ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by bluebliss909 after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Adrenaline- This traditional haunted house was the first attraction we visited. I was very impressed by the scenery and how long it was. Because this was the first day, perhaps, the actors seemed to miss their cues. We often passed them before they popped out. Their makeup looked very very well done, and unfortunately the lighting wasn't sufficient enough for us to see it. The music was cool, they had the Halloween movie theme song playing towards the end.

Phobia- It was the second haunt that we went to, and I was sorely disappointed. There seemed to be about 5 actors in the forest, and one didn't even get up, and we could tell they were real. The setting was amazing, it was just a forest and that in itself can be more terrifying than an actual haunted house. One actor actually started dragging his feet in the gravel while he was following us, which was about the scariest part.

Insanity- This was my favorite attraction. While waiting in the short line one actor (Randal) walked up to us and started interacting. The greeting actress was very nice and added to the allure of the upcoming event. She walked us into a room in which we watched a movie and she warned us about running into walls (which people apparently broke their noses by doing). The actors in this one knew their timings well. They were acting insane! and they had us do weird things with them. The people from the burial chamber should advertise this haunt more than the other two, it is VERY original and it played on a very primal human fear, and that is being afraid of people that are unpredictable, which these insane people definitely were.

Summary

Overall the number one rated haunted house in Wisconsin disappointed me. I drove all the way up from Waukesha county to visit this attraction and was in anticipation for something spectacular. Phobia wasn't organized and the actors didn't seem committed. Adrenaline was a pretty average haunted house and that is just what it was, average.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ntothep after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Ridiculous! It was sick, seriously, sick. I loved all three haunts and to have them in one place was madness. The effects and rooms in Morgan Manor were amazing. The ending of Torment had us all messed up in the head and Freaky's was a really cool, different style of haunted house compared to anything I've EVER seen. Great job as usual. You guys are the best in the business. If you only go to one haunt this year, make it the three at the Waukesha Expo Grounds...sorry, Waukesha Feargrounds.

Summary

The three haunts were huge and they were definitely worth my trip to Waukesha. The detail in these three haunts is more than anything I've seen in any haunt in Wisconsin. With so many rooms to see and the theming of all the sets were just amazing. I was really amazed at how far Morgana's Torment has come too. For all the awards that Morgan Manor has gotten, Torment was right up there with scares and details. Great job to the actors who were in it all the way through. Excellent haunt for the price, you really can't beat doing all three.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Signage / Visibility / Location


The setting is one of this haunt's strongest assets. Located just off I-90 to draw people from around the region, close enough to Stoughton to receive local support, and yet still retaining the feel and darkness that only haunts in secluded rural areas can provide. By capitalizing on the farm
venue the TTT Ranch has created a unique haunted attraction that starts in a barn, transitions to an outdoor trail, and re-enters the barn via a creepy old school bus.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment



There is plenty of free parking and as soon as you leave the safety of your car you hear the foreboding music of the haunt and see the menacing hearse in front of the barn. We heard the themes from Beetlejuice, Psycho, and the Rocky Horror Picture Show on our trip. There is a covered wait area
that would not shelter more than one group and a lonely guy selling pizza.

Actors' Performance



Even though I was with a couple of newbies, this haunt was more fun than it was scary. We rolled up
on the first day of the season so many of the ghouls were still working on their scares. The only minor complaint I have with this haunt is the lack of actors, specifically outside. Talking to the owners, they assured me that there will be more monsters over the following weeks, especially on Saturdays. Our favorite performers were the young girls terrified of Freddy and the creepy lady with a baby. This haunt has great potential for 2008 and I found myself thinking about actor improvements that would put the TTT Ranch on a higher level.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX



