ad-header-top

2005 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

190 total reviews. Showing 4 of 15 on this page (11 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by lysergicerberus after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Right on the corner of 15th and Forest Home. There are strobe lights and assorted decorations located in front of the haunt. Rather easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait is very short, and that wasn't a surprise having read the other reviews. There are a few clowns keeping you entertained and the creepy circus music to throw your expectations of the haunt WAY off.

Most Unique

The whole experience was unique. The circus theme, the way the staff utilized lighting and darkness, the psychological torment of the sounds and anticipation and most of all the actor's performances.

Actors' Performance

INCREDIBLE! The actor's should be proud of their performances. They stayed in character at all times, their timing was perfect, their patience and devotion to their roles is unsurpassed. The 4 people in our group all agreed the actors not only made this haunt spectacular, but their performances can't be beaten.

Appropriate For

not under 13

Summary

THIS IS THE SLEEPER HAUNT OF THE YEAR! Don't let the fact that this event is new of under advertised sway you from attending it! I cannot stress enough how scary and well done this haunt is. The average age of the people in our group was about 23, and we all came out of there with our hearts racing and begging for more.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by heatherv after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find But we are from the area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait time short, Actors are fun.

Most Unique

Having to lay in a coffin and then roll. ANd the umpalumpa room.

Actors' Performance

B+

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

All in all it was a great time.Better then alot of the bigger more expensive places. They do a good job at just at surprise scares.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by icelia after attending on Monday, October 24, 2005 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Hard to miss. Right off the Interstate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was a slow, drizzly night, so there wasn't much going on. There was a tent with music going which kept me moving and staying warm.

Most Unique

Beautiful 3-D artwork. Visually disorienting and creepy!

Actors' Performance

Some were better than others, but the key performances were all excelent. Especially the Greeter to the 3-D attraction. Actors did a good job of picking out different people in the group to spook. The warewolves in the Blood Cove attraction have good timing.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Even though it was cold and drizzly, there was quite a line. We got the "RVIP" passes to skip the line, which was great.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by kiki after attending on Friday, October 28, 2005 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

location was easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

that was good got to wait inside

Most Unique

the operating room

Actors' Performance

they were ok I think it could of been more of them

Appropriate For

10

Summary

I feel there should of been more to it and longer

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by pud27 after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signage was great. We were coming from Denmark (South of Green Bay) and shortly after we turned off of Highway 29, there was a beer sign with Transyl-maze-ia printed on it, so we knew we were headed the right way. From there there was signs all along the way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much for entertainment. We arrived right before it opened, so possibly entertainment came later. As far as the wait area goes, there were other thingfs to do, just not while in line. the wait area was under a big tent, which really doesn't do you any good if it rains, because once you get to go through, your outside anyway.

Most Unique

The fact that it was a maze converted into a trail for the Halloween season.

Actors' Performance

The actors were awesome, all the way through. They are allowed to touch there, but it totally added to the experince. They stayed in Character the whole time, even when I made an idiot out of myself and couldn't find a door.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This place was great. I won the tickets off of this site and wouldn't have made the 1 1/2 drive there otherwise. They gained a couple of customers because we will go for sure next year, it was that good. Also, since it was just getting dark when we arrived, they asked if we in front minded if people with little kids cut since it was a little light yet. We didn't so we waited about an hour so it was funny to listen to the little kids. It really was a great haunt.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by molson after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was not easy to find! We had came the night before, got lost, and then by the time we found it we couldn't get in because they had stopped selling tickets.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was long. As we expected. And their was no entertainment as we waited. I thought the train ride could've been more exciting.

Most Unique

The room where you were spinning! Made you want to throw up though! But good!

Actors' Performance

They were pretty good. their wasn't really a lot of actors INSIDE the house. They were more outside. THier was one guy dancing in the window and I think he had a headache by the time the night was over.

Appropriate For

9 and up.

Summary

I do think it was good, but they need to add a lot to it.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by aliciakeyser after attending on Wednesday, October 26, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

No signs, Called and got directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was alright. Nothing really but a fire and some music.

Most Unique

The coffin was diffently cool, so was the 3d wonka room.

