ad-header-top

2021 Review Crew

Our Review Crew has been providing honest and unbiased feedback on Wisconsin haunted attractions since 2008! Some of our members have been with us since the beginning and we absolutely love having them as part of our team.

Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Paige (PaigeBerrier)
Senior Member

Photo of Paige

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Kaylyn (hex_on_you)
Senior Member

Photo of Kaylyn

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Brett (wm)
Senior Member

Photo of Brett

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Expand Collapse

Terror on the Fox

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Wednesday, October 27, 2021 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This year marks the 25th anniversary of Terror On The Fox. It also marks my 10th year of writing reviews for Haunted Wisconsin. As things currently stand, this will be my last year as a reviewer for this great resource. So it feels right to do one final review of TOTF. My last review of this haunt, and I’m confident it's my last time attending it.

One thing to note: I originally tried to attend TOTF on Saturday, October 23rd, but the lines were extremely long. Instead I attended during the week and there were no lines at all. Seems like I made the right decision, as I’ve seen many complaints from those that attended on the weekend and were waiting hours in line… even with a fast pass. When I attended I was told that the same amount of actors were working during the week as the weekend. If that’s the case, TOTF is extremely understaffed. There was also an escape room on the property, but it was not open. There were numerous times throughout our visit where we were expecting a scare, but nothing happened.

TOTF has been around a long time, but the actual house structure has been around a lot longer. Whomever built it knew what they were doing and designed one hell of a haunted house! I have many fond memories visiting this house as a teenager. Then again as a young adult when it was on the east side of town. I even worked in it once! Through the years it was relocated several times before landing at what I believe to be it’s final resting place: Next to the National Railroad Museum. It’s changed hands numerous times as well, most noticeably owned by the Oneida Casino. Currently it's run by 13th Floor Entertainment Group, which claims to be the world's largest Halloween themed entertainment company. If that’s the case, then you would assume the bar is set extremely high for a quality haunted attraction.

My last review of TOTF was in 2011, but I actually attended it several years ago when they were doing Blackout. That was their highly disappointing lights out event. I did not review that visit, simply because there was nothing to write about. It was packed with (too many) people walking around in the dark, bumping into each other. The biggest strength of TOTF is their eye candy, which you can’t see when stumbling around in darkness. So this year as I attend, the lights are on and I have more to write about.

Your trip starts out with another staple of TOTF; the “Terror Train”. Visitors ride the train to the TOTF grounds, with a few actors on the train to scare you along the way. Taking a train through a wooded area and by a creek at night is something everybody should do at least once in their life. Upgrades to the train through the years have included lights, music and a huge skull with glowing eyes on the front of the train. It’s 100% unique to this haunt, but pretty much the same as it always has been for 25 years. On this visit there was one actor that did a GREAT job! He was making all sorts of crazy noises and did a good job of getting in people’s comfort zone. The other female actor was trying to have conversations with multiple people, but was very hard to hear with her covid mask on.

Once exiting the train there is another line that forms for their cemetery. This looks AMAZING. The church-like building is lit perfectly and it feels like you’re on the set of a big budget horror film. There are a few actors roaming around as you wait in line, but unfortunately hardly any as you walk through the woods itself. There were so many incredible things to look at, but the scares are few and far between. It was disappointing.

After your walk in the woods you find yourself in front of the great house itself. So here I am again, standing in front of this building that has held in millions of screams throughout it’s lifetime. I’ve seen it at least 20 times in my lifetime, but it still holds me in awe. There’s a VIP area off to your left for those that upgraded, but I can’t take my eyes off the house. Another line forms in front of it, which allows you to watch the actors in front of the house while you’re waiting. I guess you could say this is another staple of TOTF: the actors in front of the house putting on a show to lights and music. Since there was barely a line this night, we were ushered into the front door.

