ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2008 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 4 of 15 on this page (11 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by lovestobescared after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

The Fright factory this year, to me, was kind of disappointing. Most of the scenes were repeated, and the whole thing, to me, is waaaaay too short. I would've expected more from these people. I went last year and it was sooo fun!!! But this year, I didn't really feel it. Sorry guys.

Summary

Eh, this is a good haunt if you want a laugh, or maybe a few jumps. But to get really scared, I wouldn't recommend it.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by burial_screamer after attending on Thursday, October 23, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

When going through there complex I was thrilled to see what they had up there sleves this year. Granted some haunted house are smaller and they can change there scenes every year. This haunted house does it to portions of there haunted houses. With this being a thursday night they only had two haunted house open. I knew this before going there, and I was really just going to see there new haunted house. But at seven o clock I first went into Adrenaline, even though they didn't change there haunted house. There scare were F***en Awesome. There actors also stepped up there game and set a high level for scaring. Well when I Finished there first haunted house, I went to there brand new haunted( formally Blood City) now know as Insanity, most people that don't go through this haunted won't believe, but that one word summarize this whole haunt, from the plant hallway, to baby boy, to there facade. Honestly there is a reason why this haunted is know as one of the best. Even though you might pay a little bit more to go through the whole complex, If you are looking for a night of fun and scare, I highly suggest Burial Chamber Complex

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hoffman Haunted Hall

by bernie after attending on Friday, October 31, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very good! Didn't know the building existed and then how big it was. The wait wasn't all that bad, they had a ghoul out there and sometimes two at once. Had a very neat prop outside as well, they had a skull in a glass container that gave information and had jokes. Very good music outside, not your traditional haunted house music in the line.

Summary

To start with, this building is literally next to the state prison in Prairie du Chien. It is so close that you can see the razor wire on the fence and the security van circle the complex. It made the wait in line even scary.
This haunt had lots of loud noises-from screaches to air horns to an air cannon. The layout seemed big. They had a lot of animated props and each one made me jump. One in particular was a barrel that a figure popped out with a light and air horn. They had a short bus in this place! Along with a car. The bus was freaky. The body bag room really got me, there was a strobe light and it hit the face just right, to top it off they had a live actor in the room in a corner as well. The cop car with pig was interesting, well themed to have that at the end.

View all Hoffman Haunted Hall reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by zombie-aholic after attending on Friday, October 31, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

On a mild Halloween Night, I began my adventure to the Dark Side. Accompanied by some buddies, I drove to rural Ixonia( following mapquest directions) and was already creeped out being in the middle of nowhere. I purchased my ticket from one of the very helpful staff and we waited our turn. After 15-20 minutes we were guided by one of the story telling undead to the haunted mine. Inside were scares at every turn. Things slamming down, jumping out and squeezing us in, we didnt know which way the next scare was coming from. After we made it through we waited at a bonfire and then were loaded onto the hayride. The wagon was eerie in appearance and as the ride began I was already on edge. We entered the forest where my fellow passangers and I were scared from all angles by actors and props alike. We were unloaded by a second fire and broken into groups by one of the most entertaining ghouls i have ever met. We walked through the forest guided by a rope light and the sounds of screams to guide us. Extremely scared my friends and I entered the corn maze and were scared from start to finish.

Summary

This is one of the best haunts I have been to. The actors are from the " jump-out-from-nowhere-and-shout" school of scaring, making each new area exciting as well as terrifying. I was most impressed with the attention to detail in the mine and the walking woods portion. I wanted to stop and look at each area but was kept moving by the energetic cast. I also enjoyed the stories told to us by the guide on the way into the mine. I will most definantly recommend this haunt to all my friends and family.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Deadly Intentions Home Haunt

by GoneGhostHuntin1 after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Considering I have not been to a haunted house in a few years, this was awesome and I had a lot of fun!!
Please keep it going and growing!!
Thanks for the fun!

View all Deadly Intentions Home Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by brandon_g after attending on Saturday, November 1, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dead by Dawn has done it again!!! I went through the house of bathory on the last night with my wife and two friends, including one who hasn't ever been to a haunted house in his life and we had a blast! Everyone was very in character and believable! Who ever thought of Cheech and Chong in a Haunted House??? They were great!!! I have to give u a A+++ on this it was awesome!

