ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Meadowbrook is a very fun and scary cornfield. You can tell right away that they put their heart and soul into this.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find, there are signs along the highway to help guide you along.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait for this haunt took about an hour or so. However, tthey have a very unique wait area. While you wait for your number to be called you can sit around a bonfire and listen to a man tell you ghost stories about the land that the cornfield sits on.

Actors' Performance


I would recommend a lot more actors in this haunt, but the ones they did have were great. They always stayed in character and were always on cue.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets in this haunt are very well put together. They have them all set in the right locations and are very scary!!

Length


This haunt is probably one of the longest ones I've ever been through. It took about 45 minutes to walk through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well. They are very good at when to send groups through to make sure you don't run into another group.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment at this haunt would have to be the "orange" room without giving too much away it definitely makes you feel lost and confused.

Summary

Overall, this was a very well put together haunt. I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 12 at night, and perfect for the entire family during the day.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by OhioGhoul after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year I make it a point to travel from Ohio to Waukesha WI just to see this Haunt. It is always a blast, from the unique and creepy characters that spring up from nowhere while you wait in line to the deep dark and scary corridors of drool worthy scenes filled with vile creatures inside, everything is well done, professional and well organized. Morgan Manor and Morgan's Torment are classic well styled houses that I have grown fond of over the years. The scenes in Morgan Manor are well done and heavily detailed. The actors fit the scenes well and obviously are well trained. Morgan's Torment is a whirlwind of heart pounding excitement. I've felt jumpy through the entire house. I never knew where the next scare was coming from; they constantly had me off my guard. The new addition of Freaky's Funhouse is really cool, the 3-D Effects with the Glow Paint is impressive. If you don't like clowns this house will terrify you. If you do like them, you won't after you visit Freaky's.

Summary

This event is well worth the drive and the money. I've never left unsatisfied. Coming from a state such as Ohio that has numerous haunted houses to choose from it really says something that I feel compelled to travel so far to get my fix for a great haunt!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by scooter after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 10:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was our 1st time there and we took are 2 kids one is 11 and the other is 5 so we went to the day time for the little one. These people are very nice people and have done a lot to make this a nice haunt. The only problem is for day time it should only be like $2.00 to go through. It costed us $20.00 which I thought was high for what you get during the day Since it was like looking at a halloween store displays.

We did come back since we liked what we saw and wanted my oldest to have a spooky trip through. That was really fun and worth paying 5-7 for since it was designed for night time haunts.
Something needs to be different for day time if you want to continue charging $5.00 for a walk through. Just a thought. Also we understand certian stuff breaks down and doesn't work but then you need to adjust the cost. To reflect things not working like the electric chair went through on saturday night at like 7:40 that was not working and the tunnel wasn't spinning like it was to either?

Summary

It was fun people who own this are very nice just wished things were adjusted based on price for working and non working. Maybe give Pumpkins away for kids who come during the day at the $5.00 price tag?

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Gilly's is the perennial underdog haunted attraction that always seems to deliver. Once again this year the haunt had virtually no wait on a Friday night while other haunted houses in the area were backed up for thirty
minutes to an hour. What those line zombies missed is a haunt with great acting performances and operators who strive to please you, not pick-pocket you. While the Haunted Circus is not ground breaking or fight-or-flight
terrifying, it continues to improve and deliver a solid experience every year.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Lights and carnival music let you know you're in the right place. It's pretty amazing that the operators are able to build this haunt while maintaining a winter business selling and renting tropical flowers out of
their greenhouse.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The ticket girl is very sweet and can convince even the most undecided guests to enter the big-top. Old newspaper clipping pinned up in the covered wait area tell the backstory of the circus and actors make frequent
appearances.

Actors' Performance


The organizers and operators take great pride in their actors. By holding auditions they ensure that only the most dedicated and talented ghouls populate the various scenes. While the surprise scares and fear factor are
not as intense as other places, I was just as entertained by the great dialogue, unique accents, and novel characters that are created.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Much of the setup was similar to past years. The vortex tunnel (take your hands off the railings if you can), foggy chain link fence maze, and freak show all are present again this year. The addition of a marionette room is a great idea. The actors were much more memorable than the scenery.

Length


10-15 minutes. Just a touch on the short side so take your time and interact with the actors.

Crowd Control


Crowd Control? Gilly watches over the haunt while double-fisting two hatchets, do you want to screw with him?

