ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by AJForston after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I didn't know what to expect when we went to the Haunted Cornfield, and it was GREAT! It was nothing like I expected. It was great seeing that children are involved in the haunt as well. The scene setting is out of this world and all the fun tricks they have is totally unreal that it would be in a haunted cornfield.

I want to add that the characters in the field and out are great! Having the children in the cornfield is pretty creepy. You aren't expecting to see these little people running around and scaring you, but there was one that just scared the pants off me. It was close to the clown area. He/She stayed in complete character the whole time. Mad Props!!

Summary

Don't miss out on one of the best haunts of the year! Worth the time!

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by avan after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Six of us ladies (24 years of age) took a trip out to the Bear Den this past weekend. It was well worth the drive. The Bear Den has yet again outdone themselves! One of the girls with us was actually in tears… We left laughing and screaming so much that we were all teary eyed! If you are looking for some great scares the Bear Den is your place! I would recommend leaving any little ones at home though… it was really intense!

Summary

The haunted woods were packed with scares. There was almost no time to recover from the ‘scare” you just encountered before the next one was taking place. The hearse ride was a great opener, but the rest of the experience left you saying “what hearse?”. Crawling through tunnels, moving rooms, chainsaws… can’t say enough! It was by far the best that I have seen………. And I have been to many!

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

An enjoyable, home-grown haunt, making full use of its farmy-setting to provide victims with several different stages of spookiness, including walking through a haunted barn, then outside up a spooky, moonlit hill, through a forest and graveyard at the top, then down past a cornfield, where you're eventually forced to creep through a schoolbus (perhaps having just unloaded Isaac and Malachi and the rest of the Children -- hey, that's a cool idea!) and back into the barn for a final go.  I really love these outside, nighttime haunts on clear evenings; there were some points where you could look down over the whole farm from the top of the hill and see all the different lights and action and get an idea of scenes to come...chilling and cool. 

This is not a haunt which is telling a story, and is more in the vein of wanting to scare you suddenly rather than break you down with a creeping sense of dread, so if you like your haunts jumpy and "Rargh!"-y, this is for you.  Not as sophisticated as some of the more expensive and professional haunts in the bigger areas, but definitely worth the money, took a nice amount of time to go through, and, as above, had great atmosphere.  A Wisconsin farm on a moonlit night, how can you go wrong?

And, the snackstand had kittens for sale!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's pretty clear that it's the haunted farm from the highway; coming from the north, just take 51 south through Stoughton, and it's in the country right outside the city.  The farm is all lit up and such, and looks suitably atmospheric. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We had no wait, which was great; attractive little area outside the barn where they sell popcorn and soda, etc, including a little trailer giftshop with cool haunted house supplies and funky halloween black-light esoterica.  Staff was really friendly and seemed to be enjoying themselves  And they had kittens for sale.  Vicious little kittens.

Actors' Performance


Performances were fine, but don't expect a lot of characterization; this isn't a haunted house where they're necessarily telling a story, and they seemed to be more intent on surprising and intimidating you.  We did get chased by a giant-headed grim reaper-type who did a fantastic job of looking inanimate until we had passed him...Oh, and I must give props to the three (two? I got confused, they seemed to multiply) little ghoul kids who out-screamed our little group of Grade-A screamers.  The lung capacity on this generation -- this is how we keep America competitive, people!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Scenes kind of basic, cemetery, cornfield, etc, but again, really cool atmosphere.  You know what I really liked?  There is some kind of great sound and lighting system all throughout the farm, or maybe just really excellent acoustics, 'cause you could hear all kinds of things, music and thunder and stuff, while walking around outside and then in and outside the barn, so it kind of all hung together and added to the spookiness.  They had the barn rigged for lightning to flash overhead inside every now and then, and a lot of the usual halloween props, like cut-up body parts, etc.  Lightning -- cool.  Cut-up body parts -- not so exciting anymore, but that might just be me being jaded from going to lots of haunted houses over the years.   Anyway, space in the barn is made good use of, and they have a cool vortex at the beginning, which kind of implies that you're going through a portal into another dimension -- of horror!

Really liked the deserted schoolbus, too; where did they get that?

And Freddy Krueger looked like he had real metal knife-fingers; where did they get those?

And they had kittens for sale.  I suppose those came from another cat. 

