ad-header-top

2002 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

149 total reviews. Showing 9 of 14 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by HHFreak after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

we really liked the location great for a haunted house very cool looking at night

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

we really didn't have to wait long about maybe five to ten minutes

Length

it took us about twenty five minutes to go through the haunted trail & the house

Actors' Performance

i think everyone did a great job for the first night of opening I will go again later in the month

Appropriate For

13 & up

Summary

i really liked the zombie room the zombies looked so real then the second room after that scared me with this loud noise it had a cool effect the dentist room was really creepy makes me not want to go to the dentist anymore I also loved the clown room that room scared my girlfriend so bad she didn't want to finish going through the rest of the house there was a room in the basement this year that was quite freaky they did a great job on the rooms this year compared to last year when some rooms were boring and some people were out of place I just found hauntedwisconsin.com a couple days ago and this is cool we can say what we feel about the halloween events we go to it's great to have this site

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great - easy to find and signs were helpful... very well known and accessible location.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great - had a lot of "ghouls" and opportunites for pictures with "ghouls". One literally followed us as we walked to our car on the way out - just kept walking close behind us... unexpected, funny, and made up for the anticlimatic ending of the house.

Length

Too short. Got through both houses in under 10 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Not interactive enough... alot of teenagers screaching in our ears. One actor bumped me on accident - but I understand that happens.

Appropriate For

6yrs and up.

Summary

Would have liked more interactive acting and lengthen the attraction. The concessions, ticket sellers/takers, and survey ladies at the end were very sweet - very nice... glad to see they are asking the public what we think. Just needs to be longer, more interactive, and scarier actors. We're glad the proceeds go to charity...because most of our group thought it was too expensive for the total package.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Out of the way - did not see signs, but directions from website and hauntedwisconsin.com listing were helpful.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Excellent. There was slight wait - no roaming actors which would have helped, but after a 5 minute wait indoors next to concessions, there is a special light/stunt show included with the cost the ticket. Unique.

Length

Perfect - with the show, the "transport" and the house - it was just worth the price of admission.

Actors' Performance

Actors good - would have liked to seen more.

Appropriate For

10 +

Summary

Loved the "little monsters" - funny. Though the stunt show was great, we thought more of a halloween/horror theme would have helped... or to set up a theme/story of the haunted house. We had a great time!

PS: Do not turn right after the jail - we accidentally walked into the audio room - we told them they needed a door there... so be sure to hang a left instead!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Jennifer Meier after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good. There was a bright sign and inflatable ghost at the intersection. The road to the house is very dark so if you're not paying attention to street names you would probably miss it. Just a couple of paper ghosts on the sign to the park. The actual house and waiting area are spooky. The waiting area could have used some Halloween and spooky decorations.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Consession stand.

Length

About 15 minutes including the trail.

Actors' Performance

Better than last year. The vampires on the trail could've thrown in some lines. The "witch" did a great job with her lines.

Appropriate For

Teens & up

Summary

Overall the house was better than last year.

I think it would've been cool if the ticket calling lady (curly hair and glasses) could have been in costume or something.

If you're not into interacting with the ghouls, this probably isn't the best haunt to go to, as they use lots of customer particpation.

Be ready for a bit of crawling and uneven terrain on the trail. High heels and skirts are a definte no-no here.

I really liked the flying whatever that came out of the woods during the trail.

Overall much better than last year but a bit short.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Jennifer Meier after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs points you in the right direction of the house. Good location, but now that part of the building has been fixed up so it's not as spooky, but still a good location.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a concession stand, and some spooks. A couple of the spooks came over by us. One sat by me and the other stood in front of Andy. It was cool at first but they stayed the whole time we waited, 10-15 minutes. It got kinda "old" after 5 minutes.

Length

The length was great!!! It took us somewhere between 30-40 minutes to get through and we only caught up to the group in front of once! Really worth the money!!

Actors' Performance

The performances were great! Many pop out scares and those with 'lines' did a good job!

Appropriate For

Teens and up

Summary

I really liked the fact that you got to go with your own group. It may just have been because it wasn't too busy that night, but it was great.

The length of the house and , props and actors all were great.

I think Terror did a great job at improving the scares this year!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Jennifer Meier after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The roads were dark and spooky but with the directions we had it was pretty easy to find. However it is hard to see the building and there were no signs from the intersection, but they did have a banner near the parking lot. The house itself looks very spooky.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a great concession stand, video games and some not too scary spooks walking around.

Length

It was about 15-20 minutes in length.

