors expecting a younger group?

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find but if you're on the right road you really can't miss the lighted. Also, if you come across a mass of parked cars in what feels like the middle of nowhere you've probably found the right place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


One of the best wait areas around! The Hubertus House leverages a school gymnasium to keep you warm, well fed and entertained while you wait. The concession stand was well stocked with sweets, popcorn, drinks and even burgers. Costumed actors also popped in occasionally to heighten your anticipation of what was to come.

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered solid performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were good at adlibbing and allowed you to interact with them.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Of all the haunts I've been to so far this year (6) this one featured some of the best special effects. Topping the list of unique special effect sets was a room that brought a cinematic sequence to life, one that provided the illusion of height complete with the echo of your voices, another that allowed you to feel the splatter of blood and even a set that provided a thrill ride with a flight simulator like experience. Also, if you really enjoy Vortex rooms (which are becoming quite common at haunts) I'd place the Vortex Room at this haunt at the top of the list.

Length


Approximately 15-20 minutes. Unfortunately I was so disorientated after the Vortex I completely forgot to stop my watch until I had regained my balance in the parking lot.

Crowd Control


Not sure what happened this year. Usually we have a very favorable experience at the Hubertus House which is especially remarkable considering the high attendance at this Haunt. This year was quite a bit more chaotic. The volunteers mentioned that they were trying something new. I sure hope they go back their original system.

This was our experience this year....As in the past we bought our tickets when the ticket stand opened at 6pm. We then assembled our group and returned at 9pm. Upon returning we were instructed that it was ok to get in line as our numbers had already been called. (There was only one line at this time.) After waiting awhile we noticed that a second line was forming. After inquiring, we were told that the second line was for those whose numbers were called off earlier in the evening. So we then got into this line. After awhile in this line a third group walked in and proceeded to form a third line. We then inquired about this line and were told that it was for those who purchased tickets prior to 7pm. At this point there really didn't seem to be any lines....just one mass of people inching towards the front and a bit confused. Their confusion was certainly understandable as not one announcement was made regarding the formation of the new lines or why the new lines were being allowed in front of the original line.

Most Memorable Moment


Still trying to figure out how they accomplished a few of their special effects...especially the echo room.

Summary

The granddaddy of haunted houses. Perhaps not the scariest haunted house around but a very solid performer year after year. Creative new sets and outstanding special effects make this an excellent haunt to attend.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Shockwave Haunts & The Fuzzy Pig Presents the Halloween Fashion Show & Sale

by weimercm21 after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Blood Manor was the best haunt I have been to in years!!! They just don't do haunts anymore that are as good as this one. The dark maze is full of twists and turns and the spooky rooms have tons of gruesome detail. There is a good scream around every corner!

Summary

This is a must see! It is the best in the area and is NOT to be missed!

View all Shockwave Haunts & The Fuzzy Pig Presents the Halloween Fashion Show & Sale reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Two elaborately dressed 15ft tall creatures greeted us as we approached the ticket window for this venue. Scary for some and very entertaining for others. The tone of this venue for me fell pretty much right in line with this encounter. For those who love to be ghoulishly entertained and occasionally surprised you'll be quite satisfied with this year's Terror on Rural Street.

Many of the of the other reviews that have been posted do a great job of hitting the highlights for this venue. I attended this haunt with 11 of my friends and everyone had a great time. The fun and scare ratings indicated on this review reflect the collective feedback I received from everyone.

Favorable Comments from the group included:

** It was great to see that many of the rooms have been changed from last year.
** The clowns really creeped me out!
** I had a blast hamming it up with the actors.
** That trick floor really freaked me out!
** Loved the grave yard & waterfall.
** Just when I thought we reached the end there was another room!
** One word...Vortex!
** the quick witted 15ft tall Frankenstein eloquently singing America the Beautiful stole the show!

Rather than to leave you wondering why Terror on Rural Street didn't receive a perfect score the following comments were made:

** Caught up to the group in front of us and then got caught by the group behind us.

** felt rushed as the group behind us frequently entered the room before the actors in our room were finished.

** Often times heard what was going on in the adjacent rooms.

** I was stuck in the back of my group of 6 the entire time and missed what was going on in a few of the rooms. I was particularly bummed to have missed the scare at the grave yard scene.

** was a little confused about when we should proceed to the next room as the actors continued to perform and did not provide any indication that they were trying to scare us away.

Signage / Visibility / Location


You can't miss this place as it's right off the main drag in downtown Hartford. Flashing signs point the way. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


By far the best line entertainment around. A 15ft tall Frankenstein with a quick wit and an opera style singing voice....are you kidding me??? A heated waiting area with concessions is also a bonus.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers. Some may have been a bit young or inexperienced which may explain the pacing issues indicated in the comments above.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some pretty descent special effects. For those of you traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate a few of the rooms which showcase some creative concepts. Compared to other haunts, many of the rooms here were relatively quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


Not the longest haunt I've been too but at 16 minutes I felt as if I got my money's worth.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when I attended but there were several law enforcement officers present so I'm sure nothing would get out of control if there was one.

