ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2005 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

190 total reviews. Showing 1 of 15 on this page (14 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by FrightKnight after attending on Monday, October 24, 2005 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find at the State Fair grounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a tent with music and food. Plenty of decorations and good atmospheric music. Also a couple of unexpected suprises!

Most Unique

The pirate theme was something I hadn't seen before and was well done, The 3-D effects in the fright factory were stunning and the combination of actors and effects made for quite a scary and disorienting walk-thru haunt.

Actors' Performance

The actors in both haunts were great! The "Blood Cove" had a variety of performances that really set the mood especially at the gallows! The "Fright Factory' had an awesome greeter in the first area who freaked out people in our group right from the start. Many of the actors make-ups were very creepy and the 3-D stuff was awesome!

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Our group was fairly large and we got the VIP passes so we didn't have to wait which was worth the few dollars more. I was at this event last year and the quality keeps going up, I look forward to seeing what Hauntfest does next year!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by deafpeacemom after attending on Sunday, October 30, 2005 at about 8 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We found it with some extra back up directions just in case :)

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait time.

Actors' Performance

cute kid actors.

Appropriate For

any

Summary

it's a cute for kids, I would suggest having more actors on the way bec it's a long walk for lil kids.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by corn lord after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easily Located. Two signs were posted out in front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was alright. There was two rooms that filled with people and was heated. There was a concession stand and strolling monsters around the house.

Most Unique

Most unique was the talking deer head. It cracked funny jokes and laughed at us when we got scared.

Actors' Performance

The acting was great. Some were funny and the others were just plain scary. The wax musuem was scary when this zombie came out of no where and attacked me. And after that! There was another zombie at the end of the hall way that I thought was fake came to life.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I only vistited 3 houses this year and JAycee's was far the best. Oh and didnt Milwaukee Journal sentinel give it 5 chain saws?

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by TheFreakyFairy after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We already knew where it was

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There is a tv screen showing people getting scared inside the house

Most Unique

There is a part where the walls move and you end up walking down the same hall twice but it comes out different places... So crazy

Actors' Performance

Very good they stayed in character the whole time.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

The whole house was really good but the ending was a little dissapointing... overall was really good though.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by TheFreakyFairy after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We went on mapquest for directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much but we only waited like 10 mins so it wasnt bad at all

Most Unique

A part where a change in the "ground" really catches you off gaurd.

Actors' Performance

Awesome! Everyone seemed like they knew what they were doing.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I had an awesome time, if you're into great scares this is a great one to visit.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by hauntlover2000 after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was some great music being played in a big tent, so even if you were just walking from the first haunt to the second one, you got to hear it, and it really put everyone in a good mood.

Most Unique

The Pirate Haunt was fabulous! It was much longer than I expected, so we kept getting sad as we got to where we figured it ended, but it just kept going, and that was great. The whole pirate haunt was great, and, as one of my friends said on our way out, "it was very poppy-outy."

Actors' Performance

The actors were great! They were very respectful about the rule to not touch anyone, and they stayed out of my personal space, while still being really scary.

Appropriate For

14 and up

Summary

A definite must-see. If you miss it, you will regret it, because the haunts were really scary, and really fun. Also, don't forget to scream: it makes everything more fun.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by scaredtall after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Printed out Haunted WI page with directions. Also printed out directions from Expedia for an overall map. Only sign saw was right in front where you turn into the park but was set back into the area. Sign could have been out front more for unfamilar visitors to the area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Parked where we saw cars but could have gotten up further to the event. Did not know where to go once out of the car. No sign directing you to the ticket/start area. Asked some kids and found our way. Once by pavillion there were many kids and adults. Everyone was somewhat confused. Know one knew where the line ended. Finally all were told to go to the other side of the pavellion and found the end of the line. Once there we waited in line about 45 minutes outside undercover of an open area. The line was not moving for most the wait and some people did leave to come back another day. Once it started moving the line went fast. The inside ticket area was decorated. Once you have your group you went to watch a video of do's and don'ts.

Most Unique

carved pumpkins lit the way. Very nicely done. Hats off to those that carved and set them up. Nice job.

Actors' Performance

This was a group walk and ours was lead by a custumed guide. Her's was nicely done. The walk was indeed about 25 minutes at a brisk pace. The actors in the woods were good. Though our group was spaced out so much at the end not everyone felt the effect of a scare. Actors did a good job.

