2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by JamesHallow after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Had a great time again this year. Great mix of fun and scares. The whole atmospere of the ground add to the fun. Lots of new things: a photo op, a coffin ride, new special effects.

Summary

I highly recommend this to anyone who likes a good time at a haunted attaction (corn maze, haunted trail, bus ride and the house itself)

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by HallowRick after attending on Friday, October 26, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Really impressed with the volunteers again this year. The corn maze is longer and more a-maze-ing. The bridge across the pond is even more scary. There are some "unique" sights on the terror trail. The bus ride is visually cool. And the Mansion is once again completely all new. High tech, low tech, it's all there. My favorite is the crazy butcher. He is creepy as well as hilarious. The video door thing is kinda cool. And the big snake too! As an added attraction there is a coffin ride too.

Summary

The people who voluteer to make this great haven't lost their touch. A high quality haunt for a very reasonable price.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by bmontgomery after attending on Friday, October 26, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I returned to Dr SCary's with a new group of friends. This attraction is so scary and fun at the same time. My heart punded all the way through. When I thought there was a second to catch my breath, another monster jumped out. It was fun to watch my friends scream and jump while being attacked from every corner of the house. The first room was such a shock, I about wet myself. Phobias, I won't mention which ones, but Dr. Scary does a great job of finding and acting upon many phobias. This place is so big! Bigger than I imagined it would be. The covered area for waiting was great, and there were roaming monsters everywhere. I couldn't even get out of my car before a monster appeared and I dropped everything in my hands, this was so unexpected for me. Thank you for making this a terrifying yet fun time with my friends. I will definately recommend to others, and will return with more friends next year.

Summary

Very scary, monsters popping out everywhere. Great makeups and costumes. Attention to details is impeccable. Highly recommend to everyone looking for a great and very scary time.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by bunnehop after attending on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have been to many haunts. This one sure does pay attention to detail. From the realistic looking cob webs to the blood splatters. When we went it was a Wednesday night. There was no line and we went right in. The guy that takes your tickets stayed in his role while telling you the rules. There was a gross video they showed then we were on our way. My group made me lead most of the way and it was quite dark. They actors come out of nowhere. My one complaint is it is too DARK! I know it is suppose to be dark but there should be some more light after they pop out so I can see them and their makeup. They didn't really creep me out because all I could see was a dark figure. The highlight was the vortex. The spinning lights literally made you feel like the whole thing is swaying side to side. Needless to say I was quite dizzy afterward. I also really liked the room with the clowns. They seemed to pop up in different spots as the slow strobe flashed. They are also really sneaky there with moving walls so if you feel like you got lost they played a trick on you. I was very disappointed that I did not get to see the clown working the line outside. And where there was suppose to be a guy with a chainsaw, he never came out! I could smell the gas from it and even walked slow waiting for him to come out and nothing.

Summary

Overall, it was easy to find just off the freeway. The props and attention to detail were wonderful. I think the actors need to interact with you a bit more and better lighting would be nice. For the night we went it seemed like they may of been short a few actors. However, the attention to detail does make it worth the trip.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Another spooktacular haunt has made it's way into my love for all things Halloween this season! I can honestly say that this haunt really did an absolutely terrific job at creating a wonderfully spooky and sureal atmosphere. The actors did a fantastic job of not only being scary, but also adding a good dose of humor  here and there through out the haunt which I really loved. In the moments I felt it was safe to let my guard down, they would suprise me with another scare that I never saw coming, it really seemed like ghouls and goblins were coming out of nowhere at every turn! I truly think that this haunt is a must see for everyone and one that all ages can really enjoy!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very visible, with sings leading you to it after you get of the freeway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Definitely the BEST waiting area I have seen, super awesome atmosphere to get you excited to go into the haunt and wonderful and creative entertainment!

