2008 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

200 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was definitely a great experience. I drove from Milwaukee to see what all the hype was about. I met with some friends, and we pretty much just hung out in the parking lot by the cars and sent a "scout" every 15-30 minutes to go check on the status of the number calling for the line.

When it finally came time for us to mosey into the waiting area, I was really getting into the choice of music. This definitely gave you an adrenaline booster just before heading in.

If I had a choice, I would have preferred a smaller group, so all the people had a fair shot at being scared. I worked for a haunted attraction for 6 years, so I was, of course, dead last. I enjoyed a lot of the scenes, and the music throughout. In a group of 8 or 10, usually the scare is done by the time the last 2-4 people come into the scene

I agree with some of the other reviews, stating that you didn't sense any of the other scares ahead of you, but there was one. Even with the sense of not knowing what's coming, each scene was doomed to a single scare (actor or animatronics). There seemed to be a few too many "dead zones" (pardon the pun). I'm guessing they were attempting to build suspense, or maybe they ran out of room in the floor plan, but I got a little bored. One effect or actor per scene really isn't going to cut it

Summary

Although I've worked for another haunt, this was all new to me. I did still have a good time, but I have seen better this season. Could use more pinball scares to keep you guessing where the scare is coming from. I enjoyed the number system, with the ability to just hang out until the sequence called.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by bandicoot047 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Interactive actors made this well worth the admission fee. The effects were great, with black light rooms, 3D paint, and other unique props. The actors kept us on our toes, but found a way to creep up on us anyway. It was fun, with frights from beginning to end, I would recommend it to my friends.

Summary

Although the line was long, a movie and actors kept us entertained. The tour took us through many different rooms, providing a scary situation for anybody. 3D paint is an effect I've never seen in a terror trail before.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hoffman Haunted Hall

by gilbsnick after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very scary and funny at the same time. The rooms are well designed and have a mix of live actors and automatic "pop ups" that scared the living daylights out of me!
Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a good scare!!!

Summary

I attended this with 3 of my friends and the wait wasn't too long considering how many people were in line to get in. This was a very good haunted house overall.

View all Hoffman Haunted Hall reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by barbarajeanwells after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

There was a family behind us in line with about 7 kids, some looked as young as 4 yrs old..there were loud, kept hitting into us in line and trying to push forward, wehn we finally got to get ready to go into the haunted house, I asked the guy to please make sure we are as far away as possible, he said he couldn't do that, so wewere all ready to go in and the Family started complaining that they charged himtoo much so the guy took everyone out of line and then let me and my friend go through without them.

the haunt was just OK for me this year...there was only a clown outside while waiting and he wasn't scary at all, last few times I have went there were zombies outside, chasing you to your car and messing with you while you wait in line. Wehn we finally wnet through, i was really disappointed, I drive from Genoa City, WI to Mitchell ST in Milwaukee (about a 45 minuted ride) - I don't think I will be back again...also when we were walking through, it smelled like sewer. Most of the charaters were good, but it went by so quick, I forgot about most of it....

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by lutzcol1234 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It started off where i went in line to get my tickets. As i approached the ticket line i was like "There is no way im waiting in this line". I got convinced to buy my ticket. I then went into a heated waiting room with consessions. In the waiting room i saw a weird guy on stilts. He was fun and gave everyone some excitment. After waiting for about 1 hour i got called into a cemetary. In there we lined up and got ready to go into the house. As we were lining up we got told jokes and had fun. Then the FUN BEGAN!!! The whole house was excellent but there were certain rooms in particular. The room that made me PISS MY PANTS was the torture chamber. Then my next favorite part of the house was that rat. He was amazing. The statue room was good along with the hellevator before that. THE WHOLE HOUSE WAS EXCELLENT. It was definatly worth 10 dollars..

Summary

I would recommend this house to anyone that wants to piss themselves....
EXCELLENT JOB TERROR ON RURAL STREET!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by mrgrim00 after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

first time going and it was worth it. very good friendly. scare was good we got jumped a few times. effects were awesome props alot of ad actors very good well placed.

