2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by Robin13 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to this event both Friday and Saturday, which I understand was their opening weekend and 1st year of operations. The Ski Hill has a eerie feel to it for sure. When you drive, park you are directed down the hill to a tent for tickets. They have a bon fire and a tent with beer and sodas and live music. Overall this was a great event considering their just opened. Saturday night was much better. Actors were more amped up and seemed more in to character. The event has 3 attractions - two trail walks and ride on a ski lift. The first trail had great scenes. The junk yard is a perfect touch. The second trail was well done too, but overall a bit better. Actors are really into their part. The ski lift is scary because its sold and it actually stopped for a bit. Not sure if that was part of the plan, but it was a high anxiety moment. At the end their was a classic chainsaw maze scene. 100 times better the second night.

Summary

Overall well done and unique (not a typical haunted house). I like the length and its worth the money. Great for a group event. If these guys and gals keep improving they will could have the best event around. Good luck Hill Has Eyes! Great ideas and well planned out.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by bozo1234 after attending on Sunday, September 30, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first year at this haunt and it was beast!!! It was not some haunt that was just thrown together to make a couple of bucks. You can tell who ever made this put some thought into what they were making. The haunt took about 20 min to go through. The actors did a good job in my opinion. I rarely seen anything coming before it happen. The bedroom scene was the best I have to agree!!! I seen other reviews mentioning masks. There were some, but the actors made them work!!! Make-up or masks??? Who cares!!! I just wanted to be get the crap scared out of me and they delivered!!! Thank you factory of fear for a fun night!!!

Summary

It was totally worth the drive and money!!! You will not be disappointed!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by courtneykiesow after attending on Monday, October 29, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Each year my family and I attend The Dark Side.This year was by far the best!Its a different set up then last year and they have alot more! After buying the tickets you have to wait until they are ready for the next group which took about 10 minutes after that they tell you a story about the place and you begin to walk up the hill. When you get to the top your group will be split up and will have to go in 2's.There is much more that you do at this haunt but I dont want to give any away.It took my group and I around 30 mins to get threw maybe a little more because we got lost in the maze

Summary

Best Year yet for The Dark side!Actors were all on cue and scared the heck out of us!!We all had a great time and we will be back to The Dark Side next year :)

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by BlackWidow13 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was the first time I have ever been to this haunted house. I heard about it through people and was surprised I have never been to this haunt. Now I understand why. I drove about 45 minutes to this location and I'm sorry but it was not worth the drive. The scenes were predicable, I saw every actor as soon as I walked into a room when they were supposed to be "hiding" The only good scene was the bedroom scene. Get rid of the masks you guys come on now. Or if you are gonna wear one make sure that it fits. It's not very scary when a werewolf tries to scare you and his eyes are on top of his forehead, and the person in the mask is looking through the mouth. Also fog throughout the whole haunt is kinda an over kill. Before I go I also did not like getting screamed at 'GET OUT' that's not scary it's just annoying.

Summary

Get rid of the masks in every room. Pick better hiding spots, come up with your own ideas. When those things get done this house will improve greatly. But as of right now it's not worth the drive if you're coming from far away.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

What feels like a night drive in the middle of nowhere, leads you to a farmhouse. Your drive past the house is crossed by cats that dare you to enter. Your journey ends at the Haunted Barn, a must hit
this Halloween season.

It feels like you're trespassing until you find the parking area. A friendly staff and the smell of food cooking greet you at the ticket booth. The haunt costs $13, which is well worth it for a haunt this long.

Beetlejuice keeps you entertained while you wait to enter, which wasn't long, the night I dared to
go. The wait area is outside and offers food and refreshments to purchase while you wait. It is a fun atmosphere outside the barn.

Once taken into the haunted barn you are given a low down on the rules and sent on your way. This haunt paid attention to the details. The decorations and props were excellent. This haunt has taken great care in creating the atmosphere fitting for a spooky haunt. There were many original and very creative situations, like the man who had an issue with his outhouse. I helped him find the issue, but you'll have to find out what was for yourself. You make it through more scares and a maze that
is very confusing. Once you make your way through, you are outside for the haunted woods.

A lighted path shows you the way up a small hill to a graveyard and a couple of creepy girls hold you up or an odd conversation. The rest of the woods will have you on your toes as you head back to the barn. The thrills in the barn the second around are more intense and was our favorite part of the haunt. The actors made sure your last steps were in your face.

