ad-header-top

2012 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by HauntHelper after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well put together Haunt!! Loved walking up and down the stairs. Very Interactive. :D

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Panic Chambers (CLOSED)

by HauntHelper after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great Haunt!!! With Amazing Actors!!! Well Worth the long drive and the money!!! Many great Actors that made jump and the rooms were well decorated!

View all Panic Chambers (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Monster Mayhem is by far one of the most unique and interesting haunts in this area, hands down! It was only my second year attending this haunt, though it has been in business for five seasons.

This haunt is more interactive than any other I've ever been to and they have you hunting the zombies and monsters as well as each other - you're on a laser tag team and you roam from room to room together or alone (your choice) to fight the creatures.

Unlike other haunts in the area, Monster Mayhem is both accessible for all people and appropriate for all ages. This year we saw parents with children (ages 8-58). Our group this year was significantly larger than last year's -- the three of us went through with about twelve others (15 total) -- which took away some of the effect since we were constantly running into other people and couldn't go four feet without another opposing team member hitting our vests.

The only other thing that I missed this year was more of a storyline. Last year's haunt felt more complete with a beginning, a middle and an end. This time around, I felt a little thrown into the middle without any plot or reasoning as to what we were doing.

Although this haunt may not win any awards for being the most terrifying in the area, it definitely wine for most entertaining and interactive - plus it's great for all ages which is definitely a plus for families with younger children.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's still located in the same place as previous years but since the Pizza place has closed, you enter in the rear RED door and park in the side lot. Quite easy to find, especially when using GPS.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There isn't a great deal of space available in the waiting area, but there isn't often a long wait since they send in groups in such large sizes. We arrived around 7:30 pm on a Sunday and went right in. No actors or other entertainment.

Actors' Performance


There wasn't an excessive number of actors in the haunt, but most were pretty good. Special shout out to the "commander" who was pretty great and the doctors who were very entertaining.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Not incredibly elaborate, but very well done. Some of the costumes and props were pretty great. The commander's makeup is definitely notable, too.

Length


We were inside the haunt for about 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Never experienced any crowd control problems.

Most Memorable Moment


Beware of the doctor's transformation!

Summary

A must-see haunt for those looking for a good time but don't like the super-scary alternatives.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by HocusPocus after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Review:

This was the first visit to the Dark Side. I’ve always heard great things about it so I was thrilled this year to finally experience this haunt for myself. Here are my notes regarding this haunt in the order that I encountered them:

* Location...if you’re from Milwaukee this haunt is really in the middle of nowhere. It’s amazing how dark it got out there! (…which is perhaps why this haunt is called the “Dark Side”?)
* The size of this haunt is enormous! From the parking area, to the waiting room and especially the haunt itself. This haunt doesn’t measure itself in feet but in acreage!!
* The waiting area and concession stand are all indoors but didn’t appear to be heated. Glad I brought my hat and mittens along.
* The waiting line itself was dark and creepy. I could make out the shadows of those around me but that was it. Definitely set the tone nicely for most of the haunt.
* The size of our group when we departed the waiting area was about 20-25 but I was pleasantly surprised when our tour group was broken down to smaller groups of 2-3 people at several junctures, most notably for the mine shaft and green house portions of the journey.
* The mine shaft was very, very cool! Amazing set design / construction. I’ve never experienced anything like it. Definitely thumbs up in terms of creativity and scare factor!
* The costumed actors who greeted us following the mine shaft were fun to interact with. The camp fire was a welcome sight. I particularly enjoyed the Cajun accent of the tour guide who gave us insight about what was to come during the wagon ride.
* The remainder of our journey from this point was about 90% outdoors.
* The wagon ride was creepy and fun….although if it has rained or is drizzling your butt will get wet. (…either that or the girl sitting next to me was so scared she peed her pants!) The pyrotechnics were very cool and the actors did a great job of scaring our group. My only disappointment with the wagon ride was the darkness which made it difficult to appreciate the props encountered along the way and the performances of the actors who had assumed positions on the wagon not near me. …although for those with fearful imaginations instead of curiosity the wagon ride had some serious scare factor.
* Much like the intro to the wagon ride, the actor providing the intro to the walking portion of our tour was very fun to interact with. The other costumed actors did a very effective job of creeping everyone out.
* The sets along the walking tour were very authentic. I particularly enjoyed the attention to detail found in the meat shop and greenhouses. The corn maze was also a lot of fun to traverse.
* Total time to complete my entire Dark Side adventure was a whopping 42 minutes! For the price, none of the other 10 haunts I toured this year have come anywhere close to this.