Summary

will return again. very well worth the 24 bucks to get in.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by johnny (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror on Rural Street – worth the money and worth the trip! This is one of my very favorite haunts – every single year! My best goes out to the management of TORS because they make this haunt new and exciting every year!

You will notice new and exciting changes as soon as you arrive, in the form of a new façade at the entrance as well as in the staging area, which is now the entrance to Grandmother’s house. Also, there is a new tale that is told that sets you off on your adventure.

I do not want to spoil anything for you, but I will provide some details. Be sure to keep your eyes open for the organ room – as well as the singing skeleton – “Dead puppies aren’t any fun. . .” I found myself laughing OUTLOUD on that song!

Also, out is the octagon chamber, and in is the “scary-go-round” with the most psychotic, sadistic clowns that you will EVER meet!

Long story short – if you only visit one haunt this year, make sure it is Terror on Rural Street! Not only will you get a GREAT scare and have an AWESOME time, you will also be doing your philanthropical part because you are helping out a non-profit organization.

***NOTE*** this haunt is open on October 31st as well as November 1st! I spoke with management, and they advised me that these days are historically “slow” days in terms of attendance (hello?! That means you don’t wait in line very long!). So, if you want to take advantage of the last days of Halloween as well as avoid some lines, be sure to attend on these days!

Signage / Visibility / Location


I visited Terror on Rural Street on Friday evening, October 6th at around 7:30 PM. The haunt is located in Hartford – it took about 40 minutes to get there from West Allis. It was pretty easy to find using the directions from the website (and on www.hauntedwisconsin.com – shameless plug!) as well as some signage directing you to the haunt. Parking was a BREEZE. There is a recreation center next to the haunt and they also share the parking lot. This time, parking was abundant!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting/staging area is one of a kind! Of all of the haunts that I have visited, this wait area is my FAVORITE! Not only is this waiting area HEATED, it also provides you with a CONCESSION stand! The night we visited, it was in the 40’s, so going into a heated waiting area (with a couple of scare-actors entertaining the crowd, I might add!) The costuming was very good and VERY well done. I especially liked the undead creature on the stilts!

The process works like this: purchase your tickets (VERY important!), wait until your number is called, and then enjoy!

Actors' Performance


What can I say; the scare-actors have OUTDONE themselves this year! Every actor kept in character and made it their own! From the beginning to the end of the haunt, every scare-actor had performed amazingly!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As with every year, management has tried to make every scene and every set as detailed and as memorable as possible. This year is no exception!
The new designs can be seen from the beginning of your tour, with a new façade as well as a new entrance. “Grandmother” will welcome you to her new house! (You’ll see what I mean!)

Length


It took our group approximately 20 to 25 minutes to go through the haunt.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was very well done. From the security personnel with the talkies, to the presence of the sheriff’s department, everything was more than under control.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment of this haunt was the behind the scene tour that the manager gave us. Most visitor will not receive this tour, however; I feel it necessary to mention this tour as being “most memorable”. I met with Dick (and colleague of his; I am embarrassed to say I forgot his name so please forgive me!) Dick mentioned that he has worked with haunted houses for the past 21 years, and has been with this haunt from the start. The haunt is run by a non-profit group and is staffed SOLEY by volunteers – approximately 70 on a good night – let me say again, volunteers, including Dick himself.

Workers start on this haunt in April and the passion for details shows.

We must give props to everyone involved, including the local businesses that donate food, materials, etc to the volunteers. All of the revenue generated goes right back to the very haunt that you are visiting, so be sure to visit and visit often!

Summary

For those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 4-clown haunt, meaning there were 4 clowns present. Happy Hauntings! Johnny

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED

by ladyjenya after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

This haunted "trail"/"hayride" was non-exsistant. We drove to Oshkosh from Appleton, we found the address and Hickory Oaks and there was nothing there...not haunted anything and no cars. It either is not at the address or it is not running this year

View all The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by missthang1113 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

First timer on this one... I was reallly excited for this haunt.. but in the end was dissapointed... Throught the "haunted" forest you couldnt see a damn thing... we kept running into trees! and no actors anywhere in sight to scare us.. but when we pulled out a cellphone to see where the hell we were.. then one finally popped out to yell at us! wait time was not bad at all!! bonfire was nice and music/video was cool. Inside the hoouse.. welll.. running into poles is always fun.. not to mention actors standing around talking.. But they actually helped us when we couldnt see where we were supposed to go.. the "toliet room" now that was just discusting!!!!! And my question is.. what if your not the skinniest person in the world?? how are u supposed to fit through all those tiny areas... and there is NO DISCLAIMER about crawling around... I usually am very scared at haunted houses but this one was a downer... it had its scary parts but the unscary ones overwhelmed the rest...