Actors' Performance


Very good! As I said, though they knew just how to scare you they also knew how to get an honest laugh from you and I thought the balance of this made not only scary at times, but also fun and entertaining.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were very detailed and some very original. I loved the use of fog and low lighting to keep monsters from standing out and being obvious to the audiance, but rather it kept them hidden and able to jump out of the shadows and scare you because you felt alone in the hall or room and then they would literally appear right in front of you!

Length


35 min

Crowd Control


Pretty good, we did end up reaching another group, but the monsters did a wonderful job of making sure no man or women left there presence without a scream or scare.

Most Memorable Moment


The Barber Shop room... I wont give away the reason why, but the added scare definitely got a REAL scream out of me.

Summary

This is a wonderful haunted house and definatly worth going to! I think it is the kind of haunt that everyone can enjoy, those out for a thrill or some looking for fun, you can find both at this haunted house!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Amazing attention to detail, outstanding actors and actresses, extremely creative direction and design, and very original concepts. I can't say enough good things about this haunt! I absolutely LOVED it and strongly encourage any haunted house enthusiast to go to this one, you honestly wont want to miss the chance at experiencing this haunt this Halloween season!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very visible, directly off the freeway. A large lit sign and spotlight make this easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area is pretty good if you get the fast pass, which I would recommend since the wait was 3 hours when we went.

Actors' Performance


The actors did a FANTASTIC job at being in character and making sure they got you feeling frightened.  They don't hold back and will stop at nothing to get a scream out of you!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I was MOST impressed with the props and sets, the attention to detail was incredibly realistic and literally took you out of the moments thought of "It's okay, this is just a haunted house" to forgetting for a moment that it was and feeling genuinely scared to continue forward.

Length


45 minutes

Crowd Control


Very good, we never caught up to anyone and no one caught up to us.

Most Memorable Moment


Defiantly the maze... or rooms set up to look the same so you felt as though you were in a maze and got lost or back tracked somehow. It was very cleaver and disorienting.  I absolutely loved this technique!

Summary

As I said, if you LOVE haunted houses and want to be scared, then I really do strongly suggest this haunt! It would be a shame for you to miss it since ones of this caliber are rare and hard to find. I have been to some of the best in the US and I can honestly say that this new haunt has made it into my top 3 favorite haunts. Don't hesitate, just GO!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Abandoned Haunted House Complex is an exciting new haunt in the area!  Abandoned  is easy to find with internet directions and once you get close you can't miss it, given the big spotlight in the sky. There was plenty of parking and was fairly controlled. Once you arrive, you see the big brightly lit sign and things are labeled very well. It is easy to spot ticketing and where to go to get in line. The waiting area was covered and enclosed. We arrived at about 7:39 p.m. When they let us in as a group, they talked to us about the rules. When we first entered, we were brought into a room with a television that played a disturbing message and then we went into the first haunt. We walked down really dark hallways that had audio of creepy children giggling and laughing. It was very dark and almost too dark in areas where it looked like there were lots of cool props, so we couldn’t see them very well, which is a shame. The actors did a pretty good job of jumping out at you when you weren’t expecting it. I liked the vortex, of course, but I also liked the laser lights that they had in one of the hallways.  Abandoned featured one of the best disorientating rooms I have ever walked through.  A very slow strobe plus a creepy clown is enough to put you over the edge!  This first haunt was pretty good, but unfortunately, was rather short. 

The second section was all about an infection spreading, with areas resembling that of an abandoned facility (imagine that!).  TV's looping a message of the outbreak really sets the scene as you walk through this dark and terrifying section.  A medical area with broken hospital props and pill bottles strewn about is a nice touch.  Abandoned attacks your senses in many ways, none more terrifying than the wet body parts hung from the ceiling... GROSS! The actors were very interactive and I liked the zombie girl that was crawling, she spooked me good!  And kudos to the zombie that was eating the corpse in the morgue. 

In all Abandoned was a winner.  The people who brought you Burial Chamber have come through with what hopes to be a yearly tradition for southeastern Wisconsin!  Here's to hoping the Abandoned Haunted House Complex continues to grow!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy to find, just follow the spotlight!  You can't miss this haunt, it is visible from the interstate, which for travelers is nice.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very entertaining!  Tricycle riding mutants are always fun!