The all new interior of the barn has been spruced up this year with the acquisition of a vortex tunnel and set pieces from a defunct haunted house in Wausau. There were no sparse rooms or hallways and
the creators did a great job of putting decorations everywhere and constructing the haunt by hand. Money was well spent on full-size monster props tucked into dead ends and a couple of animatronics
scattered throughout. All of the actors had good costumes/masks/makeup and the Freddy Krueger sequence stood out as a favorite. The addition of a trail leading through the prairie and woods into a 'cemetery' adds a whole new facet to this year's spooky attraction. To nitpick, the Haunted Barn would have benefitted from more than two themed rooms and the solar lights near the graveyard were inadequate (the operators planned on bringing in a generator for better lighting the next night)

Length


Good length. It took us about 25 minutes because we spent time enjoying the outside walk and the anticipation of the surroundings

Crowd Control


I don't think the Haunted Barn uses a ticket numbering system like others, so bring a sweatshirt and some friends you can stand. There are no mazes in the haunt so even on a busy night things should move smoothly. Hidden security cameras monitor the action

Most Memorable Moment



The one-of-a-kind bottomless pit

Summary

This haunt has a lot of things going for it. $8 is a fantastic value, the haunt competition in the greater Madison area is weak, and the owners are very nice people. We rolled up on the first night of the operation and it was obvious that they will improve throughout the season. Although the Haunted Ranch may not be on the same production level as major haunts in the Milwaukee area and elsewhere, we still had a blast and it is well worth a visit. Just remember to bring a sweatshirt because you will be waiting and walking around outside

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls is definitely one of the better haunts in Wisconsin. They have you scared the moment you walk into the door, from the wait area to the transitions between the houses to the exit. They also added on a new addition this year, A Theater of the Absurb. Its all under blacklight and 3D.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt was kind of hard to find. There wasn't much signage until you actually turned onto hwy Y, but then it was right there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was in a huge barn. There were a couple line entertainment actors, as well as, photo props to take memorable halloween pictures with. They also offer the burial simulator ride while you wait!!!

Actors' Performance


The Actor's Performance was very good!!! You would have really thought some of them were lost souls! Everyone was right on target with their scares. The only thing I would change is less direction from the actors as to where to go.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Theater of the Absurb had excellent props and scenes. The walls of each room were awesome and very well done. The Theater of Lost Souls also had excellent props and sets. Right from the beginning your amazed with it.

Length


I would say it took about 30 minutes to walk through both houses!

Crowd Control


The crowd was very well controlled, and there wasn't much of a wait time.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would be one of the first scenes. I haven't seen this prop at too many haunts and its definitely an added bonus. It is definitely not for people who are claustrophic!!!

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 15.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex is considered the number one haunt for a reason. Our group was blown away by how well this haunt is organized. It begins as you are traveling and notice the large spotlights in the sky drawing you near. Even the smallest details were well put together (such as the cool wristbands and delicious treats). This year "Phobia" the outdoor woods haunt was my personal favorite. The natural setting is perfect. The moonlight is the only thing guiding you and the ghouls come from every angle. My friend was so frightened he actually pushed me to the ground and ran. One of my friends referred to "phobia" as a "Blair Witch" feeling (only with better actors). The actors clearly are professional and LOVE their job.

Adrenaline as always offers you those in your face scares that makes your heart race. There was rarely any "dead time".

Insanity has you misled and thinking you are seeing UFO's! The alien actor was my favorite of all the three haunts.

We even tried the burial simulators this year which I would definitely not recommend to anyone who is claustrophobic.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Excellent signage, you can't miss the large spotlights in the sky and it is located right off the interstate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have large projection screens playing creepy scenes. They also have plenty of goodies to snack on. If you do the combo the wait for the other haunts is minimal.

Actors' Performance


The actors are very professional, I wouldn't be suprised if some of them have real acting careers :) Again we loved the alien ... creepy!!

Length


We arrived around 9:30 and left around 11:30 so that was 2 hours of fear, with little to no wait time! There was no "dead time" either, you rarely find yourself just walking down a dark hallway.

Crowd Control


They do a great job of maintaining crowd control. We only ran into another group at one point because a couple of people in our group moved too fast.

Most Memorable Moment


There were a lot of memorable moment ... this is a great haunt to go to and make a night of it. The most memorable would have to be in the woods when my friend pushed me to the ground to run!

