2008 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by stibb22 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I really liked the haunted house. It was exciting and kept me on my toes. the actors were very nice and i enjoyed every minute of it. The 3D was AMAZING! I had a lot of fun and i am already excited for next year!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by smokey53212 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

BEST EVER! From the second i bought my ticket it was awesome. Got attacked by creepy girls, a monster with a chainsaw, and some really freaky little alien clown; all before i even went in. The inside was so cool. I think i almost pissed myself a cople times. lol. I especially love the graveyard and the crazy girl in the psyco room. tone of awesome effects too. Eventho it was 15 bucks, it was deffinately worth every penny. P.S. Watch out for the walls!

Summary

BEST EVER!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD-

by Lucky7 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We had a great time with this one. No line, we got right in. I don't want to give away any spoilers but it was better than we had anticipated.

Summary

Worth the money! Give this one a try.

View all Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by mookie1969 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was one of the best haunted houses i have been to . I can honestly say i was totaly freaked out many times.Well worth the trip we drove 2 hrs from Fall River wi.

Summary

Just make sure you get there early or pony up the extra bucks for the spook pass. Well Worth it.

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror Trail

by halloweeniegirl after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We had a great time on the trail. We had a group of 6 (3 couples). Just a heads up for anyone considering this "haunt", they only allow groups of 4 (no exceptions!) thru at a time. So keep that in mind if you have a group larger than 4. We had a difficult time deciding how to separate our group of 6, but we wound up breaking down in to 2 groups of 3 (all girls went together and all the guys went together). The wait in line wasn't very long, maybe 15-20 minutes. This attraction does offer tickets at $8 for the trail or $10 for the trail and the Panic Bus. Don't waste your money on the Panic Bus. Take that $2 and by yourself some hot chocolate instead to keep you warm. The walk thru the trail took us about 15 minutes. By the time we reached the end, our checks hurt from laughing at ourselves and each other other, our voices were hoarse from screaming and we are pretty sure we walked out with heart conditions we didn't have when we first started the trail. For being a small, locally put on haunt, they did an excellent job. Would recommend!

Summary

Well worth the trip. Very remote location, and the people working the trail interacted with you constantly. Much fun!

View all Terror Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Dioxide_Dolly after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Ok, I have to admit I get scared really easily, but I thought this was awesome. I think I knew someone in there because this clown ATTACKED ME!!! I was so scared. I almost fell flat on my face when some creature with a chainsaw CHASED ME!!!

Summary

This was AWESOME!!! You must go. I'm going back again next weekend for sure.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by lalabing after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

it was a busy night when we got there. there were actors all around. the one at the road got my friend really good. she went running ahead of us. once we paid for our wristbands we were walked down to the waiting area with a group of other people that were waiting as well. once in the waiting area there was a long line but it was very entertaining. there would be actors walking through the line just scaring people left and right. i remember this one girls was getting chased around the waiting area. it was really funny up until someone snocked up on me and got me good. my friends didnt even tell me that someone was behind me until i turned. once it was our turn we were taken out by this one guy that didnt even need to have a mask on. he was that scary. we went through this one barn and it was insane. there was fog coming all around us and that made it even more scary because you couldnt tell if there was anyone around you other then your group. there was a vortex and i almost fell because i thought i was spinning instead. it was fun. towards the end there was an other buliding and we thought we had to go through it until someone came aout and scared us so much that my friend peed on herself. then (s)he chased us down through the corn. one the way out we went through the clown area. i am not one that likes clowns too much. so needlesstosay , it wasnt my faveorite part.

Summary

i really like this cornfield and recommend this to everyone that wants to have a good time and get scared at the same time. they put a good effort into this place and it is better then last year.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by HauntedScuba after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the 7th Haunted Attraction we have been to this season. It was the 3rd that had a real chainsaw & the first with other types of saws and tools for scare effects. The setting in an old warehouse with rickety stairs and rusty windows sets the tone well. There was an indoor somewhat heated line that went fairly quickly.
Has a good mix of decorative scenes with a couple black mazes, one very skinny with texture on the walls & a bit of de ja vu. Had a few unique scenes in it like the cobweb room. The scenes seemed to be decorated with a lot of detail.
Most rooms seemed to have a scare in them. Even some of the hallways had scares. Lots of loud noises that scare you in your scene and build anticipation as you hear it in some of the other scenes. Workers were not afraid to get in your face. The voice over the microphone was scary and a bit funny, a unique idea.