Actors' Performance


Great job!  I wouldn't have guessed this was the first year by how professional they were!  Keep up the good work.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Props were fantastic, although some scenes were way too dark, which may have made all that hard work moot.  You can tell they put a lot of time and effort, not to mention money into these props.

Length


It took roughly 30-40 minutes to make it through the complex.  The first haunt was a little short, but they made up for it with the length of the second haunt.

Crowd Control


Crowd was controlled, though inside control would be nice.  We caught up to the group in front of us rather quickly.  Perhaps some inside gatherings to slow crowds down might help.

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the clown room with the extremely slow strobe!  This room was SO dark, and seemed to be huge!  As you walk, all you can see is a clown waiting for you on the other side!  Very creepy!

Summary

Abandoned is the best thing to happen to Southeastern Haunts in quite some time.  It is a legitimate haunt that we can look forward to from year to year.  I am excited to see how this thing grows in years to come!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by JackBurton after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Went here last weekend. Got there later than we ideally wanted to, so I expected the line to be pretty long. However, it actually moved pretty fast. While we were waiting outside, they had a few actors walking around in the line. They were interesting characters, though I wish some of them would have talked more. But I loved the crazy wise-cracking goblin guys that were walking around. The costumes were ridiculously cool, and they were hilarious to watch! When we got inside, there was an actor that lead you in, who I thought was going to recite all the rules and whatnot, but was actually just there to creep you out while the rules were broadcast over the speakers. I thought that was a good call. I think it's weird when a ghoul essentially breaks character to lecture you not to eat, drink, or take pictures with your cell phone.
When we finally started walking through the house, I was really impressed by the sets that they had. It went well above my expectations. I wish it wasn't so dark in there; I would've really liked to notice all the details! The actors were really great at staying in character, and it seemed like there was a lot of opportunity for them to hide and jump out at you. Some of them you could tell it was probably their first year, though. The timing was a little off, and they didn't quite know how to interact with somebody who wasn't curled up in a ball and crying in fear. But overall, I really did enjoy the energy and the actors inside.
I was also really impressed with the makeup on the actors. It didn't seem like typical haunted house makeup, where they just cover everything in fake blood. It was much more sensible, and even artistic. Very effective!
There were some interactive elements inside the house that I thought were really clever and well-done as well. It made the experience even more memorable and fun!

Summary

110% worth the trip up from Illinois! I had been to a number of haunted houses down there, and this one really blew them out of the water. I can't wait to come back!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by auntjeshee after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Make sure you get there early! Security was really friendly, we go here every year...Every year it gets better and better! This year there are 2 new attractions-lots of bang for the buck!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by algraettinger22 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I came to this new attraction on Saturday night with a group of friends. Even though the wait time was long, we had a lot of fun hanging out in their waiting area as it was a fun, lively space. The waiting area is a large tent with a bar so you can grab a drink. There was also a dj who played great songs and two large bon fires that you could huddle around and chat with your friends.

There were three attractions total. You walk through two trails than go up a ski lift and at the top of the Hill is a maze. Overall was this new attraction very scary? No, it wasn't the scariest but there was still a really good fear factor. At one scene my friends and I were so taken off guard that we all fell over on the trail! It was hilarious than we got back up and out of nowhere we were blindsided again. We enjoyed the scenes and being taken off guard.

I recommend this attraction to anyone and everyone, especially if you are looking for a fun night out and looking to get into the halloween spirit. We also look forward to seeing what they do next year.