Summary

I highly reccomend this haunt to anyone over 16, it has something for everyone! I think I could go back 10 times and still wonder whats lurking around the corner.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls brought the fear again this year! This Haunt is known for its "in your face" scares. They used a Lot of my favorite classic scares such as the chainsaw, and added A LOT more new stuff. You will see some of the creepy "phobia" props this year. Everyone in my group agreed that "Theater of the Absurb" was an awesome addition. Its not quite like your typical blacklight haunt, there are many twists like a disturbing "scene" that seemed so real! You really have to be careful because you never know where the ghouls may come from! The only thing I could ask for is more, more, more ... there was never a dull moment from start to finish! The whole haunt was approximately 20min, which is a little longer than average for a haunt. On a final note, parents please be careful when brining childern under 16! Our group ran into two people ahead of us, because the little girl was so afraid.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Getting to the haunt was a little scary for us as we missed County Rd Y. There is not much for signs until you reach the fairgrounds. There is a hearse at the entrance with a strobe light waiting to welcome you.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait wasn't long, but we arrived early. Unlike previous years there were a lot of ghouls to entertain you ... even the woman at the concession stand was creeepy! The also have an awesome coffin ride that displays the victims face on a tv for everyone to see. Get you picture taken at one of their two photo ops, its only $3 and well worth the memories!

Actors' Performance


From start to finish the actors remained professional.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are a lot of added scenes and props! Some phobia props, and the well set up man in a chair? I don't know how to explain it better with out giving it away. At one point we swore we felt drops of blood on our heads?! Not sure if that was our imagination or not!

Length


The total length was approximately 20 min. Not bad because there was rarely any "dead time".

Crowd Control


They do a good job of crowd control, with the exception of those factors out of their control. (the little girl who thought she was going to throw up).

Most Memorable Moment


Right in the very beginning watching 2 of my friends start panicking when they heard the chainsaw!!

Summary

In summary I would recommend this haunt to anyone ages 16 and up who like in your face scares ... I wouldn't reccomend this haunt to anyone on a first date.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by thejer6 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Overall, I think it was a very good time. Just in time for Halloween. It took my group about 45 minutes to get through the entire maze. There were a lot of scenes with great detail. Looks like a lot of time was put into this field. The actors did a very good job of surprising us and continuing the "scare." Being able to 'wait in line' at a bonfire (with storyteller!!!) was of course an added perk. The store is also a nice thing to walk through/look at while waiting as well as the concession stand.

Our group was also there early enough to pick pumpkins and look around at all the animals. Also a good time while you're waiting...

Summary

I would recommend this Corn Maze to anyone... over the age of 12. It will get you!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by timmma after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Very short wait, but the actors were very bad - not all of them, but most. I felt bored halfway through the house. The 3-D aspect is stupid. I was expecting things to be jumping out at me, there was just some paint on the walls that glowed

Summary

Overall it was not very good. Many rooms had not actors in them. It seemed very short and definitely was not scary. I did jump one time. The house could be pretty good, but again - the actors stunk. You have to walk on a short trail through the woods to get to the house--and that could've been scary, but there were no actors.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by thejer6 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Overall, I think it was a very good time. Just in time for Halloween. It took my group about 45 minutes to get through the entire maze. There were a lot of scenes with great detail. Looks like a lot of time was put into this field. The actors did a very good job of surprising us and continuing the "scare." Being able to 'wait in line' at a bonfire (with storyteller!!!) was of course an added perk. The store is also a nice thing to walk through/look at while waiting as well as the concession stand.

Our group was also there early enough to pick pumpkins and look around at all the animals. Also a good time while you're waiting....

Summary

I would recommend this Corn Maze to anyone... over the age of 12. It will get you!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Mr. Malice after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This being the first year in the new building, the Splatterhaus crew did a fantastic job. The waiting area is huge and much nicer than being outside also the wait wasn't very long but we did get there early in the night. I don't usually jump but they did catch me off-guard a couple of time. I liked the fact that you didn't run into another group and get bottlenecked in a maze.

