ad-header-top

2012 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Alchemist Eye

by kmarie0218 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was a very well produced/directed stage play. The story was interesting and had you intrigued from the get-go, as it drew you in and had you wondering what would happen next. The storyline has a definitely creepy edge to it, but there was also just the right amount of humor to balance that nicely. My four friends and I were very impressed with the five actors. They did an excellent job. And the backdrop, lighting, music, effects, etc. were very well done. It started sometime after 8pm (around 8:15-8:30) with a short intermission around 9:45. We were surprised at the time but it didn't seem like 2 hrs had gone by.

The theater is small and intimate. The seats are comfortably padded, (but it would have been nice if they weren't so stick-straight.) There is plenty of leg room in each aisle. There is also a lounge inside the building, and you are able to take drinks into the theater with you.

I don't think there was a parking lot for the theater, but there is plenty of street parking around it.

The play has a rating of PG-13 to R. There is some swearing.

Summary

On the whole it was a nice evening out with my girlfriends. We were quite impressed and will definitely make it a point to attend other plays there in the future. Well worth the $19 admission. It was a nice change of pace to see something thought-provoking and entertaining vs. being chased by creepy dudes with chainsaws at a haunted house. ;) So if you're in the mood for something different, definitely give this a try.

View all The Alchemist Eye reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by KobeHerr after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Look out for A blast of fire at the dark side! First you weave your way through the terrifying mine shaft. Next is a tractor ride through the haunted woods before you get kicked off in the middle of the woods where the "boys" are going to scare your pants off! This is a totally awesome haunted adventure that we come back for every year. the 45 minutes you spend getting your scare fill is well worth the admission fee. Take your friends and family for a great time!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation"

by weirdminnesota after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

In the La Crosse area, Shed of the Dead is the only game in town, and although it's small and run by volunteers strickly for charity, it manages to pack in the scares. Loud noises, disorienting lighting, and creepy creatures come at you from every side, and one begins frantically looking about in an effort to take it all in. The two gals I was with were jumping and screaming throughout the entire maze which takes about 10 minutes to navigate. This is an 'old school' kind of haunt that relies on actors and atmosphere rather than expensive animatronics. There's plenty of parking space and two cans of food get you two dollars off your ticket. Convenient to Onalaska, La Crosse, Holmen, West Salem, and La Crescent. Well worth a visit!

Summary

Plenty of scares and conveniently located within La Crosse metro area.

View all Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation" reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Intense! Creepy! Morbid!  Those a few of the words my 2012 Mars Haunted House tour group used to describe their 2012 Mars experience.  If you're looking to get seriously scared this Halloween look no further than the Mars Haunted House!  This haunt has been in the business for 20 years and it shows.  Elaborately detailed sets and corridors tempt you to stroll slowly to enjoy the visual treats along the way while strategically placed ghouls and special effect scares lurk in the shadows to incite your natural instincts to flee.  Despite being prepared for the surprises that traditionally freak me out at Mars it always succeeds in making me jump.  Scares this year were encountered early and often…I actually jumped so many times I lost count. (But I'm sure it was more than once per minute!)

Traditionally I have declared this attraction to be Milwaukee's Scariest haunt. This year is no exception…in the 8-10 haunts I tour annually few (if any) make me jump as much as Mars did this year.

I particularly enjoyed the spectrum of scares found at this year's Mars Haunted House.  While most haunts will blind you by making your traverse a pitch dark hallway Mars not only pulls this off but also features two other corridors that blind you with both light and fog (…all of course, with their own unique scares along the way…) 

"Disgusting!" was how one tour mate described a room with bloodied body parts…without giving too much away, if gore really freaks you out some of the body parts associated with sensitive parts of the human anatomy may give you nightmares in this room!  This year's haunt definitely appeared to have more gore than in past years.  This noteworthy point may be due partially to this year's lighting.  The lighting of Mars was dark and creepy but always just enough for you to enjoy the incredible attention to detail this haunt showcases.  I've been told that this haunt actually is never disassembled so that improvements can be made year round…it definitely shows!

