ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2018 Review Crew

Our Review Crew members travel to haunted attractions throughout Wisconsin to give honest and unbiased reviews. Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Sarah (majorXpsycho)
Senior Member

Photo of Sarah

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Ted (Captn_DeathSchlager)
Senior Member

Photo of Ted

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Pete (dubstyle_2k)
Senior Member

Photo of Pete

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Brett (wm)
Senior Member

Photo of Brett

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Brittany (BrittanyAnnBula)
Junior Member

Photo of Brittany

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Kaylyn (hex_on_you)
Junior Member

Photo of Kaylyn

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Kyle (KR385)
Junior Member

Photo of Kyle

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Expand Collapse

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The most boring part of Abandoned Haunted House Complex, and my time as a member of this review crew is having to write year after year that Abandoned Haunted House Complex is THE BEST haunt in the area, and I'm including all of the Chicagoland area as well. I'm going to be honest with all of you, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is still the best, and might put more effort into making their haunt the best, or possibly they are just that good that they have to put very little effort into it, I don't know, I just know I never leave there feeling disappointed or even a little let down. The place is beginning to end sensory overload, combined with top of the line props, and a cast that plays it so cool, they deserve all of the credit they get. I will refrain from going too in-depth, I really encourage you all to check this place out and experience it for yourself.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex is split into 3 separate haunts, just like the last few seasons, Ambush, Hysteria, and Stalker. They also have a Shoot the Freak option for $5, but I've never checked that out. It seems to be just shooting a trash talker with possibly paintballs, but I haven't checked it out that closely. Ambush and Hysteria are both in the style of your normal haunt, both have multiple themes going on, and both are done as good, if not better than any other haunt in the area. These two haunts run back to back, one leading into each other. Suffice to say, going through both of these haunts you will run the gamut of what every haunt has to offer, all styles are represented. Please note, I say these run into each other, it makes for a lengthy experience. Even if you only attend for these two haunts, expect to spend an 45+ minutes inside the two haunts.

The third of the haunts at Abandoned Haunted House Complex is Stalker. Stalker was introduced a few years ago, and in my opinion has improved by leaps and bounds this season. Stalker takes you through a combination of haunted cornfields, and staged indoor areas that are very well done. There were significantly less actors in the outside areas, but I think that was done by design, walking through the corn itself is already kind of creepy, so the occasional actor jumping out makes you more on guard; when is it going to happen?! The areas where you go inside are all different themes, but all pretty great, with more top of the line actors.

I mentioned that writing reviews for Abandoned Haunted House Complex is becoming boring because they are always the best, I did however experience this with haunt with a dear friend of mine, one of my oldest friends, and she gave me a whole new appreciation for Abandoned Haunted House Complex! Let's just say that she's the jumpy, screaming type... It was a blast seeing someone experience it on that level. This being my 10th season reviewing (oh wow!), I attend these haunts and enjoy the pageantry and technical stuff more than I get spooked by them. I love it all, but I don't do much jumping, call it desensitization, or whatever, I enjoy these haunts for how much work they put into them. She made me realize just how scary this haunt really is. She told me several times throughout the night that it was indeed terrifying, I believe her, she jumped and screamed enough to prove it! We also met a father and his teenage daughter who drove up from Illinois. I talked with him for a while and he had nothing but praises for Abandoned. He recommended some south of the border haunts to me, but assured me that this was one of the best ones he had ever attended. Please do yourself a favor, experience Abandoned Haunted House Complex for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Okay, so if you're from the Kenosha/Racine area, you know getting to Abandoned Haunted House Complex is going to be a headache. If you are not, just know the Abandoned is located right off of the I94... an interstate that is completely tore up and nothing short of a mess. To access Abandoned you have to enter via the frontage road, which is NOW located behind the haunt. They have it very well lit and not hard to find, however finding an exit to get to said frontage road might prove difficult. I came from the Kenosha area, so I came up highway 11 in Racine, and it met up easily with the frontage road, I can't speak for how it is coming from the north. Abandoned always has searchlights so it's easy to find, just know you will have to jump through some hoops!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area of Abandoned Haunted House Complex is pretty great. There are roaming actors interacting with everyone, and they still have the big screen where they show videos. Personally I wish they'd show more horror related videos and less viral videos, but it's whatever. They also have a concession stand made to look like a 50s style diner. You'll love this as the neon lights go out on the N and R in the word DINER changes to say DI E !

Actors' Performance


The best of the best! I know a lot of haunts hire high school kids to work, and a lot of them are very good at what they do. Abandon's actors are as good as it gets, and if they are high schoolers, my hat goes off to each and every one of them. Regardless of who these actors are, they love what they do, they know how to unnerve you, and they are all excellent!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The best in the business. I mentioned my friend I attended with. Well, she's a funeral director, and at one point while walking through a scene involving an embalming, she turned to me and told me that they had an authentic machine they use to embalm bodies! That's how good the props at Abandoned Haunted House Complex are, they are real embalming equipment good!

Length


Expect to spend a good 2 hours there if you do all three haunts.

Crowd Control


No issues, there are parking control, and employees all over there to help out.

Most Memorable Moment


Hard to say, seeing my good friend jump and scream the whole time is what I really took away from this! It's great from start to finish!

Summary

I'll say it again, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is the best haunt in the area. If you haven't been, it's a must, if you have, as I have every season they have been open, go again! It's that good!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

The Realm of Darkness

by KR385 (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Realm of Darkness was one of my favorite haunts that I have been to this year. The haunt brought me back to my childhood memories of a traditional haunted house. At the price of only five dollars per body, this haunt is accessible to most people and will not disappoint. Our group had a better time here than at some of the more expensive haunts in the area. The haunt is run by two young gentlemen, and their creation is extremely impressive. From the well thought out scenes to the sound of a chainsaw in the distance, this haunt keeps you on your toes around every corner. The Realm of Darkness is also collecting donations to provide local families in need with turkey dinners during the holidays. I cannot wait to return next year to see what the realm has in store.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Realm of Darkness is located behind Rico's Family Restaurant in Kaukauna. The haunt was very easy to find, and there was plenty of parking along the street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Actors were scattered about from the moment you stepped into the premises. They lured you in from the street which was a great touch! After we purchased our tickets there was a very short line to wait in, but we could have also hung out around the campfire if it were cold. The line wasn't long at the time that we had arrived, and the actors kept you entertained during the wait.

