ad-header-top

2005 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

190 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by evil13guy after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage on the highway was visable but not very specific.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

a few "roaming" actors that did little to scare and more to annoy. Waiting/Ticket area is too small and poorly organized to handle a crowd of any size.

Most Unique

Walk in the woods. Set up a mood prior to entering the house. The setting is also good, old house, old shed...just looks a bit creepy from the start.

Actors' Performance

A few actors were good and enhanced their scare, others were too busy "putzing" around or too "burnt out" to deliver more than the overused "get out", "help me" or growling.(tip: NOT SCARY..just annoying) Not the performance we expected based on the reviews.

Appropriate For

preteens to young 20"s

Summary

We had high expectations for this event based on the reviews. What we found was a staff overwhelmed and unable to deal with the crowd at every turn and a rediculous wait time for the crowd size. The Haunt itself was OK but like many events we have seen this year they seemd to borrow from other haunts with ideas we have seen done better at the original events in past years. The scare factor was diminished by poor timing and actors that used the basic lines "get out" and "help me" too often. This event was better than past years but still not on the level of some of our favorite haunts in Wisconsin. For an event that was rated well this year, we expected better.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by evil13guy after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Poor signage but saw police at enterence

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None....very unorganized waiting and ticketing lines. Plenty of staff, but little organization

Most Unique

The living room scene was different but predictable.

Actors' Performance

A few very good actors, but overall actors were too young and to friendly for the scares to be effective.The event was too well lit and contained many scenes/ideas/scares that we have seen at other events in the past.

Appropriate For

8 to 18

Summary

This event seems to be geared toward a younger customer and lacks the intensity and scare power that other haunts deliver. good family event...for real scares another event would be a better choice, but still an event worth seeing.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by drulie06 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs began on the Cnt-W sign and from there it was easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line went quickly to get tickets. There was a large waiting tent with a 3-D game and an arcade game that lets you scare the people going through the maze. Last year, the music was extremely loud in that tent but this year it was kept at a much better volume so people could actually talk. They called in people in groups of 50 which made the wait seem short, even for a Saturday night. Definitely very well-organized.

Most Unique

The end of the house where they ask you how you liked it. Adds a nice touch to help them make for a better experience next year ;-) I also like the double scares when the lights go out and when they come back on, all kinds of crap is going on.

Actors' Performance

The actors were definitely very into scaring the crap out of people. They were in your face and jumpin all around. I thought they did an excellent job.

Appropriate For

14 and up (geared towards older crowds too)

Summary

I love this one! I go to Splatterhaus every year and this was definitely one of the better ones. I am always amazed at how well they move people through it. I highly recommend this one for anyone who is looking for a good hardcore experience. Definintely not for the weak, although they are fun to go through the house with!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by drulie06 after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We were able to find it relatively easily from the line of cars headed there. The signs, from what I did see, were visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a small indoor waiting area but the majority of the people had to stand outside. At one point, the line for the tickets ended up in the line for concessions because they both went out the same door. No one was buying tickets even though the line was around the block.

Most Unique

Had to be the talking deer head who would converse with you while you waited inside the house. Isnt it deer hunting season soon?

Actors' Performance

Some of them were really into it, others looked like they were just passing the time. A lot of rooms with people talking to the visitors.

Appropriate For

12 and up, geared (I felt) to a younger crowd

Summary

Personally, I didnt think it was worth the 3 hours we waited. There were a couple of scary in-your-face moments but not many. The rooms were really cramped and it was often difficult to get the group in them. I felt the younger crowd would have gotten more of a kick out of it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by mstcrow after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Little hard to find. Did not know the area. On going south HY 164 go though Tishigan after about 1 mile it will be on the left side It's a tight left turn. WARNING Speed limit is 50 mph And cars approach real Fast.Entrance is not well lit and looks like a yard display.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

After buying our tickets we were left confused on which way to go, So we went to the right walked past the Porta Potties Saw people Standing and thought I guess this is the place.Line Was not long. The Hearse's tried to keep the line moving, People were left to organizing their groups which slowed the line down. Groups Should be preorganized to slow the confusion down before entering the Hearse.Three of us Entered the Hearse and waited 5 Min before other people Decided to Enter to fill it up.All stood around confused.

Most Unique

Too much to list. The feel of walking through the woods was Great with the fires and displays.Truly a great Haunt. lots of lould Noises. My hears still hurt.