Actors' Performance

Most were awesome. They did a good job. The umpa lumpas were great. Very creepy for kids...

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I'd reccomend it to everyone. Cheapest one in the GB area, little line wait time and not too bad.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by starstring after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find. Just following the winding road to the end.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No entertainment, waiting area in barn holds about 150 people. Seats in the barn go to who ever can get them. Many more had to wait outside, so wear winter jackets, hats & gloves. Hey it's fall in Wisconsin it could be in the low 40's. They were taking group sizes of 30 to 50 people a time at aproximately 20 min intervals. The numbering system was fine, keeps line jumpers at bay. Hot Chocolate, Hot Cider & Cappacino in good size cups was available for 0.75 to help keep you warm too.

Most Unique

Walk in the Haunted Woods, the Tank & it was neat going into an actual house.

Actors' Performance

Varied, see comments.

Appropriate For

I took my 8 year old - He loved it!

Summary

I went to my first Haunted House when I was 10 years old. It is one that is still ingrained in my memory as the best I have ever went to. Probably hyped in part by the evening (a full, huge and blood red moon was rising as we were waiting in line to get in), the circumstances (my grandfather had just died & it was my first funeral) and the particular Haunted House took us almost two hours to get through (I mean the house itself not the wait in line.) It was also a Jaycee's.

Now thirty years later, with my own kids in tow and as a regular part of our Halloween celebration we visit a haunt or two and this was one of the best so far. This is only my second time going to a Jaycee's Haunted House. I have noticed two types of Haunted Houses. One were you hustle from room to room taking in the barrage of scares and trying to get away from them as quickly as possible. The other like the Jaycee's as you enter a room and are made to wait while a tale or skit is relayed before moving on to the next scare. Personally I prefer this type of Haunted House. It allows me to take in all the wonderful work and decoration that goes into making these events. Rather than a quick glance as I get pushed along for one scare to the next I'm able to soak it all in.

I would say there are two distinct types of horror, one, the gothic variety i.e. Ghosts, Goblins, Ghouls, Witches, Vampires, Werewolves, Mad Scientists, Frankenstein's monster and so on. The other a more modern horror, full of serial killers, surreal nightmarish monsters, demons, twisted clowns and sinister hillbillies, playing more on our fear of mortality (especially post 9/11 terrorists) than our fear of evil, the sinister and the freakish.

This Haunt was full of the modern kind of monsters, a fact I lament (I guess either all the gothic monsters are extinct, off on a long holiday or at some other haunt) but no matter, this was a thrilling attraction. This is not to say it was too gory or over the top with slasher types, just that I would have liked a mix of the gothic and modern. Especially would like to have seen a witch or two boiling up some mischief in the woods. Or perhaps meet a werewolf lingering on the wooded trail as we made our way to the house. They were notoriously absent, although we met with plenty of other scares which had us running out of the woods and into to deeper terror. I have to agree with others here the tank leading into the house was way cool. I also really liked the first & second rooms that you enter in the house. The actors there did a great job & it was one of the more creative mixes of story and effects, in the other rooms I did notice less story and more effects, scary no doubt but it doesn't etch itself into memory as well as a good story. Also a high five to the actor who stood waiting to be seen in front of my wife while she cowered in the corner with her hood over her face. Overall it was a fun & outstanding haunt and I recommend it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by DorkItUpLikeMad after attending on Wednesday, October 26, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

That side of Green Bay its kind of hard to find if you don't know it very well. It is always a good idea that they have that sign up by the road, though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I've always enjoyed the waiting environment, mostly because it feels like I'm at a fair. The scaring was okay, we purposely waited a little longer to see the black light show..which is awesome like last year.

Most Unique

Things seemed the same as last year. I've always enjoyed the art, though.

Actors' Performance

I understand that they don't have the same people all the time so they don't have time to experiement in their spots. Still..it got a little boring with the same scares all of the time. However, they have such little space to work with, it's understandable how hard it would be to make up a routine.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

This house is great if you like haunted houses for the art.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by mklady after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2005 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Found it no problem. Great signs.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got in as soon as we got there

Actors' Performance

Great job. Scared us so bad we almost wet our pants. Never knew when some one would jump out at you.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

We had a blast. We will be telling all our friend about it and sending them your way we will be back again next year.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by lovetospook after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2005 at about 1:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Directions from web site were easy to follow. Very organized parking

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Time passed pretty quickly with the music and all the special effects to look at. The only problem we saw was that once you bought your ticket, it was not very clear where to head from there. People that saw us coming out the exit asked us where they should be going.

