ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dead by Dawn is definitely no rookie to the haunted attraction industry. With haunts ranging from the Demon Sanitarium, to Windigo Manor at JFK Prep to this years haunt The House of Bathory she always seems to improve. This year is is no exception, they have put forth their best haunt ever. Dawn has a history of taking the fairy tales and stories we all loved as children and putting a dark twist on them, turning dreams to nightmares. Taking place in the store she runs and the apartment she lives in above she uses the space she has to the max. As you enter, be prepared to hear tales from the Mad Hatter as he prepares you for the journey through the House of Bathory. From there you encounter all the beloved stories, twisted beyond belief. This is not a new theme for her, but it is definitely the best one they have done.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There is no signage that I noticed, and very little on the building itself. I have been there before so I knew where I was going. It's located on the main road in downtown Manitowoc. As always, If you are unfamiliar be sure to get directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This is an outside wait, but for part of it there are awnings over the business fronts. There was very little entertainment other than a stereo playing a mix of Halloween music.

Actors' Performance


The actor's were great. This was possibly the best acting I have seen in a haunted house ever. From the Ms. Bathory, to the Mad Hatter, to Charlie and beyond, you are led to believe these actor's are professionals. They never once broke character and they showed dedication beyond any I have ever scene.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were great. They really took the time to design their rooms and make the most out of what they had. there is very little down time where you wonder whats going on. It's purely demented chaos through the entire thing, and it could not have worked any better.

Length


Again, I failed to get an accurate time on it, but I looked at my watch at some point in the house and it took 12 minutes from there. i would estimate around 20 minutes to get through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was great. The put us We never once caught up to the group ahead of us and we did not see a group behind us. I estimate they wait 5- 7 minutes between sending the groups in. It makes for a little wait but it makes the haunt that much better. It gives the actors time to reset and get back into character for the next group.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable part of this haunt is definitely the beginning with the Mad Hatter. With all that this haunt does right you should have forgotten about him by the end. It really shows how good he is and his scene was that you remember him even after all the surprises and horror you witness after him

Also have to shout out to the shocking portion of the night. I'm not sure if it was a static shock or if they have some sort of shocker in there that sent an actual jolt through me.

Summary

This haunt is great. I would not hesitate to go back tonight, and then get in line again after that. Dawn has done it again. It takes a lot to get me to jump at this point, but they managed completely. This review does not do it the justice it deserves. All the actors deserve credit-any one of them could be believable in whatever they do, they were that good. You really do need to check this one out. Don't just take my word for it, this one truly rocks. It is well worth the money!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Sheboygan Jaycees boast over 30 years of experience in running haunted attractions and it shows. I attended this haunt last year and it sure felt like I had never been there before. I've been to many haunted attractions where things are only slightly different from the year before, but the Jaycees ensure that nothing is repeated. I don't think there was one scene or performance that occurred last year. On top of that, this haunt featured an eclectic mix of rooms with very little carryover in theme. It sounds like a mess but they pull it off with great transitions from room to room. The best part would have to have been the marketplace, which hosted the best actor; the butcher, and the best scenes, the movie theater.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The signage for this haunt is not the greatest, there are actually no signs at all until you get right down to it. I would strongly suggest getting directions if you are unfamiliar with Sheboygan. Once there it is pretty visible and the building is pretty cool. It's an old factory building in the middle of dowtown. The setting isn't the greatest, but the building is good.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The building forms a sort of u shape in which the line wraps itself in. It's not covered so on a rainy eve like we had you will get wet. There is a concession stand and a few actors wandering around the wait area.

Actors' Performance


Most of the actor's performances were great. Even the ones who weren't as dedicated were good and remained in character. I have to give credit to the butcher, by far the best actor in the whole place.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were all designed by different people, thus the lack of one standard theme. Once again, they did a great job in making the eclectic style work. They took a lot of time to make it look good, not skimping on areas to make others better.

Length


The length was great for any attraction. I didn't get a good look at my watch but I would guess it took probably took 20-25 minutes to get through. Well worth the cost of admission.

Crowd Control


We did run into a group in front of us, but when the actor's realized it happened they did a great job of splitting it back up. Overall crowd control was good. My fiancee and I were put in a group with three others who led the way. They went a little faster than I normally would have and i think that contributed to the issue.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable part was probably the butcher. I can't say too much but you'll know it when you see it.

Summary

Overall this was a great haunt. Picking out just little things to give examples is hard when everything is as good as it was. Everything about this haunt deserves recognition. As a charity event they do a haunt extremely well, even better than some for profit haunts. This one is well worth the time and money, you will not be disappointed.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by pintslayer1 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Top notch haunt. If you're scared of clowns or the dark, this is the house for you.

