ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by SheWroteSnatch after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

it was a pretty good house for the most part. i went with my cousin and boyfriend and with most haunted houses a group of three gets lumped with another group but i was happy we got to experience it for ourselves. we waited for a little over an hour to get in but there was a lot to do so we kept busy with the dj &games. once we were like halfway through we caught up to a slower group though, so that took some of the scare away from us. its not the houses fault though.

Summary

nice talking skull in the beginning. i liked the elevator, i didnt know that that building had two floors. the room with all the werewolves and zombies was cool, there was a lot going on in there but it kept me from getting bored. there was a part where a train horn went off &that startled me too. i remembered the girl from the strobe light maze from last year, but she still creeped me out. over all pretty good. ill be back next year.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by bjoule after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For a first year haunt, Monster Mayhem did a wonderful job! Located in the basement of Paulo’s Pizza, the location was great! It was easy to find with ample parking. Additionally, the restaurant above the house provided a warm waiting area and the perfect place to grab a pizza, play video games, or stop for a drink after the haunt.

One of the best features of Monster Mayhem was that the owners encouraged visitors to go through in smaller groups, and they did not rush the groups through the house. This was appreciated because it increased the fun and scariness factors!

The journey through Monster Mayhem takes you from room to room filled with various genetically mutated creatures. The special effects were excellent, both creepy and memorable! The elevator ride left some in our group a little dizzy and played on others’ claustrophobia. We were also impressed by the quality of actors in this haunt. Our favorite character was the man at the entrance of the house who delivered his lines with a perfect mix of eeriness and comedy.

Summary

This haunt was enjoyable, fun, and scary. Everyone in our group had a great time. It’s excellent to see a quality haunted house located in the Milwaukee area! We really hope that Monster Mayhem returns next Halloween for year two!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by kenjamin after attending on Thursday, October 23, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Absolutely awesome! Creepy circus music plays throughout and almost all the actors are in makeup, not those cheap, lazy masks unless their part calls for one.

The queue at the entrance is very entertaining, having newspaper cutouts on the wall explaining the history of what happened and what to expect, instead of most houses where you stand around rolling your eyes waiting for your turn to go in.

The vortex almost made me fall! My eyes were jelly!

The actors were totally committed to their parts and very professional, unlike most haunts where they get the neighborhood kids to come over and play around in cheap costumes for a few hours after decorating with front yard ornaments from Wal-Mart.

There were three different mazes in this house, each with a different theme and each very disorienting. A fence maze, a dark maze and a mirror room. The bloody tooth fairy clown made my teeth squiggle! Ouch!

The freak show was very creepy. I thought the fence was going to bust open and the freaks were going to spill out all over me. Ghastly!

The doctor in the torture room almost made my pants fly off in a stream of pressurized pee when he whipped out his huge syringe!

This was an awesome house and I suggest it to anyone looking for not only a scare, but a great time and a commitment from the actors to make you have fun. They can't touch you, but these people are so skilled they don't have to and can still get the job done.

Summary

Oh no! I kind of mixed the review and summary together! It's OK! I have a disease.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by bunnehopp after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Alot has changed this year, the woods constantly changes their scenes. I love the walk through the woods, it is very creepy. The actors are on cue and jump out at different parts of the group, unlike other places where they only get the front or back of the group.

Summary

Easy to locate, worth the price and not far of a drive. I would recommend this haunt to anyone 14 and older.

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by vampira08 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunt i have seen in years and i have been to several each year! The sets were phenomenal the wait (which was about a half an hour) seemed to fly by thanks to all the 'monsters'that play in the barn and the coffin ride! There are all different kind of scares and you can tell the actors love what they are doing.

Summary

We went through both sides (the clown haunt in blacklight is MORE than worth the five bucks) I almost peed my pants when the cahinsaw man chased us. KUDOS to the peekaboo clown the dot room guy and the zombie nurses!