Summary

This is a good scare for those looking for that. It was a bit cheaper than a few others we have been too, but the effects were the same.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by HauntedScuba after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We got there before the crowd so we were in the first group to go through. We purchased all 3 attractions. I like how they continue you through to the next haunted house when you buy more than one house instead of making you wait in the long line again.
The First 2 haunted houses are very similar. The rooms are pristine and decorated in such a manor you feel like you are in the setting. They do a great job of moving you through the scene so you experience the entire room. The actors keep in character and try to get everyone in the group, not just the screamers. There were some similar sets from last year, but they are good sets. I love the exit, it makes a non claustrophobic person, claustrophobic!

The 3rd house is more for effect than scare. The 3-D paint inside is awesome to say the least! The actors are quick to respond to the friendly banter I made and we had a fun dialogue going on. Only suggestion in the last house was get a real chain saw or none at all. The "toy" chainsaw they had was really lame.

This was Haunted House 3-4-5 for us this season. It took us 30 minutes to go through all 3.

Summary

All 3 are obviously professional Haunted Attractions put together very well. If you are interested in scare only, go to the first 2 if you also care about effects splurge for the 3rd.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by portrgirl after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It was fairly busy when we got there, but there was still plenty of free parking in the lots out front of the house and we only had to wait about 20 minutes before our numbers were called. They only took cash, which was a slight inconvenience. The waiting area was mostly enclosed and comfortable to wait in. A few creatures roamed around trying to spook people, most gave up too easily. Also, there were a lot of large groups of teenagers milling around. Security did a good job keeping order though.

My group was a group of 8 and too big for the size of the house IMO. The actors and spooks were only set-up to scare the first 1-2 people in the line, leaving the rest to not even see what happened, much less be scared. They tried switching up the lead and order a few times - kudos for that! - but it didn't work very well and we were left in almost the same order throughout. Too many dark corners were left unused for surprise scares.

**Don't read this if you want the rooms to be a surprise**
The actors feasting around the table in the dining room were exceptionally good and the room was fantastically done. The swamp room was also really creepy and the actors did actually wait until the entire group was in and half way through before letting their scare loose (thus scaring everyone). The attic doll room was really really creepy, but lacking in a good scare/startle. The very end of it is also perfect. Too few haunted houses take advantage of the those letting down their guards as they leave.

Summary

This was a decent haunted house overall. But, I scare easily and I found myself not even the least bit scared multiple times throughout the house. On the up side, because I wasn't so scared, I was able to look around at the scenes and enjoy the work that went into them. However, I don't know that I'll try this house again in the future.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by Devo after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This one did it for me!!! I was scared, very scared.

Summary

Yes, I did show up to this pretty late, but it was worth it and I still got in. (I'm not sure when they stop selling tickets.)

When I was walking up I looked at the line and thought that this was going to take too long, but it was not bad at all. After all, you do go with friends and joke around while you wait. Do dress warm though, I did and the cold didn't even bother me. That made the time fly by because you’re not standing there thinking about how your freezing your butt off and wishing that the line would move faster because you’re the dumb ass that didn’t wear a coat and gloves in the first place. (I did see some people dressed like they were going to the bars and didn’t have anything warm on. Come on, really?)