Summary

A solid spook-house that I go to, and enjoy, every year. While similar to past years, the outstanding actors made it worth the return visit in '08.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scaredofdark after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d only been to one haunted house before, and that was when I was a kid. I remember it being cheesy and stupid. So when we were walking up to the tent where they had us wait in lines and I heard screaming, I started to get nervous. When we were about to go in, and two of the people who had been ahead of us in line came running out of the haunt and didn’t stop until they hit the parking lot, I thought, crap, maybe I should have gone to the bathroom first. And then we went in and I was running… and screaming… and laughing…

What was in that toilet? And how did they know my name? Once one said it, suddenly they all seemed to know it. It was creepy, but totally ramped up the fright factor.

The first of the three haunts seemed to have a lot to see, but as I said, I was too busy running. The second… that was just plain scary. Talk about nightmares coming to life! The third… Clowns. Seriously. That just isn’t fair. And 3-D! I was so busy twisting and turning (and, again, running), looking around.

Summary

How to sum something like this up? It wasn’t cheesy or stupid. It scared the crap out of me. I screamed almost the entire time. I’ve definitely changed my opinion of haunted houses thanks to this experience. I can’t wait to go again!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by svault after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This is a very hard review for me to write. For years, the Morgue has been my all time favorite haunt. Sure there are ones that get more exposure and spend lots of money on advertising, but the Morgue always blew them out of the water. While the "big dog" in town lost site of what a haunted house should be and their price continues to climb, the had Morgue perfected what they all should be: dark, scary, and priced reasonable! That's why this past Saturday was a letdown.

I'll start out by saying that we went when it was VERY busy. I've never seen so many people at this haunt before. Word of mouth has always been the best promotion, and this was proof. We were in group 261, which I believe was the last group. At $10 a ticket and between 4 to 6 in a group, that's pretty darn good for a haunt that does very little advertising! We arrived at 11pm, and took the walk through the woods which is normally one of the scariest parts of the night. Several times we saw a cluster of actors standing around talking. Sometimes they tried to scare us (a little late as we already saw and heard them), while others would just let us walk by. Several times I heard "We want b**bies", which I did NOT appreciate.

We came into the clearing, and waited over two hours! The wait did not bother me, sometimes that's the norm. They have the big bonfire, which is nice. And they have the snack bar, which is also nice. I question some of the music selection this year. Lots of Marilyn Manson, which I guess is ok. But 'When I Grow Up' by the Pussycat Dolls? Come on!!! You could tell it was getting to be the end of the night, as they were rushing people through. Near the end, they basically just said, 'everybody come in'. We were tipped off by security that this was going to happen, so I was ready. We ran for it, so we were the 1st to go through.

I'll say it right now, I was a little disappointed because it didn't seem to have changed at all from last year. If there were changes, I didn't see any... and I went through it twice last year because we loved it so much. Another disappointment was the actors. I know it was the end of the night, and they were tired and ready go to home. But they should have known that the remaining people were being sent through (at least 60 people!), and they should have been ready. Even the automated scares seemed to be off... as they would trigger as we were already past them.

Much of the house was dark and non-eventful. I've always said in my glorious past reviews of this house how I LOVED how dark it was. Now, I'm eating my words. When you're walking around in the dark for a long time and nothing happens, it's not very exciting. When we actually did walk into a room that had actors in it, they were all sitting around talking, some even with their masks off. After this happening multiple times, I started trying to scare THEM. I think I succeeded once.

Once again, the house ends with a big slide. At this point I was more than ready to get out and go home. It was only at this time, that someone actually scared me... because I wasn't expecting it. I've been waiting all year for this house to open, and I was extremely disappointed with it. I'm not sure we'll go again, and that bums me out.

Summary

pros:

- The guy doing the announcing of numbers. He did a good job of staying in character with his voice and what he said.
- Great location
- Bonfire
- Decent snack bar

cons:
- Very little (if anything) changed
- Actors who took away from the scare instead of adding to it.
- Selling novelties that light up at the snack bar, even though they ask you don't bring anything that lights up into the house. Duh!

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by XxskaterxX after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've decided since I had such a great time after my visit on saturday that I am going to go again but this friday. It is really great and I dont know what that person is saying about there are rooms with no actors. They are obviously lying there may be 1 hallway you may go down that doesnt have any actors but come on out of all the hallways there are us customers need a break from the fear. Last saturday I spent about 30-45 minutes in that haunt getting shivers down my spine not knowing what to expect next. I also loved the hill billy room that had the port-o-john in there with fake crap everywhere inside it and the best part when you open the door you get sprayed with water. I recommend this haunt to everyone. I am going back this weekend for another nights of terror.

Summary

I recommend this haunt to any and everyone. The actors are always on task and in character and they actually dont stop spooking up on you until you scream or get frightened.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Jim Forquer after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place is sure to give you the CREEPS!! The actors, horror make-up, costuming, and special effects were incredible. The attention to detail throughout all three haunts will blow your mind. We had heard Wisconsin Feargrounds was one of the best and just had to experience it for ourselves. The trip from Orlando was money well spent. We're 'dying' to return next year.