Length


Very nice length, maybe about 20 minutes, and we kind of moved through it rather quickly after being chased a couple of times. 

Crowd Control


No crowd when we were there, 9 PM on Saturday night (but probably very early in the season).  Looks like it would work fine, though, plenty of parking and wait area was sizeable and offered distractions, like the gift-trailer.  And the kittens. 

Most Memorable Moment


The view from the top of the hill, standing in the cemetery, looking down over the farm and seeing ghouls roaming about, other patrons being terrified and screaming, and knowing we were going to have to eventually start down the hill ourselves...

Summary

Again, a good atmospheric haunt with a genuinely spooky, outside-at-night, moon-shining-over-everything, sense to it; this is the kind of haunt you can only get in places like Wisconsin, with our wide-open farm country and rolling hills and readily-available chainsaws and deserted barns and home-grown, beloved cannibals. 


And did I mention there were kittens for sale?  Mmmmm....delicious kittens. 

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

My experience at this corn maze was far from anything to brag about. We arrived at the haunt at around 9:00 and it was on the busy side as we thought it might be with such nice weather. We got our wrist bands for $18.00 then went and stood by the bonfire. The storyteller was pretty good, except for the fact he would stop ever 45 minutes or so to check with the people running the event for what numbers are beginning called, as the board displaying them had worked sometimes only. The storyteller left around 11:30 from the event as he wasn’t going to get paid a minute past then he told us. Our numbers where finally called at 12:30. We then got into the haunt shortly after that and it took about 15 minutes before we even saw 1 live actor. About half way thru the maze we had to stop as we caught several people ahead of us and one of the workers (monster out of character) told us to hold on as there was a traffic jam. Pretty much this continued on and off for the second half of the maze, even coming to a 10 minute stop 3/4ths of the way thru with another live actor who was controlling traffic. At this point people behind us are yelling just lets us get out, this is horrible. We finally finished in the 45 minutes they advertised. Over I would say without stopping probably not even 30 minutes to get thru, and only about 6 live actors. The rest of the sets in the maze are set up poorly and cheaply. They use yarn to hang from the ceiling which can get tangled and get caught on your neck or other body parts. When my girlfriend talked to the owner after the haunt he said it was security that was in charge of making sure it would not get backed up.

Summary

Overall I would say this Haunt is organized very poorly. The $18.00 price tag or $25.00 VIP price tag is very over priced. I would not recommend anyone at any age to spend their money this way. The actors that didn’t end up controlling traffic are not very convincing of being scary. The sets of horror are very poorly set up and look cheap. I will not be returning to this event ever again in my life. The walk thru time is 30 minutes maybe, and not 40 to 45.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by tomre after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Best haunted expierence yet! Awesome scenes and characters are really into it!

Summary

This is worth the trip.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by XxskaterxX after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I really enjoyed my trip to Haunt Fest. When I first entered the haunt I didnt think I was going to leave that night. :)
It is well worth every penny. There is also a wait area that really takes away the wait because of everything to do. They have a DJ,concessions,games,and also monsters. I know there was a clown and a chainsaw guy out there waiting to torture you. I would recommend getting the VIP Straight to Hell Pass. It really seems like you're going straight to hell when you enter the place. Dont let me forget to mention how great the actors were. They stayed in character the whole time you saw them. Some of them actually seemed as if they were really demons. I loved the elevator ride. That was awesome also with the little girl in there waiting to scare you. I also liked the cage maze at the end. I would recommend this haunt to anyone that likes being scared. But not for the easily scared. I actually seen two girls run out of the haunt in the first room.

Summary

Anyone and everyone should check out Haunt Fest. It's such a great experience. If you love being terrified THIS IS TH PLACE TO GO. Haunt Fest is a must go to thing. Hope you all check it out and have a great time like I did.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by kld3390 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Bear Den Haunted Woods really out did themselves this year. It was AMAZING and WELL WORTH THE $12. If any one wants to have a great time with friends or family i HIGHLY recommend going to the Haunted Woods.

