2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Back once again for a night of fright on the historic Old Mitchell St., in Milwaukee, WI. This was my
second year back at the Mars Haunted House and I have yet to be disappointed. The attraction always brings out "all the stops" when it comes to entertaining their customers. This is one of those attractions where you just might want to pay for another ticket so that you can go back on through and enjoy it all over again.

From the very beginning Mars has actors out and about outside in the waiting line waiting to creep
people out, gross them out, and, every so often, scare them right out of line. Heavy music is playing as you wait and it really sets the mood. Once you get to the entrance you ascend an old, dark, and creepy staircase to their ticket booth. The staff there is always courteous and willing to help.

Once they are ready to go you enter their prepping room while a creepy actor just stares at you,
hisses, and continues to stare at you while you wait. Once you have the 'green light' off you go. This year the very first part of the attraction was slow. Being a Sunday Mars' staff was a little down. This isn't anything you have to worry about during the final week of October. If I know Mars, they are going to give a you a great ride.

Mars had a few new bits of technology this year that just added to the overall experience. As always the actors were on the top of their game and a big 2 thumbs up goes to you guys and gals. You definitely make me miss my haunted hayride acting days. I have always been impressed with the costuming and make-up effects of the actors at Mars. Even some of the actors' looks alone is enough to give you the heebie-jeebies.

Mars actors are well versed in how to scare. I've never really frightened easy (even less after over 4 years of working a haunt), but they know their locations well and can very easily get you to jump out of your shoes. Good actors added in with top notch distractions (such as strobe lights, air cannons, and smoke) make for a very entertaining night.

The attraction itself is just beautiful as well. A lot of time and effort has gone in to this haunt
to bring you into their world. The scenes appear as if they are right out of Hollywood and you will feel as if you are in a different world. Mars' scenes alone (with all the lighting and effects), without the actors, would be enough for me to pay admittance. Their scenes really bring you into their element.

Mars remains one of my favorites and has never disappointed me yet. I have always been pleased by the level of dedication by the actors and the immersive scenes that Mars has created. This is a haunted house that I would personally give me recommendations to go visit to those asking about good haunted houses in the area. Mars is a must-see during the month of October.

Summary

Although a shorter attraction (about 25 minutes)  from beginning to end, every dollar that you pay for this attraction is worth it. Dedicated to what they do, Mars will not leave you disappointed at the end of the night. Mars brings a lot to the table and you may just need to catch your breath during some portions of the haunt because once you step into this attraction it is non-stop scares and interaction until the end. Mars....a solid and professional attraction all the way around.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by FluffyBren after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Haunted Barn was awesome! They added a zombie area which was quite scary. Definitely more frights and screams this year! Beetlejuice and the Werewolf were excellent at keeping the lines entertained.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first time at the Fright Factory and I wasn't sure what to expect. Quiet roads lead us to a building that didn't even seem occupied. My wife felt it was creepy before we walked in. Just how a haunt should start.

The ticket booth and line was in a big room inside the building. It was the first time I saw how many people were there. It seemed empty from the outside but had an impressive turnout on a Sunday night.

We were sent in with a group of teenage girls, which added to the fun as we heard their terrified screams. We started out with a video explaining the rules. A nice touch that most haunts do not have. The video ended with an expected scary surprise, which continued into the haunt.

The Fear Factory had a lot of terrific sets and themes. Some of the best I've seen this year. What was really cool is they had a few moving sets. Such as moving floors, walls and other objects to create an effect. These effects took you to many different scenes like the morgue, a witches creepy garden and, my favorite, a pirate ship!

The actors did a convincing job playing their characters. Many startled you when you weren't expecting it. Every room we walked through brought out a scream from the group. My wife actually started to feel panicked at one point when were in the pitch black trying to navigate through a dark "sea."

The Fright Factory was a really cool haunt with a unique lay out. If you're out in the Janesville area I'd highly recommend checking it out. It was filled with plenty of screams, terrific acting and highly entertaining.

Signage / Visibility / Location


They could use a bigger sign out front since we almost didn't see it.  In fact, I didn't see it but my wife did. I wasn't totally sure it was the right place at first. Though it did add an effect that we were out on our own and lost. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have an indoor line waiting area. There wasn't any line entertainment the night I was there.