Overall, I really enjoyed this haunt. It lasted 20-25 minutes, which is a deal for the price. The props and decorations were great and took you into the world of a haunted barn and some many odd situations. The outdoor portion could have used a few more scares but it worked as a break before being sent back in. The actors put on a star performance, I was impressed with the child actors in this haunt. All of the actors did an excellent job of interacting with us and slowing us down when we were getting close to the group ahead. The Haunted Barn was a just the start we needed to the
Halloween season.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Haunted Barn is easy to find with MapQuest directions. A lighted sign lets you know you've found it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Wait area is outdoor with shelter available. Food and beverages are available for sale.

Actors' Performance


Fantastic from the adults down to the children. They seemed to have a lot of child actors and they all did a great job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The props used were all of great quality and the scenes were excellently detailed. They did a great job of taking you into a haunted barn world.

Length


The length was 20-25 minutes.

Most Memorable Moment


One of my favorite parts of the haunt was a creepy child who quietly walked up to my wife
offering her a beat up stuffed animal. When she reached for it the actor let out the greatest/loudest shrill I've heard in a haunt. We could still hear her after we went into another room of the haunt.

Summary

The Haunted Barn was a great start to the Halloween season. The location and setting gave you the feeling of trespassing on an old farm. The haunt kept that feeling going as you were taking into a world of an actual haunted barn. The props were very detailed and created a spooky atmosphere. The actors all gave a great effort to scare you as well as keep you from running into another group. The outdoor portion sandwiched in the middle was terrific in giving you another creepy experience before being sent back into the barn for more frights. So it felt like 3 haunts in one, making it a great experience and value!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by apd2012 after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I went to this haunted Attraction on there first day of operation ever. Got there at 07:30pm on September 28th,2012. i went with 9 other people we all drove from Illinois. I plan a big Haunted House Trip Every year and this year since this was a new attraction wanted to check it out. when we got there it was hard to see the sign the only way i found it was my GPS and a big frankenstin on the side of the rode wsaying the hills have eyes open today. you have to drive on this creepy back road which is awsome, saw this i thought this was going to be a very creepy haunt, cause its set at a old Ski Hill, no lights in the parking lot very awsome atmosphere for a haunt.

To get your tickets and go to the attraction you had to go down this steep hill like a quarry, when you get closer to the tickt both, its get more of a creepy feeling atmosphere quiet cool creepy night. and they made you sign a waiver which i thought was interested thinking they could touch you the actors would be a more interested haunt but it was jus tin case you trip or hurt yourself on the trail you cant sure

alright we walked past a old set up of a junkyard heading into the first haunt, had to split us up 4 and 5, my group went in first went wth a bunch of people who get scared of haunted houses, when we finally got into the first attraction that when it went down hill. as soon as we walked in there was these two actresses in white dresses, played there parts well wasnt scary they were just fighting who is going to take this gorup then they went back into the spot, next scene was a semi truck, we didnt even reach the truck and this guys says "BOO" really not just tha tpopped out way to soon and had a masked got into one of the girl faces in my group saying boo and rawr, from from there i didnt see no other actors or actresses in rest of trail there were a few scenes but with no actors, u here them talking in the would regular voice, but it was more of a nature walk in the dark then a haunt, the trees were so close to the trail you could of planted so many actors i def would of got scared but no actors until a neaon light area but he just stood there and did nothing, first attraction 2 actors through out the whole trail.

when we got out of the attraction was approached by a staff memeber asking our gorup if we liked it i said there were absolutly no actors anywhere in the attraction just the two when you eneter and one behind the truck that it, he said they were a dozen or more actors in there but mus tof not been in there spot very disappointing.Hoping the next set of attraction was better.

next scene hungery hollow i think it was names, this was alittle better, few good scares and more actors in ther espot, a guy dressed up as hell raiser in the tree awsoem effect, and one acotr got me he was hiding between a to tree stumps in the dark and jump that got me,.

next scare lift, nice 10 min lif up a ski hill great view, when you ge tto the top, there one more attraction underneath a white tent and seriouse the acotrs in there where horrible talkign to each other saying ill scare them over here, and when them come avfte ryou they said rawr and boo and chased you with a battery chainsaw you buy at Sprit halloween,

Summary

Overall, i was very very disappointed with this haunt, they advistise is as being very creepy and in a middle of a quarry and its haunted trial cool night should if been creepier, but absolutly no actors prob no joke out of all three attractions i seriously only say 10 actors maybe even that 3 in the first 5 in the 2nd and 2 in the last, if they had more acotrs this haunt would be BADD ass since it is in a crepy wooded area, and ACTORS Really "BOO" AND "rawr". not scary at all, this place needs alot of work and need actors to stay in spots caus eyou can here thme talking and walking aroudn in the woods but not jumping out. DEF not woth 23.00 and def will not return

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by freaksjay06 after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Thank you haunted barn for a truly awesome experience this year! Creativity runs rampant through this 25 to 30u min adventure. Beetlejuice was as clever as ever as he welcomed at the new entrance that was very neat looking. The actors were cleverly place throughout the barn. The thing i appreciated the most is the improvements to the haunt but more importantly the improvements to the forest. They added more actors in the cemetary and forest. Like i said the creative scares and scenery were amazing! I will say one thing waterfall!

