ad-header-top

2008 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by LoudMth after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Adrenaline - Good Haunt though mighty dark. There didn't seem to be a lot of change. Actors were good.
Insanity - I hadn't seen this haunt yet. The actors were really good and on mark. The entertainment in the line was good, though I only saw one character walking around. Lines were short due to it being early on a Sunday.

Summary

Very good. I'd have liked to see more new scenes. Insanity was my favorite of the two.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by GunnaGetU_2121 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

From the moment I walked up to the moment I exited I had a wonderful time. The young lady at the front gate was so sweet that it through me off just a little so I wasn’t expecting much of a scare but boy let me tell you!!!! After coming out of the vortex tunnel the wolf guy scared the sh*t out of me!! Then the magician was terrifying as well… I wonder if he ever found the other half of his rabbit?? Much to my surprise Gilly was in the torture room and made it very interesting and very creepy at the same time. The freak show was incredibly amazing and scared the hell out of me. Then I moved on to the “fun house.” Where there is NOTHING fun about it, instead you get a terrifying surprise in every room. The mirror room was truly difficult to find my way through especially with this guy or whatever the hell that creepy thing was following you. Beware when entering the stripped room as the rooms seems to spin out of control and then out of nowhere comes a horrifying surprise!! Then if you can make it through the last room filled to the brim with GIANT clown dolls and a large knife wielding man you’ll be escorted out by a comical yet creepy as hell guy at the end!!! The line was quite long already by that time however I truly felt that I got every penny worth. It took about 15 mins or so to get through but I'm glad I made it out alive!!!

Summary

Gilly's Haunted House Scared the SH*T OUT OF ME!!!!!!!!

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by cickballs after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

this haunt was vary good it i have gone through many haunted houses and this was one of the best ones all the dark hallways and complete darkness was amazing i loved it another thing i loved was the actors they did not break charactor evan though they probably were there every night for hrs but i highly recomend this haunt

Summary

lots of black hallways people comming out of complete darkness and amazing use of anamatronics

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by scarytimes after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Not hard to find(been there before) BUT the fact that this event wasn't real busy should have been a warning. We(group of friends)have attended this event for 8 years and in the past we knew we were in for a real scare. But in the last few years this haunt has gone downhill big time. We think the theme this year was supposed to be a haunted mansion, but the rooms were a hodge-podge of ideas that didn't make sense or flow together. The scares were predictable and came from where you would expect them. Acting was often mis-timed and the actors didn't seem to know what they were doing. In addition the make-up appeared more fit for a circus theme with crazy colors and strange hair styles on some actors. In addition a good percentage of the actors seemed too young or unprepared to effectivly scare. The time in the haunt was about 15 min. - a bit short in our opinion. Perhaps this haunt would be good for younger people because it has lost much of the impact and intensity it had in the past.

Summary

With high hopes dashed, our group is forced to conclude that this haunt has gone from run-for-your-life in the past to run-of-the-mill today. Gone are the fresh ideas and unusual sets and in their place are rooms and ideas we have seen before. Inside some rooms seemed to be 'tossed' together without thought or planning. The $10 admission(less than most this yar) and shorter wait time than other haunts still doesn't make up for the poor acting and lack of good scares. While we are sure some will find this haunt acceptable, if you are looking for great decor, original ideas and real scares - Terror has lost its' touch. After a couple years of disappointments our group, sorry to say, does not recommend this haunt. Not a complete waste of time but a far cry from many better haunts in our area.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Horrors

by jeepgirl after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

So, SO. I was disapointed. I went to a hounted house put on by the same group 2 years ago in a different location and it was MUCH better. I understand that they lost a lot of their props when their prevoius building flooded. I hope they continue to improve so that they beat out the one they did 2 years ago at the top of the Noah's Ark parking lot.

Summary

No line. Got in within 5 minutes of arrival. Short indoor haunted house with limited actors the night we were there. Dissapointing. Haunted woods has the potential to be very scary but is severly lacking. Predictable. Short. Two logs laying in pathway that are VERY dangerous! I would go again next year in hopes that they made improvements.