Actors' Performance


The actors at The Realm of Darkness were well spaced out and covered a decent amount of area. During the whole experience, they kept our group engaged and entertained. In the future, I would love to see more dialogue to pull us further into the realm.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were extremely well put together and each and every room was well coordinated. There were a lot of creative passageways that made the haunt feel like it had a lot of thought and work put into it. Being that the haunt is only in it's fifth year, I wouldn't expect there to be any movie quality sets. For the price of five dollars per body, I would say that the quality of scenes far surpasses the attraction cost.

Length


The length of the haunt kept me wanting more. Being that the attraction is only in it's fifth year of operation, I understand there is room to grow and I cannot wait to see what is to come in the years ahead.

Crowd Control


At the time that we had arrived there was not much of a crowd but they did have a designated wait queue and even a campfire roaring (which is always a plus in my book)!

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment from the attraction was the first room that we entered. Our group was instructed to wait there until the room told us where to go. As we were waiting, I was taking in all of the surroundings and looking at how much detail and thought that was put into the room. If you do decide to enter the haunt, make sure you look up in the first room!

Summary

I cannot say how impressed I am with this haunt. I cannot wait to see where the owners of The Realm of Darkness in the future. I wish them the best of luck, and really appreciate when a haunt donates profits to the community. If you are in the Kaukauna area, I wholeheartedly recommend stepping into The Realm of Darkness. Will you survive?

View all The Realm of Darkness reviews

Comments: (0)

Revenge

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was the opening night in the second year for Revenge, and the first year that I’ve attended it. It’s always exciting going to a new haunt for the first time! Located in Sobieski, it feels like you’re in the middle of nowhere. Don’t blink or you will miss it… it comes up fast!

This also is the first time this haunt has been reviewed on Haunted Wisconsin! I’ve been to haunts in the past that have been in barns, and for the most part they are short and lackluster. Don’t let the fact that Revenge is in a barn fool you. This barn is HUGE, and the folks that put this on are NOT messing around.

This is a dark maze in a very old barn. Throw in some creepy sets, eerie sound effects, creatures and you have Revenge. There were several times it felt like we were at a dead end. Then the dread starts setting in that you are stuck in a dark maze with things all around you!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are some nice signs, but it's on a county road so it comes up fast. I love that it's not too far out but it FEELS like you're far away. Nobody around to hear your screams!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is plenty of parking, and a small wait area within the barn before you go into the haunt. While you wait, there’s different graphic horror scenes playing and a few creatures that wander around. There’s also a nice concessions area. And hey, they have IN-DOOR bathrooms!

Actors' Performance


Some actors were late on scares and others were dead on. We walked into one room to find one of the actors sitting down trying to put on a mask. At first I thought it was part of the skit, but then I realized that we just caught the actor unprepared. Since this was opening night for them, here’s hoping that as the season goes on things really gel and the scares are consistent throughout the experience. The actors that were on their game had us jumping!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


To me, this haunt's strength is their creativity and their use of lighting. They did an amazing job throughout the haunt of using light to their advantage. One minute the light is on and you’re in a room by yourself. Then the light might flicker off and when it’s back on, you’re face to face with a nightmare!

Length


We went through the entire haunt in about 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


They did a great job with crowd control. They let very small groups go in at a time, which I very much appreciate! There's nothing worse than being loaded in like cattle and only a few get the scare while others just shuffle through. We did not bump into other groups, but we could hear them. In my book, that adds anticipation!

Most Memorable Moment


There was one room that used a strobe like effect and white paper curtains throughout the room. The creature lurking in there got me so good, I head-butted the person behind me. Ouch!

Summary

A good location, great building, and some very creative people! A solid haunt! Looking forward to seeing what the future holds in store for Revenge!

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Zombus

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Years ago I reviewed Zombus, and loved every minute of it. I wanted to review them again to see what has changed and to see if they are as good as they were previously? As before, there are many different things to experience at Zombus, so much so that the title is really deceiving and doesn’t shed light on all the great things here. Besides the bus ride where you get to shoot zombies, there’s the Haunted House Trail, the Haunted Laser Tag, and a cool Zombie Carnival under a tent! There are different price point depending on what you want to do. The best value is getting all three big events for $24! The weather was not playing nice and was misting throughout the opening night, so attendance was light. But trust me, this is one haunt you do NOT want to miss!

Haunted House Trail: Your walk starts at a creepy looking house that is stacked with great visuals and scares in each room. My favorite was the kitchen! Your time in the house is short lived, and you’ll breathe a sigh of relief when you’re out in the night air. But then you realize that even more things are lurking in the woods just waiting to meet you… and you long for the creepy house again! In the woods there are moments of bright light in some areas and complete darkness in others. This haunted walk really does have everything: a huge snake, swamp people, a huge walk-in freezer, creatures up high and down low, inside a house and outside in the dark woods, uneven footing, an awesome rope bridge, and probably a few things that my mind has blocked out! Although the Zombus is the ‘headliner’, I enjoyed this walk more than anything so far this season!!! Length – 20 minutes

Haunted Laser Tag: As in previous years, they have a nice laser tag area that contains different forts and obstacles. Nothing really has changed here from previous years, but it’s a fun thing to do between the other events. Length - 15 minutes

Zombus: The Zombus is really what they promote, and it’s always a fun time. You jump on a bus and drive around shooting at zombies. For the most part, this is as it was in previous years, maybe 90% the same. But it’s unlike any other haunted experience in the area and if you’ve never done it, put it on your bucket list! Length - 20 minutes

Zombie Carnival: Something new this year is the carnival! There are several carnival games there with a zombie theme that are a lot of fun. You can purchase tickets to play the different games: Feed The Gargoyles, Zombie Brain Smash, Attacking Zombie Ring Toss, and Angry Raven! Depending on how well you play, you can trade up for different prizes!