If you're into evaluating haunts with your senses you might find this helpful:
* Sight: Elaborate sets with great attention to detail. Lighting and special effects were frequently used to surprise me even though I was expecting it.
* Sound: Superb! The sound experience allowed me to become totally immersed in many of the rooms…especially immediately upon entering this haunt!
* Smell: Ever wonder what death smells like?  …the smell wasn't as overwhelming as 2011 but some of the sets definitely had a unique aroma to it
* Touch:  Yes…Some of the scares are so intense you'll actually feel them!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If the hearse parked by the front door and the elaborately dressed ghouls meandering along the sidewalk don't catch your attention you may be dead already...but if you're not you probably wouldn't be the first person to drive past the site.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Elaborately dressed ghouls interact with you and anything that moves in the area to heighten your anticipation while you wait to enter. The waiting line is all outdoors...so dressing for the weather may be a good idea if you're attending during peak haunting hours.

Actors' Performance


The performance of the characters outside was exceptional!  Inside the haunt the actors' focused more on scaring the bejeezus out of you than entertaining you.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Definitely worth checking out! With the total immersion and interaction with the actors and sound it's very easy to miss some of the attention to detail found in each room.... there are plenty of solid effects that will either make you jump or turn your stomach inside out.

Length


About 10-12 minutes

Crowd Control


Waiting line is clearly roped off and patrolled frequently by ghouls.

Most Memorable Moment


The "Crapper" room was voted the best by my tour group…I won't give it away though.

Summary

Once again, an outstanding attraction for those who like to be scared.  If you've enjoyed Mars in the past or you just plain like to be scared you certainly won't be disappointed this year. 

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by lovehalloween after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We attend this event every year because we just LOVE the hearse ride into the woods. We decided to go to this attration early in the year, so we wouldn't have to wait so long in line. We bought our tickets and walked over to the hearse. After about 5-10 minutes it was our turn. Perfect. We we with a group of 4 others so it was a nice small group. When we got dropped off in the woods, we had the guy with the chainsaw open the back of the hearse door and chase us out. The haunt had some good effects and some scary parts. About 1/4 of the way thru the haunt, the next group caught up with us, and it seems like the group after them caught up with us too. Before long, we had a group of about 20 people, which ruined the rest of the haunt. That is too many people to go thru the woods with. It ruins the spooky affect. The rest of the way thru we didn't get scared at all, just walked on thru with the rest of our huge group.

Summary

VERY disappointed this year. They should maybe have more time in between hearse rides into the woods so that groups don't catch up with each other. I understand that some groups run thru because they get scared, but putting more time in between hearse rides might eliminate some of that. It wasn't even busy on the night we attended, I would hate to see what happens the closer it gets to Halloween and the more crowded it gets.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by lovehalloween after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunted house I have been to so far this year!

Summary

Very well done for a first year haunt. The "2 years in the making" was very well worth the wait. The outside actors were very entertaining and unlike other places, they did not talk amongst each other. They were focused on doing their jobs and it was very entertaining. The house itself had AWESOME details and was very well done. I have been going to haunted houses for years and this is one I will DEF go to again!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by skare-me after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My hat goes off to the entire crew this year for the Terror on Rural Street Haunted House. As always you change the house so that the experience is SCARY. My wife and I took a group of friends after a dinner. The wait was very short and it was great again to have the heated wait area.
Now about the house and the characters:
Snake room was our first favorite, (I hate snakes), then the suspense of the deep scary voice what turned out to be a barber slitting the throat while shaving his client(victim) who jumped out of his chair as to get help then died on the floor, Now about Clowns..I'll say no more(eehhh). Then we almost were hit by a car... watch-out.
Enough said. I may take the kids so I'll say no more. I recommend this house to anyone who dares facing their fears.

Thank you again!