Summary

New walkway thru the pond. Great new scares and thrills. Crawling thru a tunnel with a man and a chainsaw comming for you scared me the most. The wait was shorter than last year and had more scares then ever. THE BEST so far.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Ru1990 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This year at Splatter house since their new location, this haunted house has gone down hill since the previous years...they lost their touch and after being a fan of this haunted house for a couple years now and a frequent custome I was not satisfied. Splatter haus you guys need to get it back together for next year!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by chcar after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Wow what a difference 3 years makes! we attended this 3 yrs ago and thought it was great. Now i feel they missed the ball on this house, 90% of it was walking through complete darkness and when you finally came into the rooms there was little effort ftom the actors and the scences were not very impresive. Th sign at the front said it was menned by the Brillion highschool nad it showed, at one point where ther was a girl stomping her feet , she actually screamed out "dont touch my f**cking bike". Not very appropriate for highschool kids . There were many steps that we tripped over and we actually ran into a pole in the midle of the door in complete darkness, they should warn visitors of these hazards before someone gets hurt. I did not find this huant to be very fun nor scary at all, with no imagination put into it. When i finally turned on my phone light to see if there any more hazards, a boy told us " that just takes the fun out of it". I replied with the fact that they did that as soon as they shut the door.

Summary

If walking through complete darkness with limited action is for you , then you will love it. But for those who love the excitement and thrills of a good haunt, you may want to look elsewhere. In summary they missed the ball!

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by xxaimeexx after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunted house was very fun. If you go, I suggest going through both haunts because I liked the second one a lot better. You should go with a group of your friends to make it more fun. I'm a major wimp. Last year I practically chickened out, but this year I went and I didn't think it was very scary. It was more fun. So remember to go first!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by odistodis after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house rocked! It totally scared the crap out of me! I liked that they sent you with only the people you came with, no strangers were added. Our little group of 4 was all over 30 years old, and screaming like little kids. The actors did a great job, we had no idea what to expect next. Line wait was pretty short, less than 30 minutes. I didn't really see any actors outside, but once you were in the house, there were a lot of them!

Summary

Highly recommended, super scary!!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by odistodis after attending on Saturday, September 27, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I really liked the effects of this haunted house. Lots of cool rooms to go through. I really liked the fence maze, vortex room, and the inflatable hallways to squeeze through. It seemed like it was really big, it took us quite a while to get through.

Summary

This haunt was a lot of fun to go through, pretty long, definently worth checking out. Definently more fun than scary, possibly because we were put in a group of 7.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by mommyof2 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We went with our kids during the day time session. During the day it was fun but not very scary. There is a novelity shop that had a variety of things from cheap to a little more pricy. A little for everyone. They also had popcorn and beverages. There was a pizza stand on the grounds that is trying to make money for the stoughton youth center. They also have a large sheltered area for the wait to get on the wagon ride to the grave yard, or to eat your food (thay have a few picnic tables). The price was nice at $5 per person and 3 and under free. During the day they have tour guides and no spooky coustumes. We went back that night without the kids and it became a whole new experiance. There were many ghouls, surprises in the woods and in the barn. I don't want to say to much about what is in store during the evening and ruin the surprise. We had gone at night last year and alot has changed. There were quite a few new additions. At night it is scary. The extra $2 (the price is $7 per person at night) is well worth it. The ladies at the door are vary nice they asked us for comments and suggestions so they could improve the barn. They really care about it being the best it can be.

Summary

Over all it was a good experience. My children (they are 5 and 3) loved it during the day (even though they were a little scared). Then the adults got to enjoy a more intense experience at night. I will go next year if not again this year.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Going to Gilly's Haunted Circus was a great experience for me! I've never been there before and, actually, didn't even know it existed until just recently. I'm terrified of clowns, so it seemed like a good idea to go here... don't ask me why! Overall it was a positive experience for my group. It was really easy to find, though parking was somewhat difficult since it is located in a busy area. We were there pretty late and there was no line, so we did not have to wait very long. While we waited in line, there were two clown characters running about scaring people. Once we were inside, the first character you see (the clown with the flower) is pretty entertaining. On the whole, I found that many of the characters in the house were more funny than they were scary, but I still had a great time! There were a couple of rooms that had great ideas behind them, but I felt that they were not fully realized. Such as the room with the "maze" or sorts. It's made in an effort to mess with your mind, but it didn't work out quite as nicely as I think they had expected it would. One of the best parts about this house, though, is that they asked me for my name in one of the rooms, and of course, not thinking, I actually gave it to them... then in a number of rooms later, they continued to use my name. Very clever and really creepy. The room with the mirrors is really cool, and the actor in there was great. My favorite actor I think it the guy right at the end. It was a good experience all around, but I left feeling a little disappointed because I don't think I felt truly scared once throughout the whole house. And for being a haunted circus, there weren't a WHOLE lot of clowns... ??