I do remember when I went to this a few years ago that there were more scary characters walking around outside to scare you while you wait in line. I also liked when they would chase you for a little bit when you walked back to your car. On the day that I went, they had only one character and it was a clown. I have Coulrophobia (fear of clowns) and my friends helped me so that I would not accidentally see the clown. However, I made friends with security and John (Hi John) while I was in line and they asked me to take a picture, I said yes, not knowing that they wanted me to take it with the clown. I was a tad scared, because they pulled me out of line away from my friends and I was alone with this clown. (Okay, so I was mortified.) I was embarrassed and felt bad that these guys were trying to take a picture and here I am balling my eyes out uncontrollably because of their clown. (Sorry guys)

Needless to say, the actual haunt was great. The characters inside popped out at you at the best times and actually were able to make you jump. Their costumes were great and the lighting helped create an eerie feel. I was told that the clown room was pretty creepy. Of course I didn’t look, my friend just about leaped at me to grab my head in order to cover my eyes so I would see, which I didn’t. I would’ve passed out from fear though, I was told there were three clowns that walked around and the painting on the walls was pretty scary too.

Great job everyone at Mars Haunted House! Props to you, John, thank you for all that you did for me and my friends. Sorry again for crying when you wanted to take that picture.  I’ll see you all next year!
~Devo

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Megs08 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I liked it a lot. It had great things that lead to the next room and you weren't sure what to expect. My favorite was probably the Market place. It was so awesome. The Butcher and the Cart Pusher were totatlly cool. The price and time it took to go through was totally worth it. only problem was getting there. We had the directions, but after getting on the street, had no idea where to go. More signs would be great especially for people like my group who came from out of town.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by klixy1001 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

HAUNT FEST is soooo worth every penny!!!
i got there waited in line enjoyed the DJ/monsters outside... MY favorite part is the hillbilly room!! I especially liked the part with the guy in the little room right after the hillbilly room..but that was one of the only overhead scares and i loved it!!

Summary

GO AND GET SCARED IT IS SOO WORTH IT!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Chadwick after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first time expierencing this haunted house and it was very good. I can't believe the transitions between each room. It gave the victims enough time to gather their thoughts so the pychological factor was there as well. I loved riding in the kart. We did run into a couple the group in front of us and a group caught up to us from behind. The actors saw that happening and they took care of the problem very well. My only main problem was finding the place to begin with. Even though its on one of Sheboygan's main drags the signs should be more visible. Other than that i had a great time.

Summary

i would definally recommend this haunted attraction to my friends and random strangers. I had fun and i hope you do too.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by scare_girl19 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We had a group of 5 people go to Terror on the Fox. After finding the correct directions, the haunt was fairly easy to find. The line appeared to be long and it was cold outside, but don't be fooled; the line moved quickly. We purchased the combo tickets, which were only $20 per person after the online coupon. $20 for 3 haunts is a good deal!

The haunt starts off with a "haunted" train ride. It wasn't very scary, but it was definitely worth the ride!

The first haunt was "Torment, a New Fear Within." It took maybe 7 minutes to walk through. There didn't seem to be a consistent theme, but some of the actors made the haunt their own. I really liked the chain link walk ways, it was much better than just a dark hallway! This haunt set the tone, but it left me wanting something more.

Next, we had to wait in a long line for the main attraction. The music got us pumped, but waiting in a standing line for over an hour was a little harsh. There were scenes set up in the woods, but I was really hoping for some live actors.

Once the main attraction came into view we were so excited!!! The stage was phenomenal! (You will have to go and see for more details...) Once inside the house I was more than impressed with the decorations. Props to the actors in the bedroom...you came out from the most unlikely of places. I loved the forest...I never saw that coming!! We loved taking a trip through hell!!! The rooms were creative, but they didn't seem to flow. The bartenders were a little inattentive, but overall I was impressed.

The final haunt was the "3rd Dimension of Fear." We needed to put on some corny 3D glasses, which didn't stay on, but that's besides the point. The decorations were again amazing. This house seemed more like a fun house, and the glow paint was tons of fun. My favorite would be the dot room. BEWARE!

Summary

This haunt was tons of fun! I would recommend buying the $14 ($13 with the online coupon!) main attraction ticket (which still includes the train ride). The decorations at this haunt were phenomenal, but these weren't the most motivated actors I've seen this year. GOOD JOB TERROR ON THE FOX!!!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:28 p.m. CDT 1.6.3