Summary

Bottom line best Haunted house i ever went to! I worked for Dead by Dawn in the past but u seemed to scare the crap out of me and my wife (who pissed her pants)LOL!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this house to everyone in the future its the best! Thanks to all the workers who did an awesome job on the last night!
Brandon g

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by scary larry after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Scary...fun...breathless
Even the wait is fun, hanging by a bonfire telling scary stories. Then the 45 minutes of uncertainty, live and annimated characters. Well designed scenes and just a Halloween atmosphere I give it 2 thumbs up! Must See

Summary

Well worth the money, activities to do outside bonfire and environment really set the tone for scare and fear. Plus 45 minutes for a haunt can't be found anywhere else. I highly recommend it as a MUST SEE!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by clownlover69 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

When i first looked up this place on here i was skeptical. I saw that most things people had to say about this place were bad. However i figured that the only people writing the reviews were the ones who were displeased. And boy was I right. DONT LISTEN TO THEM!!! Yes $18 seems like alot but it took almost 45 minutes to get through! It was a very good bang for your buck. I have been to other haunted houses and payed around $12 and they only lasted like 20 minutes. The longevity of this field was great. This place was a ton of fun and we are coming back every year from now on! Also, we followed the directions from the website and found it very easily.

Summary

First we bought tickets and they showed us what our numbers are. So we wandered around the store for a while, which is really cool, lots of fun stuff in there. Then we got some food. The burgers and brats were amazing! plus it was a fund raiser so that was cool. So then we went and sat by the bonfire and listened to the creepy stories which were really creative and spooky. There were tons of animals there and most of them are animals that u never get to see. They were really neat. After about an hour and a half our numbers were called on the led boards. So we went in the line and waited for about another 15 minutes before we got to enter. the wait wasnt bad and there was really cool stuff to keep you busy. It took us around 45 minutes to walk through the cornfield which was awesome. The actors were spaced out nicely and they were really good. They interacted with our group and wouldnt leave us alone. They were really scary. Especially for the two girls in our group. The actors were just a lot of fun. Overall this place wasnt the absolute scariest haunt but it we all had a really good time. It was great.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by sherrye 65 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was very cold and we were able to wait inside, once inside we were greeted by monsters which got the adrenaline going.
Actually there were a few monsters outside too.
The sets were well constructed and realistic
the actors were superb,most of them never broke character especially the Phantom and Librarian (very cool characters).
The main street was way cool as was the rainforest room very creative.
We went through with a group of 4 and never ran into another group which was great as we never knew what was coming or when a monster would pop out at us.Only complaint we did catch a couple monsters out of character in the tourture chamber and after the clown jumped off the rope and realized he didn't scare us he quickly gave up.Kudos to the set designers, very creative.

Summary

Great scare for the most part
word of warning- don't mess with that librarian, she meant business !!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by chaoticbee after attending on Thursday, October 23, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

When I went, I had a lot of fun. We were supposed to go with a big group but it worked out well with just two because you can only go in with a group of 2 or 3 people. The group ahead of us were scared easily so we kind of laughed as we heard some of the people in the house just say "boo" and the screams would start :) For a local Haunted House, I was really impressed! It was pretty intricate and well thought through with over 20 volunteers dressed up and hiding inside the haunted house to help scare you! The end was the best though if you don't know what's coming! The people ahead of us didn't expect it and were definitely scared!

Summary

Overall, most of the rooms are pitch black which and there are things hanging everywhere to disorient you which makes the experience more interesting. I'm not someone that gets scared easily but I was still really impressed by this Haunted House. Maybe not worth $8, but if you have the money and want to experience a haunted house, it's one to consider!

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by lovey1111 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Great house this year. Lots of characters who were very interactive. Did a great job adlibbing if you answered their questions. Great makeup. Could have used a little stronger finish, but MAN, was that doll room creepy!