Most Memorable Moment


By far the 15ft singing Frankenstein in the parking lot...not that there weren't any memorable moments in the haunt. I'll leave those for you to discover.

Summary

As always, this haunt did a solid job of entertaining everyone in our group. A great venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and descent special effects make this the minivan of haunted houses. It may not have all the bells and whistles to knock everyone's socks off but it will definitely satisfy your thirst for a ghoulishly good time.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by runningscared after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Finding this event was not problem, thanks to the great directions given on the there web site. When we arrived to buy tickets we were fortunate to save $1.00 off each ticket because we brought a nonperishable food item. Great Idea!!! We moved into the waiting area to wait for our numbers to be called, I was a little unsure because there were not very many people waiting to go into the house. Don't know why, and I hopped it was not because the house was not as good as years past. The waiting area was warm and I did buy a delicious,warm pretzel from the concessions stand. While waiting in line to enter the house we were met by Grandpa Munster. He looked extremely authentic! After reading the rules the door opened and we were on our way. The old lady's costume in the first room was impressive, but I wish she had more to say. She simply pointed us into the next area of the house. We made our way onto the elevator and the door closed. I won't tell you everything that happened but I must say I really believed that we were going down. As we made our way through the house we were met with many scares and surprises. Just a few of my favorite areas were the talking deer head, the waterfall, and the spinning tunnel. I also liked the the ramp with the netting. Great scare in there.

Summary

All and all it was an exceptional house. From the lighting and sound to most of the monsters. If you are looking for a great haunted house this year I highly recommend you go to this one now before everyone finds out how good it is and you have to wait in long lines . I did not go to the other 2 houses in that area but it would be hard for me to believe they could top this one.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by graveyardgirl after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What can I say? Mars NEVER disappoints! The best yet! Very cool hearse right in front so you cant miss it! The wait time was short and even had some surprise ghouls! Make sure you check out the "old guy".

Summary

Story to the house this year was awesome! In the 1st room it was so scary that it made the girl in front of us drop to her knees and begged her friends to turn back. As for set decorations... in one room I had to check to make sure it wasnt real!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by Hauntedfreak after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Hey I've been to a lot of haunts in Wisconsin over the years and I can honestly say by far this was the best one yet...compaired to the others in this area it is in a different league...my favorite scene was the squeze room but I liked the last house a lit too...the actors were amazing and energetic. Great work schusters!!!

Summary

I would highly recomend this forest to anyone who wants to be scared and have a great time

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We were underwhelmed by our experience. The environment was creepy and cool. All the props in a dark corn maze under the stars was great, and the special effects were really cool, but none of us found the experience very scary at all. The scares came at a predictable pace, and the focus was too much on animatronics instead of actors. Also felt as if there was too much lag time between scares.

Summary

All in all it's a decent time but felt the price was much higher than the scare factor. Recommended only if you aren't on a budget and want some outdoor halloween activities.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Ah, the Dark Side, how we love thee, let us count the ways. 

Set at an actual farm, the haunt is spread out over what looks like acres and acres of land, and made up of at least four different segments, an abandoned mine (with one heckuva cool, disorienting spiral staircase/vortex thingie), a hayride with an accompanying soundtrack, a haunted forest with some elaborate setups, and a haunted corn maze that kind of speaks for itself;  by the end you may feel almost entertained-out.  We loved the mine and the forest, but the hayride was kind of short on ghouls; perhaps H1N1 is hitting the ghoul community hard. 

Don't expect an over-arching theme or anything art-y or anything like that, but these guys are serious about what they're doing and they do it well.  There's some clever set-ups, for instance, with distracting you into looking at something that's slightly lit (what's that little fire over there about?), and then dazzling you with blazing flames (Fire Bad!), so your little retinas are overwhelmed and non-operational for a minute, and then a ghoul lurches out of the dark and slams his powersaw into the side of your haywagon, sending up sparks (yes, sparks!) and everyone screams, etc etc.  Is it wrong to think of this as fun?  Whatev. 

It does look like a lot of effort goes into this haunt, and it takes a long long time to get through, so give yourself an hour or more, at the very least, and savor the terror.  And it's all for just the one reasonable admission fee, so kudos to them.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Well, it's pretty easy to find, but it's more north of Ixonia than one might think for having an Ixonia address; Google worked great, though be aware that if you're coming from the west on 19, there is a detour around Watertown that takes you down to 94 or something and back up.  Once you get near the place, they have a lit-up sign off the main county highway that points you in the right direction, and it's pretty clear it's the farm with all the cars parked on the lawn with all the screams and weird lights emanating from it, anyway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We honestly had very little wait, probably because it was so freaking cold on Saturday night; it looks like they have a covered barn area, and there are multiple outbuildings you could check out and portapotties for the gentlemen to enjoy and the ladies to recoil from. 