View all House of Horrors reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by sjetman_5 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This Haunted House was one of my favorites. I really like the fact that to get to the house you had to go through the haunted woods and then climb the stairs to get inside. The actors were awesome and the scences were great, they had a variety of scences to go through. I don't want to go into any detail, that would give it away for the person who wants to visit this haunt. I had gone to this years ago when they were in a different location and it wasn't so good then, it is great now the old farm house and the setting really is cool.

Summary

Excellent was really impressed and would definatley visit this in future. They were somewhat organized in making sure you got in, in a timely fashion.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by sjetman_5 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have visited this before and as always Really enjoyed it. The actors, props and scences were great. I would definatley visit this one in the future. Very easy to find and the road is marked well.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by sjetman_5 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was Okay not what I expected it to be, People that had gone to this it was real good, Disagree totally. I have visited quite a few Haunted Houses this year and I would not go back to this one next year. Some of the actors we good and did their job at scaring you but others were lacking in scare tactics. The way you entered this building was a little strange, you entered and exited in the same place did not like that. Also the building inside had a terrible smell to it not enjoyable. The props here were sweet they had a ton of goods ones.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by sjetman_5 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

This was really DUMB, do not waste your time or money. It was circus themed but NOT scary at all! The layout of this sucked you were winding through some century fencing and only a couple of walls were actually made from plywood. The actors didn't seemed to get into it as you would expect. So all in all I would NEVER go to this one again.

Summary

Terrible!

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by soapstar after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

There are signs for the haunted house, but we passed it at first because they are not very visible. Because we got there at 7 and it was raining, we only had to wait 15 minutes.

The haunted words at the start of the haunt was by far the best part for me. The woods are scary to begin with, so adding quite a few actors really added to the spookiness.

Once inside the house, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed. I am usually scared of everything, but I think I screamed only once. There were not a lot of actors in the house. Instead there were animatronics that I could see before they "popped out." Since I was not scared, I was able to look around at all of the different props and scenes. They were very well constructed and added a lot to the house. I just wish there would have been more actors to interact with us. As previous reviewers mentioned, there was an unpleasant smell and a lot of cloth/clothes hanging down that you had to walk through. I also agree that some of the actors were only there to show you which way to go. It seemed like we were in the house for quite some time, so I was happy with the length of the haunt.

Summary

Overall, I would say that my expectations were not met. The props and haunted woods were very good, but they were not able to make up for the lack of actors. I walked away wishing I had gotten a better scare.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Halloween at Red Ridge Ranch

by kv97505 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

My husband, 7-year-old, and I went on the Haunted Hay Ride. We had a great time. It was just scary enough for the kid, but all the adults had a good time as well, and even we jumped at some of the effects. I have to say that the phantom horse was amazing! You will see what I mean if you go.

Summary

Definitely a good family haunt! No gore, just good old fashioned spooky!

View all Haunted Halloween at Red Ridge Ranch reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House on Haunted Hill

by kv97505 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt is a fundraiser for the Wyocena Fire Bureau. We went as family (my husband, myself, and our seven-year-old) and had a blast. It's just spooky enough to get your heart pumping, but not so extreme that it will cause nightmares for the littler ones. My 4-year-old nephew also went, and he did just fine.

Summary

Great family haunt!

View all House on Haunted Hill reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Sleepy Hollow Haunted Hayride @ Dan Patch Stables

by kv97505 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My husband I went on this haunt, and it has been our favorite thus far. While most haunted hayrides are rather "tame", this one was not at all! The actors not only jump out, they hang on to the sides of the wagon and even come aboard the wagon and interact with you. You can't run away when you are on a wagon and an evil clown is eye to eye with you. Also, this haunt allows monsters to touch you (within reason of course) so if that bothers you, let them know before you get on. NOT for small kids!

Summary

Breathtaking and scary!

View all Sleepy Hollow Haunted Hayride @ Dan Patch Stables reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by kv97505 after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My husband and I went to this event a few weeks ago. We were both really impressed with the realistic scenes and theatrics, as well as the unique setup. Word of warning: there are a few claustraphobic areas; however the staff is kind enough to allow you to bypass those if you are unable to go through them, and it doesn't "take away" from the scare at all. This haunt is NOT for young children as there are some very graphic scenes.

Summary

Awesome job!