Appropriate For

not too young

Summary

For $1 very family and kid oriented. Path was good to walk on. Guide was always making sure we were doing fine. Other people were around should one need help. Nicely done! Hats off to all that put this together. We came from Green Bay via the Black Crypt. We would do it again next year if they have one.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by scaredtall after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Printed out Haunted WI page. Good directions. Could see event from road. They have a tepee outside and someone hanging inside.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Ticket area was inclosed. Could purchase other items. You go around the side of the building and there is a small inside waiting area. There was a small tv with a haunted movie showing. The area was somewhat foggy and dark looking. We went when it first opened up at 7pm and there was only a few minutes before they started. They started on time.

Most Unique

Nice big rooms to enjoy the scenes. Many scenes. Ghouls in all rooms! Nicely decorated. Did a great job! Like the theme using the bowling ally. Watch out for the unexpecting! Lots of hidden areas the ghouls are in! Great use of that.

Actors' Performance

Actors were great!!! They came upon you in many instances from behind to scare the wits out of you.

Appropriate For

teens and up

Summary

Took about 20 minutes to go thru. Diffently worth the hour trip there! Will go again next year!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Trail Of Terror

by scaredtall after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Printed out Haunted WI page and directions given were accurate. A bigger or lighted sign at the enterance where to turn would have been nice. Being dark the small board sign pointing to where to turn into the event was hard to see. The event area was not visible from the road at a distance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The ticket/wait area was decorated and so were the people. They gave out suckers and a light tube to put around your neck...so the ghouls can see where you are. A NICE idea! After paying we went to an inclosed wait area to listen to a voice tape. We sat on straw bales. We were the only ones there but had to wait to see if more people were coming. You were escorted thru the haunted forest by a guide. Nice wait/ticket area.

Most Unique

Actor on horse. Though I was always looking back not for the 'haunt' of it, but was concerned of the ability of the rider to control the animal. It did seem to get close at time. If it stayed more away it would have had a better effect. Was different (good)when it rained (drops) when the stars were out! The hay elevator watch out for. You knew something was up! The witch with 'supper' was excellent in repore with us. More of that type is needed in haunts!

Actors' Performance

Nice loud area to begin the journey. Actors did a good job. Some actors you did not see...such as screaming ones, throwing objects ones, and 'water' ones. There were loud areas in the forest to startle you.

Appropriate For

teens and up

Summary

Guide was good. Trail lasted about 20 minutes. The trail was minimally lit with torches or milk lanterns and kept the trail dark yet you were able to walk nicely. Trail was smooth to walk on. Nicely done. Though hate to say would not travel an hour to see it. We would not go next year unless more areas of fright. This is a very nice 'local' haunt. They did a good job.

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by scaredtall after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Directions printed out from Haunted WI was accurate and good. Signage was on Hwy41, on J and on road into place. This place was off the main road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We came at 6:30 when the event was scheduled to start per Haunted WI. We came before many of the ghouls showed up! Terror people had said that the radio advertising was saying start was at 7pm. They had started at 6pm the week before but that was too early (light). So they decided to start at 7pm this week. No updating at Haunted WI on this nor other places I saw. But it was a very nice errie night out and the weather was not cold. There was a bonfire area so we waited there. While waiting we saw ghouls but they were walking to there stations. Some did try to scare us and another small group that were waiting. The actual time of our departure into the haunted woods was 7:25pm. 25 minutes after the 'scheduled' start time. At that time there were 25 other people around the bonfire. I was dissappointed in the wait but had found many haunted houses that did not start on time.

Most Unique

No guide with you. Very dark.

Actors' Performance

From the start I thought this was going to be a great haunted trail. They gave you an orange lighted flashlight to light your way. You went in as a group with no guide. And it was DARK. No trail lights. There were many stations in the beginning with haunting actors sneaking up on you and making noise. It was frieghtfull. Then came the lull. Many lulls. Which would have been ok, but they were too many and too long between frights. There was an area that was so big that we followed the 'caution tape' to the right and then found after-ward we should have followed the left side caution tape. The ghouls were over there. Another good station a ghoul ran around in the leaves. That was fun and scary. He did a great job! So was the 'car' event! Great going to those actors!