Actors' Performance


The actors were excellent, their characters were solid and believable. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props were some of the most memorable I've been to this year. Not only were they realistic, they added an element of movement in several rooms that you don't see at haunts. It kept you on your toes.

Length


About 15 minutes

Crowd Control


We never ran into other groups. They had rooms and hallways that you would re-enter at another point and we didn't see anyone. In fact sometimes the actors would react to us again. The timing was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment


My favorite scene was a pirate ship we walked on. The floor moved back and forth with the sea. We had to crouch under the sails to move across the deck. It was a very cool and detailed set, all the way to the plank……

Summary

I really enjoyed to the Fright Factory and would love to go again next year. The sets, scenes and acting were fantastic. We were sent in all kinds of creative worlds with great care and detail. My ears were ringing from all the screaming in our group, a good sign of a great haunt.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

What's the best thing to do when you're ready to go to a haunt? How about go to an actual haunted house. Which is what Mars Haunted House claims to be and has been confirmed by professionals.  If you believe it or not it adds an additional feeling of fright and discomfort as you walk in. Add in the scares, Mars has been a must hit for me during the Halloween season. The fun starts from the moment you get in line until you walk out onto the street.

Pulling up to Mars we could see the outdoor waiting line wrapping around the building. This can seem disheartening, but the line entertainment passes the time with scary/amusing tactics. This year a punk rock clown, who was proficient at sliding across the sidewalk on his knees, was there to creep you out. Along with a big scary guy who kept looking for his girl. A tiny woman in a white dress who was tethered with a line to her wrist. She didn't say a word, just stare on the ground and walk when lead. Though she'd get loose and walk off when she could. They kept everyone entertained and I never saw so many teenagers run up the side walk screaming. 

Once it's your time, your led into the building and up the creaking stairs. It's dark and erie. The thoughts of this being a REAL haunted building creeps into your mind. A feeling that doesn't leave you while on this haunt. Somehow, the little quiet girl from the waiting line was at the top of the stairs. She stood there, timid as usual while we heard the rules. Once we entered she let an awesome shrill kicking off our haunt.

The haunt itself is dimly lit, tight hallways with frights around every corner. Walking through cobwebs and heads hanging from the ceiling. Touching creepy and gross objects is one thing, but Mars also assaults other senses. Such as the lights that assault your eyes,  sounds that make the haunted rooms feel real. The haunt had a smell to it as well that we couldn't figure out. Old building? Maybe. Death? Perhaps.

The construction and props were very lifelike and the settings were awesome. The actors did a great job of playing their roles, jumping out when you weren't expecting it or just staring at you. The only negative we had was when we caught up to the group ahead of us. I thought they did a great job of separating groups by having you pay before you head in, which acts like as a good time buffer. The actors did all they could trying to get the other group to move on without breaking character.

Even with catching up to the group we entered into some great experiences with lights and dark. Such as a pitch black room with nothing but red glowing eyes of faces. You had the feeling that one, or some, maybe all of them were real people. I couldn't figure it out and was a great feeling!

This is my third year hitting Mars and I haven't been disappointed yet. The sets are realistic, acting is solid and the frights are aplenty. I'll be back next year.

Signage / Visibility / Location



Easy to find with a simple address. All the people outside made it a dead giveaway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Outdoor waiting on the sidewalk so if it's cold out, dress appropriately. Bathrooms are available outside. The entertainment while waiting was my favorite of all the haunts this year. They'll startle and entertain, it made the wait fly by. 

Actors' Performance


The performance was solid. They did a great job of jumping out at you, or just starring as you went by. You could tell they were experienced.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The set construction was awesome and very realistic. They excelled at using lights and sound to make the haunt realistic. They also were great as distracting you from what was coming. 

Length


About 15-20 minutes

Crowd Control


We ran into the group ahead of us, which was disappointing. The actors tried their best to move them along and slow down other groups. 

Most Memorable Moment


When I walked down a dark long room and was blasted by bright red lights. At first we all commented how cool it was but then it messed with my senses. Walking into the next room I felt like I was completely at the mercy of the haunt.