I find myself walking incredibly slow, trying to take it all in. That unfortunately allowed for the group behind us to catch up to us. There’s so much to look at, and it’s all lit perfectly. If there was an award for best looking haunt, TOTF would win every year. Each room is PACKED with eye candy. There were a few actors that were able to scare us, but there were also many areas with little to no actors. They use air cannons throughout, which had me jumping each time. In one room a TV distracted me enough to where I didn’t see an actor lunge at me until it was too late. It was effective, and those type of distracted scares could easily be done throughout the haunt to elevate the fear factor.

We walked back to our vehicle feeling let down. I can only imagine if we would have upgraded or waited in line hours to walk out feeling like that. There's so much potential at the TOTF, it's a shame to walk out feeling anything but entertained.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Super easy to find and you can see it from a mile away. In the past this was a great location because there wasn’t much around it so it had a creepy vibe. Now there’s a big hotel next to it and some other buildings with bright parking lots. It lost it’s charm driving up to it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are really three separate wait areas. On a busy night, you’ll easily be waiting hours in total. Going on a weeknight, the only thing we had to wait for was the train to come pick us up. There was no entertainment in the 1st line, but there were some actors for the 2nd and 3rd line. Watching the house while you wait in the 3rd line is a lot of fun.

Actors' Performance


This was a mixed bag, with some actors doing a great job and some not so much. The costumes were all great, it all boils down to performance.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Easily the biggest strength of TOTF. Nobody can touch their visuals that they create. They have a big budget unlike the smaller haunts, and they deliver in this one category.

Length


It takes about 10 minutes to ride the train, 10 minutes to walk through the woods / cemetery, and about 20 minutes to make your way through the house. The time you spend waiting in line can easily add hours onto that during their busy nights.

Crowd Control


The group behind us caught up to us pretty quickly, but that’s all on me. I wanted to take in each room, and they just wanted to get through them as quickly as possible. I can imagine on a busy night it would be a totally different situation.

Most Memorable Moment


Being in front of the house taking everything in. Then walking into it, and having them close the door behind you. It’s extremely intimidating!

Summary

Tons of great things to look at, but extremely light on scares. That has always been a running theme for TOTF, and I’m not sure why that is. For amount of time and money you spend here, they really need to up their scare game. You can't keep claiming you're one of the best in the country or even in Wisconsin when people are leaving disappointed.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

The Hill Has Eyes

by hex_on_you (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

From beginning to end the actors and staff at The Hill Has Eyes have created not only a top notch haunted attraction--but a full experience for their patrons. This was my second time visiting The Hill Has Eyes, the first being 4 years ago, and I was pleasantly surprised that a lot has changed; the whole venue had a different layout and feel. This haunt is frequently sold out, and is completely outdoors, so be sure to plan ahead. Our group ordered our tickets online the Wednesday before our Saturday visit. Buying your tickets online and in a group has its perks--like $5 off each ticket and group rewards. Purchasing ahead of time also expedited our wait time in line. This haunt from ticket line to exit took about an hour and a half. When you purchase your tickets online, you pick a time slot to arrive between. Again, just plan ahead when planning to visit. With this being an entirely outdoor experience be sure to dress appropriately for the weather and wear appropriate foot wear. The change in elevation and walking paths means you need sturdy boots or shoes to navigate safely.

We bought our tickets for the 8-10pm time slot, which means you can arrive at any time during this period. When you arrive they check your online tickets and you receive a wristband with a letter on it. When you arrive to the large outdoor queue area, the DJ will call your letter and instruct you where to go when it is your time. This event has a very large outdoor queue area full of burn barrels, fire pits, a food truck, adult beverages, and a huge array of live entertainers. The level of fun and fear at this attraction are both very high--we didn't see many teenage-or-under guests, mainly an adult crowd, which we felt was appropriate for this haunt.