Signage / Visibility / Location:
Just one blinking sign with a lot of words on it point you to the dark and lonely long road that leads to the Dark Side. The last few words on this flashing sign read “Dark Side” which caught my attention just in time to make the turn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment:
Waiting room with concession stand is spacious and all indoors…although I’m pretty sure it is not heated. The waiting area was dimly lit but creepy.

Actors' Performance:
The performances of all 3 Tour guides were sensational. I particularly enjoyed the Cajun accent of the wagon ride tour guide.

Sets / Scenes / Props / FX:
The craftsmanship of the sets at the Dark Side was superb. Many of the sets had a very authentic look and feel to them. While the special effects may not have been cutting edge they were effectively executed to maximize your entertainment value.

Length:
My tour took 42 minutes to complete. Mine shaft took approximately 5 minutes, Wagon Ride took approximately 19 minutes (including the campfire time) and the walking tour took approximately 18 minutes.

Crowd Control:
I arrived early and didn’t have to wait long. The waiting area / line was clearly roped off and quite long so it appears that you must wait in line vs. purchasing your tickets and then waiting for your number to get called.

Most Memorable Moment:
I really enjoyed touring the mine shaft. Set design was amazingly lifelike and the special effects were sharp!

Summary

Don’t let the Dark Side’s location scare you away…this haunt is definitely worth the drive. Perfect for families and groups looking to have a ghoulishly good time!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by lovehalloween after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

AWESOME haunt!!!! I attend this haunt every year because it is SO good and this year was even better then years before! The wait in line isn't so bad because there are actors there to entertain so our 1 1/2hr wait went by quickly. Once inside the building, the scares started right away! This haunt is very intense. The actors do not hesitate to get up close and personal to scare you to death! And the fact that they allow enuff time in between groups so that groups don't catch up to one another is a DEF plus. All the different scenes and rooms were very well thought out. I c can't wait till next year to see what new things they come up with!!

Summary

Probably one of the best haunts I have attended so far this year! Awesome job! Well worth the hour drive.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by lovehalloween after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I attend this haunt every year and was excited to see what the new additions were this year. As usual, it was a great experience! The hayride is one of my favorite because actors pop out of nowhere and are on the trailer with you! The bridge is new and kinda spooky. I like the green house too. My favorite is the lady in the house who is yelling at you to get off her property as she guides you in the wrong direction thru the corn maze!!

Summary

Overall, very well done!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by kgoshorn after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the Wisconsin Feargrounds was absolutely amazing! the 3 houses looked incredible and the monsters were so scary i almost peed myself. you never know where they will pop out. me and my friends are definitely going back next year! i recommended this place to everyone i know, and anyone who goes there will most likely do the same.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Six Feet Under

by nontrad98 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is awesome. I was totally taken in with the story of a secret underground military facility. (Masons, secrets, hmmmm, conspricy maybe???) Anyways, a great haunt with a great maze and you even get your picture taken at the end.

Summary

Great Haunt and maze.