Summary

Overall my friends and I had a lot of fun at this event and created some great memories. As I mentioned before it wasn't the scariest haunted attraction but we still got scared a lot and had a great time. We really look forward to coming to this event next year.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by chesschica23 after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house was amazing. Or should I say houses? There were three haunted houses in which each had their own type of creepiness. The first one, Morgan Manor, is like an actually house with some creepy actors throughout. Then you move on to Morgana's Torment which is complete darkness,except when you go back and forth from complete darkness to complete whiteout. It's very trippy and very illusionistic. Claustophobia is a definite issue in this one, it made me a little freaked. The last main house is Shadowlands. This is like a mini maze outside through what seems to be a hillbilly hell. You have a creeper in the beginning stalking people all the way to a gross outhouse. Then if you make it all the way through, you get the chance to shoot some zombies with paintballs! It was totally wicked and I would definitely go back. I plan on going at least one more time thins season. The acting is absolutely phenomenal, and the scenery is fantastic.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Shadow Manor

by ClaudB89 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I went with my boyfriend and aunt. We waited in a line with some of the haunts coming out to scare us. After paying, we waited in line with rock music on in the background. There were 3 different sections of the haunting. I'm kind of a chicken about scary movies; I love watching them, but am scared witless! This haunting was almost laughable to me. I giggled throughou the entire thing. The groups were too close, so I always heard someone scream. There needs to be more characters hidden in barrels, the shadows, sitting in a chair as a prop, standing in a corner looking evil, etc. It was still fun because who doesn't like Halloween entertainment?

Summary

There needs to be more sneak attacks and better costumes. The best costume was easily the guy taking our tickets. Also for the male performers out ther, getting as close as possible to my face when I'm giggling creeps me out a bit. I'm not scared as you get closer. Well, I'm a little scared. Scared that you were going to put your mouth on mine.

View all Shadow Manor reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

New for 2012, Abandoned Haunted House Complex, just off of I-94 in Mount Pleasant, already put
themselves in a solid slot as one of best haunted houses in Wisconsin. Right now there are three words that sum up my experience at Abandoned. These three words are Wow, WOW, and WOW! These guys and gals know what they are doing and you will certainly be impressed with what this attraction has to offer. Abandoned was simply an amazing haunted attraction and one that I will go back to, whether as a reviewer or during my off time. Now, let's get into the review of this haunted house.

When you take I-94 north or south, to Mount Pleasant, you can't miss this attraction, even if you
are wearing your sunglasses at night. With a huge sign in red letters saying ABANDONED and a search light propped up on the building's roof, this has probably been one of the easiest attractions for me find. Arriving there, there are plenty of staff on scene to direct to a parking spot and towards the
beginning of the line.

Being a Sunday there was no wait to get in. Be forewarned, however, with this attraction and during the final week of October, unless you get there early, you should definitely anticipate
waiting in a long line. Thus, make sure you dress accordingly and be prepared for a wait.

Once my dad and I got our tickets we started heading around the building to the entrance of the
haunted house. Abandoned, even as you wait in line or are walking towards the entrance, works on getting you ramped up with heavy metal and heavy rock that is being blasted over large outdoor speakers. You will also find that Abandoned is not going to wait to scare you inside the house. You may just find yourself getting scared in line.

Once you are at the entrance you are let into their prepping room where a disembodied voice breaks down the rules of the haunted house and gives the necessary disclaimers about risks. An actor is also with you in the room to keep you company. Once the actor opens the door to the haunt the scares and atmosphere begin immediately.

The first room you enter you are presented with a few ambush scares and then are "forced" to watch a creepy and disturbing video with another disembodied voice asking why you came, all set to the background of more heavy rock. This alone is enough to get you ramped up and saying, "Alright, let’s do this thing."

After that room, the scares are non-stop. In this first review I am not going to detail too much of
what I saw as I want everyone who goes to be as surprised and impressed by this attraction as I was. What are important though are the actors. The actors for this attraction are some of the best that I have ever had the luxury of being scared by.

The costumes were very well done and all the props that the actors had available were very realistic. What I really enjoyed is the amount of variety that these actors presented. You had your actors that ambushed, that screamed, that talked, and those that just stayed quiet but crept you out by staring at you or following you for a length of time. That variety is exactly what I look for in a haunted house. Abandoned hit this nail right on the head and through the board.

