ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by iluvhauntedhouses after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

OH MY GOD!!!That was an awesome house! I've been there before, but this is the best I've ever seen. The place was crowded, but there was plenty of stuff to do (and eat).

The bus ride was not what I expected, it was totally awesome! I don't think there was a room that we didn't like. (We did LOT'S of screaming!) We're definitley going back again!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

What a great haunt!! We got there about 9 on a Friday night, so we had a wait a really long time - a little over an hour I think. Also, while we were waiting to go in... the power went out, on the whole premises, so that made the wait even longer. However, I'm just glad I wasn't in the house when it happened! It's $12 per person, which I think is a little overpriced, but that's about standard this year.

There were definitely a lot of positives about this haunt... though there are some downfalls as well. I love that you walk through haunted woods to get into the house, it really sets the mood. Walking through the tank at the beginning didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, though. A number of the rooms use animatronic monsters which is never as good as real actors, but the actors that we did see were pretty good. This haunt has probably the most unique vortex I've ever seen and I really enjoyed that. Be ready to crawl! This isn't only a walk-through haunt, you have to crawl, kneel, squirm and fight your way through the house at times. But it makes it all more interesting. They have some different hallway techniques which was cool, but I didn't like all the sheets in the way... if you're claustrophobic, beware!

Summary

Overall, definitely one of the better haunts in the area to visit. Be prepared to wait a pretty long time especially later on the weekends.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt is definitely one of my favorites in the area! Year after year it produces excellent thrills for its guests. My favorite rooms at this house are the doll room, the room with the guillotine, and definitely the torture chamber. The rat was an excellent addition to the haunt since it scared the crap out of my whole group. The little girl in the dolls room, right in the end... she's fantastic!!! The hallway that's black and white really plays with your mind. The technical/special effects and also the attention to detail in this house are just phenomenal. Rooms are all hand painted and look awesome. The actors are all really into their characters and you can tell they really enjoy it. I don't think I saw one actor break character the whole time! While we were waiting to go into the house, there were a number of actors roaming around scaring patrons... and they were pretty creepy. Overall I had another great experience at Terror on Rural Street.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow directions from the website you'll find the place really easily. It's attached to an activity center so there is ample parking available.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have an enclosed area to wait and have some actors roaming about. They also have a concession stand available if you want any snacks while you're waiting.

Actors' Performance


Overall I was very impressed. They're all really into it and have a lot of fun scaring everyone that comes through. Special acknowledgements go to the girls in the doll room and the actors in the torture chamber - you all rocked.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Fantastic! Attention to detail is just unbelievable. Some of the props are clearly not real and therefore much less scary than others, but overall it was all really great.

Length


I would say from start to finish, it was roughly 20 minutes. They do an excellent job of keeping you in a room for a while so you can get the full effect, which I love.

Most Memorable Moment


The boys I was with were pretty terrified of the doll's room... watching boys get scared is always a highlight of mine.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by upyours447 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

hauntfest is byfar the best haunted house i've ever been to. all the actors were in their places. everyone and everything was timed just right. even tho it was $15.00, it was worth every cent. i liked the hillbilly room, the skeleton's, and the caged maze. i barely made it out alive.

Summary

if you want a good haunted house to go to, then go to hauntfest. let's see if you can make it out alive.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was awesome once again. From the minute you walk through the doors to wait your turn to the last scene before you leave they have you screaming. This is one haunt that definitely has detailed scenes.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for this haunt was in an indoor heated area. They have actors walking around scaring you, and also a giant monster outside when you walk in.

Actors' Performance


The actors' did a very good job on their performance, they stayed in character and were pretty much always on target with their scares. There were a very areas however, where the scares were predictable but otherwise very good job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this house are very real looking. They really make you feel like in your in some horror house.

Length


It took about 20 minutes to walk through the entire place.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 14.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The name states this house perfectly. When you pull up you just see this old abandoned factory and you are unsure of whats inside just waiting for you to come in. As you are walking through the halls you never know whats around the next corner. The monsters are definitely not afraid to get in your face at this one.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. They have a huge sign on the building that you can easily see a block away.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


When I went there wasn't any wait but it is inside and heated!

Actors' Performance


I think they could have used a little bit more actors in their haunt, but the ones they do have stayed in character all the way through. They also weren't afraid to get in your face.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props in this haunt were very well done. I especially loved the tarot card room, very cool!

Length


It took about 15 minutes to walk through the entire thing.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would have to be the tarot card room. This was very unique and I loved the set up.