Summary

Directions were easy to follow but you do have to watch for Columbus street...it sneaks up on you. The only thing I suggest is a lighted sign at the corner so you know where to turn.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by scarytimes after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The new location is not hard to find, follow directions and your there - easy. Not a long wait and the indoor waiting is nice. The event itself seems like past years, that's not to say that the show isn't good..it is. But the guys a Splatter Haus seem to have hit a bit of a rut with much of their rooms repeating the ideas of past ones. For those who want an intense, full on, haunted house Splatter is your haus. Good show and delivers for the trip and is well worht it...does need a fresh injection of new ideas....Splatter actors deliver in every room and sights and sounds are unlike any other. Good timing, never saw other groups - felt like we were the only ones there. Recomended.

Summary

For years Splatter Haus has been dishing out scares for the haunt goer looking for a loud and intense show, this year is no different. If you go expecting this type of show you will not be disappointed. If you go looking for a new and different show you will recognize much from the past. The fun factor is always high but I was forced to lower the fear factor due to the lack of fresh ideas. Still a great show and although Two Rivers is a long trip it is worth it to see a haunt that pulls out all the stops to scare the S*%T out of you.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by TheBasementRat after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Instructions to the house are very easy to follow, especially with the street signs all over the place.

Once you arrive at the haunt, you are able to park for free and enter the school's gymnasium for covered and heated waiting. There are even refreshments and arcade games.

And then you get led to the haunted house, which is actually an old house located on the school's grounds. It was built in the late 1800s and the look of it just gives you the creeps. Hubertus House of Horror is a wonderful haunted house! All of the rooms are always creatively designed and look AMAZING! Some are very, very creepy, while others are just pure awesome, such as the swamp room, where it looks, smells, sounds, and even feels (light rain from ceiling) you are in a swamp. You are walking across a bridge "in the middle of a swamp in the woods!" And then, all of a sudden. . .well, I won't give too much away. In addition to these wonderfully designed rooms, the house features a few pitch black mazes that you have to feel your way through and may even get shocked here and there! There is even a 3D maze! Before entering the house, you enter a dark and foggy bus with a very angry bus driver and have a very horrid and frightful ride! After going through the house, you get "spun around" a bit while going through the amazing VORTEX!!!

Summary

I had a GREAT, FUN, and FRIGHTFUL time at the Hubertus House of Horror and would recommend it to anyone!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by catatethebird after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Splatter Haus was definitely worth the drive and price. We arrived and got our tickes at abound 10:30 and were told the actora were on a 25 minute break. This was fine, we had time to smoke a cigarette and get some popcorn and hot chocolate while we waited. Once the line started moving again we didn't wait more than 20-25 minutes. All of the workers were friendly and outgoing, and they have a good system for keeping people in the groups they came with. Once we got inside everything was well timed, monsters popped up when they should, and we never ran into another group. Even for us seasoned haunted house veterans there were a few new tricks and a few jumps and screams. The only quibble was that it was too short, I left wanting more.

Summary

Highly reccommended. I felt we got our money's worth and had no regrets. One other note: The waiting area wasn't heated. It was warmer than it was outside, but still chilly, have a jacket.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by catatethebird after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Overall this was a disappointment. The maze is long, and it's obvious a lot of work went into it, but there is nothing new or unexpected. It took about 40 minutes to go through (not running) and we only saw 6 actors the whole way, and there was very little interaction with them. The most interesting part was the security guy who decided to follow us through about half the maze... I would have been happy with the experience if I had paid mybe $8. For $18 it was a rip off.

Summary

The bonfire, petting zoo and little shops could make for a nice night, but the maze itself is disappointing for the money.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Doc Ryan after attending on Friday, September 26, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

We went last year and thought it was just okay. We went again this year, hoping that improvements had been made. We were wrong. Lots of the rooms had no actors in them and were not scary nor creative. How many haunts are now having vortexes? Why can't we come up with something original and new? Was not worth it, even with a two dollar off coupon!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 18th, 2019 6:36 a.m. CDT 1.27