And if that’s not your speed, then go crawl up on the bull and see how long you can stay on! There’s also a nice bonfire and waiting area. This haunt again has everything and there really is something for everyone here. This is only about 10 minutes north from Green Bay so don’t miss it!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find! Right off Hwy 41, on an access road 10 miles north of Green Bay. You can't miss it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


When I attended, there were not very many people attending so there was very little wait time. But the wait areas are great with games, a bonfire, snacks, etc..

Actors' Performance


The actors did great in both the Haunted House Trail and the Zombus.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is one area where they really took things to the next level. They have achieved the perfect combination of live actors and animatronics to maximum effect! And the level of detail is amazing!

Length


See above summery for length of each separate event. You can easily spend all night here!

Crowd Control


There was no crowd when I attended due to the weather, but it looks like they have plenty of space to handle large groups. When I attended years ago it was over an hour wait, and they handled the crowds fine!

Most Memorable Moment


A highlight for me was on the Haunted House Trail. There was what I can only call 'the swamp’. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen anything like it! It’s not water, but it sure does look like it!

Summary

Kudos to the staff and creators, the whole experience is amazing! My only criticism is to start promoting the other aspects of all your work! The Zombus is great and very unique for the area, but your other creations are just as great! If you have not attended this haunt yet, what's your excuse? This should be at the top of your 'must attend' attractions!

View all Zombus reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on Rural Street

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my fourth year visiting Terror on Rural Street, and it is so amazing to see them continue to top their own creations year after year! TORS is an amazingly intricate, nonprofit haunt that boasts a lovely waiting area, tons of parking, shockingly cheap entry and room after room of true terror! A truly fantastic haunt!

Terror on Rural Street begins in a small town scene, and you are immediately transported in the haunted world, this year, with a confusing maze. While I love the disorienting aspects of mazes, I’ve found they are often hard to control with timing, and unfortunately this was a (minor) issue that followed us throughout the haunt. However, every actor was amazing and “got us” so many times, and I love seeing the new sets and ideas they come up with year after year. There is horror in many veins here – clowns, darkness, prison, dolls – you name it, they’ll find a way to scare you! TORS is a unique, creative haunt with a lot of passion and an intricate twisting halls that always leave me wanting more!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you know where to go, it’s very easy to get to – you can type it right into google maps. They have an awesome light marquee, but they keep it closer to their parking lot, which is helpful but could be a little more so if it was placed a little closer to the main road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very good – I really enjoy the wait area here. It is covered with ample seating! This year they had several warm snacks (we had a pretzel) and drinks available, including jello syringe shots and some alcoholic beverages. They also had several actors walking around in this area; I always love the lady with her shopping cart full of creepy toys.

Actors' Performance


We enjoyed a LOT of good jump scares at this haunt. I feel like the actors at TORS are very committed to their roles and really embody the characters with all their dialogue and even the type of moments they employ.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There were a few issues with timing in a few of the scenes we encountered, but overall the haunt has a great variety of rooms, including a jail, some creepy dolls, and several new mazes this year. We particularly liked one that implemented strobe lights. There was also a room that featured moving walls, which was really unique!

Length


At least 20 minutes. We waited only for a few minutes to go inside, but as I said, it was a very enjoyable wait.

Crowd Control


They have a very good system here of calling up groups by ticket numbers, and don’t seem to mind if people get out of order as they enjoy snacks. It was very well organized!

Most Memorable Moment


TORS is home to a car that scares us every single year!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street is a must see haunt for me year after year, as they are always exploring new ideas creatively and the actors are amazing. You definitely will get scared! You seriously cannot beat the price, location, and general fun of this haunt!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Dwelling Of Despair

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Dwelling of Despair is a great haunt, beginning with a nerve-wracking walk full of scares through the Forest of Fear, and punctuated with tiny, twisting rooms designed to disorient the attendee. I really enjoy the multiple location aspect of this haunt – there are a lot of different scenes that involve being in all sorts of different rooms, including a big metal overpass, the creepy forest, and a final maze that will leave you confused and frustrated. The actors are varied and focus on the characters they are creating, and as a nonprofit, they also use child actors for an extreme creepy effect! They also do a wonderful job with their crowd control and have a nice covered waiting area for their guests!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very visible from the road, with lots of lit up signs leading you to the haunt. It’s also very easy to find through Google maps!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They had a few actors around, but we enjoyed the wait area, which included an awesome photo op spot, snacks and drinks, and two covered bench areas for large crowds in the rain.

Actors' Performance


We really enjoyed the children actors! Another amazing actor was the fellow in the metal room – his lack of speaking was extremely unnerving and he utilized his prop in a very scary way. Some of the rooms had a clearer storyline than others, but overall the actors are committed to their characters and had a variety in what types of creeps they were representing.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Extremely varied with the length of this haunt and the indoor/outdoor aspect. We loved the claustrophobic quarters, one instance with a glass floor, and the beginning of the haunt in the forest alone – really built anticipation!

Length


Nice and long, at least 20 – 30 minutes.

Crowd Control


Awesome, as noted in their wait area. Lots of staff and security on hand and a very clear system of who was next.

Most Memorable Moment


Walking through the forest, or the final maze!

Summary

Dwelling of Despair is a haunt with a little bit of everything – attendees with experience a creepy walk through the woods, claustrophobia, and the frantic feeling of being trapped in a maze with seemingly no end… but for those who escape, you’ll come back year after year! Awesome haunt with lots of variety!

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on Rural Street

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A thick fog began to settle in and a fine mist filled the air as I arrived at Terror on Rural Street. Ahhh, what an eerily perfect way to set the tone as I kicked off my 2018 haunting season! While some may argue that only a duck could enjoy our recent Wisconsin weather, you need not worry about the weather at this particular haunt as Terror on Rural Street comes stocked with several creature feature treats to combat Mother Nature’s unavoidable tricks. Upon arriving, this haunt greeted my tour group of 3 adults and 2 teenagers with a well-lit, paved and spacious parking lot along with a patrolling ghoul which left little doubt that we were in the right place. (No trudging through muddy dim lit fields as you approach the ticket window here.) As an added bonus we were delighted to find that Terror on Rural Street has a heated indoor waiting area with a fully stocked concession stand complete with food, snacks, beverages, beer and Jello-shots. Another nice treat offered by this haunt is the numbering tickets which allow you to wander about as you wait for your tour to begin…no need to stand in a dreadfully long line and count spiders on the wall as you wait here! If you love taking selfies with your brothers and sisters you’ll certainly enjoy the photogenic ghouls wandering about the waiting area who are just dying to photo bomb your shot. This entire haunt is indoor, including the final staging area before you actually enter the haunt….there’s no need to endure that wrath of Mother Nature as she tests your Halloween Spirit.