Summary

Overall, this is a very good put together haunt. I would recommend this to anyone 12 and over!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by BobandSue30 after attending on Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We have heard good things about this house. Maybe we went on a bad day for them. The house needed a lot more actors. I am guessing there were only about 20. Not nearly enough to scare us. We were in a group of 16 people and were then cut down to groups of 4 which was much better for a scare. But because there were not enough actors, we did not scream at all. There are 3 levels to this house and some of the rooms were decorated nicely but they need to add more fright. The slide was very dangerous!!!!!!!!!!

Summary

I would not recommend this house to anyone. there are better houses out there for a good scare.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by BobandSue30 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After getting our tickets, we entered the haunted trail where spooks scared us along the way. We then had a haunted Bus ride that had a lot of spooks on it. Finally we got to enter the house. Wow what detail there is. The Greeter did a fabulous job getting us prepared for our trip through the house. The Morgue and the kitchen where gross!!! The clowns did a great job and those claustraphobic areas in the house were so dark and erie with spooks everywhere. They had large screens showing the sponsors and clips of scarey movies which kept everyone standing in line busy. Overall, it was a great haunt

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone who really wants to scream!!!! I have been to other houses and they did not make us scream. Thank you guys for making such a great house!!!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by cash_money after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house is amazing! I've been there twice already this year, and I still get scared going through it. The actors are completely awesome at what they do and definitely know how to stay in character at all times. The makeup used was excellent and looked real. I really loved this haunt. My friends and I actually saw a group of people run out of the haunted house and fall over when the chainsaw guy came after them!

Summary

If you want to be scared, go to this! No wimpy people allowed.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by bryant209 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Very disappointing...drove 2 hours each way to go to Terror on the Fox for the 1st time and paid $32 for the VIP Tickets. Train was alright and the rooms/props of the haunted houses were cool, but the actors were terrible and none of the houses were scary at all.

Summary

Getting the VIP Tickets is the way to go..when we went there was no waiting in lines whatsoever with the VIP tickets. Overall the setup is cool and the rooms/props of the houses are awesome but I dunno if it was just the people working the night we went, but the actors were pretty bad and there were very few scary parts at all. The group of us who went were all quite disappointed.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by vampira after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Our group attended Saturday, October 18 at about 8:00. We came by busload from Milwaukee as we do every year, and let me tell you, we were not disappointed! Arriving at that time, we did have an hour and a half wait,with about 400+ people ahead of us, but it was well worth it. While we were waiting in the heated waiting area, we were thouroughly entertained by monsters, (especially the Frankenstein on stilts........) We also enjoyed watching the TV with "live feed" from inside the house. Once our numbers were called, we walked across the courtyard to the actual house. We were also entertained by the vampire telling us jokes. As we entered the mansion, we were impressed by the decorations, the actors and the makeup and costumes. (No cheesy masks here.......only what seems to be professional makeup.) There was a scare in every room, which even made my manly boyfriend scream like a little girl. Kudos, Terror on Rural Street!!!!!! PS does the "Hellevator" really move? None of us can figure it out!!!!!!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street was easy to find, well lit, ample parking. I would recommend getting there early if you don't like to wait. The house was PACKED on Saturday night, BUT it was definitly worth the wait and the $10.00 we paid to get in. We laughed, we screamed, we cried!!!!!!!!!!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Thefearwithin after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I was at Terror on Rural Street on the same night at almost the exact same time and there were probably 75-100 or more people waiting. The waiting area had several characters and creatures out to entertain the waiting crowd including a very tall (10 feet?) Frankenstein. We had about a 15 minute wait until our numbers were called. There was a heated indoor waiting area where you could watch what I think was a live video feed, as well as an outdoor area decorated as a cemetery with wrought iron gates.

The entry area into the house was new this year and featured doors that automatically open after the numbers were called. Once inside the area were we lined up was really cool. There was some more wrought iron gates leading to another cemetery scene that I am pretty sure was part of the scene at the end of the house because while we were waiting we could hear the screams as the groups went though. The actual entry was also new and look like an actual decrepit porch of a house. There was a rather nice man addressing the groups and telling some corny jokes. Not scary, but he had everyone laughing. A rather agitated "granny" beckoned us into the first room and told a brief story about the "house" and the evil within...She was very good and changed the mood immediately.

From then on it was a series of mostly well timed scares. Although some were predictable and one bordered on being corny, the were still effective.

