ad-header-top

Newbie Review Crew Member

Char (x0char0x)

Photo of Char

Previous Reviews: 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

2008 Reviews

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Wisconsin Feargrounds

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin Feargrounds was awesome once again! They have three haunted houses all on one property and all of them just blew me away. They have the space and they know how to use it. There is little to no dead time between the scenes. They just keep giving you scare after scare.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find, it is located right off of the highway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was located inside of a heated tent which is extremely nice with these cold Wisconsin Octobers. There are also many actors walking around creeping up on people while they stood in line. It also looked like they had activities to do while you waited in line like a big jump house, but since I got there at 11pm they were already taking it down.

Actors' Performance


The actors' were absolutely incredible. They knew their parts very well and always stayed in character. They also were very unique with their scenes. The best one is probably the guy in the library!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets of this haunt were awesome. They were creepy and scary just by themselves. They used props that were very realistic. Also the sewing machine for skin was amazing!!

Length


The length of this haunt was probably about 20 minutes to go through each haunt. That's over an hour of entertainment, with just about no dead time between the scenes.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was the scene with the air compressed tarps. As you are walking the ceiling gets lower giving you the clausterphobic feeling which leads to my favorite thing haunts are incorporating this year, but I'm not going to give it all away.

Summary

Overall, Wisconsin Feargrounds did an awesome job once again. I would recommend this to anyone 15 and over.

View all Wisconsin Feargrounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was awesome once again. From the minute you walk through the doors to wait your turn to the last scene before you leave they have you screaming. This is one haunt that definitely has detailed scenes.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for this haunt was in an indoor heated area. They have actors walking around scaring you, and also a giant monster outside when you walk in.

Actors' Performance


The actors' did a very good job on their performance, they stayed in character and were pretty much always on target with their scares. There were a very areas however, where the scares were predictable but otherwise very good job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this house are very real looking. They really make you feel like in your in some horror house.

Length


It took about 20 minutes to walk through the entire place.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 14.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The name states this house perfectly. When you pull up you just see this old abandoned factory and you are unsure of whats inside just waiting for you to come in. As you are walking through the halls you never know whats around the next corner. The monsters are definitely not afraid to get in your face at this one.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. They have a huge sign on the building that you can easily see a block away.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


When I went there wasn't any wait but it is inside and heated!

Actors' Performance


I think they could have used a little bit more actors in their haunt, but the ones they do have stayed in character all the way through. They also weren't afraid to get in your face.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props in this haunt were very well done. I especially loved the tarot card room, very cool!

Length


It took about 15 minutes to walk through the entire thing.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would have to be the tarot card room. This was very unique and I loved the set up.

Summary

Overall, this is a very good put together haunt. I would recommend this to anyone 12 and over!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Mars Haunted House is located in an actual haunted building. From the beginning they tell you the story behind the building, as your walking through you may even see shadows that really aren't supposed to be.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. You can see the line standing around the corner and the strobe lights flashing above the door.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for this haunt is outside with a few actors outside working the line.

Actors' Performance


I would recommend putting a few more actors in this haunt. The actors they did have came out of character a few times during the haunt.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Most of the scenes in this haunt were set up very well to resemble the actual scenes.

Length


The length of this haunt was about 10 minutes.

Crowd Control


Mars Haunted House I feel needs to work on crowd control a little bit. I went very close to their closing time so it seemed like they sent everyone in at one time. My group ran into other groups 3 times during the haunt.

Summary

Overall, I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 10.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first time out to the House of Bathory and I will definitely be attending this one again!!! They have the most unique scares and props. They have scared from the moment you walk into the door and the moment you leave.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait for this haunt I would say is relatively short, it was about a 20 minute wait. They have props in the windows and music to listen to while you wait.

Actors' Performance


The actors' performance was excellent. They were always in character and always on target with their scares. They were very in your face and interacted with you to make you feel like you were actually a part of their scene.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this haunt were absolutely amazing. \They were set up and looked like the scenes they really were supposed to be.

Length


The length of this haunt was about 30 minutes with almost no dead time. You never knew what was waiting for you around the corner.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well! Not once during the entire haunt did we run into another group, everyone was spaced out well.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was the slide. It came out of no where.

Summary

Overall, this haunt was one of the best I have ever been to. I would recommend this to anyone 16 and over!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Meadowbrook is a very fun and scary cornfield. You can tell right away that they put their heart and soul into this.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find, there are signs along the highway to help guide you along.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait for this haunt took about an hour or so. However, tthey have a very unique wait area. While you wait for your number to be called you can sit around a bonfire and listen to a man tell you ghost stories about the land that the cornfield sits on.

Actors' Performance


I would recommend a lot more actors in this haunt, but the ones they did have were great. They always stayed in character and were always on cue.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets in this haunt are very well put together. They have them all set in the right locations and are very scary!!

Length


This haunt is probably one of the longest ones I've ever been through. It took about 45 minutes to walk through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well. They are very good at when to send groups through to make sure you don't run into another group.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment at this haunt would have to be the "orange" room without giving too much away it definitely makes you feel lost and confused.

Summary

Overall, this was a very well put together haunt. I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 12 at night, and perfect for the entire family during the day.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls is definitely one of the better haunts in Wisconsin. They have you scared the moment you walk into the door, from the wait area to the transitions between the houses to the exit. They also added on a new addition this year, A Theater of the Absurb. Its all under blacklight and 3D.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt was kind of hard to find. There wasn't much signage until you actually turned onto hwy Y, but then it was right there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was in a huge barn. There were a couple line entertainment actors, as well as, photo props to take memorable halloween pictures with. They also offer the burial simulator ride while you wait!!!

Actors' Performance


The Actor's Performance was very good!!! You would have really thought some of them were lost souls! Everyone was right on target with their scares. The only thing I would change is less direction from the actors as to where to go.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Theater of the Absurb had excellent props and scenes. The walls of each room were awesome and very well done. The Theater of Lost Souls also had excellent props and sets. Right from the beginning your amazed with it.

Length


I would say it took about 30 minutes to walk through both houses!

Crowd Control


The crowd was very well controlled, and there wasn't much of a wait time.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would be one of the first scenes. I haven't seen this prop at too many haunts and its definitely an added bonus. It is definitely not for people who are claustrophic!!!

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 15.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

View my 2020 Reviews




October 29th, 2020 6:03 p.m. CDT 12.12