The Hill Has Eyes boast four different attractions. I have been to many haunts with a 'main' attraction, and accessory attractions which sometimes suffer in quality. That is not the case for The Hill Has Eyes. From queue line, and through each and every attraction there was a fine attention to detail in acting, props, fx and scenes. There was no lack of live actors either, the waiting area and each and every attraction was filled with live creatures waiting for you, sometimes in the creepiest places.

FAILED ESCAPE

Entering the woods through a seemingly abandoned cabin feels like the beginning of a horror film. Once inside the woods we were stalked by mutant hillbillies. I loved the change of elevation throughout this portion of the haunt. From staircases to bridges, to walking through winding paths in the forest, you never knew what was going to be behind each tree. For me outdoor, wooded haunts always give me the creeps. I absolutely hate (yet love) when a deranged, seemingly possessed creature comes crawling at you down a forest path, and of course we found that here!

HUNGER HOLLOW

The actors in this attraction were wonderful at interacting with guests. I was invited by the bartender to stay behind to be a head on a platter, which entertained our whole group. Look out above and below, as actors in this attraction were adventurous in their scare locations. Much like the first haunt, the elevation changes and outdoor nature of these attractions adds to the fear factor--this isn't a four walls attraction. You never know where the next scare is lurking.

CARNIVORE

Fear of clowns? Be prepared to be scared! This fun attraction started with a decent into a well constructed mineshaft and through a topsy-turvy tunnel. Kudos to the engineer of that tunnel-- it was by far one of my favorite effects in all of the haunts. This whole attraction played on the fear of carnivals, clowns, and a freak-show like feel. We loved the scenes and entertainers throughout this haunt--and we got a bit dizzy heading through one of their effects!

DEAD END

The Hill Has Eyes saved the best for last in my opinion! It takes quite a bit for me to jump and be scared in a haunt, and I will reluctantly admit that they got me--good job! Again, there was no shortage of live creatures throughout this portion. The Viking-like actors stood out to us in this portion, especially the one behind the counter. His low, gravely, demonic voice gave me the chills! Again, those possessed night crawlers come out of no where--so watch out!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We used navigation to get us to the location and nearly drove by the entrance--there was just one small banner near the road so be sure to keep your eyes open when you know you're getting close! When we arrived in the parking lot it was quite full, and it wasn't completely clear where to go. Some additional, well lighted signage would do this location some good, as it can be tricky to find where you're supposed to go, especially if you've never been to this haunt before.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Where. Do. I. Begin. Wow. This was by far one of the most entertaining and enjoyable wait experiences I have ever had in all my years of haunt-going. This location is entirely outdoors, and in the past they had a tent for waiting, so when I saw that it was outdoors this year, I was a bit nervous. Those nerves quickly changed to excitement when we saw a food truck, full bar, multiple burning barrels and a large fire pit, and a DJ all waiting for us in the queue area. That isn't all that was waiting--I don't believe I've never seen so many live actors and creatures lurking about in a waiting area before! And these weren't your typical creatures. They had a steam-punk, freak-show feel and truly interacted with their guests and performed unhuman-like "tricks" for them. Make sure you watch your back--you never know where another actor may be hiding or what they have up their sleeve--or their nose!

Actors' Performance


Again, incredible. Each and every character took their role seriously and stayed in character the entire time. There's no "boo" scares or one-and-done scares here. You will be invited to become one with the scene and stalked through the woods. Some haunts with multiple attractions have a "main" attraction, and the added attractions are just that--an after thought. Not at The Hill Has Eyes. Each of the four attractions was well staffed with live actors and had a story line that carried through beginning to end. All four attractions were treated as the main attraction at this location.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


From the queue area and through each of the four attractions the actors costumes and makeup, the props, and the scenes were a wonderful mixture of a classic haunt and a modern fear experience. The change in elevation with the use of staircases and bridges, as well as the detailed walkthroughs, were incredible--especially given the entirely outdoor nature of this haunt. What I loved most was that this attraction could go from a mutant hillbilly story line to a deranged carnival without losing out on their detailed scenes or interactive fx.