Summary

Overall this was an excellent haunt and it never disappoints. Plenty of screams and jumps from the people walking through. It's a staple for experienced haunt goers and a terrific fright for novices.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by kamikaze0214 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Attended The Haunted Woods on Saturday 10-20. After waiting in line for about 30 minutes we were able to begin. The haunt starts off with a very spooky ride in a hearse. Unfortunately that was the only thing that really impressed me. I was expecting major scares and was let down. This is great for youth/teens, but as an adult I had higher expectations. We also ran into another group while in the woods.

Summary

Decent for kids, disapointing for adults. Needs better spacing between groups. Would be good for families.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Terre Erdmann after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Last night I visited The Burial Chamber located in Neenah, WI. There were 3 haunts to see and all were well done. The first I toured was called "Adrenaline", and it was geared more for a sound and tactile experience rather than sight. The actors faces were not very visible due to the extreme dark but their ability to thrill and surprise, scare and shock was a ten in my book. I was, however, disappointed that I could not, for the most part, see the makeup that they wore as most of the time we were in a very dark and tunnel type of attraction. There were some lighted areas and rooms of themes but not enough to suit my taste. If you prefer a tactile experience, then this haunt is definitely up your alley. I personally preferred the second haunt.
It was called "Insanity" This haunt catered to all senses and portrayed all things mentally and visually chaotic. I was transported to a place in mind that allowed me to be unnerved and thrilled. I saw for a moment through the mind of the demented. It was a thoroughly exhausting experience.
The third and final haunt was a forested outdoor haunt called "Phobia" In it there were many ghouls including a variety of mythical creatures and hillbilly maniacs. I spent a good bit of my energy sass talking the actors and they had a great ability to think on their feet, giving wonderful and imaginative comebacks, fine scares and an overall worthwhile experience.
The special makeup done by the artists for these haunts was very exceptional and professional looking.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone. It was well worth the evening out and I intend to return next year.
Terre Erdmann

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Ginastewart after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The dark side haunted adventure itself was great, and i liked that there were 5 different activities. However, we had to wait in a hay filled barn, and i could barely breath. I realized that I was becoming severely allergic to the hay and dust in the air. We turned on our cell phones and could see a thick cloud of dust and particles in the air. My friend and i had to keep walking out by the bathrooms but also had to keep going inside by our friends to make sure we stayed with them. I was sneezing, got a bloody nose, and started weezing. When i got home i was having what seemed like an athsma attack and almost had to go to the ER. It also bothered my friends who normally dont have any allergies at all and i witnessed several other people in the barn complaining and coughing. It is sad that I cannot visit this event again unless they move the waiting area outside or change the barn's air quality. The adventure itself was actually pretty good.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Six Feet Under

by sheribm after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What an awesome haunt. Love the photo booth. Great idea! Fun to see myself on Fb.

View all Six Feet Under reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by bowler_90 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I have been hearing mixed reviews about this haunted attraction. I've read on here that it sucked or it was
the greatest thing ever! So I had to try this new attraction since it was only 10 mins away from my house.
I read that it was a Nuclear waste type thing so was excited, because more houses have just random things.

When we first got there, it was a group of 6 of us. None have ever been before because this is the first year that
these trails were open. There was somewhat of a long line which seemed not controlled. When we finally
made it down the hill to get tickets, which we couldn't find, we had to sign a wavier. I thought this
was going to be great! We got in line for the first one.

This first trail was wet, because it rained all day Friday, however they laid hay down, which was nice.
I didn't think the first trail was good. I thought the acting was par, but the costumes didn't relate
to the theme of the story. There was no interaction between the people and actors, just scenes. Also,
the girls screaming, not a fan of them yelling at you.

The second one was better than the first, but it still wasn't the greatest. There was one good scene that
had Pin head, but didn't even relate to the theme. This was just another trail with more scenes. There
was one good thing, the grave yard, but 1 out of 100 doesn't make it fun.

The scariest part to me was the lift hill. I'm just waiting for a drunk to go up that and fall. This haunted
attraction sells beer before and after the trails. I'm surprised that they do this because not many
haunted attractions will sell alcohol before their events because they risk the harm of their actors.