Summary

Keep up the great work everyone involved ,
makeup and costumes,room decorations and the charters!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Ever wonder what it would feel like to be in the center a real horror movie? The House of Bathory, located downtown Manitowoc, will catch you off guard like no other Haunted Attraction in Wisconsin. There is no more waiting outside, as a new creepy indoor waiting room has been added. Also if you are 21 and up, you can enjoy some food and spirits while you wait at the Fat Seagull. The House of Bathory is unlike any other haunted attraction. Each room is theatrically set with the most precise detail. Customer involvement is mandatory, and there is no hiding behind your friends. The sign clearly states that this is a "Full Contact" Haunted House. Those of you who think you are brave, because they can't "hurt you" ... think again! The Actor's performance is very genuine, I am certain that when the lights go on they all go back to their grave yard or some twisted home for the living dead. The scenes are not filled with animatronics, and they are not covered with fake blood and bodies (those items are just used as "fillers" at other Haunted Attractions). Everything and everyone you see in each scene is real! You will be forced into tight quarters, thrown down a slide, and guided through a haunted basement. The crowd control is excellent, and they only allow one group through the entire Haunt at a time. The entire "act" (and I call it an "act" because it is not just a house you walk through) lasts about 23 minutes. You will not find another Haunted Attraction in Wisconsin that is similar to The House of Bathory. You will still see some classic "favorite scares", but most of the Haunt is "impromptu". The theme this year is predominantly "classic horror movies", so if you ever wondered what it would be like to experience a REAL life horror, visit The House of Bathory and discover if you or live ... or die.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by boohoo after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow again like prior years I have been to this haunted house but now in a new location and in a real documented haunted house. It has some really great sounds and actors that come out of nowhere and scare you. My g/f was freaked out most of the night.The 3D clown maze was something I never saw before.The black maze was creepy and you couldn't see a thing.By far one of the best haunted houses this year. Also to top it off there is a Professional Ghost hunting group on the property the Fox Valley Ghost Hunters have a booth and they let everyone that comes down there hear all the evidence from the real paranormal or the ghost that are really inside.So that just made going through the haunted house even more creepy. Not sure who the person was that made the review before mine but I see she came the first night and first nights are never as good as you need to train the actors and no one really knows what is going on. Now it is in full swing I am coming back and inviting all my friends to this super scary haunted house in Berlin.

Summary

The other review I read said there is no heated waiting area and she is correct but there is a waiting area there that is like 15 degrees warmer then outside and it has a roof so if it is raining like today you can stand inside the area and it is across the street by the Ghost Hunting group and you can talk to them while you wait and stay warmer out of the wind and rain. Also it is nice as there is a concession stand for hot chocolate and other snacks while you wait and to conclude my review we also booked a tour with the ghost hunting group there to look for real ghosts next week a even scarier time in the tannery that has the haunted house.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Let's take a walk and explore one of Wisconsin's top rated Haunted attractions. The Burial Chamber is 4 Haunted attractions conveniently located right off of Hwy 41 in Neenah, WI. You cannot miss your exit as large spotlights illuminate the sky and draw you near. You know you have come to the right place, when all you can hear is the faint screams of victims between each loud thud of your heart beat. As you slowly draw near to the ticket line, you try to walk softly and unnoticed, but the creatures roaming the grounds smell the fear running through your veins. You try to blend in with the other humans waiting in line, but it is as if they have been waiting for your arrival. You stand still looking at the large lines of victims and wonder why so many people would willingly subject themselves to such horror. There is no time to wait and you have to decide, should I visit one of the attractions and pay $14, or can I make it through 2 of the attractions and pay $22? You think, perhaps I can do 3 attractions at $25, but if I survive all 3, why not visit the burial simulator for a total of $28? Just then you see the VIP or Fast Pass option and decide that for $34 dollars you can avoid the lengthy lines and maybe they will go "easy" on you. Then you hear a faint human voice in the distance state, "Thank goodness we bought our tickets online, as we can skip the wait for the ticket booth and head right to the house". Finally, you are on your way to wait your turn to enter inside one of the massive haunted attractions. Where should you go first?