Length


Plan ahead with this haunt. From ticket line to exiting the last attraction was close to an hour and a half.

Crowd Control


This was a very well organized haunt. When you arrive and check in with your online tickets, you receive a wrist band with a letter printed on it. The DJ in the queue area will call your letter and tell you where to enter the first haunt. With the amount of live actors, security, and staff spaced throughout the wait area and at the entrances to each haunt, we always felt we knew where we were going, and if there were any issues I have no doubt we would have found the help we needed. This haunt was also very well paced. We never felt rushed or crowded going through the attractions.

Most Memorable Moment


Huge shout out to the entertainment in the queue area--they have some tricks up their...erhm...noses. They'll be sure to "light" up your evening for sure.

Summary

This was definitely one of the more entertaining haunts that I have been to in awhile. I felt that everywhere I looked there was something creepy waiting to be found. With this being an outdoor haunt, be sure to dress appropriately and also be sure to plan ahead as this haunt frequently sells out. If you're looking for a night full of fun, fear, and food trucks, this haunt is the spot to find it all.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

The Realm of Darkness Haunted House

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

There are many haunted houses that you see and hear about every season. They invest a lot of money in advertising, but do they really live up to the hype? That’s why I personally love finding the smaller, lesser known haunts in the area. They are hungry and have something to prove! The Realm of Darkness, located in Kaukauna, is one of those smaller haunts and has everything a great haunted house should be!

It was a chilly but clear Saturday night, perfect for seeking out those creative fiends that are looking to give us a few good scares. Kaukauna is pretty much right in between Green Bay and Appleton, so it’s a short 15 minute drive from either direction.

This haunt has a perfect mix of dimly lit rooms in addition to pitch black areas that you need to rely on your senses to get though. You start off in an Elevator seemed to have a malfunction. And so begins your descent into the Realm of Darkness! The next room was a surreal room of lasers and fog. It almost looks like we were in a swamp! A few rooms here are more entertaining than scary; like the dentist office or the Christmas themed room. There was a great maze that had us going in circles! The only lighting for the maze was a strobe light that cut in and out. When it was out, you couldn’t see a thing!

We exited the building, thinking we were done, but was another maze with more creatures lurking about! And just so you don’t forget about them after your frightful night, one last surprise waiting for you…

Signage / Visibility / Location


There wasn’t really any signs until you come up to the event. But if there’s an award for BEST SIGN, ROD should get it! It’s location on Wisconsin Ave seems a bit odd at first, in the middle of retail properties on one side and residential on the other. The maps app on my phone found it easily enough.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait line is in what was once a parking lot. Visitors that attended for the 1st time were confused if they should stand in line or head to the ticket window located in the back corner of the lot. There were a few actors that mingled throughout the crowd as they waited. They sold food and drinks while you waited and also had a nice fire going.

Actors' Performance


All actors did a great job! Some were funny, but most hit their marks and delivered the scares that you’re paying to get!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Each room in the haunt has its own unique theme and different from the next. Good use of fog, air cannons and sound. The props were well done and the lighting and strobes were PERFECT. Some haunts tend to over-due it, but less is more!

Length


It took us about 12 minutes to get through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


There was only once where we bumped into another group inside the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Easily the end of the haunt. Just as you let out a sigh of relief, they get you one last time!

Summary

This haunt has the perfect mix of scares and laughs! Fingers crossed that this haunt continues to get bigger and better. You’ll highly enjoy your trip here, and also enjoy spending less than half of what you’d pay at one of the bigger haunts.