Summary

Great. 4th year I've gone, best one yet.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by angiek13 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

GREAT haunted house! It is definitely a good one to go to if you are older. :) The walking through the forest at night really helps with the scare factor. I would not recommend anyone going this year if you have a fear of clowns!
It was a GREAT time.
My biggest complaint--the LONG LONG line. We got there at 9pm and didn't leave until 11:15 and it would have been even later if we would have stayed in the line. ;)

Summary

I recommend getting there right at 8pm to cut down on the wait. The waiting was TOO long!

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

After purchasing your tickets, you can wait in the gymnasium with plenty of snacks and soda available. The wait is anywhere from 1 to 2 1/2 hours. The event provided minimal entertainment during the wait (old b&w movies and really bad music). It really couldn't hurt to dim the lights in the gym.

The house has some really great sets and some awesome effects. I couldn't believe how good some of the setups were. The pace of the house is really well controlled. Instead of walking through the house wondering if you are going too fast or too slow, they take that out of the equation entirely. There were a few times (being in the lead position) of running into walls or doors that were locked and not knowing if and where to proceed.

There were some chances for some really great scares. There were many creepy moments as well as some "what's going to happen next?" moments.

Unfortunately, poor acting and voice-over lip syncing were the complete downfall for this house. Maybe it was because it was getting late, but some of the "actors" were terrible. It felt like they gave up their characters long before we bought our tickets.

Summary

Overall, I loved the house setup and the scenery. Was really disappointed with the actors performances.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

This house was quite interesting. It definitely had some good actors, who really gave a great effort. The outside wait wasn't the worst on the weekend that I went. Unfortunately, I imagine on these colder days, its definitely going to be tough. Because the house is located downtown, there really isn't much that can be done about this.

At first our group was a little upset about the wait time, we later realized that it paid off. We never once ran into another group.

The layout was great. You went through three levels. You could see that a lot of time and effort went into creating their characters and scenes. There is a very creepy Alice in Wonderland on acid feel to it. I would say that there aren't a whole lot of "pop scares" just more creep you out moments.

Summary

Long wait time outdoors with minimum shelter are one of the biggest downfalls for this house. Great actors, interesting scenes and characters really help the creepy effect the house is going for.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

A number of things lead to the success of this haunted corn field. First, the location is fantastic. It's in the middle of nowhere and the entire thing is set in a cornfield - setting the mood for a haunt doesn't get any better than that! Also, the length of the haunt is beneficial. It does cost more than most haunts, but it also lasts about three times as long, too. In that sense, it's worth the cost. On the other hand, how scary this haunt is depends heavily on your personal scare factor. I was not scared once through the whole haunt, but one of the girls I was with went in our second group and she came out crying because she was terrfied. So, I guess it all depends. This haunt depends heavily on animatronic and static props. Given its size, I guess that should not be unexpected. However, these types of props are not nearly as scary as a live actor in your face - which we saw very little of. A number of the actors we saw broke character, too, which makes them even less scary. In the middle of the haunt we were held up by security for a good ten minutes because everyone got caught up in the same area. So that was a total buzz-kill. Overall, I was unfortunately not all that impressed this year.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow the directions on the website, you'll have no trouble finding the house. Keep an eye out for the sign, though, because it's not lit up and can be easy to miss if you're not sure where you're going.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a LOT to do while you're waiting. They have a gift shop and a bonfire and lots of animals to look at. Great things to do to pass the time... which can be long. I think it was around three hours when we went.

Actors' Performance


Nothing spectacular. In fact, not any memorable actors. A lot of jumping out and growling at everyone.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The UFO is my favorite, it's just so cool! There are a couple of rooms that you walk through in the middle of the field that play mind tricks with string and black lights... and clowns... that's kinda fun.

Length


From the time we entered to the time we exited, it was 35 minutes. However, we were walking very fast because of some scaredy cats in our group... but on the other hand, we were stopped by security for about 10 minutes. So I'd say one half-hour from start to finish is about average.

Crowd Control


Security walks through the haunt at all times, as I'm sure they have to in such a large area. They did a good job except when we had to stop for such a long time because everyone got stopped up at the same place.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 4:48 a.m. CST 1.5.1