ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2002 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

149 total reviews. Showing 3 of 15 on this page (12 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by WildCard22 after attending on Friday, November 1, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Nice big glowing sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, we were in a tent but still out of the wind.

Length

bout 25 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Great, I loved the diversity of the house and the slides and crawling added to it.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

I wish I could go again

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by HHFreak after attending on Thursday, October 31, 2002 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find the splatter haus got directions off of yahoo and a couple people in our group has been there before

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait entertainment what so ever there was nothing that would get you into the halloween spirit the only thing they had was loud music blasting your ears which is really dumb you could fill out this paper for a raffle and the tent was freezing and no where to sit

Length

it took us about 20-25mins to go through

Actors' Performance

I think all of the monsters and everything were trying to do there best to scare us but not one of them scared anyone in my group all of the monsters I seen were half my size in height and weight the ones that tryed to get in my face to scare me and all I did was look down and laughed not scary at all but very nice masks, costumes & rooms were nicely built

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

I have heard about splatter haus from other people and heard it on the radio everyone is always hyping it up but when I went for the ten dollars I spent the only thing worth my money was seeing the quality of the costumes, masks, rooms and some of the effects I seen that I have seen some where before the sound effects were the same in everyroom I think if they would add some dark hiding spaces and some better monster who could scare someone plus lower the price it would be worth the money your spending

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by HHFreak after attending on Thursday, October 31, 2002 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was kind of hard to find could of had bright signs out front drove a little past it and seen the big haunted house banner

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

when we were walking in there was a guy with a chainsaw wearing a mask that freaked out half of my group got to look at all the t-shirts they had from over the years and a list of there sponsors also they had a list of years, location & the chairperson for that year and location had neon lights that made you glow the entrance to the house had like a skull border that looked really cool and the lady that took are tickets was dressed up that is very rare to see other than that there was really nothing could of had something but we didn't wait that long maybe 10mins and we were all to busy talking

Length

I would say it took us about 20mins to walk through the house we were not forced or told to move on we strolled through and looked around and had people get scared & freaked out

Actors' Performance

I think there performance was great being there last night open and everything everyone was giving their all I would say they could do a little better

Summary

I think the sheboygan jaycees did a great job with what they have them being a non profit organization probably didn't have the money to spend on all the fancy junk that is highly over used I got a chance to talk to some of the volunteers and take a tour of there setup I feel kind of bad that they pack everything up store it and find a new place to rent for the next year. year after year of doing that would make me want to say forget it but some of them have been doing it for quite awhile so thats shows me they do 110% to keep going

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by PC after attending on Thursday, October 31, 2002 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Without directions from Haunted WI, we would never have found it. When you are on their road they have a lit sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good, loud, hard music. You wait in line in a tent. We waited for about 20 minutes.

Length

20-25 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Decent performance. Some monsters were more enthusiastic than others. I believe we caught a few off guard and the actual scare was reduced significantly if you were not the front two people.

Appropriate For

12 and up.

Summary

The costumes and the attention to detail in the scenes were incredible. Truly second to none. The alien and robot were particularly a sight to behold. They let 8 in at one time and if you are not in the front, be ready to walk into a scene with a monster already barking at you with little scare value. The sound was excellent and really gets your adrenaline pumping. Most scenes were too well lit going into them and there were not enough random scares through out the tight, claustorphobic, pitch-black maze leading up to the scenes. However, it was quite an event to see and I would highly recommend it due to the high-tech quality put into it more than the scare factor.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by PC after attending on Thursday, October 31, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great directions on the website and Haunted WI. Without them, you would have a hard time stumbling onto it unless you happened to be driving down HWY M.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no entertainment besides screams from inside. We arrived just as they were closing and waited for about 25 minutes inside the barn.

Length

About 20-25 minutes. Just right.

Actors' Performance

Wisconsin's best. The monsters were outstanding in their roles and the costumes were very good.

Appropriate For

13 and up.

Summary

I had low expectations due to the lukewarm Journal-Sentinel review, however I was simply blown away! They only let 4 in at one time which increases the scare factor. The rooms were detailed and the monsters were excellent. The scare value was incredible because they would come at you from all angles, stay in their roles and were persistent. My group fell backwards, literally onto the floor, about 4 times. For genuine scares, this was the best haunted house I have ever been too. What a blast! I recommend it to anyone who wants the bejeezus scared out of them.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by kidoze after attending on Friday, October 25, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Was very easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had a great lazer show to help make the wait seem shorter

Length

We couldnt believe how long the haunted barn took to go through. So much in such a small place. We loved it.

Actors' Performance

There was 6 of us and we all agreed it was the best haunted anything we had ever been through. We loved the ? room.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

We will be going back next year.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by sugar_luver14 after attending on Friday, October 18, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

we carpooled and went as a group. there is a slight drive from milwaukee.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

our group split into 2, we went first, but waited about 15 min.

Length

um..... 30 min at the most, not that long

Actors' Performance

there were occasional scares, but totally predictible.