Here are some of my personal observations about Terror on Rural Street…

SPACIOUS ACCOMODATIONS: My tour group of 5 consisted of 3 adults and 2 teenagers (…all experienced haunt goers….), with the 2 teenagers attending Terror on Rural Street for the first time and 1 adult who has yet to miss a season of Terror on Rural Street. If you have a personal pet peeve as I do of being placed into an over sized tour group and crammed into small rooms, put your mind at ease. Terror at Rural Street’s mystic maze of mind bending sets and corridors easily accommodated our group of 5.

CINEMA QUALITY SETS: This haunt features several Cinema quality sets, many of which are pimped out with a dedicated sound system and special effects you won't find any place else. Portions of this haunt are an interactive style haunt with rooms showcasing a unique theme and a skit performed by volunteer actors. While the actors may be volunteers, the costumes and make-up were professionally done and very realistic. This was most evident in the final pre-tour staging where you receive final instructions before embarking on your tour. While it’s very easy to get distracted by the costumed actors be sure to take note of the keen attention to detail both with the facial make-up/costumes of the actors as well as the staging set as well. This same attention to details persists throughout this entire haunt.

DAZZLING SPECIAL EFFECTS: Admittedly not all of the acting performances knocked my socks off nor did every room send me off screaming to the next. But what Terror on Rural Street lacked with its actors and potential scare factor it more than made up for with its dazzling special effects and elaborate sets. Scares and surprises frequently came from unexpected flashes of brilliant light, dedicated room specific sound systems and a variety of lifelike techno effects

CREATIVE CONCEPTS: Terror on Rural Street continues its strong tradition of being a techno haunt goer’s dream come true! There has never been a year when I have been disappointed with the electrifying showcase of terrifying themes found at the Terror on Rural Street. This year was certainly no exception. If you’re leery of visiting a haunt more than once in a lifetime you’ll be pleasantly surprised with the number of new rooms/concepts found in this year’s edition. While a few of the techno-effects have been recycled for this year’s haunt most of them have been given a new creative twist. (I REALLY enjoyed this year’s version of the observation deck….the room alone is worth the price of admission!)

TOUR GROUP RATINGS: Here’s how my tour group rated Terror on Rural Street for both the Scare and Fun scale (1 to 5)

Haunt Teenager (first timer) #1: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Teenager (first timer) #2: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Adult #1: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Adult #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Veteran: SCARE-4 / FUN-5

Signage / Visibility / Location


Don't let a full parking lot scare you away before this haunt does! Terror on Rural Street shares it's parking lot with the Schauer Art Center and the Wisconsin Automotive Museum. Not all the cars parked in the lots may necessarily be for Terror on Rural Street.

This haunt can be found right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The courtyard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area with a concession stand that features beer and mixed drinks. If you’re of drinking age be sure to try the syringe style jello-shots! By the way...all proceeds from the concession stand benefit the Schauer Arts Center which is located just next door.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers in the waiting and staging areas. Throughout this haunt the elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up enhanced the appearance of all performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some superb special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate the creative concepts and elaborate sets that have the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, the rooms here were quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


My tour lasted approximately 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious. Plenty of room in the court yard to wait also. Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


This year’s Observation Deck is one of THE BEST techno-effects scenes I have EVER experienced!

Summary

A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make Terror on Rural Street a haunt definitely worth checking out! This year’s edition of Terror on Rural Street has my vote for “Best Year Ever” for this haunt.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Dwelling Of Despair

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

If you tour as many haunts as I have you’ve probably realized that while haunts come in all shapes and sizes and offer different creature features they all have one thing in common….they all want to scare the bejesus out of you. Similarly, you’re probably aware that while cars come in all shapes and sizes and offer different creature features they all have one thing in common…to get you from point A to B. Likening Haunts to Cars, I would classify the Dwelling of Despair Haunted House & accompanying Forest of Fear as the minivan of Haunts. While its initial appearance as you drive past will likely not give you reason to look back over your shoulder for a second look…when you get behind the wheel of this Haunt it performs as admirably as the Tesla in the quest to scare you senseless.

The Dwelling of Despair Haunted House & accompanying Forest of Fear is a self-guided, interactive ghoulish attraction known for its awesome animatronic special effects, elaborate decor, skilled actors, unique monsters, unusual themes and chilling detail! Now in its 34th season the Dwelling of Despair has prided itself in providing a creative and ghoulishly good time to all haunt goers along with a few (ahem, more like several!) frightful moments. 2018 marked my 26th visit to this haunted venue and similar to prior years I was once again amazed at how many of the sets/themes have changed. While you may notice quite a few similarities along your terrifying tour outside of this haunt, what awaits inside will torment and twist your mind in new ways. Following the lead of last year’s version, the chills, thrills and scares are delivered more upfront and in your face than with the skits that traditionally tormented you in the Dwelling of Despair. Rest assured though, this haunt still offers opportunities to interact with the demon’s inhabiting the Dwelling of Despair and retains the same Halloween charm that has brought guests back for the past 34 years!

The 2018 edition of this haunt presents two horrifying sections to test your wits and your desire to survive. The Forrest of Fear kicks off your terrifying tour on a dark and twisted path patrolled by evil spirits and several fiendish ghouls. If you're lucky enough to slip past these gorish guardians the entrance of the 3 story Dwelling of Despair awaits from the 3rd floor balcony. To escape the nightmares found within the unfriendly confines of the Dwelling of Despair you must successfully navigate a maze of uniquely themed rooms and hidden passages through the bowls of the entire house. Along the way you are sure to encounter each and every inhabitant of the house...some fun, some helpful but most of all they are all quite frightful!