As you begin to walk, you duck into the first line and can see the large words "Adrenaline" illuminating a death scene and smog. Since you chose to go VIP, you bypass several victims and before you can even register the fear that you are about to experience, you are at the door. A ghoul welcomes you, your watch illuminates the time ... 9:15pm. Just when you think this might not be so bad, the ghouls voice goes from sounding like a human to a deathly growl no person is capable of making. You have no time to reflect on the ghoul outside, as you soon find yourself inside Adrenaline. It is dark and you hear someone in front of you yell, "Please don't make me go first". You grab the person in front of you and proceed slowly through a dimly lit scene of death. There is no sign of human life and all you can hear are screams, horror music and loud bangs. The floor sinks, ghouls appear from every angle, and these are not actors. There is no way theatrical costumes and makeup could make a person look like that! Before your mind has time to register what just jumped out at you, there is another "in your face, unexpected scare". You try to be brave, but a yelp escapes every time. You move quickly to avoid what just made you jump, but they are everywhere and they don't stop. Your heart beats faster and you start to doubt if you can handle any more intense scares, but there is no way out. You see a door and you think you are on your way out, but then you find yourself going in circles through one bloody scene after the other. You are back in the same room, and this time, you try a different door, but you find yourself again in the same room. You think to yourself, "I am trapped, I want to get out". Finally, you have made some progress, but the scares don't stop. They drop from above you and almost land on your head, you find yourself amidst a deathly war zone and poisonous gas surrounds you. A dead soldier spots you, he is angry and wants revenge, shots are being fired right at you. When you manage to escape unharmed the lights go in and out and all you can see is some creature with long black hair hiding in the corner. The lights go out and come on again and you look to where she was and she is gone, where did she go? How do you get out? Suddenly, the lights come on and you see she is almost at your feet. You run for an opening, and as you run a fence drops above you and ghouls surround you. You keep running and finally you are out, you are alive and try to catch your breath. You look at your watch ... 9:32pm ... what seemed like it lasted many intense hours was 17 minutes. Perhaps your watch is broken, because it felt like an eternity. You wait for your heart to calm and your hands to stop shaking and then see what seems like a beautiful woods.

As you walk closer you see there is an entrance to the woods, it illuminates the words "Phobia". You remember not being as scared in the woods in the past, so perhaps this will give you time to get yourself together. You are back in the VIP line to Phobia and a tall monster decides to entertain you with jokes and kindness, but his face was so gross and his size unreal. It is 9:38pm and a ghoul guides you as a countdown is displayed on a computer screen. 3 ... 2... 1 and you are in! The woods is very dimly lit, so you walk cautiously. You can hear a real dog barking in the background, he doesn't sound happy. What does he see that you do not? Just then, you realize you are being followed. You look to your left and there is someone or something there, to your right there is another and don't look up it is there too. A bright light goes off and for a split second you see their faces, they are horrific even in the light. You are seeing spots from the bright flash and your vision attempts to adjust as you are still moving forward. Things seem to calm down and you have a moment to just walk in the pure dark woods. Just then, some creature is dragging itself on the ground and is coming for your feet, a HUGE Jackal is keeping you trapped, you move forward an finally are safe again. Another bright flash goes off and before you can get your bearings, you see a contortionist ghoul, it can't be human. No human can manipulate their body in such a way, it reminds you of the possessed humans you have only seen in the exorcist movies. Moving foward you encounter cousin Festis, he jumps out at you and pushes his gun to you, luckily for you it misfires, but he keeps trying and you move fast to get away. You think you see the end, and then you hear it ... "a loud chainsaw" in the distance, the smell of gas surrounds you and before anyone can say "watch out", he is in your face and you must run or be slaughtered. You catch your breath a realize that you ran fast enough, but where did the people behind you go? As you look down, you see the time ... 9:50pm. Again, it felt like you were walking the woods for miles, not 12 minutes. At this point, your stomach is grumbling, and you feel sick from the fear you have had to endure for the past 35 minutes.

Ahead you see several concession stands offering warm doughnuts, hot cocoa, calzones, pretzels, Halloween treats and much, much more. You try the warm doughnuts and after your stomach settles you decide you can handle one more haunted attraction. You walk past a long line of humans waiting for what you believe to be the next attraction. Out of curiosity you ask those near the front of the line "how long have you been waiting?" The nervous female responded about 40 minutes. The human's standing in line all displayed different actions of fear. Some were blankly staring, others nervously laughed, and some found comfort in their lovers embrace attempting to avoid the monsters that lurked the lines.