I'm probably going to go back through this weekend!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been attending this haunt for about the last 3 or 4 years now and it is truly amazing how they seem to be steeping up their game and improving year over year. After attending a very poor cornfield maze the week before, myself and a group of friends decided to visit this Haunt to get the season moving again. We arrived at the place at around 6:50ish. There were already a good number of people before us there. We stood in line for tickets for maybe 5 minutes. We then went into their covered waiting area which was a huge tent. They had the visitors sorted into rows of about 30-40 people. A worker told us which row to stand in, so after about 20 minutes or so of waiting, it was time for our row to step up(*Note* while waiting in line there was various ghouls and evil clowns scaring the living daylights of some young attendees, which really set the mood). We where sent in with out group of 4 and as you enter the first house is very much set up like an old haunted mansion, with a ghoul up top dangling a baby doll from a string at you on at the entrance, just a great start. I don’t want to give too much away, but the inside of the first house had some of the most detailed and nicely hidden creatures I have every seen. The details that go into these rooms are above and beyond anything around. The actors where very into their jobs and did a great job of making you jump or scream.

After we exited the first house there was about a 5 min break so they could properly make sure that the groups didn’t catch other. The waiting area in-between houses were set up and themed greatly so it would break the mood.

We then entered the second house, and it sums this one up, it’s darker and uses strobe lights very nicely. They even had a green type of laser strobe light which gave a great effect on the creatures as they seem to pop up and then out of view. The scares are still top notch in this house and you won’t be disappointed. Especially at the way you have to exit the 2nd house.

We then had another 10 minute break before entereing the 3rd and 3-d haunted fun house. Before entering the house you are given a pair of 3-d glasses. Once inside it is amazing as the artwork and colors jump off the wall due the effects. The house lacked live actors but was just overall visually amazing!

Summary

Overall took a bout an 1 hour to make it thru all 3. For $25.00 how could you go wrong, worth every penny. Also keep the wristband on and you can go again Nov.1st for half price! I highly recommend this house!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my favorite of all haunts that I have attended so far.  This is definately a great attraction  and it is made by its actors.  They are wonderful.  The props and frights are way cool too.  From frightening to funny at the drop of a hat.  Good gore, Better props, and even better actors.  There was a  line probably about 45 min but they do offer a speedpass that lets you get right in quickly.  This haunt is extremely interactive so make sure you are ready to get involved with the actors.  Very unique stylizing and completely different than last year-which was great too.  

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy to find with directions.  Once near the expo center you can find it right away.  There are lights and a huge sign saying that the haunt is located there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Approximately 45 minutes when I went but it can get quite long so I would maybe suggest the $10 extra speedpass if it is chilly outside.

Actors' Performance


WONDERFUL!  I cannot say enough about the people at this haunt.  They are true actors and masters of their craft.  Not one misses a beat and they are all funny and scary.  

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Very cool-they had a very special new one that looked like a guy screaming to get out of a "Saw" like contraption and then his head was smooshed to smitherines, not for the weak stomach.

Length


Approximately 30 minutes for both attractions.

Crowd Control


Good crowd control-the lines are set up in a barn and there are cool scenes for you to look at  while you wait.

Most Memorable Moment


Definately the squished head machine-pretty realistic and awesome gore.  Also a shout out to the wonderful hillbilly that escorted me into the haunt-nicest backwoods creep I ever met!

Summary

You must go, go now, you know you want to.  Well worth it.  It is reasonably priced and you will be blown away by the actors.  Every year I have gone I have not been disappointed once.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is always one of the premier haunts in Wisconsin, and this year was no different.  Upon arriving I saw that only one half hour after opening the lines were full.  This complex consists of three seperate haunts and a special treat called the Last Ride-where you actually lay in a cofin and have the feeling of being burried alive.  The three full size haunts are all great and different.  There are two inside haunts called Insanity and Adrenaline, that are both great with good acting and excellent props.  The other full size haunt is an outdoor haunted woods which is very creepy and full of great actors making funny and scary noises.  My favorite part was when one actor kept making sheep noises at me from inside the woods.    It was great!  An overall one of a kind experience that everyone should check out.  

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find and  great directions provided or use any map system and you'll get right to it.  Once close you can see the huge spotlight and as soon as you turn the corner where the haunt is located-you can't miss it.  It is huge and has tons of lights, sounds, signs, and people helping you find parking and tickets.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I came early and it was pretty busy.  My total waiting time was approximately 20-45 minutes depending on the haunt.  However, they have concessions, two huge screens that they show videos on and they are constantly playing music.  By the way I suggest the mini doughnuts cooked right in front of your eyes and served piping hot which is great in the cool weather.  Plus they taste delightful!