My tour group this year consisted of 2 teenagers attending this haunt for the first time and 3 adults who have visited in the past. All thoroughly enjoyed their experience this year noting how much they enjoyed meeting Wild Eyed Kid Rock, the giggling Gaggle of Clowns and the mind boggling maze.

TOUR GROUP RATINGS: Here’s how my tour group rated Dwelling of Despair for both the Scare and Fun scale (1 to 5)

Haunt Teenager (first timer) #1: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Teenager (first timer) #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Adult #1: SCARE-2 / FUN-3
Haunt Adult #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Veteran: SCARE-3 / FUN-4

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find. If you’re on HWY 60 in Slinger look for the lighted portable sign with a flashing arrow on the north side of the road. Fireman’s park is an immediate right turn after you make turn north off of HWY 60. The Haunted House is actually tucked away after a short winding drive into the park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt offers a heated wood shack with a concessions stand to comfort you while you anticipate the horror that awaits you. A tented staging area provides shelter from the elements as you undergo last minute preparations before your terrifying tour through the woods.

Actors' Performance


A great mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. Less veteran haunt goers looking to get freaked out will not be disappointed. All haunt goers will be certainly be entertained.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several outstanding special effects.

Length


Approximately 25 minutes.

Crowd Control


Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets and assemble wherever you’d like while you wait. No long lines to stand in at this haunt. VIP tickets allow you to avoid the wait and skip to the front of the pack.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from…. I don’t want to trick anyone out of experiencing the sensational surprises that await but interacting with Wild Eyed Kid Rock was a real treat.

Summary

The Dwelling of Despair provides an exceptional balance of scares, ghoulishly gratifying visual treats and interactive entertainment making this haunt a fun Halloween destination for both kids and adults alike. The indoor waiting area complete with concession stand make this a howling good time regardless of the weather.

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by hex_on_you (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

From arrival to end--this haunt was very well organized. We were able to find the location easily, even with it in the middle of the countryside! It was a cold and rainy night--but all of the attractions were still open. If its rainy--come prepared! You will be outside and walking a majority of the haunt. The rain didn't detract from us enjoying the live actors, the amazing props, and the different fx and interactive scenes.

This haunt included seven different attractions and a "zombie haunt" (which we didn't try out this time--maybe next time!). It was reasonably priced and there was different options for packages. There's even a special online only "terror treatment" option--make sure you look into this if you want to give your friends an "extra special" experience!

The Dark Side includes The Decent, Twilight Nightmare, Backwoods Revenge, Mephistopheles Lair, Schizophrenia, Foxglove Nursery & a haunted train ride! Each attractions gives you a new level of scares and keeps your senses on edge. We loved the change in scenery, from a mineshaft, to a tractor ride, a walk through the woods and cornfields, and even a haunted train ride at the end. We also enjoyed the change in elevation--you will find yourself deep underground in a mineshaft, and high up in the trees in the forest.

This is a haunt that you will want to add to your list this season!

Signage / Visibility / Location


To add to the scare factor, The Dark Side is located in the countryside, in the middle of farmland and cornfields. It was easy to find, and they had a light up sign at the end of the road and a sign at the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The Dark Side has a covered waiting area and line with concessions, which were reasonably priced. It was a rainy and cold night, so having the covered and indoor areas was appreciated. There was a creepy jester on a tricycle in the parking lot--watch out!

Actors' Performance


The actors that were spaced across the haunt were great. The grandmother figure by the fire at the entrance of the woods was excellent--she stayed in character, had a great story line, and her makeup and costume were on point. We were hoping for some more jump scares--especially in the woods and in Mephistopheles Lair. We would have loved to see more live actors spread throughout the seven attractions.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Decent: This haunt was 'mineshaft' themed--and it was very well done. We loved the 'decent' downward into the mineshaft--and the entire haunt was well set up by the actor that took us to the top of the hill. We loved the fx done with the stairwell and the walls throughout this haunt.
Twilight Nightmare: It was rainy and cold--but that added to the eerie factor of this tractor ride through the woods. This ride will literally make you jump out of your seats--the actors in this portion of the haunt were excellent and we enjoyed the different scenes and fx!
Backwoods Revenge: We loved the grandmother figure that set up this portion of the haunt. She stayed in character but was also very interactive. The scenes throughout this haunt--especially the graveyard--were very well done. We would have LOVED some more jump scares and a few more actors throughout the dark wooded portions. The climb upward to the 'skywalk' was excellent--throughout all seven haunts we enjoyed the change in elevation and interactive fx.
Mephistopheles Lair: You had better choose the right door! We were lost in this haunt for a bit--and when we exited we were still lost. There wasn't and live actors in this portion, and once we got out we had to use our phone flashlight to see where to go next. In other portions of the haunt, they used rope lighting to light the path and the exit of this haunt would have been a great place to use these. The maze effect of this haunt was fun--but again we would have loved some jump scares!
Schizophrenia: The actors in this portion were lively and we definitely had some scares that we were looking for! Watch out around every corner of this corn maze--you may be led astray!
Foxglove Nursery: The scenery and props in this haunt were excellent. We loved looking at all the detail as we made our way through the greenhouses--it even SMELLED like a greenhouse! We loved the make up and costumes on the live actors--we would have loved if they interacted a bit more!
Train Ride: The seven haunts ended with a train ride--it was dark and covered, so we couldn't see where we were going or see any scenes or actors. The only scare came from the sound of a chainsaw. We loved the idea of a dark train ride--but a few scares or scenes would have made it more memorable!

Length


From the ticket line to the end of the seven haunts, we were there for about an hour and a half.

Crowd Control


There was a decent amount of guests while we were there, and they definitely had measures in place to deal with long lines and lots of guests. They were also well staffed in the waiting and concession areas.

Most Memorable Moment


I don't want to give it away--but look out when you're on the amazing 'skywalk' in the forest!