I think they sold little treats and stuff at the main building, but we were kind of rushing in.  Anyways, you line up on a hill and wait to get the high-sign from some ghouls to approach the entrance to the mine; when you reach the entrance, there's a witch who tells you the "Story of Glacier Rock Farms and Its Mad Owner."  I think the story has changed a bit since I was last there, but that's how legends grow, I suppose.  Actually, the waiting on the hill is kind of cool, with the stars all lit up behind the mine and over the ridge and farm as you look down over the whole place.... Some random ghouls kind of wander around, too, but my favorite part is that you still line up next to a real cow pasture, and so cows wander in and out of the scene, and they're kind of spooky, at least to city slickers like us, but I don't think they're vampire cows like the ones featured in the commercials for that Little Vampire movie (it came out in 2000, god help us, look it up on imdb if you're confused), although that would be interesting, I suppose, as long as I didn't have to have any kind of contact with that horrible gel-haired Jonathan Lipnicki kid.  Sorry, accidentally tapped into the decades-old rivalry between me and Jonathan Lipnicki there.   Curse you, Lipnicki!

Anyway, the wait is nice and pleasant and suitably atmospheric. 

Actors' Performance


Well, not a lot of characterization here, but that's fine, it doesn't appear to be one of those haunts where one depends on actors acting out scenes and interacting with guests too much, it's more of a scary chase-you-down-and-menace-you kind of thing.  I do love the witch at the bonfire at the entrance to the haunted forest, though, who uses the screaming of other guests to time her allowing your group into the forest.   She's pretty hilarious, too. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Sets look quite good, there's an impressive cemetery scene and an abandoned cabin, and the mine is quite convincing at points, with it really feeling like you're going down into a mine and now you're underground and the walls are starting to close in.  Some cool outdoor fire effects, and love the lights blinking off and on in the cornfield, all it needed was Mel Gibson's kids running around in their little tinfoil hats.

Length


Took us about one hour (or more) to get through all the different areas; this is one thing they do so well, you get a whole lot of hauntin' for your tiny little entrance fee.  Also, just so you don't get completely worn out, there are breaks between segments, with each being broken up by a bonfire you can stand around while you wait to be allowed into the next phase; this is a good time to eavesdrop on other guests and then make fun of them later amongst your group.  Just sayin'.

Crowd Control


Again, we had no wait, so -- terrific!  Actually, beyond the initial entrance, they had multiple strategies for spacing groups out, which really worked well; we never ran into anyone else, and felt like we had the haunts to ourselves most of the time.  There is some waiting in between different phases of the haunt, as above, but there's always a campfire and some form of ghoul to entertain you or keep the peace.

Most Memorable Moment


1)  Companion getting beaned in her "nether regions" by a fast-pitched corncob flung from the depths of the corn maze by some unnamed ghoul, who was lucky she didn't catch him, as his ghoulish ass would have been seriously kicked.  If one has a goalie or catcher's uniform, one might be advised to wear it; gentlemen, pack your jockstraps or codpieces.  (Actually, to be fair, I think the ghoul was aiming for a metal tub and missed; I guess it did add an element of danger to the proceedings in the end). 
2)  When you enter the abandoned cabin, give the bed a wide berth...that's a pun, sorry.
3)  Oh boy, if you can't stand enclosed spaces, you're going to have a hard time in one part of the mine.  It felt like we were being forced into a cattle slaughtering pen...seriously disturbing.


Summary

The Dark Side is a great "spooky working farm on a crisp fall night" haunt, with a varied approach and a whole lotta heart and energy.  The people working (both ghouls and staff) seem to be having a good time, and the whole thing has a very pleasant and chilling Wisconsin atmosphere to it.  It's really an evening's entertainment, and if you only have time, inclination, or fundage to go to one haunt this year, this would be well worth your investment.  Viva La Dark Side!


View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Bitten at the Theme Park

by freaksjay06 after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Please skip this if you are going to this for the haunted house. Worst crowd management.everyone seemed to be lost in there. Terrible acting no earth shattering effects. A huge waste p time.just go for one more ride on hades.

Summary

Skip this haunted house only if the entire visit is surrounded around it. Enjoy the park one last time.