View all The Realm of Darkness Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on Rural Street

by hex_on_you (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Terror on Rural Street is back! After a year off in 2020, Terror on Rural Street has returned, and they have a few new tricks up their sleeve! I was so excited to see one of my "staple" haunts return this year, and with having a year off, I was excited to see what has all changed. It seems as though everyone else in the area was excited too--the line for the haunt was one of the longest I have seen for this location. Luckily, the haunt has plenty of parking, and a large, heated indoor waiting area with full concessions, including adult beverages. New this year--there is a decorated outdoor 'courtyard' open for waiting as well. This haunt features many live actors, starting in the waiting line and extending all the way through the haunt. Special shout out to the larger-than-life devil haunting and chasing patrons both in the line and in the waiting areas! This haunt has both regular admission and VIP admission to accelerate your waiting time. We opted for the VIP experience to skip the line and get inside faster! As always, Terror on Rural Street is an affordable haunt at only $15 for regular admission, and all of their proceeds go to the local community.

Terror on Rural street is very well organized from ticket booth to waiting lines. Upon entering the doors you are sorted into groups and have the opportunity to take a group picture, which is then featured on their Facebook page and can be downloaded free of charge. One of the things I was most excited for was to see what changed, and I was let down a bit when I realized a majority of the first half of the house was very familiar from years past. What didn't disappoint was the amount of live actors, the scenes and makeup, and how some of the actors truly got into their role and made the scene and room their own. Look for the incredible special fx makeup and combination of classic scares and modern, life like props. Once we entered what I believe to be the 'second' half of the haunt, we were surprised to see a lot of changes! The second half definitely had a 'theme' going, so all of you with coulrophobia--watch out! The second half had some amazing new scenes, and was definitely more 'fun' then scary. They did a great job of tying in all of your senses--see if you can sniff out what I'm talking about! Overall, we were excited to see Terror on Rural Street with their doors open again, and the teaser of 'new' mixed with the familiarity of old has us on edge to where Terror can go in the future.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural Street is located off of Highway 60 in Hartford, near the Schauer Arts Center and the Hartford Recreation Department. There is plenty of signage pointing you in the right direction, and there is a large, well lit parking lot to hold all of the haunt-goers.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Terror on Rural Street is one of few haunts with a large, heated, indoor waiting area with full concessions including adult beverages. You won't be bored waiting here--and your scares may start in the ticket line!

Actors' Performance


Some actors really embraced their role! Some left a bit to be desired. Kudos to the creepy clowns and their rat infested popcorn, and the silent but creepy grim reaper!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Terror on Rural Street has a great combination of classic haunt and some modern day props and fx. Some of their props I had a hard time distinguishing if they were and actor or a prop! They truly activate all of your senses, with moving sets, creepy sounds, and enticing scents.

Length


From entering the house to end took us roughly 15-20 minutes in length.

Crowd Control


Terror is a well organized haunt, which is to be expected for how long they have been in operation. Even with large crowds, security and staff presence was well noted, ticket lines and group lines were well organized, and even with a small group we didn't catch up to the group ahead of us while inside the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


There is a very large, new prop in the second half of the house that we loved. I don't want to give it away, but I think you will know it when you see it!

Summary

Overall, Terror on Rural Street remains a staple haunt in our household. We love that it is non-profit and benefits our community, and we love that it is affordable and filled with volunteer, live actors. We are excited to see what the future holds for Terror, and would love to see them make more changes and mix up the sets. This is a haunt to put on your list for this year and for years to come!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Dominion of Terror

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After a horrible and unwanted year off from haunts, I was so excited to head out to Dominion of Terror (DOT) this past Friday! For years now it has been one of my all-time favorite haunts in Wisconsin: it's three stories are chock full of surprises and scares, and I absolutely love the work they do for their community as a non-profit, volunteer-run haunt.

I went Friday at around 8:00 PM with a group of 4 total, and we elected for the speedpasses, which brought us quickly into the interior portion of the line. It was a pretty busy night but we were able to get in in about 30 minutes, which was absolutely fine with us and well worth the additional cost. DOT also has a great waiting area that is both indoors and outdoors, with a concession stand near the tickets and two other little gift areas with fun stuff to buy. They did a good job with their spacing and the majority of the time we didn't encounter any other groups inside the haunt.