Actors' Performance

Was done very well, They know how to keep you moving along after each scare. Timimg was Exellent. Will go back Next Year. Well worth the $10.00

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Sometimes you felt disorganized and a bit lost,but you weren't Which only added to the excitement.Tour lasted About 30min.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by mstcrow after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

At the Fair Grounds can't miss it. Guy with Flashlight to direct you in.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

In the colesium. lots of seating. Snack trailer outside has hot and cold food. Wait time was about 1 hour.

Most Unique

Watch out for Grandma you won't fool her.

Actors' Performance

Was real good. They were into their rolls, lots of screaming Through out The haunt( By the Guest). EFX were well done.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Well organized They put on a good Haunt.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Sleepy Hollow Haunted Woods

by lovetospook after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew the general area and followed the signs easily

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Could have had more seating since it was a bit of a wait.

Most Unique

A couple of good ideas. Just needed more. There didn't seem to be enough people scaring us. The location was awesome - they could have done so much more with what they had to work with.

Actors' Performance

Not bad - good costumes. Just not enough people as monsters

View all Sleepy Hollow Haunted Woods reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by lovetospook after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew where we were going so it wasn't a problem. If you didn't, it might not be easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Some good scares from a couple of monsters. The video could be on a bigger screen cuz it was hard to see or hear. We were guessing what it was talking about. Even when right up to the TV it was hard to hear.

Most Unique

Alot of very unique and good ideas. Lots of fun!

Actors' Performance

Great costumes and performances

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by loser17 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

No signs that tell you where to go. But when your driving down the road there is a sign in the middle of the street that says "Parking". If your not looking on the right hand side you might just pass it up. And it was hard to find a place to trun around to go back.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

You wait outside, so if its cold out dress warm. They play very loud heavy metal music while you are waiting.

Most Unique

The end of it is really cool. I don't want to give it away!

Actors' Performance

Pretty good. There were some really good actors that got us pretty darn good!

Appropriate For

16 and up

Summary

I went with eight other people, and we all thought that by far this was one the best haunted houses we have been to this year.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by ebbs68 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

OK

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

OK

Most Unique

Nothing was unique. Just paint and the same thing through the whole thing.

Actors' Performance

Terrible, always went after first person in the group after that person saw them

Summary

Very boring, no scare factor, not worth $10.00.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by stormy7777 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs are on Hwy 60. It's easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Small waiting area in the barn, otherwise dress warm as you will be spending your waiting time outside.

Most Unique

The walk through the woods.

Actors' Performance

Actors performed well.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

This haunted house is 90% skits. There are very few real actors, mostly 1 per room where the skit takes place. This house was entertaining, but far from scary.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by mickwy1966 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very Well Lit from Hwy O

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice waiting area with benches, refreshments.

Most Unique

The special effects built in the wagon are AWESOME

Actors' Performance

The actors are very good at scaring folks, and respectful of space.

Appropriate For

8+ with adults

Summary

The haunted path at then end of this rid eis exceptional.. The actors and props are well thought out. This ride takes you along a darkened path through wods and a pine forest.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Cootney after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs were good, u knew were u were going. The directions and the website were helpful too.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a game room and place to get food. That was good. The music was good too while u were waiting.

Most Unique

I think the very beginning was interesting becuz they had me and my friend go up to turn on the light. I also thought that whole closet thing was kinda kool but there shouldnt have been so much moving around of the actors so we knew where they were.

Actors' Performance

They were ok. It would have been better if there weren't so many smaller kids do the scaring. I rilly wasnt scared when the little kids came out to scare me.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

I rilly wasnt that scared. I would have liked to be more scared and i axpected more from wat ive heard in past years.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by Lisa_L after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was very easy to find. Good signage.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was outside, and no actors were visible.

Most Unique

I liked some of the special effects they used.

Actors' Performance

The actors were mostly kids, they did a good job of playing their part.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

This was overall a good haunted house with a low scare factor. The one thing that brought down the scare factor was that you were escorted through the house. Having to go in alone makes it much more scary.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

by Lisa_L after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If you were familiar with where the mansion was, they you could find it. There were no actual signs pointing to it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was nice, we were able to sit on the porch, which was good.

Most Unique

I liked that it was in the mansion considering that it is suppose to be really haunted.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a great job, they were in costume and acted great.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

It was not really what I had expected. I attended the Edgar Allen Poe event there a couple of years back, and this was much different. We only went into 4 rooms and outside for a little story. We didn't even enter the room that was suppose to be haunted. When we went downstairs into the theatre, it was basically just the story of Dracula's capture and thats it. I was expecting much more interaction and scare.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 20th, 2019 2:22 p.m. CDT 1.27