Summary

Easy to get to u easy to park and easy to love

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by pfectangel after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was my fist visit to this location. The cost was comparable to other haunts. The people were very friendly. I am one that is very difficult to scare at haunts, so don't be offended. I enjoy going to haunts to see awesome makeup work, creative scenery, and I'm always keeping an eye out for something cool that nobody else has done. I agree with the other review, about the bedroom scene. That was my favorite part. The siren was deafening and painful. It needed to be ran shorter, maybe just a blast. The fog was everywhere and started to be too much. I didn't like that most the actors wore masks, especially when a few didn't fit well. I also don't like to be yelled at ("Get out!"). Acting is acting but sometimes it just comes off as plain rude! All in all, I am pretty sure the haunt will do well to scare the youngest of their guests.

Summary

All in all, I am pretty sure the haunt will do well to scare the youngest of their guests.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by jdog7 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was our first time ever to this event. In all it was a decent value for the price of admission. I have been to "premium" haunts that cost much more and been very disappointed.First the highlights: The bedroom scene was awesome! I won't ruin the surprise but the actor in this room did an amazing job!
I always get put in front of my group so...
Thank you for performing for me. I am tired of going to haunts where all the actors have been told to scare the middle of he group. This is a good approach except the person in front always gets screwed out of all the action. Again, thank you for giving ME some of the show.That being said, some actors still came out a little early. Some of the scenery was tremendous. Some sets were extremely detailed and set a great scene.
Now for the spots that need a little improvement:
While some sets were amazing the actors in them were wearing masks. I am the type of person that enjoys looking closely at the makeup and costuming. I find that in most cases simple makeup that fits the scene works better than even very expensive masks.
There was quite a bit of light bleed over from other rooms. A simple ceiling (even a black plastic tarp) would stop this and also give a more confined feeling. Also the fog seemed to be pretty much everywhere. Again, a ceiling might help confine it to certain areas. At one point I saw an actor peeking around the corner to see where we were.

Summary

Overall a decent value for the money. Some elements were truly excellent and others need a little work. With a little actor training and a good makeup artist this could be a top of the line attraction.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by Villwoc6 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Lets start off with the very beginning. Parking! So, when you first some in, there is no lights. Which is fine, but there is no signs either. Very confusing where to get tickets from and where to park/go. Just to mention, I went with a group of 9. So, after we finally find someone to talk to, he directs us behind a house and down a hill. We finally find the ticket booth! As some may know, it costs $23 to get in. As we purchase our tickets, we find out we have to sign a wavier in case of heart attack/tripping in the woods. I thought to myself, this should be great! We have to sign a waiver to get in, should be scary!

So, we go to the first Haunted Trial, "Failed Escape". If you like Haunted Attractions, you usually read up on them and read their back story. Well, this is suppose to be about an abandoned area that held nuclear waste. When we get to the front of the line, the lady asks how many. We say 9. She says, "Okay, groups of 4". We asks if a group of 4 and a group of 5 go through, and shes says that's fine. So my group goes first, and we instantly meet up with the group that was in front of us. Nothing better than seeing the freight before your turn! So we stop and wait. Finally we get to walking, and what the people were saying was humorous. "Boo", "Ahhh", and "Rawr". Last time I checked, those weren't scary. Also, there was no make up, just store bought masks. The theme of the haunt, nuclear waste site, and the theme of the masks didn't match. All of a sudden Pin Face was there... huh? Anyways, walking through the first trail, there was some good things, but mostly bad. It took us about 10 minutes to get through the first trail.

Anyways, onto the second trail! This one is called, "Hunger Hollow". We wait in line about 5-10 min, and the lady asks, "How many people". We say 9. Shes says, "groups of 4". We asks if we can do 4 and 5, like we did the last house. She says, "I don't know, I'm not really sure". So we decide to just do 3/3/3 in this trail. My group was first. This one was okay. Random noises in the woods. However I felt like I was walking through a museum. Instead of people scaring you, it was just scenes. A scene of a butcher, a scene of someone dying, a scene of someone getting their arm cut off. All the same. There were some characters in the woods. One particular laying dressed as shrubs did get us. By the end of the trail, my group of 9 were only 5 seconds apart. This trail took about 10 mins. to walk through. It leads you us to the final attraction...