DOT is a huge haunt, with three stories full of differently themed rooms and areas, ranging from creepy doctors, rednecks, weird dolls, and so much more. I love the variety in themes as well as room styles - some are mazes or trick areas, others tight corridors, and in general it just keeps you guessing. I experienced several good jump scares and there are lots of spooky sets to look at. All of the actors are super committed as well, although I did think they could benefit from just a few more. Overall, a definite favorite that always brings the fear and of course, the fun.

Signage / Visibility / Location


DOT is more visible than ever with a big, lighted sign on top of their factory-like building. Ticket and waitings areas are clearly visible, as is parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I think they do a great job of this at DOT - as I mentioned, the waiting area has several opportunities for shopping and is both outdoors and indoors in case of weather. They have ample staff around to clear things up for the guests and of course, actors doing their thing!

Actors' Performance


I thought they did a great job and were super committed to their roles - I also love how there always seems to be such a variety in the types of people acting, from kids to older people. I thought there were a few areas that seemed like they could use some more people, but overall they did an awesome job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


They do an AWESOME job of sets and props at DOT - each room is really intricate and unique, with a new layout and path every year. I look forward to seeing what new things they come up with year after year - really creative.

Length


This haunt is nice and long - 3 stories, dozens of rooms, and tons of different areas. It took us about 30 minutes to get through.

Crowd Control


Good - they had good control over the timing and the group sizes.

Most Memorable Moment


The tight corridor with the shrouded figures - they did a similar thing a few years ago and it freaked me out just as much this year!

Summary

An amazing haunt that is always worth the money and time - I really enjoy every visit I've made to them over the years and love the heart they put into the haunt!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first adventure to Spooks on Spurr's Mansion & Forest of Freaks and it is officially one of my favorites! There are many things to love about this attraction, but I will do my best to keep them separate. You will need a GPS to find this one and the closest "big city" is Appleton at about 30 minutes away and Green Bay about 45 minutes. I am so glad I went out on a limb and made the drive to find this hidden gem.

The second you step out of your vehicle (the walkway to the ticket booth has surprises and a short mazes) until you return, it is non-stop entertainment. For just $5, you can come listen to the live bands, enjoy a huge selection of treats (with an on site bar and ATM) and hang out around the HUGE bonfire. As soon as we purchased our tickets, we were given numbers on the back and allowed to enjoy the entertainment until they called our number to enter the Mansion. This was the first time I WANTED to wait because the band and food was excellent! Alas, our number was called quickly and we headed to the Mansion entrance. The setting of the Mansion is in an 1842 old brick farmhouse, which is enough without the props to make your skin crawl! We were paired up with another group and consistently warned that the actors WILL touch you! The house did not disappoint as it incorporated many different phobia's and a lot of jump scares. Expect actors to grab you, floors to move and walls to come in on you. The sets were unique and very well executed with no common theme other then making sure you feel uncomfortable. The house was about 18 minutes in length and had no down time. Plenty of actors fill the rooms and halls and there are even plenty of animatronics strategically placed. You can not miss the giant slide that brings you to the exit and back to the main entertainment area.

Next, we jumped aboard a trailer pulled by a tractor over flame lit bridges to the "Forest of Freaks". The haunted forest has been around longer then the house, so it is natural that it was slightly superior to the house. It is not your typical "trail" through a woods, it has far more props and sets/scenes then any haunted trail I have personally ever been too. There is no down time in the Forest, and the actors can also "touch you" (and they will) throughout. I will not pretend that I wasn't scared, I shrieked a lot throughout the Forest. Crowd control in the forest was excellent and the actors always remained in character. It took us about 15 minutes to make it through to the end. We were so happy to board the tractor back to the main area, so we could catch our breath!

