ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Nightmare Weekend Before Christmas

by nevermind4494 after attending on Friday, December 14, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was a spectacular Christmas themed haunt. I have actually wanted to attend the haunted house for the past 2 years but have never been able to coordinate a time with friends as we live about an hour and a half away in Milwaukee, WI. I have to say I was skeptical because even some of the houses on hauntedwisconsin.com that have excellent reviews have turned out to be duds. NOT this one! It was absolutely great! There was literally no wait and the first thing we were approached with was an ear deafening sound and a little Christmas story to get us in the spirit. I would 100% recommend this haunted house/Christmas attraction to ANYONE AND EVERYONE! Splatterhaus has been my haunted house destination for YEARS and October cannot come soon enough so I can make it back up to to The House of Bathroy! They put so much time and effort into every detail and the acting is absolutely wonderful! Nothing cheesy, people really get into it.

Summary

This Christmas themed haunt was both comical and had the scare factor as well. As you entered into the haunt you were greeted by Charlie Brown and Crew...the great pumpkin popped up behind a stack of presents.

We walked through many other rooms including elves, a doorway where you walk up and down and around and end up right back where you were, alvin and the chipmunks, the cast of South Park, Santa with a chainsaw and many more.

Excellent job - great performance, awesome props, great costumes - we'll be back for Halloween!

View all Nightmare Weekend Before Christmas reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by Leatherface after attending on Friday, November 2, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have been going through Splatterhaus for many years. Since the barn they have relocated to Two Rivers. This year has been my favorite since the move, so far.

They have added more rooms and changed a few things around.
I believe the more they add the better they get, due to the fact of having alot of dark hallways.

Personally I hope they bring back the old tricks of crawling/sliding/slanted hallways, etc. But im sure there are limitations with fire inspections.

Acting was outstanding, each character had their own world to work with in each room and they played off of that very well. The rooms themselves were well put together.

Staff was very friendly.

Most memorable moment will always be a certain hallway where things come from above (not to give anything away). Just a classic idea that has been done by many others in the past. Never gets old.

Adding more "feel" effects with the air was a nice touch.

Summary

Overall well done, looking forward to next year. Hopefully they can do something with their woods sometime, that would be awesome!!

Splatterhaus is always scary and entertaining. Check it out!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by jdog7 after attending on Saturday, November 3, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

So we figured we would go to one last haunt this season. We had heard good things about this place. Whoever told us these good things must have been high! The actors outside were boring and interacted more with each other than the customers. Here is a hint- When you stroll casually up to someone with a chainsaw, then look at them for a few seconds, then start the chainsaw- you have lost the element of surprise!So since it was November 3 I didn't expect a big crowd and I was right. We bought tickets and got in line. Before you go in a plain clothed worker tells you the rules. Here's the problem: over the music being played outside nobody can here her. After the haunt I asked the others in my group if they could here her and they didn't even realize someone told us the rules! Once inside we were subjected to multiple people screaming 3 inches from our faces. Now this is not screaming in a "we didn't see them and they scared the crap out of us" way. It was screaming in a "we were already in the room looking at them and then the actor just screamed as loud as he/she could because they didn't know what else to say" kind of way. This happened multiple times in multiple rooms. The few rooms where someone was performing a dialogue, we could not hear it because of the overwhelming noise (not music) coming from the speakers. This also happened multiple times. As if this wasn't bad enough we ran into another group halfway through. When we tried to stop to let them get ahead we were screamed at to go. We then had another group run into us. We now have a 15-20 person conga line going through this unscary, too noisy poorly lit piece of crap. With the small crowd there was no excuse for crowd control this poor!! When the actors realize people are bunching up they should be able to separate us AND communicate to the people at the front to slow it down a bit.Let's see.. what else sucked? Oh yeah. The actor in the bathroom scene meowed at us?!? I tried to get lost and separated from my group in the cage maze and failed. A cage maze is just begging to have someone climbing and hanging on it but the actors just stayed on the floor in plain sight. We could see them all from the start of the maze.

Summary

When the parking attendant asked if we were there for the MMA fights we should have said yes and went with the flow. Even if the $5 parking fee was the only price of admission it would have been a waste of money. There is a lot of work to do here.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Hauntedhousefan12 after attending on Saturday, November 24, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! Once again I am absolutely amazed! I come every year and it gets better and better!! The first Haunted House was a Victorian mansion, like it has been for years, and the new rooms were awesome! I especially loved the portraits that moved and interacted with people! The second house was just plain freaky! If you are claustrophobic I wouldn't recommend going in! The Third was out side and....well lets just say there is a surprise for you when you get in!

Summary

In all this place continues to amaze me every year and I cannot wait until I get to go again!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Terror Trail

by halloweeniegirl after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We had an absolute great time with this event. We had a group of 6, and the "actors" interacted with every single one of us and some point during the trail. Didn't make a difference if you were in back, front or the middle. They found you! Not busy at all the night we went, which surprised us since it was a foggy, creapy kind of night. Highly recommend!!

Summary

Great fun, both by the "victims" and by the "actors"

View all Terror Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Berlin Haunted Tannery Tour / Overnights

by halloweeniegirl after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Wasn't a bad place to go, but not worth the $20 entry fee. They kept you entertained while waiting outside in line with a creapy girl walking around interacting with you (and her doll Ilean). And the 3D room was a trip. The most interesting/fun part of the whole thing was going to the real paranormal set up afterwards and seeing/listening to the various things they have recorded in the building.