Summary

Kudos to the staff and actors of The Dark Side haunted attraction. You took the location of a farmfield and forest and made it into a true nightmare experience. This haunt would be elevated by having a few more live actors--but overall from start to finish we were on edge wondering where the next scare would be coming from! Add The Dark Side to your list this season!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 30, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Now in its 22nd season, Terror on the Fox has long been considered to be one of the top haunted attractions in Northeast Wisconsin. Although the haunted train ride and house have been a staple in Green Bay, each year they change significantly and continue to grow. They were recently acquisitioned by 13th floor entertainment (one of the more recognized names in the haunt industry) and I believe this has resulted in the tremendous growth. Last year, I felt there was too much “dead space” in the Slaughter house, but this year the Slaughter house was replaced entirely by Blackthorne cemetery. Blackthorne cemetery is a partially indoor, partially outdoor haunted attraction that mirrors a mausoleum and graveyard. Overall, this is a professional level haunted attraction and you are frightened from the moment you step on the train ride until you are running for your life to the Parking lot.

Terror on the Fox is located at the National Railroad Museum not far from the heart of Green Bay. It is a three part attraction including a long haunted train ride on an original double decker passenger train, Blackthorne Cemetery a partially indoor and outdoor haunted attraction and finally Hawthorne itself the main haunted house. The $25 tickets include all 3 attractions, but be aware the popularity of this attraction can cause lines to grow, so there is the option to purchase “fast pass” tickets for an extra $10.

New this year is the addition of the Blackthorne “cemetery” and the vision as you approach is just as grandiose as the Blackthorne house itself! We were a small group of 3 and were sent through both attractions by ourselves!! This is RARE at other attractions as typically they try to get as many people through at a time as possible. I am not sure if this is because it was a “slower night” (although it did not seem slow) or if this is a standard they are establishing for the entire year. Despite being earlier in the season, there was absolutely no lack of horrifying actors in the lines and throughout all attractions. There was never a moment throughout the cemetery that we were not being chased, followed or frightened. I typically do not frighten easy, but there were several point I let out a shriek.

The Blackthorne House is one that must be seen in person. There is never a dark “hallway” and the things that are awesome from years past they keep, while they replace everything else with something even more frightening and sometimes outright grotesque. One thing I noticed that added to the house this year was the music, I do not remember hearing it so clearly in the past, but the songs played just amplified the intensity of everything around you.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the total length of this attraction. My complaints in the past were always: a bit on the short side and the 1st attraction had too much “dead space”. This year the total length of just the cemetery and main house was over 30 minutes! A huge increase over last year and NO DEAD space (as it long boring dark hallways). A must do this year for all!

Signage / Visibility / Location


As long as you can figure out how to get to Broadway in Green Bay you can see the sign lit up in the street along with street crossing guides.
Tip: Go early, the ticket booth opens 30 minutes before they start. You can avoid longer lines and have better parking the earlier you go. It is right across the street from two hotels on Broadway in Green Bay.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Wait area is outside so be cautious of weather. Not a lot available to purchase the evening we attended. However, there were plenty of things to see and ghouls going about the lines.
Tip: When boarding the train, try to sit the closest to the exit doors (towards the middle) as you can. This is the order which you will stand in line, so if you are the first one's off you will have less time to wait.

Actors' Performance


Excellent performance by actors, never a moment they were caught off guard or out of place. Actors were flexible and engaged in some pretty interesting acts.
Tip: Actor's perform better when you get scared, refrain from rude comments and obnoxious jokes.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is by far where TOFT surpasses others. This haunted attraction would be great even with the lights on! Scenes are very thought out, use of animatronics were limited ... but very appropriately used. The them seemed to flow nicely room to room and there were no long boring dark hallways.

Length


Length was just the right amount, took over 30 minutes just to get through the cemetery and the main house, this did not include the length of the train ride. All together, we arrive at 7:30 and left closer to 9pm.

Crowd Control


Excellent! They allowed our small group of 3 in alone and we never saw another group. We often run into the group ahead of us and end up with others, but you would have sworn we were the only ones there.

Most Memorable Moment


Our most memorable moment was an area where the laser lights are just at the right height where you can not see what lurks below. One of us even fell because they were scared. No injuries, just laughs after it was over.

Summary

Now in its 22nd season, Terror on the Fox manages to change significantly and continues to grow.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Hill Has Eyes

by BrittanyAnnBula (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Monday, October 1, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Upon arrival you will immediately notice changes this year and BIG changes for sure. This caused great excitement right away. I was thinking to myself this is going to better than last year was great!!

We purchased fast pass tickets since rain was in the forecast and we drove a couple hours to attend. The fast pass tickets are nice for a few reasons: 1. You may enter the haunts at your leisure. 2. There are bonfires going and if you would like to take a break in between haunts you can; without the worry you will be waiting in longer lines. Score for fast passes!! In the ticket area there is a bar and a DJ playing. That’s a nice touch especially if it is a busy night. Also, upon purchasing your tickets you must sign a waiver. I can’t believe more haunts don’t make you do this.

Haunt 1 – Top Secret Containment
This short haunt had very limited actors, but those that they had were great. They put the effort in and keep role extremely well. This haunt started the night a bit disappointed. I was hoping that the Hill has Eyes would pick it up a little bit upon exiting the first haunt only within a few minutes of starting it.

Haunt 2 – Failed Escape
The passion these actors have to make you feel like you are some where you aren’t supposed to be is exactly how you feel while you make your way through. This dark passage was full of actors and kept you on your toes. When the use of all senses gets used it makes for a great experience. The shocks, the sense of smell (maybe it was just me and the muskiness in the props because of rain) the unknown and the known makes for an exciting haunt. Not much has changed since last year overall, but the fun, excitement and dedication from the actors makes for a great time.

Haunt 3 – Hunger Hollow
As you enter the meat locker you never know what to expect. Crazy murdering husband, disturbed butcher, a crazy campground and a satanic church. I would have to say this part of my favorite haunt of them all. This haunt is the longest and the best in my opinion. It’s very dark, you walk along a dimly lit path and you go through several well put together scenes. The details that go into planning each scene is top notch. The props they have along the path make you anticipate something that isn’t there, but then boom; out of nowhere when you least expect it!