You look up and see another deathly scene that illuminated the word, "Insanity". You can't help but stare at the ghostly face of the thing taking your tickets. Every detail was perfect, not a single sign of human flesh was exposed. This clearly was not a human. At this point you realize that the name "insanity" is very fitting as you would have to be insane to put yourself through the torture of yet ANOTHER haunted attraction. You look at your watch ... 10:01. You enter and find yourself at the back of a dark, deep, filthy closet. You have to keep moving forward, but the walls and the ceiling begin to close in on you and those around you worry that you may not make it, perhaps you went the wrong way? You see an opening and you finally make it out. As you look at the scenes, something is touching your leg ... you try to move away and see what it is, but all you can see is the crazy scene of ghouls, bodies, guts and blood. Again, in the darkness, something below keeps touching you. You begin to think you are losing your mind because there is nothing there. You cannot grasp reality because the ghouls are making strange noises that are not that of a person. Their faces are so real and the scenes reek of death. You go from room to room, and each one is as detailed and just as gruesome and twisted as the last. Just then you panic as you realize a deathly ghost is really sawing into a human leg and the blood soaks you! You think to yourself, "this is not real, this can't really be happening". You can barely walk as the walls around you are moving, so you hold on tight and try to not to fall. When you think you have caught your bearings, you are trapped trying to push your way through a wall. You know that sounds crazy, "how does one push their way THROUGH a wall"?! Another creature lurks on the floor and appears behind you, the walls come to life and a huge man is eating the flesh of toddlers. You can not distinguish what is real, from what is not real. Just when you feel as though you have completely lost it, an insane clown makes certain to take all of your sanity. You exit the haunted attraction; look down at your watch ... 10:21pm. Slowly, you and your friends try to grasp reality and find your vehicle. Everyone is dumbfounded and there is silence as you attempt to reflect on what just happened over the past hour and a half. Just then, your alarm goes off and you wake up. Whew, it was all just a nightmare ... right?

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

2 years in the making. Their first year. Opening night. We were excited and expectations were high even before we arrived. Luckily we weren't disappointed with one of Wisconsin's newest haunts. Spotlights and neon lights make the Complex easy to see from a distance, like a haunted house in Vegas. 

The Abandoned Haunted Complex is created from a large structure and is home to two haunts, Ambush and Hysteria.  The haunts are connected and you leave one and head straight into the other. So it feels like one long seamless haunt, with two different experiences.  The haunt as a whole moves at a good pace as you enter  different rooms, themes and frights.  Using amazing detail with the building of the sets, props, lights and sound. I found myself swiveling my head looking at the props and settings of every room we entered in awe. Leaving myself open for surprises.

The Hysteria  proved to be part of the haunt that focused more on playing with your senses. Which  pretty much tried to assault every sense except the sense of smell. Including touch as something as simple as  little ropes hanging from the ceiling that gave you a feeling of walking through cobwebs. They did a beautiful job of not only having detailed settings, but the use of lights and sounds. The room that affected me the most had walls covered with black and white squares with the lights flashing. Actors and dummies stood in the room and you couldn't tell which was a real person as even the dummies felt like they were moving. The lights caused such optical movement that I couldn't walk straight. It was an awesome affect.  The Hysteria was an excitingly different from your usual haunts, with new tricks.

The Ambush portion brought you into more creepy situations in excellent detail. This haunt enjoyed to startle you along the way. The props and the detail they put into creating the sets was amazing. It worked against you as you were busy checking out a tomb, a morgue or a butcher shop and actor was hiding somewhere to startle you. Hence the name Ambush. Even as you wandered into a battle field, a gun nailed you with a blast of air to keep you on your toes as if the battle sounds weren't enough. The most memorable part was the walking around a hospital. Where you walk around the outside before heading inside. It was just amazing to see a creepy building exterior while you are inside a complex.  I heard constant comments of "oh wow" from members of our group throughout this haunt. It was quite an experience.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find since you can see it from the freeway, just look for the spotlight. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Waiting area had refreshments for sale and was outdoor. Line entertainment had two actors ready to interact and creep you out. The clown (who I've seen at the Mars haunt) made sure to talk to and disturb you. The other actor was great at disappearing, then popping out to make you jump.