Scare Lift. This is where you go up the ski hills lift hill. I felt this was the scariest thing for my so far! The sounds as it raddled and creaked, and plus no bar to strap you in. I'm just waiting for someone to fall, because this attraction offers a beer tent, before and after you go through the haunts. Anyways, we get to the top of the hill, its about a 4 min ride on the ski lift. And we see a tent on the top, this could be seen from Rawson Ave if you live in Franklin. As we wait in line, you hear the chain saw stop, its out of gas. It starts again, 5 min go by, and it is out of gas. Finally its our turn and we go in groups of 3 again. This was a fully enclosed tent, so when you walked inside, it was just gas fumes from the chainsaws and it was bad to walk through. There was some good scare moments, but it was just gas smoke and strobe lights with a few monsters behind the walls. This attraction took less than 3 min to go through. As we exited the attraction, they finally opened one end of the tent because it was so smokey in there.

After the last attraction, you walk down the hill, passing the beer tent, and to your car. Your done! As we were saying yesterday, $23 for 23 min of scares. Eh...

Summary

In summary, it is a new haunted attraction. With that being said, I wouldn't pay the full $23 dollars again. This haunt is maybe a 12-15 dollar haunt. There is some good scares, but it is mostly just scenes. There is no make up done, just store bought masks. The lines the actors were saying, weren't that great and the trails did have tripping hazards, but remember, if you fall, its at your own risk, you signed a wavier!

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Monster Mayhem has returned for its 5th season in 2012 and once again it promises to be definitely unlike any other Halloween attraction you'll find this year.  As was the case last year, Monster Mayhem is by far the most fun I've ever had at a haunt.

Taking participation to a whole new level Monster Mayhem not only allows you to roam freely through rooms and hallways it also allows you to hunt and be hunted by the creatures lurking around the maze of rooms. Be warned!  If you and your fellow teammates don't watch each other's backs the zombies at Mayhem will turn you into Zombie Chow!

Unlike other haunts this attraction offers fun for all ages...kids, parents and grandparents alike. Kids will most certainly enjoy hunting the creatures (…as well as their parents if they happen to be placed on opposite teams….) and adults will most certainly enjoy the creatures who have a habit of popping up and scaring you when you least expect them to!  Not to mention, if you appreciate special effects (…as I do…) Monster Mayhem has some of the best homemade effects I've ever seen.

While Monster Mayhem may not be the scariest haunt you visit this year it will make a strong case for being the most fun haunted attraction you attend this year!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Monster Mayhem has NOT moved…its still on the corner of 51st and Howard…but its location looks different from last year.  Paulo's Pizza / Pub has gone out of business so the building appeared to be dark when arrived.  The haunt is still located in the basement and the entrance can be found around the back of the building. (Parking along the south end of the building will make finding the haunt easier.)  There are signs for the haunt but they're not obvious.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Indoor waiting area with tables, chairs, refreshments and arcade games available…as well as live video of the Mayhem that awaits you.

Actors' Performance


There weren't a lot of actors involved when I attended (opening weekend) but the ones I interacted with did a superb job of getting me involved in the fun.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


These guys really have a keen eye for technology. If you're into techno props you'll enjoy the sets at Monster Mayhem.

Length


Beginning to end my adventure lasted about 15 minutes which included a little setup instructional time to get us operational.

Crowd Control


This the fifth year I've visited this haunt and I've never experienced any crowd control concerns.

Most Memorable Moment


Chasing monsters and then being chased by others...a very entertaining change of pace!

Summary

If you enjoy participating in your Halloween adventures you definitely need to checkout Monster Mayhem. I've seriously never had more fun at a haunt. Fun for all ages and for the who family!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by kjlamb after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

The hills has eyes was an enjoyable haunt, but not scary. The woods scenery was nice, the trails were awesome, junkyard props A+, but there was absolutely no scare factor. They try to scare you the same way everytime-the jumping out, and its always by a scene never between scenes, and by the 2nd or 3rd time its just not scary anymore. Most of the scenes were people yelling "help me" it was like i was watching the same scene over and over again. The ski lift was fun-would have been nicer if there were zombies runnine around under us or if we went over the haunt itself, and the lights were a different color and not so bright

Summary

It was a fun place, not worth the money I spent on it, but enjoyable. A 8yr old should be able to handle this. Not scary-the ski lift was the best part.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by courtneykiesow after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My family and I attended the haunted woods @ about 8:30pm.It was very easy to get there and had a big sign so you cant miss it.It being their first night there wasnt many people there(which was a plus for my group and I because,we got to go right away!)So we bought our tickets and headed over to the hearse and got in.Having the hearse is pretty cool because, it adds to the "spooky".The only thing about it that bothered us was that the second you got in there was a pretty bad smell of exhaust.After our ride down into the woods we exited the hearse and made our way further into the woods.The actors were always a cue,and did a great job on scaring the heck outta us!The length was about 35-40 minutes.