Haunt 4 – Scare Lift
To get to the last haunt you must take the ski lift to get you to the top of the hill. No scares, just your everyday ride to the top.

Haunt 5 – CarniVore
This was full of twists, turns and running into walls and dead ends. As you make your way through the carnival maze you never really know which way to go. Go left, go right, nope go straight ahead. You enter these small rooms never knowing what is right behind the curtain, be on your toes and ready for anything. The suspense that someone will be in the room as you enter is the worse. The clowns will come out of nowhere…so beware these aren’t your everyday clowns!! The music and the actors really make you feel like you are lost in the big tent! This haunt is relatively short but, packs a huge punch. This makes the night complete and a great way to finish.

Plan to spend about an hour here once you get going through the haunts on a decent night; on a busy night I wouldn’t be surprised if the lines are a couple hours long. This is an AWESOME haunt for a GREAT price.

Overall if you have been here within the last couple years I would give it a few more years before coming back. The haunts are very similar to the years past. The actors really make this haunt what it is. They keep you on your toes and really stay in roll very well. They are dedicated to making your experience great. If you never been here it’s worth the drive for sure and if you are local you need to make a visit.

If you plan of visiting this year mud boots or great shoes is highly recommended. With the large amounts of rain there was a ton of mud and slippery paths. They did a great job by putting straw down to help the path, but there are still some pretty slick spots. Kinda adds a great touch to the whole experience that wasn’t planned or hoped for.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Using a GPS will take you right to the place. Upon leaving your vehicle you may feel lost. Fortunately, there are people directing you to the tent where you can purchase your tickets.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a DJ, fire pits and a bar. There aren't any characters, but the fire pit and the DJ are a great touch. The bar is an added bonus to those would would like to enjoy a drink or 2.

Actors' Performance


Top notch; they are great, stay in their roles well and put a ton of effort into their performance.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes are great and the details are amazing. The lights and the sounds fit perfectly to the scenes. I love the decorations and the small touches they add to some scenes to put it over the top!

Length


Once you start the haunt plan for around an hour.

Crowd Control


They have plenty of people directing and over looking the crowds.

Most Memorable Moment


The sinking ground where we almost biffed it, the vortex tunnel when we were trapped or the shocking experience of the narrow hallway!

Summary

Overall always a great haunt, but not much has changed from last year. The price for this length of a haunt is great. Rumors have it a new haunt is coming so we shall wait and see. They are also talking about big changes since people are getting tired of stale haunts year after year. That is a great sign that they are listening to their customers!!

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Hill Has Eyes

by dubstyle_2k (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I decided to check out Hill Has Eyes this year. It has been three years since I last reviewed this haunt, and was eager to see what they have done to change it up. I am going to preface this review by stating that if you visit Hill Has Eyes make sure you pay attention to the weather. I bought VIP tickets ahead of time, without looking at the weather, this was my biggest mistake! As soon as I pulled away from my house the rain started! The problem with buying your Hill Has Eyes tickets online is they are only valid that day. The majority of Hill Has Eye is outdoors, on a hill, walking on dirt trails. On any other night I would have loved this, but that night it was cold, rainy, and VERY slick due to all the mud you walk through. Of course this isn't the fault of the haunt, it's my fault for not checking the weather. I will say, if you are headed to Hill Has Eyes, wear shoes you don't care about, but make sure they have good grip!

This year Hill Has Eyes made a few changes. We arrived at the haunt and headed to the ticketing/waiting tent. The parking lot is quite a distance from the tent, and we were left on our own to try to figure out how we get from point A to point B. Well, we accidentally chose the path that led us to point C! We ended up at some bar, I'm still not sure where we went wrong, but we weren't the only ones to make this mistake. We decided to follow some people that at least looked like they knew where they were going, and finally we made it to the tent. I guess my second biggest mistake of the night was assuming it was going to be super busy like three years ago, so I bought VIP tickets ahead of time. Maybe it was the weather, maybe it was because it was so early in the season, but there wasn't very many people there waiting to get in. While you're waiting in line to get to the cashier, you have to sign a waiver. Please note, I never felt in danger while walking through the haunts (other than the muddy trails, and almost falling a few times!), I think these waivers are strictly for liability reasons. The waiting area is pretty great, there are no actors, but there is a DJ and a full bar for visitors. Because I was there as a reviewer I didn't visit the bar, thus I don't know how prices are. Three years ago I inquired, and beers were $3, so expect to pay at least that. Because we were VIP we were able to leave the waiting area right away and head towards the first haunt of four, "Containment". Three years ago the first haunt was called "Hooded", which was great, but they've unfortunately done away with that portion.

"Containment" was definitely my least favorite section of Hill Has Eyes. It was kind of short and too well lit. The theme was Military vs Hillbilly, with a few men in ghillie suits, and doctors. I think they were going for a contagion thing, but it was lost on me. Like I said, this section was short, and not that scary, we made it through in a matter of minutes and exited to an area with a bonfire and some porta potties. Luckily there were a few workers by the bonfire, as we started towards what we thought was the next haunt, we were redirected to the correct haunt, "Failed Escape".

If you read my review of Hill Has Eyes from three years ago, then just know, I could copy and pasted what I wrote then and it would still apply. Nothing really has changed in that three years. This haunt still has a backwoods theme, and freaks a plenty. Though this haunt was too familiar, the actors in this area were top notch. Again I was with a friend who teaches in the area, so a couple actors recognized him and broke character to greet him, however a couple used it as part of their act, calling him out at times! "Failed Escape" was significantly longer than "Containment", and a lot darker, which is always a plus! My favorite part of this haunt was a very short walkway that had strings hanging down. Sounds benign, but those strings give you a tiny zap if your skin touched them! I mentioned these shocking strings in my review a few years ago, but I stated that I couldn't tell if they were zapping us or giving us a prick. This year it was obvious, these things were zapping! It didn't hurt, but it was definitely a weird feeling, I love a haunt that makes me uncomfortable! We once again made it all the way through and exited at the bonfire. Next stop, "Hunger Hollow".