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by hatemale after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This house is by far the best haunted attraction in the greater milwaukee area. I've never been more freaked out in my life. Evil clowns and messed up Doctors torturing you it dosen't get much worse. The actors in this place are amazing. The best word that describes this house is....unique, it's unlike anything you'll ever see.

Summary

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by jordan112 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

wow! that was even better the second time around. i new what was coming but i still got the bajeebees scqared out of me. defininately worth the second go. the detail in the rooms was awesome. there was a butcher room with creepy girls comign out of nowhere. and the best part is the vortex and clausterphobia walls. if youve gone already its definately worht a second go. its fun and its certain youll be scared right out of your pants.

Summary

the most amazing place for scaring this fall. Its the best scare at the fair yet.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by Mr. Malice after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

After hearing all the hype on this place, all I can say is it was a let down...from an adult point of view. The trail was a nice walk but the actors were kinda listless, to the point of falling in front of you. I think a few might have gotten stepped on since it's too dark to even see your footing. We were impressed with the group system. No lines and people sitting around a huge bonfire. The techo music needed to go but then again it's aimed twords the younger crowd. after about 1/2 hour we made it in. I liked the entrance area and the first room but after that my expectations dropped. the actors were dressed in street clothes and rather boring. the scare factor was not there mixed with the crawling made it seem more like a fun house than a haunted house. Climbing through a port-a-potty, the crawling and the very tight hallways/stairwells turned me off completely.

Summary

I'd recommend they remove the crawling and the 1 foot hallways. As for a fun house, this is great but as a haunted house, they missed the mark.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Mr. Malice after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first visit to the burial chamber and they did a excellent job. I liked the fact that there wasn't crawling or 1 foot wide hallways. We went through all three haunts with our VIP pass. Considering there were probably 1000-1500 people waiting to get in between the three haunts, we found this to be a very wise choice. They seem to be a little understaffed with actors but did a very good job none the less.

Summary

Some of the rooms inside were done very well but the three that stick out were the 'baby', the 'barber' and the puppet show. Now I'm not going to go into detail which haunt they are in or what rooms they are but I figure the Burial Chamber people will know which ones I'm talking about and you will too once you go through.

I manged to jump a few times and that is a task in itself since I still build/work at another haunt. Well worth the time to check out!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by Taco John after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This is not a very good Haunt....the actors didn't do a very good job at scaring me, the makeup was good but no scare fator, They will have to try again.

Summary

Hope next year is better or this place will go down the tubes

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by Erica J after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was a very fun and scary haunted cornfield. The characters were very creepy and were in the perfect spots to scare people. Just when you think you can take a breath and relax a little, BAM! someone is there to scare the crap out of you again. You definately know that a place is scary when someone from the group before you is crying at the end because they were so scared. I especially liked the extra rooms that they had placed throughout the field, that always makes it more freaky. I also thought the jeepers creepers truck was very cool. Just an idea that I had is that they should try and incorporate more of the movie in the field. Like having someone dress up like the jeepers creepers guy and put him on a wood post like a scarcrow (like in the beginning of jeepers creepers 2). I also greatly appreciated that they spaced everyone out so well. It always seems to ruin the fun when you either catch up to the people in front of you, or the people behind you catch up to you. That did not happen in this cornfield, which I was very happy about. By the way, the guy at the entrace was awesome!

Summary

I recommend Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield to anyone looking to get scared and have a lot of fun! This was one of the best haunted cornfields I have ever been to! I am definately going back next year!

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 10:53 p.m. CDT 1.6.3