In Summary, I highly recommend this attraction to anyone looking for an evening of haunted fun! Live entertainment, excellent food selection, onsite bar, haunted woods and it is all topped off with a creepy 1800's mansion as its backdrop. If you don't mind being touched and want some really good scares, make sure to add Spooks on Spurr to your list!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Not a lot of signage until you are close. Use your GPS!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Excellent! 5 Stars for fun. There were plenty of ghouls wandering the property and the entertainment is so good that you don't even mind waiting until your number is called.

Actors' Performance


Excellent! Kids are some of the best actors and they did an amazing job!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are a lot of different scenes/props and special effects throughout BOTH attractions. Expect the unexpected and then some!

Length


About 18 minutes in the mansion and 15 in the forest!

Crowd Control


We never ran into any other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I can not share or it would give it away!

Summary

I highly recommend this attraction to anyone looking for an evening of haunted fun! Live entertainment, excellent food selection, onsite bar, haunted woods and it is all topped off with a creepy 1800's mansion as its backdrop. If you don't mind being touched and want some really good scares, make sure to add Spooks on Spurr to your list!

View all Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Evil Falls House of Tormented Souls

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Deep in the Northwoods of Wisconsin you will find the town of Eagle River, one of the most popular destinations in the fall. Known for festivals and beautiful fall colors, this town also hosts one of the best (and only) haunted attractions in the area! This was our first visit to the House of Tormented Souls and we were surprised to find such a thrilling haunt in the area. The House of Tormented Souls is located in the heart of Eagle River and is hard to miss, but when night falls there is very little signage! At first glance, this haunted attraction looked small, but we were surprised at how much bigger it was inside. The wait is outside with a few snack options, but there is a gas station with restrooms and plenty of treats across the street. You are sent in with just your group no matter how small and they wait until the previous group is through before sending you in. This does result in a longer wait then normal, but I would rather wait a little longer for a better experience. The actors within the House of Tormented Souls are volunteers, but we were surprised at how many there were and they always stayed in character. Every inch of the attraction was meticulously designed and there was no "down time" from start until finish. The heart pounding, non-stop action made the attraction feel a lot longer then the 10 minutes is took us to go through. There is a good mix of jump scares and theatrical acting with a lot of moments where you may find yourself lost. The best part is the use of lasers to draw your eyes away from where the ghouls might be lurking. Some come from above and below in places you typically would not expect. If you keep your eyes open long enough, you will be able to catch some horror movie related props too! In summary, I recommend traveling to this area in the fall and making The House of Tormented Souls one of your after dark adventures! It is affordable, intense and not an "all night" attraction so you have plenty of time for bonfires and apple cider after.

Signage / Visibility / Location


We only saw a sign on the building. It is located in the heart of downtown in the small town of Eagle River so it is fairly easy to find once you are there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are multiple ghouls traveling along the line outside and traditional Halloween music playing. Popcorn was available to purchase, but bathrooms and more snacks/drinks are right across the street at the gas station (they have a ton of goodies there).

Actors' Performance


A lot of actors! We expected there to be a lot of "dead space" because of how early it was in the season, but this haunt was filled with actors. In addition, they were volunteers, but you could not tell. Every actor stayed in character and provided a lot of screams!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Every inch of this location was meticulously designed. Lasers and light fog are used throughout in a great manner and there are no random dark hallways to walk through. You can expect no down time from start to finish.

Length


I was shocked when I looked at the time. Almost exactly 10 minutes start to finish, but because of their use of space and lack of down time I swear it felt more like 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


The excel in this area. You go in with your group only (even if there are only 2) and they do not send the next group in until the prior is almost out.

Most Memorable Moment


There is a big baby!

Summary

In summary, I recommend traveling to this area in the fall and making The House of Tormented Souls one of your after dark adventures! It is affordable, intense and not an "all night" attraction so you have plenty of time for bonfires and apple cider after. Very fun and look forward to returning in the future!

View all Evil Falls House of Tormented Souls reviews

Comments: (0)


View reviews & members from previous years:

2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020




November 30th, 2021 9:59 p.m. CST 13.64