Guy with the shovel, you rock!!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Marion Crane after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is truly unique, they always surpass my expectations. Actors were always in character, spacing was perfect, all the rooms were really cool. Even the music in line was awesome! Actors of all ages scared the crap out of us. Fun and scary wrapped up in one hell of a haunt.

Summary

I definitely recommend this to everyone, definitely worth a road trip! Props to Dead By Dawn productions!!!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by halloween after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

This corn maze was NOT worth the money--$18 if you wanted to wait 4 hours or $25 if you wanted to wait only 30 minutes. It only took 20 minutes to walk through it, and it was never scary.

Summary

Not recommended at all.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by dirkadirka after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Splatter Haus has moved locations in 2008, but the actors are still terrifying as hell and maintain the over-the-top scare factor from past years. Many of these monsters are also hooked up to microphones and speakers so their terrible noises and scares are sure to overpower your own puny screams. These possessed demons will fly at you from out of nowhere, but try to stick around long enough to get a good look at their amazing costumes and makeup. Our group of five included three people who were absolutely terrified and ran out of almost every room screaming, which made the experience much more enjoyable. Tickets are called in batches of 50 so you can hang out and eat, listen to music, or smoke cigarettes like everyone else. I would recommend going early because the wait will probably be over an hour if you arrive anytime after 9:30.

Summary

I miss the foreboding tone set by having previous Splatter House versions built on farms in rural settings. However, the newest spawning of this franchise is just as good as the past. There were some very unique scares that I have not seen in past years, and many of the old favorites return. While the scares are top-notch, the sets are not very imaginative or detailed. The actors are incredibly dedicated and intense, but I prefer haunted houses that put just as much effort into room design.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ToTheMax after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I was very impressed by what I saw at this place, it was pretty sweet. I'm really not a fan of haunted houses because they just aren't scary. To be honest the only reason I went through this one was because my girlfriend wanted to go and I thought it would be pretty funny to see her freak out. I have to say that this haunted house is different than any I've been to before because it actually made me jump. Most that I've been to have just been dark room after dark room with little 12 year old kids dressed in black roaring at me and that stuff just aint scary. The people in this haunted house actually put in effort and tried to scare you. For the most part most of the actors were really creepy. We only decided to go though the first house Morgan Manor and I'm kinda kicking myself for not paying the little bit extra to go through the other two houses. I plan on going back to see if they are as good as the first one.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tosoarforever after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Halloweeen is the best time of the year,Especially when you get to go to haunted houses. Wisconsin Feargrounds was absolutely the scariest and greatest haunted attraction(s) to attend this year. From the minute I went there I knew these were professional haunts. Everything was well organized from the ticket booths to the wait lines to the haunts. Don't let the calm manner fool you. Inside people were screaming and terrified of the living dead and other beings that lurked within the dark walls. Morgan Manor was so detailed with the perfect setting for a haunted mansion. As you moved through the numerous rooms there were scares from every direction and the actors were so in character, it gave you the chills and wondered if you were going to make it out. Next you went through another maze until you got to Torment, which was eerie in itself. The rooms were exactly what you expected, dark, filled with fog and terrifying shapes and living things; Many times there were things you did not expect! You could tell that many lost souls screamed from the depths of beyond as you made your way through the halls and rooms. There was that one room.....I can't describe it...you will have to go through yourself. After Torment you went to Freaky's which you could hear the not so pleasant carnival music ringing throughout the haunt. While I was in line, a girl came out stating that she had wet herself because of a particular scare. This only made the excitement that much better waiting to go in. The 3-D effects were completely amazing with the blacklights and glasses. I have never seen anything like it. Freaky's was filled with sinister clowns that made you never want to go to a circus again. The haunt was the best 3-D I have seen. Truly these people knew what they are doing in all 3 haunts. They gave scares and entertainment throughout.

Summary

I can't believe how affordable this is to go to all three haunts. You can't find better quality and price for the night of terror and fun. If you don't go to any other haunts I recommend going to this one. The actors, props, design, scares and management could not be better. A Must See!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by PillowFight after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

over all it was an awesome haunt.. the first one is the ever classic morgan manor. i have attened befor and found to very well done. This year stepd it up a notch and was far scarier then last year. The guys in the first room made us jump. They almost made my baby sister pee herself.
Second house was torment much more creepy then manor. The girl crawling out of the coffins makes me think ok the ring. also the guy in the cages was very crazy and out there. also found myself getting lost in the stobes and the room with the pillars.
Freaky's fun house was entertaining and the art work was awesome.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by mikeyz2527 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

after taking a roadtrip from chicago and witnessing some of the best shows in the country i must say The Feargrounds really impressed me. From the makeup to the increadable acting. some of this stuff was really disturbing and is up there with the best in the midwest. id recomend seeing it twice!!