Along with excellent actors, the scenes were eye-catching, unique, and very well done. There were
flawless transitions from scene to scene and some senses were so immense and impressive, there were times that I just got caught up studying the landscape. Along with the effects, some amazingly eye-catching environments are created. It was nothing short of walking through a horror movie. It was spectacular (and no I don't use that word a lot).

Everything about this attraction has depth. One of the big ways that Abandoned accomplishes this is by using smells and touch. You will be running into things that are wet, you will think that blood (or something) is dripping from the ceiling, and you will have things that move around you and under you. The best way to describe this is that Abandoned is a sensory overload. For example I remember one section where you can't grasp where you are because of a strobe light, then you get hit with something banging hard behind a wall, then you get hit with an air horn, and then you get scared by an actor waiting around the corner. This place is crazy.

Abandoned, has a series of tricks to keep you guessing on what is next. From distracting lights, to
moving walls, to tight mazes, you will always be "fighting" your way to end. Abandoned came out their first year wanting to have a great haunted house, and the owners and actors did this and more. So awesome was this attraction that I'm actually itching to go back this weekend with a few of my
friends. I don't want to stay away. You want a haunted house...Abandoned is the place to go.

Summary

Everything about this haunted attraction is more than worth it. The drive there - worth it. Putting up with any bad weather - worth it. The price - I would likely pay more for what I experienced. Around 40mins long, Abandoned makes every use of every minute. This attraction makes you want to rush to the next area, but at the same time "begs" for you to stay behind and look more...get scared more. Abandoned is a must see before the end of October. There is nothing you will find disappointing here.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

A Day with the Dead

by JANISC-K after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2012 at about noon

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Wow, dont know where to start. We decided to do this haunt because we would be in the Dells area for my sons 23rd birthday. When I called to register for this event I was told to make sure we come early because there would be celebrities to talk to, so to come aroud 3 or 4 with the dinner being at 5:00. So he took our names and what choice we wanted for dinner, So i said is that it? Do we pay over the phone or wait until we get there? I was told to bring cash with me. We got there at 3:30 just as the whole group was going on a tour, she said ok that will be 90.00, I said the internet said it would be 25 each, so she asked the other owner and he said ok, 75.00 then. I asked should we go out and join them? they said no, just find an empty seat (one without a jacket on the chair) and sit and wait. and wait. and wait. We were the only ones who werent included in the tour, we sat until 5:00, there were no celebrities no nothing. At 5:00 everyone came back from the tour and they proceeded to hand out the food, which was either, hot beef, BBQ pork or a chicken salad sandwich, with either fries or chips. They handed out the food 2 people at a time, we got our food at around 5:30, thankfully we were not the last ones to be served at around 6:15. there were approx 40 people total. then we sat and waithed and waited and waited again. Now the owner show us a video of a tour he did of the haunted basement, and another video of the haunted back room...I saw nothing haunted about the place what so ever. Being totally bored at this point we all snuck out and left, as did a few others.

Summary

save your 25.00

View all A Day with the Dead reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by mikegroll2012 after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The night that we went to this haunt, we were working a local wrestling event that same night at Memorial Hall and didn't get out of the arena until 11:30. My fiance's parents were meeting us there as we all love haunted houses. They actually convinced the people at the door to stay open until we got there, as there was no line of any sort any more and they agreed to do so, as long as we pay for the Fast Pass tix. We fully intended on doing this as it was, so it was a no brainer. On to the haunt - we entered the haunt expecting great things and we were not disappointed! It started out great with a ton of fog and darkness. The scarers were outstanding and stayed in my fiance's face throughout their area of the house. There were a lot of confusing areas that designed to make you think you went through that area already. One potentially negative thing I would say is that on a busy night I can foresee the spacing in between groups being a bit poor and could ruin a lot of the upcoming scares. However, we did not have that problem. We really enjoyed it and hope to return in a few years to see how things are different.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 20th, 2019 12:04 p.m. CDT 1.6.3