Actors' Performance


Great, good makeup, and did an excellent job staying in character.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Unique and well prepared.

Length


Well over an hour of entertainment and that does not include waiting.  I would definately plan at least a couple of hours for this haunt.  Believe me it is well worth it.

Crowd Control


Good crowd control, there are lines roped off and signs showing the different haunts as well as people everywhere you can ask for help.

Most Memorable Moment


I have to say that my all time favorite was definately the person in the woods baaing at me like a sheep.

Summary

Worth the time and money-don't miss this one.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by HauntedScuba after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

There is a heated waiting area with concessions & actors roaming but as always it is jam-packed. An hour wait for the amount of people there went fast. We try to go here every year and have attended at least 7+ years. This year the scenes were mostly the same as previous years. The actors in the haunt are good, but rather predictable. The rooms are decorated realistically with lots of stuff to look at in each room. However, when you enter a room you look at everything in the room and an actor or two across the room from you and then move to the next scene. They don't get in your face so the scare factor is lower. The actors do stay in character and try to find the most scared in the group and play on that fear.

Summary

This is the 6th Haunted House I have been too this season. If you like effects over scare it is worth it. Don't let the line miss-lead you, it moves pretty quick.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin Feargrounds was awesome once again! They have three haunted houses all on one property and all of them just blew me away. They have the space and they know how to use it. There is little to no dead time between the scenes. They just keep giving you scare after scare.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find, it is located right off of the highway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was located inside of a heated tent which is extremely nice with these cold Wisconsin Octobers. There are also many actors walking around creeping up on people while they stood in line. It also looked like they had activities to do while you waited in line like a big jump house, but since I got there at 11pm they were already taking it down.

Actors' Performance


The actors' were absolutely incredible. They knew their parts very well and always stayed in character. They also were very unique with their scenes. The best one is probably the guy in the library!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets of this haunt were awesome. They were creepy and scary just by themselves. They used props that were very realistic. Also the sewing machine for skin was amazing!!

Length


The length of this haunt was probably about 20 minutes to go through each haunt. That's over an hour of entertainment, with just about no dead time between the scenes.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was the scene with the air compressed tarps. As you are walking the ceiling gets lower giving you the clausterphobic feeling which leads to my favorite thing haunts are incorporating this year, but I'm not going to give it all away.

Summary

Overall, Wisconsin Feargrounds did an awesome job once again. I would recommend this to anyone 15 and over.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by odistodis after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

We arrived at this haunt on Saturday about 8:30. There is a heated waiting area with concessions, but it was jam-packed. We were told it was about an hour long wait, so we asked if we could leave and come back. The ticket seller said that even if we missed our numbers being called, they would still let us in, which was pretty cool. We left for a beer and came back about 9:30. Our numbers were called shortly, and we went inside the haunt to get in a short wait line. Here our group of 4 was paired up with a family of 4. The actors in the haunt were great, but it was more like watching movie clips than actually interacting with the actors. You would enter a room, they would do their skit, and you would leave for the next room. There were many cool special effects throughout the haunt, but I prefer a good scare to effects. There was too much light, you could pretty much anticipate everything that was coming. I felt like our group of 8 was too big, there were no scares for the middle or the back of the group. Actually, the children in front of us didn't seem to worried either. This is the 3rd haunt I have been to so far, and I wasn't scared in this one at all.

Summary

If you are looking for a good scare, I would go elsewhere. I would recommend this haunt for families with younger children.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

By day, the Glacier Rock Farm is an outdoor classroom for schoolchildren to learn and explore the beautiful Kettle Moraine scenery.  At night the scene morphs into a spooky monstrosity known as the Dark Side that sprawls across all 100 acres and includes a haunted mine, hayrack ride, haunted trail, and corn maze.  Are those cute Shetland ponies actually undead flesh-eating zombie horses controlled by the freaks and demons of the Dark Side? Probably.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Usually googlemaps is sufficient, but I got lost trying to find this haunt.  There is a sign at the end of the lane, but one in Ashippun would really help.  Street signs are small and dark in this rural area, but that just adds to the adventure.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Because this is a multi-attraction haunt there are several different wait areas as you progress deeper into the rotten heart of the Dark Side. If it is a chilly night $1 hot cocao and cider from the gift shop will make the initial wait more bearable. The last two wait areas both have toasty bonfires but no marshmallows. There were no actors to entertain those waiting but whatever; I would rather put those actors in the woods and fields anyways.