Summary

Fun, but not worth the $20 entry fee

View all Berlin Haunted Tannery Tour / Overnights reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Elements of Fear

by HHHopper12 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow, absolutely Mind blowing. Couldn't believe it was only $5.00 to walk through this Haunted House they truly came back with a vengeance. I have been through other haunts and didn't feel scared. Here you walk in and instantly get an eerie I don't want to go through feeling Spiders greet you then a dark room you huddle in corner looking in to meet a mystic. I literally fell off the bench with what happened in this room a ghost just appeared and stares at you. You then have to get to safety via a bus or a vehicle of some sort facing zombies attacking you. Then dark alley and some creepy shops with possessed girl telling you to get out its her place. ( I hate the grudge). Then your thrown into Haunted woods area, flames, faces in the walls and then complete darkness I have to say I had to cheat and use my flashlight on my phone I couldn't see anything and walked into walls. It twisted and turned and threw you where you started. Vortex rocked too this year made me dizzy just opening the door wow I don't know how they did that but it was awesome. I want to say that the group who created this years haunt did an amazing job. I cannot wait until next years.

Summary

They should charge more next year $5.00 just wasn't enough for the experience. Loved that vortex whew.

View all Elements of Fear reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sydney000 after attending on Thursday, October 25, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been coming to the Wisconsin Fearfrounds for the past couple of years now and they never disappoint. They have 3 haunted houses all of which have amazing sets and are put together really well. This year they had an extra event as well an attraction that allowed my friends and I to shoot zombies with paintball guns! How awesome is that! I cannot wait to see what they have in store for next year!

Summary

Morgan Manor- This one was more Victorian in style and was set to be an actual house. They even had a hallway with pictures that moved it reminded me of the pictures from the Harry Potter movies which was awesome.
Morgana's Torment- This one was intense. It takes some of your fears and puts you against them. My firends and I thought we were going to die.
Shadowlands- This was there new haunted house this year and it was completely outside and seeing as how it was raining the entire time I was there it really added to the experience.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by directaffect after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Creative - Fun - Different

There's no way to compare the House of Bathory to any other haunted house because it's totally different! Every year that I've attended, the event has been changed around completely. The theme this year, Steven King tribute made it fun for me because I personally am a fan of Steven King. It was neat to see characters of his stories, come to life. The new waiting area downstairs is a nice addition, all though I was expecting to enter the haunt from the downstairs --- they lead us up upstairs to the front of the building to enter. The first room always plays out to be a good scare. In addition, I can't help but mention the "IT" character how he nailed that role.

Summary

The House of Bathory should be on your bucket list.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Crypt

by directaffect after attending on Friday, October 26, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I had attended the event with another person. The waiting line took quite a while. There were about 20 people in front of us and by the time we got up to walk through, it was nearly an hour time passing. Once we entered, you could tell it was going to be above average for a home haunt. You can also tell that they had stuck a ton of work into this event. The actors were better than some "professional" haunted house actors. All though the actress in the coffin grabbed my arm leaving a next day bruise! Sometimes strobes were mounted in a blinding position, which made it hard to see when you're walking. In my opinion, there were a few too many tripping hazards (including unlit tree roots). However, the detail and creativity that was put into this event had impressed me.

Summary

In the end, this home haunt seems to be up their with some "professional" haunted houses. Once you enter, until the time you leave, you forget that it's just in their backyard. It's actually quite lengthy. This event is free but don't be stingy, drop a few bucks into the donation box!

View all The Crypt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by directaffect after attending on Saturday, October 27, 2012 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Splatter Haus once again proves to be one of the best haunted houses out there. The lobby this year has some new things added to it, like the zombie photo backdrop! The haunt itself is always entertaining, filled with those "i just sh*t my pants" scare moments! If you've never been to Splatter Haus, I recommend it because it's a different environment than your typical haunted house.

Summary

Amazing job Splatter Haus!! This haunt is always worth checking out. I did not poop my pants but I nearly piddled!!!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by beastlysyl after attending on Friday, October 26, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

So th Haunted Barn, I was trying to decide on a haunted house for me and my friends to go to and we live in whitewater so looking around, this looked like the best one that was somewhat close. Nothing but fantastic reviews and "Wiscoinsin's #1 Haunted House" and well I was a little dissapointed.
It was a really good show and worth the $13 that was the admission fee... they had concessions before hand and a few people trying to scare you which was good, but the haunt I wouldnt call the best.
It was long (which is good, probably 35-40 minutes) but the haunted forest was pretty pathetic and i shouldnt even count it, so lets just say it was about 25-30 minutes of "real" haunt. It was good, but not the Wisconsins best for Ive been to at least 3 haunts that were much scarier and much more detailed.
The zombie room was pretty amazing and definitly the best part of the show.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by dutchess1264 after attending on Saturday, October 27, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awsome Haunted House. The best I have gone to since the 70s! Great attention to detail. Actors were fantastic. Animated props were the best, every room was a thrill, not the same old blacklight and neon paint stuff you see at other haunted houses. The staff was great. Would love to go through again!

Summary

Absoultly a must do for the halloween season! It will be one my list every year.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Ghost Tours Of Kemper Center

by Refmom3 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I don't enjoy scary movies, so I wasn't looking for the traditional haunted house experience. This was billed as a "family friendly" event, so I was fairly confident that it wouldn't go overboard. Our group of 4 had an interesting chat before the tour with the "Mayor," and then we moved swiftly through the tour, visiting the actual historical house and getting a history lesson seen through the lens of possible ghostly visits. The actors stayed in character and it was appropriately atmospheric.

Summary

I enjoyed my first experience, and would recommend it for families in the area with older children, or for people who want something other than a high gore factor to get them in the spooky mood.

View all Ghost Tours Of Kemper Center reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by TrickorKathy after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Was raining but still had fun. They had all the events going even though. You can tell these people are really into putting this on.

Summary

A lot of fun for the price they charge or any price! Always go to see this one every year.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:12 a.m. CST 1.5.1