Summary

right there with the best

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by TommyBoy after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dude seriously if you are to go to a haunted house this year, you only need to go to Wisconsin Feargrounds.......they have 3 there!!

my buddies and i have been going to haunted houses for as long as we can remember and there is nothing freakier, scarier, or AMAZING as these three...you are out of your mind if you donot check it out!!

Makeup, props, sets, EVERYTHING is so rediculously awsome, you can't pass it up.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kleigh after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been to a many haunted houses in my time, and I do have to say in the past few years I have gone to Morgan Manor, it has grown so much. Actors get better every year, the additonal houses are beyond fantastic, and to top it off...their sets are so well done you would think you're on a movie set. Every actor was original, creative and never told me to "GET OUT!!". I really do not like that when they yell that to you!! These guys took scaring us to a new level...I LOVED IT!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by widowmaker after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

These houses ROCKED!!! First of all I have to complement on all of the details that were put into the houses. The owner(s) must really have some kind of imagination!!! Manor has the look as if once upon a time it was a beautiful house, then it turned EVIL! I'd love to describe it but I don't want to give it away. As for torment, the name speaks for its self. This house is very horrific with many different scares and a lot of them are at unexpected times! If you can survive the first two houses you end up at freakys. This house will change your entire outlook about clowns. This place really is freaky. Everything looks as if it's coming at you and not to mention the lighting was awesome!!!

Summary

I'd have to say I think the feargrounds are the best. The actors truly become part of the entire seen. This place does go really well with the story line. If you can, read the story about manor on the website and you'll see for yourself that this place really gives the creepy feeling that we're all hoping to see!!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by DeannaWitchypoo after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

As our second stop in our Wisconsin Haunt Road Trip, Terror on the Fox was again, wet-your-pants-fantastic.
Terror is 3 haunted houses set back in the woods behind the National Railroad Museum, so to get there you have to ride a vintage passenger train to get to the dropoff point--its awesome. There are even actors ON the train to scare the daylights out of you!
Then there is a long, winding path through the woods to the haunts, again where you will find actors willing to scare the bejeezus out of you.
After Torment, and their 3D haunt, both which are exceptionally well done, you approach the Main Haunt.
Words cannot completely describe this amazing facade, where the actors dance on platforms, as well as jump off them.
The music is pounding & relentless, while the ever changing, and brilliant light show highlights every nuance, and tricks your mind into thinking this is pure entertainment.
Soon after entering, you realise that you've let your guard down and will be scared witless.
The geniuses behind TOTF change the sets each year, so you will consistantly see new & different things & themes each season. It's always a pleasure to see what the Bad Boys have built to strip your senses & leave you crying for mama.

Summary

Another great haunt where the Combo Tickets are well worth it. Plus, they offer a great VIP Combo, which is more than worth it on the nights where you may wait in line for an hour or more.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by DeannaWitchypoo after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last weekend we took a road trip to visit some Wisconsin haunts. First on our stops was Wisconsin Feargrounds- nightmares4u.com -Morgan Manor, Morganas Torment and Freakys Funhouse.

They were exceptional. Having attended last year, we found the ambience to be better this year than last--Morgan Manor and Morganna's Torment were better 'aged' with a true abandoned/lived in look.
The sets were awesome, with lots of detail & realism. The actors were good, none of them so much as said Boo or RAWR. Each actor knew their parts & scenes well, & more than a few had very witty & eloquent quips thrown in for entertainment outside of the scares.
The costumes, makeup, and characters were all well suited for the sets. The haunts were huge, and it seemed to take close to a half hour to go through each haunt.
The new 3-d Haunt, Freaky's Fun House was the best we've ever seen as far as artwork and sets--very well done. It was nice to see not only the walls painted with amazing art, but the ceilings & many times the floor, as well, were covered with the dizzying paints.
Many other *3D haunts* out there do not integrate actors well into these scenes, but Wisconson Feargrounds makes it work seamlessly.
As an added bonus, it was about the most perfect weather you could ask for in October.

Summary

While some haunts just have *bonus* haunts thrown in for extra fee, Wisconson Feargrounds is one of the few that makes it truly worth buying the extra tickets to go through all 3 haunts.
A great value for a night of entertainment.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 19th, 2019 10:31 a.m. CDT 1.14