Summary

To sum it up The Haunted Woods was awesome and we all enjoyed it! The actors did a great job!! I would recommend The Haunted Woods to everyone! My family and I will be back next year for sure :)

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by JJrakman after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is a truly awesome haunt, highly recommended. The trail through the woods was fantastic and winding enough where it'll be hard for separate groups to bump into each other. There was some really innovative scenes in the woods and the actors did mostly a great job with coming up with characters that didn't rely on the stereotypical "get out" trappings. The old trucks and plow equipment really added to a uniquely creepy environment. I was also glad not to have to smell gas or exhaust fumes which seems to be prevalent in these kinds of outdoor haunts. Who would have thought that the ski lift machinery could be so spooky? Great stuff!

*SPOILERS*

Here is some constructive criticism I have to offer. The haunt could use some better signage. As a skier, my first instinct was to walk into the chalet, but the actual trail to the haunt was off to the side with no lights and some really small signs. Also as a skier I'm used to signing the release form, but I can see where this might take some non-skiers by surprise. It might slow the line down if folks want to take the time to read every line. I would recommend perhaps putting up some large posters of the release form inside the ticket tent so folks can read it while they're waiting in line. This could help move the line better when it gets busier.

Some of the ushering staff and ski lift operators could use some haunting make up to help not break the illusion while standing in line or between haunts. Even the manager who seems to have been present giving directions could have used some make up to that end. While in the first trail there were a few empty spots on the trail that I thought could have benefited from having some miscellaneous zombies milling about, I do think that the 2nd trail suffered a bit from an overabundance of them. The boo! tactic of jumping out and getting that classic cheap scare works good the first time around, but it looses its impact by the 5th time. Also many of the actors doing this boo! routine were screaming at the top of their lungs. While I do appreciate the enthusiasm, I would warn that keeping up that kind of high energy all night will be challenging, and could ruin a person's voice box by the end of the night. Some simple soft groaning or even silence when someone jumps out or walks across the trail can be equally as effective if not more so, and a bit easier on the actor as well.

I was disappointed that there weren't any roaming zombies or burial grounds blow the scare lift. But we were one of the first people through so they may not have had that part ironed out yet. I think the scare lift could benefit from a few things. First, the lights on the lift itself would be awesome if they were changed to a red or blue light, either by changing the color of the light bulbs or by placing colored gels over the existing lights. Also, especially if the burial grounds and zombies are established below, it would be great to bathe the hill in some kind of fog, if such a thing is possible with some kind of large scale fog machine. You could also have occasional zombies taking the lift down and passing haunt goers on their way up. A bit of instruction on how to use the lift might be helpful at the bottom as I suspect this haunt will attract a lot of non-skiers.

These are mostly nitpicks. The only really area that could use a haunt make over would be the tent at the top of the hill after the scare lift. There's not much really going on here. One chainsaw in a haunt is always enough, more than that and they lose their impact particularly when they're all in a row. There were no scary decorations in this area either. The walls of the small maze under the tent just looked like they were sprayed with graffiti as the result of teenage mischief. These things can be easily rectified though.

I was also a bit disappointed that the chalet wasn't open, as I was a bit hungry and would definitely have bought a hot dog or a burger and a soda or a hot chocolate or cider. This could be an easy way for the haunt to squeak out a few more bucks, maybe even sell souvenir T-Shirts for the haunt.

Overall though a really great experience, can't wait to see how they improve over the years to come. Thanks for a great experience!

Summary

All in all a very good first year run, very enjoyable, definitely a must see. I think if they take some of my suggestions above and the suggestions of others that this could easily become a world class haunt no problem.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by dredlin after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My family really had a good time and I am glad we went. It was very well put together and we will be going again. The place kept us on our toes.
They had snacks and drinks for a reasonable price and the service was good.
I don't have anything bad to say at all.

Summary

Good place to go. We will go again for sure.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 3:39 a.m. CDT 1.6.3