Actors' Performance

Some good, some bad....the guides are too friendly. They ask how your day was and how the house has been so far. This is good for families or smaller kids but not for those who want to be scared. Suggestion: Maybe while waiting for the next room to be ready, the "guides" should tell some kind of story to lead into the next room. There were a few actors who did a good job of scaring.

Appropriate For

Families and kids 12 & up

Summary

The house was decorated nicely but wasn't very scary. The guides are quite nice, but that of course really lowers the scare. I think the bus was neat, but there was way too much fog so it was very hard to see what was supposed to scare you.

Compared to the last couple of years the house dissapointed me with the scares but still had some great rooms and a couple of scares. I enjoyed the 3D room, the creeky bridges and the house itself.

Overall good job!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by RB after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find and looks spooky because of the cemetray and church on either side.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were some neat characters in the parking lot and wait area.

Length

This is a long house. It cover lots of areas and has lots of levels.

Actors' Performance

There were lots of real characters throughout the hosuse with some rdeal great makeup and costoms. The actors were very good at making the rooms and mazes work.

Appropriate For

Teens and up

Summary

The house has great sound lights and is really well decorated. The 3d effects are neat and the bus theme was very awsome and scarry. The creature room was well done.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Andy after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

You can't miss it. Cars parked on the street. Lights, noise, parking directors with orange lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Plenty of spooks wandering around and interacting with the crowd. The best consessions I've seen. Video games. Large gymnasium with plenty of seating for waiting.

Length

I forgot to set my watch. My guess is about 25 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Some of the actors are very in to their parts. Some monsters hang around too long getting rather annoying instead of scary. Hubertus House of Horror has the friendliest spooks of all time! "This way sir." "Please continue over here."

Appropriate For

12 and up. Children should be accompanied by adults.

Summary

Starting the haunt by climbing though a haunted bus was great.
The rooms designed for the liquid crystal glasses are very cool.
The dark passage ways are a little dangerous. I got a minor cut about two inches long from something sharp jutting out of one of the walls. The ladies at consession stand were extremely nice and got me a wet napkin and a band-aid to patch up the situation in a matter of seconds.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Andy after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great signs pointing to the haunted house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Consessions available.

Length

About 15 minutes including the haunted trail and the haunted house.

Actors' Performance

Good performance from the actors. Could be even better if the actors tried more of a suprise attack than a slow spook (which gets booring after a few seconds).

Appropriate For

Kids and Young Adults. Adults may want to bring some younger people so there is plenty of screaming.

Summary

Great set design. Spooky old house seems like it might be haunted without any help from the actors. The wait system is MUCH better this year.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Andy after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about noon

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great visibility with a parking lot full of hearses. Nice location in an abandoned looking industrial building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Lots of actors around to entertain the waiting guests. Concessions available.

Length

Very long event. I forgot to set my watch before entering but it seemed like we were inside for about 40 minutes and it felt like we had walked a long distance.

Actors' Performance

Excellent performance from all the actors. The actors jump out of nowhere and disappear again before the shock wears off.

Appropriate For

Adults and young adults. Probably too scary for younger children ones.

Summary

Everything has changed in Terror on Rural Street for this year. The scare factor is definately been turned up from previous years. The dark passages are laid out well to avoid any injuries. We were able to go through as a group of two which made the haunt even more terrifying.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by KuroNeko after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 12:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

good

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

uhhh...arcade games. food. walkabout folks. peers.

Length

dunno

Actors' Performance

very good.

Appropriate For

children ages 10+

Summary

hmm... quality of house seems to dwindle over years, yet is still a very good house!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by xjallen after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We went with someone who knew the area well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Snacks, video games and plastic elementary school chairs!

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Nice work, but almost too accomodating for a haunted house at times.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Best of use of 3D effects we've ever seen--wish we could go through that again! A handful of suspenseful surprises here and there--definitely a good haunting tour, but at times staff were almost too friendly and helpful.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by xjallen after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Stopped at the first Sheboygan gas station and asked for directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Some radio station promos with games and some retail tables.

Length

20-30 minutes

Actors' Performance

Sweet

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

One of the best we've ever seen. Very creative in its use of horror re-enactments, active in it's use of crawl spaces, slides & staircases and inventive use of lighting and effects. Well worth the long drive (although no long line made the trip worth it as well).

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

House of Shadows

by trixie ireland after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

great...had signs pointing the way to the place...easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait

Length

20 min or so

Actors' Performance

very good! nice and creepy :)

Appropriate For

teens and up

Summary

thought that they did a great job. really liked the room with the little kids and the really dark hallway maze thing. The snake room could use a little improvement though.

View all House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




December 6th, 2019 4:22 a.m. CST 11.0