View all Six Feet Under reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Shadow Manor

by Melissa3647 after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I had a lot of fun during this haunt. I had fun waiting in line and during the walk through the barns. While in line and during the first barn the spooks were very interactive. They were not very interactive during the third barn. The second barn was a lot of fun. Overall, I would say it was not very scary but I did have a lot of fun. I would go again but if you are looking for something to really scare you this probably isn't the right haunt for you (unless you scare easily)

Summary

We waited in line while loud rock music played and spooks interacted with us. We walked through one barn which was fairly scary. We then walked through a short area of the corn maze. We then were met by a spook guarding the door to next barn. This helped keep the spacing between groups which was nice. The second barn we used 3D glasses which made it really cool. It was not very scary though. We then walked to the third barn where we met another spook that was there to keep us spaced out. The third barn was not very scary. I like when the spooks interact but many of them did not interact with us but only jumped out or walked really close.

View all Shadow Manor reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This year was BY FAR the BEST Hubertus House I have ever been to. I was blown away! The haunt this year is completely and totally different from years past and you could tell. Every room was new, the layout, the actors, costumes, scenes... all brand new. There are a few re-used scares from just this past year but they're only the best and they've even been enhanced.



You no longer enter via school bus and through the basement, you start all the way up on the second floor and work your way through the house.



The actors were spot-on with their stories and characters and never broke character. The make-up (WOW!) and costumes were incredible and very well done. To add to the great performances were the well-placed and perfectly executed special effects throughout the haunt. Some scenes offered some truly disgusting effects while others focused more on scare factor. Take some time in each room (if you're not running for your life) to appreciate the elements - especially in the bathroom, there are some incredible props and FX in there. The sewer tunnel was absolutely incredible, too.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Using a GPS it brings you directly to the drive way for the haunt. There's great signage out front, too.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There's a heated interior waiting area in the school gym with concessions. The costumed actors were very entertaining and quite good, too!

Actors' Performance


Actors ranged in age from middle school students to adults and each one of them was really talented! They were interactive and entertaining - and actually quite good at improv whenever were talking to them.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All brand new and incredible. Really put time and effort into making an entirely new haunt this year. Some of the best FX I've seen.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


The actors and moderators did a good job of keeping groups away from each other, we never ran into any other groups in the house.

Most Memorable Moment


Anyone with a zipper on their face deserves credit. Wow.

Summary

Of the haunts that I've attended this year (or in years past...), this is the best one I've seen. Kudos to the organization that puts this on because you can tell the time, effort and hard work put into it to make it the best in the area and it doesn't go unnoticed. Great job guys!!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Terror on Rural Street is always one of the best haunted houses that I visit every year. I'm always blown away by their creativity and dedication to putting on a good show.  Each time I visit this haunt everything is brand new, I hardly ever see recurring themes or rooms throughout the haunt. This year was no different. The make-up and special effects were great and the props and scenes were definitely something to look at! There were a few rooms that I absolutely loved the actors and their performances, too! Unfortunately, I cannot admit that I was impressed by all of the actors or rooms because some of them actually broke character which always ruins the experience, but some really deserve kudos for doing a great job - especially the barber and the witch with her potion (at the bottom of the stairs). It's also good to note that the makeup is incredible due to the massively talented staff of professional makeup artists that help these actors get into character every night. It really shows!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to see from the road - great signage and right off the main street. Used a GPS to get there and had no problems.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We arrived around 9:00 pm and faced approximately a 45 minute wait but there was plenty to do while we were waiting. They have a heated waiting area with concessions and beverages (alcoholic, too!) available. A few actors walked around scaring people, too.

Actors' Performance


The actors are quite interactive which is great and many of them have their own story. Some of them, however, relied heavily on jumping out to scare us which never does anything for me. As mentioned before, several of the actors really deserve to be noticed for stellar performances!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It's obvious that the operators of this haunt put their heart and soul into putting it together. The sets, scenes, props and FX are top notch. The rooms are spacious and all look incredible. If you're not too terrified, take a minute to look around in each room and you'll see the time and detail put into each different set.

Length


Our tour lasted approximately 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


They push a lot of people through the house pretty quickly, which is great for wait time. I've never had a problem before, but this year we ran into the group ahead of us a couple of times and the group behind us caught up to us once, too. Possibly because we were a small group who walked pretty fast? Or the maze that turned everyone around held us up? I'm not sure. But I was a little disappointed that we kept running into other people.