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Burial Chamber complex has been one of my favorite haunts over the last few years. Unfortunately this year they have slipped a little in my mind. In years past I have attended earlier in the season and earlier in the night, but on this occasion we were out late. Burial Chamber Consists of three sepaerate haunts in one location. Phobia haunted woods, Adrenaline, and Insanity, the last two house style haunts. The biggest problem I saw which could be because of the time of night was the group sizes/ my group consisted of just my Fiancee and I, but for Adrenaline we were put in a group with 10 other people. 12 people in one group! Thats way too many to go through a haunted trail, not to mention a haunted house. Our 5 minute walk through what they called a haunted woods also consisted of a large group that split itself up once past the ticket lady. Lastly, and worst of all we finished the night with 13 other people through Insanity. I understand the haunt is only open until 11:30, but if they want to be out by that time they need to stop selling tickets earlier. It really wrecked the night and they will end up losing credit if they keep that up. As a very satisfied past customer this was an extremely disapointing night for me.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The haunt is not hard to find at all, it's not too far off Hwy. 41 and it's only one turn from there. They have spot lights that shine up into the air that you can see from a pretty good distance. Once you turn off the highway and get to the road you turn on to you easily see the building right away. The big Burial Chamber painted on the side is a giveaway, if all the cars and people haven’t already made it obvious!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have loud metal music playing and have music videos playing on the bigscreen. They have concessions and a tent to wait under. I’m not sure what the tent was for unless they call numbers at certain times. While we were there the only way to get in was to stand in line making the tent basically useless. I would suggest buying VIP if you can afford it or if you simply cannot stand the lines.

Actors' Performance


I would say they did good considering the circumstances. I can’t imagine what it’s like constantly staying in character while hundreds if not thousands of people come thorugh on a given night. On top of that with a larger group size they had to figure out when to jump out so everyone gets a chance to see the effect. They Didn’t break character and most of them seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Have to shout out to Stewart and the baby-both were pretty disturbing. Phobia was a little disapointing. The few actor’s out there didn’t seem to be completely in to it. I have to give them the benfit of a doubt though as our group split up and they probably did not know what was going on either because of it.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The set’s were good as always. Phobia doesn’t really have many sets or props, but they use the wooded scene as best as they can. Adrenaline was the same as years past. They always have great sets and some of the coolest props around but after a few years of the same it can get a little tiring. It wouldn’t hurt to spice it up a little bit. Insanity suffered this year from the opposite. Again they have great sets and a great theme as if a city has been taken over by freaks and wierdos, however they made changes to this one while I personally liked it the way it was. It had been repetitive but it was ok that way. Overall the sets and props were great, you can definitely tell they care how this place looks. The only other problem I saw was it appeared that it was a little understaffed and some rooms/scares went empty. Could be a product of group sizes again and that the scares were over by the time we got there but it was late too so who knows? Something just seemed to be missing.

Length


Phobia clocked in around 5 minutes while the other two took about 15. They were all shorter this year, but that can be attributed to many reasons. The time of night and trying to get so many people through. Also how fast your group walks through-if your scared or want to take your time to see everything.

Crowd Control


I honestly was not impressed with their crowd control. We never did run into another group, but being put into a group with 10-15 people is a bit ridiculous. I realize it was late and they were trying to get so many people through but I don’t know how that justifies the issue. It felt like they were taking advantage of the large crowd and then sacrificing the customer’s enjoyment. With people’s discretionary income spread thin, if they decide to spend it on a hauunt they should get their money’s worth. I would like to see it again earlier in the evening when the crowds aren’t so bad-I’m confident that it’s a totally different animal at that point.

Most Memorable Moment


While the large groups is the most memorable, I have to again comment on the big baby. Also, the one point I got to lead through Adrenaline I took a wrong tunr and opened a door to a storage area! It was nice and big, so it’s nice to know they still have room to expand if they would ever want to do so!

Summary

I know what this haunt can be like, and I'm really hoping my experiance is not what they are doing all year. I have always liked this haunt and expected much better from them. I know this can't be the way the haunt is really being run, it honestly kills me to say all this about it. I would really like to see how they run the haunt earlier in the evening. I would definitely recommend being out there early, it cannot be as bad as my experience. Pleas note, this is one person’s thoughts on his own experience. This by no means is a representation of every minute of the attractions operating hours. Everyone has different experiences and different thought on situations. This is my opinion, I hope everyone else has a better time in their situation than I did.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 12th, 2019 2:18 a.m. CST 11.0