Actors' Performance


All of the creatures inhabiting the forests, cornfields, and mine did a great job.  Most of them successfully used the old-school scare tactics of surprise and loud noises, and having a chainsaw in your hands makes it easy to be terrifying.  Probably more actors than I have seen in any one haunt location so far this year and many of them manage to scare you more than once.  My favorite actor was a young guy who got stepped on by almost every group that went by.  He's got to be pretty dedicated and tough to be taking that kind of abuse.  There also seemed to be a lot of clowns although I don't remember a circus theme anywhere.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Of the four different attractions, the hayride was by far our favorite.  The creators designed great sets that reach down and touch your face while you're constantly on the lookout for the next monster.  Sharing the scares with the whole group is fun because you start laughing at someone else's screams, but then you get spooked and the laughter is returned.  The production value will not blow your mind but the craftsmanship and unique touches make the Dark Side different than anything else you will find this Halloween season. 

Length


Clear your nightly haunt schedule because this one took us an hour to get through, seriously.  Probably 20 minutes were spent in the four waiting areas but this is still the longest haunt I have been to.  The anticipation from being outside and hearing screams from both your group and those a half mile away keeps your blood pumping during the down times.

Most Memorable Moment


It took some convincing, but my parents accompanied me on the trip to the Dark Side.  The last time either of them joined me, my chauffer dad was sleeping in the van waiting for my 14 year old friends and I to finish our hauntings for the night so he could take us to Pizza Hut, a yearly tradition.  They both really enjoyed the experience, especially the hayrack ride. I enjoyed hearing my mom scream and swear every time she got scared.

Summary

The Dark Side is absolutely worth a drive out into the country and is a perfect haunted destination if you are part of a large group.  The operators are good people, the actors are dedicated, you get four completely different experiences in one place, and everything costs only ten dollars.  At a price that low I almost felt like making a donation or starting a tip jar because I definitely got my money's worth.  Be sure to bring a sweatshirt and old shoes because there is a lot of walking and some of it can be muddy and treacherous in the dark. 

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by TANYAWI after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

A few rooms were really really good, however the end you walk through hanging sheets and NOTHING else--ended as a dud for us. All 8 of us thought it wasn't worth the money and it only lasted 3-4 minutes TOPS.

Summary

We were really hoping this was going to be great but not worth the money.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by sillayyybaybee629 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

HOLY SH*T!! This haunted house was incredible! My and my friends absolutely loved it. We showed up at 11pm bought our tickets and got in only 45 minutes later! There were these really hot guys helping us out trying to get us ready for the big scare, they were staff. The actors were great, it felt like everything was so real. My heart was bouncing out of my chest once I walked threw the doors. First there was a very creepy skeleton guy thingy to explain the rules (he reminded me of tales from the crypt) Lol! My favorite was the graveyard (i think thats what it's called), there were zombies scaring me from left to right. Plus there was this cute vampire that was like the head vampire, the only thing that wasn't so cute about him was how he was hissing at me... It was wierd, it creeped me out! The spinny thing that had neon colors splattered every where.. It tripped me out, I felt drunk. :) Another one of my favs was the glow in the dark skeletons, they were more cool than scarey but they sure did get a scream out of me when the popped off the wall. Wow! It was wierd, I didn't even see it coming. The whole house was great, it was deffinately worth my time and my money. Me and my friends promise we'll come back, and this time we'll bring more friends because now there all worked up to see how amazing hauntfest was. I LOVED IT!!!!

Summary

BEST HAUNTED HOUSE EVER!!!!
WOOT HAUNTFEST!
Love Sillayy

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by SpiketheSonicDog after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I'm very impressed with this attraction! The haunts were detailed to the max and the acting was outstanding. A professionally operated event that provides frightening entertainment. I've toured 100+ haunts and this is one of the top haunted attractions in the country.

Summary

The Wisconsin Feargrounds is a must see haunted attraction.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 18th, 2019 5:46 a.m. CDT 1.27