"Hunger Hollow" is another section that was there three years ago, and yet another section that I could have copy and pasted my review from my last visit. The theme still centers around a butcher shop that's using, wait for it... human meat! Nothing new here, really. Again the actors were awesome, I just wanted a different experience. Aside from the butcher stuff there is more back woods hillbillies and creeps. This section of Hill Has Eyes leads you to a satanic church that was pretty great! I enjoyed "Hunger Hollow", it was long and like I said, the actors did a fantastic job! As you reach the end of this section you make your way down a path that leads you to the ski lift, or "Scare Lift". The ski lift takes you to the final haunt, "CARNIvore". The ski lift was a little disappointing. The last time I was at Hill Has Eyes there were actors in clown suits on some of the other lift chairs that would shout at you and squirt you with squirt guns, this time, no actors at all, just a leisurely ride on a wet ski lift! Once you hit the top you make your way to "CARNIvore"

As you could have guessed, "CARNIvore" is a carnival themed haunt. This was arguably my favorite section of Hill Has Eyes. This haunt was not as long as the previous two, but I do love a carnival theme! The climax of this section is a VERY long maze that is almost exhausting! There is a spinning vortex that is always fun and disorienting, with an actress that was very good. The last time I was at Hill Has Eyes, the end of "CARNIvore" included a human puppet show. That was a real awesome way to end the experience, but for some reason they no longer do the show, I was a little disappointed. Again, the actors were top notch, and the whole experience, even without the puppet show, was great!

In all I thought Hill Has Eyes was okay. They didn't change much, and the things that did change, like the removal of the "hooded" section and the human puppet show, was a little disappointing. The actors in all four sections were excellent, and the bang for your buck, length wise is bar none, the best in the area. If you have never been to this haunt, I highly recommend it, if you have been to Hill Has Eyes in the past, well, you might be upset about the lack of change, theme wise. I'll go back in another three years, hopefully it'll be revamped a bit.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you're using GPS, Hill Has Eyes is pretty easy to find. If you come from south, you might get told to exit on Rawson, which takes you to the road that Hill Has Eyes is on, only that road is closed! I had to turn around and ignore my GPS until is redirected me to another way in. The road you take is very dark, I had a hard time seeing where I was supposed to turn, but I made it!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area, though lacking actors, is great. There is a DJ spinning tunes, and a full bar (if you need to calm those nerves!).

Actors' Performance


From start to finish, the actors were awesome! I went with a friend that teaches in the area, so through him I learned that a lot of these actors are high school kids, they did a great job!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Hill Has Eyes is mostly walking through the woods, but the sets and props they have are great. Nothing really sees cheap or out of place. They really do a good job decorating for this haunt!

Length


This is were the ticket price makes sense. With the VIP tickets we were in and out in about 45 minutes, without I'd expect to spend upwards of 90 minutes. Compared to most haunts, this is the best haunt when considering price vs time in haunt.

Crowd Control


There were plenty of employees there to help out when needed.

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the shocking walkway!

Summary

As a returning visitor, Hill Has Eyes was just okay. They didn't change much, and the elimination of some parts was a little disappointing. The actors were all excellent, and value of this haunt is amazing when you consider how long you are actually in the haunt. If you have never been to this haunt, I highly recommend it, if you have been to Hill Has Eyes in the past, well, you might be upset about the lack of change, theme wise.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 23, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Abandoned was my first haunt of the season this year, and as always, it’s an amazing choice – this multi-haunt complex is consistently one of Wisconsin’s absolute bests! I know it’s the haunt I look forward to the most, because it is always so long, so detailed, and of course, so scary!

We arrived on opening night around 8:30PM, and having purchased our tickets + fastpass we were able to quickly get our physical tickets. Although it wasn’t a super crowded night, fastpasses at Abandoned are always a good idea, and the staff is awesome about making sure those who purchase them are able to very quickly enter the haunts. I would definitely recommend a fastpass for any Friday or Saturday night – you won’t regret it!

HYSTERIA –
Loud, aggressive, and dark, this haunt is my favorite from the complex. Several new scenes were featured including a cave and some scary voodoo-like props. In particular we enjoyed the distorted reality brought on by streams of lasers and smoke, and actors hiding in unexpected and down below places. Lots of awesome jump scares and acting in this haunt!

AMBUSH –
Tight walkways, twisting corridors and a constantly changing path are the hallmarks of this particular house. Beginning with some aggressive nuns, we were taken through several scenes, including an intensely creepy hospital (my favorite every year!). With such a long, intricate haunt there is something to scare everyone, although I did feel there could have been a few more actors down some of those tight hallways.

STALKER CORNFIELD –
This haunt is well thought out, with small interior scenes interrupting the eerily shifting and swaying corn. I thought these scenes were pretty unique, making topics that wouldn’t normally be scary (such as chickens and bees) into something out of a horror movie. One of my favorite elements of this haunt is watching an actor simply disappear into the corn – the anticipation of this haunt is really what makes it scary!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very visible from the highway, with lots of guides for parking and a clear ticket line. Very well organize and professional (as always)!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


N/A for us with fastpass (we zoomed through the lines!), but I did see plenty of actors wandering around entertaining the crowd.

Actors' Performance


Lots of great jump scares, a few humorous moments (which are always appreciated), and some people who understood the scariness that can come from silence. However, I did feel there could have been a little more actors in the haunts overall.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Absolutely amazing. This haunt is so intricate and detailed, with dozens of different scenes to capture any conceivable fear. Each year I am more and more impressed with the level of detail and creativity in the set design of the haunt.

Length


Each haunt takes 20 or more minutes to go through, so it’s nice and long!

Crowd Control


Very professional and well done; with staff extremely visible and law enforcement on hand.

Most Memorable Moment


I really enjoyed a particular subway car scene – no spoilers though!

Summary

Abandoned is a bargain with 3 intricate, heart-stopping haunts that will capture anyone’s worst fears. One of Wisconsin’s most legendary haunted houses; an absolute must go for anyone who is looking for a truly awesome, SCARY night!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

You can view previous review crews here: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017



October 16th, 2018 9:58 a.m. CDT 1.4.13b