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find. Directions from the website are perfect and the actual location has lots of lights. You can't miss it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Covered area while you wait in line with some actors.

Actors' Performance


Some of them did an excellent job, some were kind of lacking. As I mentioned, the clown with the flower was pretty good, the magician, the guy in the mirrored room,and the one right at the end. As I said before, they weren't necessarily "scary" or "frightening" in their roles, but they did act very well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


To be honest, the majority of the house was extremely dark - which, of course, sets the mood - but it made it very difficult to see the sets, props, and make-up of the actors. As far as I could tell, they did to an excellent job with setting up rooms. It's possible that they left it incredibly dark to make the rooms look more finished, but I'm not entirely sure. There is a significant amount of fog throughout the entire haunt. I actually coughed a number of times because it was so overwhelming. Make-up on the actors looked good, too.

Length


From the minute we walked into the haunt until the time we left was roughly about 10 minutes - a pretty average length for this type of haunt. The wait was less than five minutes.

Crowd Control


No need for crowd control since there was no crowd.

Summary

If you're in the area, it's a good haunt to go to - especially if you're afraid of clowns. The rooms are well decorated and they make a great use of the space that they have available. It's easy to get turned around, so keep your hands out in front of you and try your best to follow the path they've set up for you.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Ashley1978 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Oh my bahjeeeezus! Splatter Haus has officially become my personal "scariest ever" haunt!

They moved the haunt this year and the new location is super easy to find even for the most directionally challenged (such as yours truly). While signs enroute wouldnt hurt it didnt matter that there werent any as the directions are very simple. You definitely know you're there when you see the very well lit, very well staffed parking lot with tons of free parking.

Upon entering I thought it was pretty cool that the only line you have to stand in is the very short & fast moving ticket line. After you buy your ticket you can go inside or outside, sit down or stand, hang out with your friends, get something to eat or drink, use one of the gazillion port-a-potties, whatever you want to do- you just wait for your number to be called. It was nice not to be forced into long roped off lines for hours. I was lucky to go on a really nice night but if you're cold and want to remain inside they have 6000 sq ft of waiting room and a good variety of refreshments and music playing.

I cant say enough things about the staff inside and outside of the haunt! All the staff are amazing! They're efficient, super friendly, outgoing, and helpful. These were people who seemed to really love what they do and it showed, no matter if they were in the parking lot, refreshment stand, ticket sales, line organizers...all of them were awesome.

The scares were full on and intense! The FX, the make-up, the timing were all magnificent...the best I've ever seen by far. The Actors? AMAZING does not begin to describe them. I've never seen a better bunch. I've never seen more enthusiam and dedication at a haunt...it was refreshing! These actors REALLY seemed love what they were doing and REALLY worked their patooties off to scare the ever-lovin' pants off everyone! I was truly in awe of the originality, the hardwork, and the fact that *I* a self-professed horror buff was scared outta my ever-lovin' mind! I recall on more than one occasion my "fight or flight" kicking in, my heart beating so fast & loud I could hear it in my ears, and me walking that very thin line between fear and all out panic...but I loved every minute of it. There was a great mix of gore, in-your-face scares, sounds, and darkness, there was never too much of one so there's definitely something for everyone. The entire walk-thru lasted about 25-30 mins, and you never once bumped in to the people ahead of or behind you. The REALLY cool thing was that with the sounds, music, and the entire setup you couldnt HEAR when a "scare" was coming either which I REALLY liked because usually you always hear people screaming & yelling so you kinda know when to expect something. You were definitely kept on your toes which is the way it should be!

Summary

All in all I cannot get over how awesome Splatter Haus was! I cant think of one single thing that was disappointing or could be done differently. This was honestly the BEST haunt I have ever been to and after years of going to haunted houses and usually being let down or just having an "ok" experience I am so happy that I finally found "the one".

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 17th, 2019 4:42 p.m. CST 11.0