The final part was a small tent on the top of the hill, which can be seen from the streets. It was okay, but
still nothing was worth the $23. I heard that they were offering half off. Wish I would have known because
I rather have wasted my money on something else.

Summary

If you want to go to see if its good, don't. Unless you pay the half off. For the 11.50 it would have been
MAYBE worth it but not for the $23. For a first time haunted attraction, it looks like it.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bowler_90 after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I usually go to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds once a year, especially because of all the hype around it
this time of year. Last year I was unable to attend, so I for sure went this year to catch up on what I
missed last year. So, getting there was easy, its at the Expo center. Everything was super easy to find
with a GPS. I brought a group of 6 that day including myself. 3 of the 6 of us have never been before,
so convincing them to pay $30 was tough, however, I told them its basically $10 per house. After I said
that, they were okay with the amount.

So, we went on a Friday, the weather wasn't the greatest, but they had a covered waiting area which is nice.
They also have actors in the waiting area so keep you entertained. We went around 7:30pm and waited for about
45 minutes. We walked into the first house, and just the detail this year, along with every year, was amazing.
My favorite room in this house was the room after the bathroom. The actor in there got every single one of
us scared, and that's hard with a group of 6. He kept asking my friend what type of blood she had and wouldn't
stop until she told him. It was awesome because she was so freaked out. That haunted house took about 15 minutes
to get through, and only caught up to one group, but they were so affraid, the stopped at every person.

The next house was probably my favorite. Its basically a sensory overload!! It was pitch black and we
couldn't see anything! The pillow type things on the walls felt like you were never going to find your
way out! My favorite room was the one with all the pipes hanging from the ceiling. I didn't know there
was an actor in there until it was too late! AHH! This haunted house also took about 15 minutes, but we
did get lost once.

The final house was an outside house. Even though it was off and on rain, while we were there, it didn't
rain on us. I don't want to ruin the first thing, but OH EMM GEE I almost pee'd my pants right when we walked
in.. You will figure it out right away! The last house wasn't one of my favorites, mostly because I am not a fan
out outside haunted houses, but it was still worth it! This haunted house took about 10 min to get through.

Summary

Overall, my friends said that it was well worth the $30 after we left. When I got home, I looked on their
Facebook page and noticed you can get a discount at Applebees. So when I go again, I'll be sure to check
for discounts to save some money also.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by residentisz after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

For my group's 2nd year going to Oblivion we knew it would be hard for them to top last year's "birth" room, but they did a decent job. Yeah, not as well as last year but still a good attraction. Even got a free Monster drink and t-shirt! The creepiest room was this one called "The Sisters of something" I forget the name but it was really eerie. We had the VIP ticket though which is always worth the money imo, tho the general admission line wasn't overly long from the looks of it.

Summary

Overall, still a good attraction and worth going to if you've never been here before.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by residentisz after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Going back to the Fear for my 3rd year in a row and was slightly disappointed in that it was the same house as last year. Still love the 3D in the house, just wish they would change some things up.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by wowiezowiek after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very well done haunted house! great characters,robotic creatures and yes, smells......
pandemonium was wierd and a real challange and we refused to give up! with my son leading we made it through in 19 minutes!
oh yea, snacks available...good funnel cake!
overall a great price/ event.
The only thing I would warn would be the wait. It didnt seem like the line was very long when we arrived at 745, but slow to let cars through,checking tickets. Also waited 2 hours in line once there. it seems they would let people in groups, so if you were a group of 2, only 2 would go in. Maybe if they lump a few groups together, like a minimum number, the line would move faster?
I am used to lines and waits, but this seemed to long for the amount of people in line.
I'm sure we will be back! Thanks Dr Scary (and roaming michael meyers)

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by spike after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome haunted house. The sets were amazing and the actors there are extremely talented. Scares came from everywhere, High low, and all the spaces in between. I recommend this attraction to all of my friends and family. Go see them you won't be disappointed.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by HauntHelper after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very Detailed Rooms! Great Actors!! Great Haunt!!!

Thats All I Got to Say!!!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 11:35 a.m. CDT 1.6.3