Most Memorable Moment


There's an incredibly interesting room with a beautifully talented and wonderful actress that I absolutely loved. Without giving away too much... just beware of moving walls.

Summary

A great haunt that isn't TOO scary but can definitely scare the pants off of some jumpy individuals. Great job!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Robinson90 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So I have been making my haunted house rounds this year, before this weekend mostly down near Chicago and the Feargrounds was my first Wisconsin stop.
I must say it was a FANTASTIC start to my Wisconsin lineup of haunted houses!
We went through all 3 houses and made a stop at Revenge, their 'living' zombie shooting gallery which was way cheaper than I had expected, and I was not disappointed.
Morgan Manor was my favorite, their acting and attention to detail was PHENOMENAL, I love how every year I feel like I can recognize parts and yet they are different at the same time, and always some new and unexpected things.
Torment is essentially a dark funhouse, and Shadowlands was what seemed to be an outdoor version of the haunt they had previously indoors, which led up to Revenge with some very entertaining aspects.

Summary

I would definitely suggest this place to anyone in the area, or maybe not so much in the area if you're willing to make the drive! I believe it is very much worth the money and I couldn't pass up the chance to go zombie hunting!!

I'm not easily scared but they always seem to get me and when I'm not scared, there's a good amount of laughing going on, their acting is just top of the line quality.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by daisy after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We had alot of fun going thru the old tannery. The ghouls and actors were great. Loved the orientation in the beginning, she did a great job!! The werewolf room was cool to look at! Gotta say i loved the end with the clowns!! Great job!!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ViolaLear after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW!!!! This was just as good as what all of their ratings they have gotten about being number 1. I head out there each October with the same group of friends, and every time it gets creepier and just all together better!!!!

Summary

Attention to detail, such as make up, costumes, placement of their actors, and even their waiting line was never dull. Fully entertained the whole time we were there.

While Morgan Manor is so incredibly detailed, and you actually feel like you are in a Victorian era home... I wouldn't want to live there!! Every time I would turn around there was another person, and I'm not easy to scare... they did a GREAT JOB with this. Even before going into Morgan Manor, we had to "earn" our way in, the lady at the front door made us do jumping jacks. Scary no, but you didn't want to disobey!!

Morgana's Torment was just pure insanity!! Talk about your sensory over load. Just as I thought I had it figured out, I was in a dead end, or right as there was some light, they took it away!! This house was just messing with your mind to the limits. What was worse was the actors learned my name and talked to me like they knew me... CREEPY!!!!

Their third one, I don't remember the name of it, but it was like their farm area. This was cool to go through, until a guy come at me from above. I was so freaked out from him dropping down and telling me how to skin his lambs. I screamed like a 2 year old having a tantrum!!!! Again, it takes a lot to scare me, and they really pushed me to my limits!!!!

My friends and I weren't going to try out the shooting thing, but were told we had to by other people who had done it. This was cool. I got to shoot zombies with paint balls. This was amazingly fun!!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by shelly schilling after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We go to the Dark Side every year and look forward to seeing what is new. This year we were blown away with the additions to the haunt. Our old favorites like the creepy hayride through the woods and the train (I won't tell you about that!!) were there, but the new corn maze and greenhouse were fantastic. The guides continue the story throughout your evening which really adds to the experience. You start out in groups of 2 going through the haunted house which means there is no middle spot to hide in! Then, you wait by a roaring campfire for the hayride that fits about 40 people and has speakers on the trailer with scary music. Just when you think you're safe, the tractor stops and dumps you out in the middle of the woods to walk through in groups of 2 again! I hope you go the right way in the corn maze-we didn't and were stalked by creepy dudes.

Summary

Great event to do with a group of friends because you can be together on the hayride, have small groups through the house and woods, and then meet for some great concessions and talk about your favorite scare. Be there right at 7 because the wait is short and it is dark at the Dark Side!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:44 p.m. CDT 1.8.20