Summary

Morgan's Manor had horror at every turn and just when you thought you were safe, you enter Morgana's Torment. Oh my God--don't let your guard down!! You'll have terror coming at you from every angle. Freaky's Funhouse was absolutely awesome--terror in 3-D is way cool.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by lycan after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got there around 7:45 and there was a small line waiting to purchase tickets. We waited by the bonfire until about 9:00 when they called our number. The scenes were ok at first but then they just got better and better the farther we went. There were plenty of actors who did a great scare and went above and beyond what I was expecting. Overall it took about 40 minutes to go through and it was well worth the 18 dollars we paid.

Summary

Great experience and will most likely attend again.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by spookyeventlover after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

As an event lover, I like to visit many locations. Never have I been so amused with what was done with Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield. It was a fun scene with wagon rides, a small but well prepared concession stand serving different types of caramel apples, popcorn, apple cider and other goodies, and a larger store. There is a pumpkin patch with all sorts of sizes and shapes for the yearly jack-o'-lanterns and even a cozy animal zone! Although I came in the evening to be scared, I thought I should mention that during the day this was a nice place to take the family. There was a story-teller near a bonfire area. The short wait for the cornfield was well worth it. Once inside the maze, I was quickly swept into a volley of scenes that sparked the imagination! There were spiders, a cabin scene with a twisted redneck, novelty movie characters, horrible anti-clowns and many more ghoulish delights. Riddled inside an amazing set of props and ridged motion sensors, I found that there were more than a dozen or so actors that popped out and attempted to give a good scare. I was especially impressed with the amount of detail that these characters had in their scenes! When I got to the end, I found myself wanting to go through again.

Summary

I was impressed by the level of security when they pulled a group of rowdy teenagers out for disrupting the show. They threw corn throughout the field and were very unruly in front of my group, so I was very relieved when I saw that they were pulled out only a short way into the maze. Overall, I liked the attempts the actors had tried to use to both scare me and stay in character, and it seemed like there was a lot of effort put into this establishment. All of the employees I had asked for assistance were very helpful. If you are interested and have not seen what this place was like, I suggest you give it a chance. I did, and I was not disappointed.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by bluebliss909 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

WOW the lines! Fortunately we were able to purchase the VIP tickets, which saved us a lot of wait time. We entered the woods through a special area and waited for the haunted train to come back to its station. We VIPs got a special car that had strobe lights and fog, along with actors.

Once off the train we came to a bonfire with various chairs and benches around. We were then offered coffee, hot chocolate and gift bags. Since a few of us got a drink, we ended up sitting around the fire for a while. When we wanted to leave someone immediately came to lead us towards Torment.

Torment- This haunt was a little short. We entered into an area that was full of insane people with a lust for blood. The actors even interacted with us. Cool but not too scary. Once we were done we went into a certain VIP area and watched a live show that the actors preformed. Then we entered the main event.

Terror on the Fox- Great fun! The scenery was FANTASTIC! Because I was in the front of the group, the actors jumped out right in the middle of the group. Which was pretty funny because usually the most scared are in the middle. I absolutely loved the scenery that was the best part of this haunt. Also they split up the men and women of our group, effectively freaking us girls out. Then we met with another interactive actor before the haunt was over.

3rd dimension of fear- This was very cool. workers gave us 3-d glasses before we entered the house. The walls were covered in neon 3-d paint, everything popped out! there was a 3-d vortex room, actors that blended in with the walls, and everything. It was great although it could have been scarier and longer.

Summary

The lines were terrible, I am so glad that we went VIP, I highly recommend doing that. The train was fun, torment was creepy, terror on the fox was just amazingly creative, and 3rd dimension of fear was very very cool. Although I wasn't too scared others in my group were terrified! I highly recommend terror on the fox, it is for charity and it is awesome, what else can you ask for?

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by johnny (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So far, this has been the BEST haunt that I have been to - well worth the trip and well worth the money! If you itemize the cost per haunted house (3), it comes out to a bit over $8/house - people, WHERE else can you get a price like that?

Unique, scary, funny - those are three words I am using to summarize my experience.

I really don't want to give very many details away - but each house is unique in its own right. Note - the little lost girl - I don't know how she did it, but that girl was EVERYWHERE! Really freaky, and really AWESOME!

No space was wasted - and no sense left untouched - let's just say that if you are not claustrophobic, you may be after the second house!

BUT - I will give some details on the final haunt - "Freaky's Funhouse". This haunt will attack your visuals, people - in 3D! Everything from the floor to the ceiling is in 3D (as long as you wear the 3D glasses, of course!)