Most Unique

The special effects and visual affects were great! The music was loud, but appropriate for the situation. There were alot of unique things about it that make it worth every penny!

Actors' Performance

Great costumes, great acting. You can tell they all work hard at what they do!

Summary

Starting out on the train sets the tone for the whole thing and was great! Not the scariest we have been to, but definately the most fun and entertaining. You can tell alot of work went into it.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by grianainech after attending on Monday, October 24, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was straightforward, and we had no problems finding the site.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was a tent space with plenty to do and see while we waited, although there was very little wait because there were two houses to tour.

Most Unique

Blood Cove is by far the most unique and organized haunt I've been to in years. Rather than a series of disjointed and unrelated pop-ups and sound-blast startles, the operators of Blood Cove created a story for us to get involved in.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very into their roles, which demanded actual acting ability rather than your typical pop-out-and-scream scares.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Both haunts at Hauntfest are HUGE, and it is apparent immediately that the operators, builders and even actors have put in a tremendous amount of thought, time and effort into these haunts. Clearly an exceptional crew whose creativity sets them apart from the typical haunt. Blood Cove is so big we went through three times and discovered more details each time!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by aliii after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Most Unique

It's amazing how they manage to scare people surrounded by neon 3D images! Also I've never found pirates so terrifying in such a fun way.

Actors' Performance

The actors did an excellent job surprising me time after time and many were creepy enough to keep me looking over my shoulder long after I had passed them.

Summary

When you think you know what's coming next, think again. These haunts are unique, fun and frightening!!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Ruka after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

State fair park was easy to find, was up the road from the cafe we went for dinner. 5 bones to park was lame but I guess that was the state fairs deal.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Pretty good, didn't wait long, they have a VIP system you can get online. I did see some girl was eating out a head, kinda freaky.

Most Unique

sliding zombies

Actors' Performance

90% of the actors seemed to be really into it. Most were great at their scares, a few just seemed to be ornaments. Killy Killmores was freaky with the 3-D, the pirate theme was cool.

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

had a good time, spent a little time talking to the people that were wearing sweatshirts outside, think they were like escorts for the roaming people. told me I could volunteer but I want to go to some more huanted houses

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by jldiehl after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

None, really. The attraction is right on the intersection of two well-known roads in Milwaukee. As soon as you get within a block of the circus, you see the strobe lights. That's your signage.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

This attraction is at a floral store, so there was no great waiting area. We arrived early, so we only waited in line for about 10-15 minutes. We waited just outside the store, but within the fence that separates it from the street. I could see how, with a larger crowd, the line would reach onto the street along the sidewalk. As for entertainment, there were three girls with faces painted (intentionally scary, but not so) and honking a bicycle horn every few minutes. Not scary.

Most Unique

The first "room" is a very long hall with black plastic sides that seem to "breath" or rather hug you as you walk down it, so, claustrophobics, beware! You had to walk in single-file. The "spinning room", which is just a stable floor with a hypnotically-painted floor, made it seem like you were moving (it worked for a small sec, then it wore off). I think for being a lower-budget haunted house, it created disorientation very well. One maze was frustratingly simple in structure, but it really bothered us 'cause we couldn't get around it! I really liked the room with the bars hanging down from the ceiling. Coupled with the strobe light, it was quite disorientating. The "side show" room was cute, in a scary way.

Actors' Performance

It was pretty good once you got into the haunted house. It was dark, and I never got a good look at any of the actors' masks or costumes. Of the positions they played, they did so very well.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

One thing I didn't like so much is that instead of finding ingenious ways to scare us, the actors bordered on harassment, like a "What are you *doing*?!? You're going the WRONG WAY!", which wasn't scary, but funny at first, and then just plain annoying. It was a good haunted house, but not for $10. Of course, you never can tell about these things from the website!

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 20th, 2019 3:33 p.m. CDT 1.27