View all Bitten at the Theme Park reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by freddyk1369 after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Two thumbs up bigtime... I really enjoyed the haunted house portion. The actors were really good and their faces were done really realistically. We had a group of us that all work at the House of Bathory that went and we all loved it. Even though all of us work at a haunted house we jumped a few times throughout. The wait being on a sunday was not long at all which made our visit that much more enjoyable probably about ten minute wait for both the haunted house and the haunted woods. For our group we were there for about an hour and all of us did both the haunted house and haunted woods portions along with the coffin simulation which was another awesome part of the attraction. We all agreed on definitely making a stop again next year. Keep up the good work

Summary

This place definitely did a really good job the actors were never out of position and never fell out of character no matter what we said to them they always had a good comeback for us. Definitely a good attraction.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by remcycle after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I was born a midwesterner and spent my first 15 years here. As such, I feel like as a child I got a pretty good taste of what Halloween in this country of ours should really be like; a celebration of the season...the weather changing and growing cold, the colors changing before our eyes, the feeling all around us that nothing is going to be able to grow for the many long months ahead.

I left Wisconsin in 1991 and lived in some pretty wacky places since, but returned to Wisconsin last summer...and I have to say that haunts like The Haunted Barn are one of the biggest reasons I came back.

Halloween haunts in this neck of the woods come in two predominant flavors. There are those that are built into an empty mall space and are designed to boo-scare you for 15 minutes or so. These have their place as not everyone has the stamina or desire to make it through the second type, being the full-on environmental experience. These generally require a good drive out into the middle of nowhere and involve parking in a field in the shadow of a big old creepy barn. There might be a dark cornfield on the property or nearby. There may be a highway that tears through the countryside, or perhaps just an old dusty road. But there's going to be a large outdoor component to it and it's going to make all the difference.

The Haunted Barn is just such a place. Just east of the quaint Main Street of downtown Stoughton on Highway 51, the venue is very easy to find, although the signs on the side of the road are very small and difficult to see. Just keep heading due east and it'll be on the right...you can't miss it (in case you do, if you pass Pleasant Hill Rd. you've gone just a bit too far).

Upon arriving, we found ourselves driving through the middle of a typical farm country homestead and I instantly had a smile on my face. My wife was a bit afraid that this event would be 'silly' and to be honest, I was kinda hoping for it to be.

We parked, walked up to a 'plaza' area outside of the barn and noticed an inordinate number of children walking around. They were all dressed up and ready to scare as only creepy children can. :) Then I remembered that these children are all members of volunteer families from Stoughton and surrounding locales; most likely the same children that are involved in the theater activities in town during other times of the year.

After paying our admission (a modest $8 each), we were led inside the barn, given the house rules by a ghoul, and allowed to enter.

Upon the first entrance my first thoughts were of the attention paid to minute details and I think this was because the designers were of the same mind as I was; make an experience, not just a few scares. And an experience it was...

The scares in the house were not very scary, but there were definitely some jump moments and the children in the house did a fantastic job. The two creepy girls who "want to play a game" are something I'll always remember of this place. I always caught myself checking behind me as these scarers liked to pop out from the walls when you least expect them.

The tour takes you through a barn, outside (where we stopped and played with a farm cat), through another barn and then back outside for a fantastic 20 minute walk through a field and forest. Being outside at a haunt has a wonderfully immersive quality that you just can't imitate inside a building. The music goes away, the effects go away and it's just you and the woods...and whatever may be lurking in the shadows. In the forest the usual rules just don't apply.

After the walk, the trail leads you back to the main plaza area where concessions are available and a fun black-lit Halloween gift shop awaits. We enjoyed having a chance to pick up some glow-in-the-dark fangs, glowsticks and a soda while talking to the people who run the haunt. You can tell how much they love doing this.

The tour was much longer than I expected, and after everything; the tour, the shopping, the laughing with the proprietors, playing with the cats, talking with the children...it was easily after 11 when we finally drove away.

Summary

It was great...just a fantastic time out in the country.

My only gripe was that there should be more timing control; keeping groups separate. Perhaps dead-ends that open to let groups through once the group before them has moved far enough ahead. Running into another group really steals the isolation out of the whole thing.

Other than that, it was a fantastic experience. Not very scary, but a wonderful way to celebrate fall in Southern Wisconsin!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by citizenjess after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

SO MUCH FUN!! 6 of us went to the Haunted Barn on an unseasonably cold Saturday night. We arrived early (7ish) so we did not have to wait long to enter the barn. They split us into groups of 3 (with the option of 2 and 4) We were happily surprised to learn that the experience would take 45 minutes to an hour. The actors were great- despite the cold, they were in full character (no Badgers sweatshirts!) and delightfully creepy. Loved the "leatherface" guy happily hacking away at something in the distance. Loved the three different pockets of horror. Creepy props. Creepy moments of no one being around. Loved that some kids in front of us thought Beetlejuice was the ghost of Albert Einstein. The night we went, Friends of Ferals was there selling brats, which was a nice way to end the experience, along with friendly kittens. It was very apparent that a lot of love goes into creating this event- well done!

Summary

Scary but fun!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:37 p.m. CDT 1.12