Appropriate For

7+

Summary

this was a review for teh hayride, and was definetely not worth the nine dollars.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by race after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find with signs all over town

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

got here early to get it - let us in before time and that was nice to get it running promptly

Length

15 minutes - I went pretty fast as my daughter was scared and bawling (and she is 10 years old)

Actors' Performance

great job by everyone involved the rooms were well planned - nice variety

Appropriate For

4th or 5th grade and older

Summary

My daughter and I loved the room with the kids and the strobe light - it really freaked us out seeing children involved, especially considering the history of the building and that room in particular - the mother figure did a great job keeping the suspense, totally startled us and kept us on out toes by continueing to act until she shut the door loudly behind us!!!! Lots of fun

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by ddobbs after attending on Thursday, October 24, 2002 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

great location! The house has an awesome past and it adds to the fun! Simple directions/could be lit up more in the front maybe

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

always ghosts walking around and that is great

Length

18 minutes once we got in

Actors' Performance

excellent job! The characters knew what they were supposed to do and definitely did it well - the group before us had to leave because of an 'accident'!

Appropriate For

around 4th grade

Summary

I came the first weekend this year also and it wasnice to see some changes after a couple weeks. Things really improved. The white room (all the kids and crying mannequins) additions were eary. Definitely my favorite!-

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by Vlach after attending on Friday, October 25, 2002 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find - lots of signs

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

music and characters outside were great

Length

it took my group 23 minutes

Actors' Performance

nice professionalism - great costuming

Appropriate For

3rd grade and older

Summary

The room with the strobe and the kids was the best! It was loud and interactive and that made it much more exciting than the others. The house overall was probably the best I have ever seen!

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by boblkat1 after attending on Saturday, October 26, 2002 at about 12:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find not a bit of trouble

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

wait was alittle long even with getting there early. 15 minutes early before it open, and still took over a hour to get in.

Length

it will take you between 25 to 40 minutes to go though.we went though with a group of ten so it took us about 40 minutes to make it though.

Actors' Performance

very very good the group was alittle concered before hand, But with every turn we where very pleased never a dull moment.

Appropriate For

12 years and older

Summary

This was the best house that our group has been though yet, And we have been doing this for year. Mostly outside events in the past. we will e back next year UNLESS we can find one better, Thou I DONT think it will be easy to find better. GOOD JOB GUYS

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by horseluvingrl after attending on Monday, October 28, 2002 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find if you live in Janesville.......

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited for about a 1/2 hour......

Length

about 10 minutes

Actors' Performance

I really didn't think that there were a lot of "mosters" mostly what I see were little kids trying to be scary but they weren't.....it was more funny than scary

Appropriate For

6-12 year olds

Summary

I think this place has good potential if they have more monsters who are willing to get into their character more......also I didn't like the guide showing us the way.....its takes the fun out of it

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by fearfactor after attending on Saturday, October 26, 2002 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find. Signs were visible and easy to read.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Loved the people roaming in the crowd. The "old guy" really worked the crowd! The music was fitting as well.

Length

@15 minutes

Actors' Performance

Loved the house!Characters were great and set up was great. We absolutely loved the splatter room! This room rocked the house... and the room with the little girls was eerie! They followed us around and played their part well.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

We can't wait to come back next year! Nice job Sparta!You definately have our vote!

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by jamwsd after attending on Friday, October 25, 2002 at about 1:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

location was good-easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

waited about 15 minutes

Length

10 minutes

Actors' Performance

they all did a really good job. alot of creativity and hard work put into it. had quit a few scares.

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

i think for such a small area for a haunted house, they used the space quit well.great costumes.alot of work went into it.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by cc carter after attending on Friday, October 25, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

House was difficult to find as the sign is not lit and is written in black in a location not well positioned from the road. In addition, the parking lot/lawn was very dark. Fortunately, when we were there, there weren't may cars as if the lot were full it'd be difficult to find where you parked.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We had a brief wait of about 20 min.

Length

I'd guess it took approximately 30 min. to traverse the house, however, we had an extreemly slow group in front of us that prevented us from moving any faster.

Actors' Performance

Very few actual actors. You're mostly on your own wandering in the dark. It appears the operators are banking mostly on the natural creepy atmosphere of the location vs. creating elaborate sets, etc. I can only remember a handful of staff being anywhere within the house during the walk through. The chainsaw performance at the end went WAY TOO LONG and got obnoxious.

Appropriate For

teens/adults-not safe for children

Summary

We felt there were some serious dangers in this house that the operators should reconsider for future years. One was a crawl through, square opening in the middle of a wall blocking a hallway. A coworker of mine fell through it thinking it was a crawl through area and landed on her face.

Also, in the maze in the basement there are exposed pipes on the floor that would be easy to trip on or to hurt your feet on if you hit them the wrong way. These are liability issues that shouldn't be overlooked.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:26 a.m. CST 1.5.1