Signage / Visibility / Location



The location is not hard to find – the directions located on www.hauntedwisconsin.com and the haunt’s website are good. Also, MapQuest is useful as well. It is located next to the Waukesha airport. There is a big sign for the Waukesha Expo center – that is the location of Wisconsin Feargrounds. Follow the little signs in the parking lot and look for the group of cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Dress appropriately for those chilly October evenings. The wait area is semi-outside; it is covered, but open. The evening of this review, the temperature was in the upper 40’s, low 50’s (which is PERFECT haunting weather!). There is also a fog machine running from behind an old hearse – WAY cool effect on an AWESOME October haunt evening.

Actors' Performance


The "scare-actors" were really into character and did not break character at all. You will definitely see some unique characters and not the usual cloaked creatures. Again, the performance was VERY good; my props to the half-dead lady that said I was her favorite, and she was in love with me – hey, don't hate the player; hate the game! Not much else can be said – I was impressed by ALL of the actors' performances. Worth mentioning was also the "Beatlejuice-esque" character, as well as the lost little girl, who seemed to be EVERYWHERE. A bit of advice; if she offers you her dolly, TAKE IT!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes and props are professional quality. You can tell that the owner has invested a lot of heart (and money!)

Length


Three haunted houses – took our group well over a half hour to complete.

Crowd Control


The crowd control was very well done. The staff was friendly, courteous, as well as professional and very organized.

Most Memorable Moment


The sheer SIZE and QUALITY of these HAUNTS! Yes, people, I said HAUNTS as in plural! This is, IMHO, the best value for the money this Halloween season! For a mere $25, you get THREE high-quality haunted houses!

Summary

For those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 10+-clown haunt, meaning there were well over 10 clowns present, especially in the final haunt (of the three) "Freaky’s Funhouse" – hello – FUNHOUSE =clowns, people! All in all, this was a very good haunted house, with very good actors and props. Purchase the three haunt pass and enjoy an evening of fun! Happy Hauntings! Johnny

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by bluebliss909 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

To begin with the haunted experience a woman started to tell us about the 'history' of the farm. The first haunt is the mineshaft. They separated our group into twos and sent us off. I liked the idea of it, although I was pretty sure it was fake, I think it went under ground. I wish that this part was longer.

After we got out there was a tractor with a trailer waiting for us. Unfortunately there was no one there to tell us to get on the tractor so we stood there for a while confused. Once on the trailer a speaker began to pour out scary music and voices. The ride was pretty long. A couple actors got on the trailer. Although the surroundings could have had more actors and props, the woods and the river were pretty and scary at the same time. Then the tractor pulled us into the middle of the woods.

A man was waiting by a bonfire to instruct us through our adventure. (they broke us into two again!) This was the scariest part. Because we were sitting in anticipation for frights we were even more anxious. The woods were pitch black. Save for a trail lit by rope lights, there was no light. I've never gotten as scared as I was in this part, and the actor didn't even do anything that I haven't encountered dozens of times before! I think it was the surroundings that scared me the most.

Once out of the woods we went into a haunted corn maze. It was okay. Yet again there was no one there to control the patrons. We ran into a bunch of other groups of people. Although I'm sure the maze could have been better the actors were too busy trying to scare the people before us that they missed us i think.

Once we got out of the maze we thought that our experience was over, even though we had purchased the combo ticket. I took the initiative to ask someone about this, and we were instructed to enter the corn at a different part that wasn't lit up at all. I wouldn't recommend the maze. It was really hard to go through, and we couldn't find the non lit markers that we were supposed to locate. There also weren't any actors in the maze to scare us either

Summary

I really enjoyed the main event! I would recommend to the owners to place at least one person between each haunt so that they don't get confused. I wouldn't recommend the the corn maze unless you feel like walking for a long time.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cagagnon509 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The waiting area for lines was great, they had a granny character who totally reminded me of the creepy old lady down the street. Morgan Manor was traditional and had many different scenes and spooky sights to see. I thought the grossest room was the bathroom - a hillbilly plumber made it even worse. Morgana's Torment had many creepy actors I was so scared of them all. Freaky's Funhouse was so different than anything I have ever seen - the 3D glasses made it even better.

Summary

I would have to say that all 3 haunted houses were nothing short of amazing! All of the actors were on cue & had great makeup jobs. The people that put this together have definitely stepped it up a notch in 2008. If you only make it to one haunted house this year go to Wisconsin Feargrounds because you will get the most for your money.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by pierce after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

i came all the way from florida to see this place and i am sure glad we did.
They were the best haunted houses i have ever been through. coming from were there is Halloween Horror Nights every year i thought this place was 10 times better!! it was just so fun and still scary at the same time. You would even get a good laugh at your friends and family getting really scared

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:56 p.m. CDT 1.13