The attention to detail is why we always come back here and this year there were some awesome scenes and FX. The make up and costumes were cool and it look like they are using a lot of latex FX's.

We always visit this place after going to one or 2 of the other events in the area because we better appreciate how they do things. Contrary to what was said in "another" review, we also appreciate the fact that he majority of the actors are ADULTS and not just teenagers that appear to not even want to be there! We were going to try to go through again, but by time we got out, the waiting areas were full as well as the parking lots!

Summary

This has always been one our favorite Halloween events because of the attention to detail. There may have been years when they were scarier (maybe gorier is the correct term), but I never have been more entertained or had so much fun. Some areas of note are the Killer Clown area, the Attic (creepy) and the Dining room.

For $10 you can't miss! Go early so you can get in TWICE!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by PoetMom after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We went to this house because my sister was psyched to go. The $10 price tag seemed reasonable, and I liked the idea of a covered waiting area. The 1/4 mile haunted hike in pitch darkness was awesome, and I loved the chainsaws and ghouls along the way.

The group numbering system is great - being able to mill about and be by the bonfire or concession stand makes the wait more bearable. However, the two and a half hour wait to get into the house was not something I was expecting.

While there were spooks out scaring people, there were also actors just out and about chatting with friends - not scary.

When we finally got into the house, I was surprised by the number of very young volunteers. There were a couple kids in there who looked younger than 10. There was a lot of great ideas that made up the experience, but there were a few things that were just nasty. The port-a-potty idea would have been great, but the dirty diapers and bloody maxi pads on the walls were gross - not scary.

Its a 3 story building - yes, we know there's going to be stairs. But all the crawling sucked. There should be some kind of warning for people who would have hard time on their hands and knees scurrying around in the dark.

Summary

Not bad for your money. Be prepared to wait. Be prepared to crawl around on your hands and knees ... and don't go in with your expectations too high.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ChadSavage after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year I get together with a group of haunted house enthusiasts and we road trip from Michigan, Indiana and Chicago to check out haunted houses in Wisconsin. We hit the Wisconsin Feargrounds late-ish on a Friday night. There was a good crowd, clearly having a good time and getting the cr*p scared out of them by the que line entertainers (Yay Havoc and Granny! Yay Weird Guy In A Jumpsuit!).

The haunts themselves are stellar, from every perspective. Haunted houses haven't scared me since I worked in one 20 years ago*, so while everybody else is screaming and cringing, I really look at set design and decoration, props, lighting, listen to the sound design, see how the actors interact with the patrons, all the technical stuff - I can't help it. What I saw was an incredible attention to detail in the room designs, props and lighting. I saw actors who really ran the gamut of interaction - some were extremely in your face and caustic; others went for a more disturbing approach by completely ignoring you and just acting absolutely (and realistically) insane. I found the latter genuinely creepy - it was like being in a confined space with real psychotic person; you weren't sure what might set him/her off. There's also a great mix of surprises, jump-scares, and a few great slow burns that let you build some suspense and anticipation.

While Morgan Manor and Morgana's Torment employ a great deal of darkness and subtlety, Freaky's Funhouse is the opposite - dayglow 3D! We had a great time marvelling at the great and, at times, truly disturbing artwork, and being weirded out by the various implementations of the 3D effects. The clown selling Human Pot Pies (They're Chicken Lickin' Good!) was a gas and had us all laughing.

The real testament to all 3 haunted houses was my immediate desire to walk right back through them all, to see the things I missed the first time - I can't think of a better way to spend a cold October night!

*My Fear Factor rating is based on the reactions of the people around me, who all seemed gleefully terrified.

Summary

High quality sets, decor, lighting and acting make the Wisconsin Feargrounds a must-see attraction this season!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by LoudMth after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I noticed there were some changes to the main house and they made it more fun to go through. My favorite by far is the swampy looking area. Great Sound and actors that were on mark every time. Great voices and sounds from the monsters. Those that spoke were terrific with interaction and good at improv. Sets were great as always. I really liked Torment. Nice change and addition to the show. Also, the outside actors were Unbelievably good (doesn't it hurt to fall like that?).
Everyone was really helpful and willing to make sure we had a terrific time. Again, being a Sunday night there was a very short wait and an unbelievable show.

Summary

I will definately being coming back again next year. Each year I go and this year I was really happy to see some terrific changes and variety. Professional from the time you came on the lot to when you left. Good service, Good Monsters, Good sets, and Good Scares!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 17th, 2019 9:39 p.m. CDT 1.9