Appropriate For

older teens, adults

Summary

They could have made the trail alittle more 'safe' for walking. Trips on branches and holes were made throughout the trail. A few 'lights' in those areas would have helped. This is the only outdoor haunt that we have tripped so much on. Beer!!!! Saw many actors drinking beer before the start. One was carrying a case around where ever she went. Yes it was in the beginning of the event, but there were customers around. Not a good sight. Also you heard very little screaming from groups after you. You heard them in the beginning area, but not much after that.
Would we go again. No. An hour to get there, mostly walking in the woods. Could have used more actors, or placed others more strategically around. Actors did a good job by those who actually tried to scared us. Some missed us and some props didn't work. Also, was only about a 15/20 minute casual walk (generous)and not the 45 minute terrifying walk.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by badkittie17 after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The fairgrounds were really easy to spot, but it was past the main entrance gate on hwy 11, look for the hurst and that is the entrance, there are also people directing you which way to go. I came from Racine Co. so we just followed Hwy 11 west all the way and once you went under the freeway bridge it was about 2 miles up the road on the left.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited about an hour which wasn't too bad. It was kind of confusing in the wait area because it wasn't an actual line. There is a girl who comes to get you when its your turn to go in. She was kinda rude though, so just make sure you have your ticket out. There are like 2 bathrooms, and snack stand while you wait.

Most Unique

I really liked the room with the body bags hanging from the ceiling that was intresting. Also the room with all of the skeletons where they all moved.

Actors' Performance

The actors were really good. There were very much into there roles, and their costumes were cool. They got really close to your face and followed you around throughout rooms, which was a little creepy. Especially the guy who wanted my toes.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I wish the house would've been longer, it seemed so short. It wasn't as scarey as I had hoped either (and I get scared pretty easily). When you first walk into the haunted house I reccomend holding hands. There was 6 of us in a group and the last two got lost 3 times right away and ended up back at the entrance (it was a pitch dark zig zagged room.) Also we intitially went out there with 11 of us in a group and they would only allow a max. of 6 people per group, so keep that in mind.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by viper6685 after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

not to hard to get to

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

kind a little while for the wait. but they have a fire and refreshments that you can enjoy while you are waiting

Most Unique

they give you a flashlite so that way you can see the ground in front of you so that way you dont trip

Actors' Performance

they were very good

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

will be going back again next year. they are planing on having more people so that way they can scare even better. they did very well for only having a crew of 15.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by dmill67 after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There are signs everywhere. The location is easy to get in and out of with LOTS of parking within walking distance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting is great- no lines- you wait for your number to be called. Has a tent for waiting area. Has concessions also. Lots of good music, movie clips. VIP tickets available.

Most Unique

Things happen that you don't expect to happen. You will find out when you get there.

Actors' Performance

All stayed in costume. Excellent makeup. Very real looking props and costumes. Actors work very hard to scare.

Appropriate For

10 and up during the not so scary

Summary

Watch out for the children!! They are GREAT actors as well as adults. They all work really good together!! It was just a fabulous place to go!! The art work was expectional!!

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by hauntchick after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was very easy to get to if you know where you are going.. it is very obvious with all the flashing lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was awesome! I loved how there were characters chasing you around.. they really got into it!

Most Unique

the most unique for the 3-D haunted house was the rotating circle that you had to walk through, you get very dizzy but it was very cool!

Actors' Performance

i went to both events, and for the indoor 3-D haunted house, I thought the actors did a great job! I could tell that they really got into it and I liked how well the makeup was done

Appropriate For

indoor 14+ outdoor 13+

Summary

this was my first year coming and I am definately going to come next year!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by lysergicerberus after attending on Monday, October 10, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Our group was familiar with the event's location and we still almost passed it up. There are some lights and a sign out front, but it comes up quickly so keep your eyes open. It comes up just as you leave Tichigan and enter Waterford.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area is outside so dress warm. Very little entertainment, but there are pumpkins and assorted concessions to choose from while in line.

Most Unique

The hearse thing ride was cool, the bonfires in between scenes kept you warm, the death metal music was great and the spongy ground FX were a nice touch.

Actors' Performance

The actors at Bear Den weren't as top notch as last year. They aren't as plentiful either. We witnessed several actors breaking character, which greatly reduced the scare factor. In fairness, some actors really put forth a great effort and if they didn't scare you the first time around, they would track you down and give it another try.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

If I have any complaints, they have already been mentioned in other reviews. The fact that they sent us through in a combined group of 12 was just stupid. I understand wanting to keep the line moving, but 12 people in a group?! Just not good. Other than that, it is a decent haunt. It is worth going to overall, but $10 is just a bit too much for what you get.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:12 a.m. CST 1.5.1