Actors' Performance


The make up, professionalism and effort given was great. They all fit the setting they were in. The ones with speaking and interactive rolls did a solid job. If there was one area I felt needed work was more speaking or active rolls. Many were there to scare you from a hidden spot when you entered a room.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Not much to say but top notch. Best I've seen yet. No detail was spared, what ever setting you walked into, you felt like you were in that world.  Members of my group  were constantly pointing out stuff that impressed he or she as they walked into a new area.

Length


It took us about 35-40 minutes to walk through the whole complex.

Crowd Control


 Very professional parking arrangement with people giving you direction, the exit was as separate drive so traffic could flow.  It wasn't crowded when we got there. Though they had ropes set up to help with lines to buy tickets and to wait to get in the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


The man who kept trying to sell me a casket. Just when you thought you were getting away from him you somehow ended back in his sales room.  I still didn't want a casket!

Summary

This was an impressive haunt that lives up to the billing. A lot of effort went into the complex and it shows. Excellent props,  terrific settings, awesome effects and characters with scares around every corner. It's basically two haunted houses in one and I was able to get in for $18 a person with an online discount. Making it a great deal for the length. If you're looking for one haunt this year, or a haunt veteran looking for something different, give this haunt a shot. 

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by Chris12 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt was well thought out with a great storyline, awesome props and had great actors – some playing a specific role, some “following” us, and some came out of nowhere. A group of us went around 9:00PM on Saturday to find out later in the night that they sold out around 10:30 – there were a ton of people there.

After spending some time in the beer tent and at the bonfire, we bought our tickets. While in line, we learned that there are really three different haunts that make up this attraction. The first haunted trail is “Failed Escape.” It reveals that trespassers become captured, tortured and eventually killed through cannibalism – the last scene is out of control! The second haunted trail is “Hunger Hollow.” This trail is a story of life after death – a lot of zombies, ghosts, and walking dead. The best part about this one is that it dumps you out at the base of the ski hill where you take the “Scare Lift” to the top of the hill. Once you get to the top, there is the final haunt. It’s a maze with real chainsaws, chaotic music, at least 8 actors and different doors for you to choose your path… it was AWESOME!

Summary

In summary, we had a great night and got scared! This is a unique haunt that provides three haunts for one entrance fee. In addition, they have a beer tent, a DJ and 2 huge bonfires to keep you warm. I would definitely recommend this haunt.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by naklink after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I thoroughly enjoyed this haunted adventure. It was my first time here. You can't really call it a haunted house or corn maze or tractor ride because it contains it all. I had a lot of fun here. The tractor ride through the woods was very cool. It wasn't extremely scary, but it was different than any other haunting I've been too, but it did have it's scary moments and moments of surprise. I would suggest others try this one.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kstar after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year these guys do a PHENOMENAL job of pushing their customers (like me who really aren't scared easily) to be absolutely TERRIFIED of their actors!! These guys are just on top of everything, my friend's name was screamed all throughout the 2nd house because one of the actors in there heard it... AWESOME!! She was freaked out for the rest of the night!!

Even while waiting in line, their actors kept us entertained, scared and so forth. This made our wait, even though it wasn't that long, feel WAY SHORTER.

Summary

Morgan Manor- A Victorian style haunted house. It's a lot of highly detailed rooms, with equally detail actors. Not just in their creative and CREEPY acts, but their costumes, and make up was just fantastic!! I thought I knew where every actor was going to pop out at me, and they would catch me off guard because they were in a completely different spot. I like how unpredictable this one is, it makes the anticipation of it that much scarier!!

Morgana's Torment- This is always the darkest of the three they have. This year... the same, but with a few SHOCKS added to it!! I was impressed by how it was different, I don't want to say much because it will give it away!! When you walk through, you'll 100% understand what I mean!!

Shadowlands- New this year, but similar to their 3rd haunted house they have had in years past. I really liked how you were scared from all sides, since it is outside and not located in a barn, it's a scare from every which angle. OUTSTANDING!!!!

Revenge- This is a must do!! I say must DO, because this is where you get to shoot zombies... yes SHOOT ZOMBIES!!!! Who doesn't want to shoot one?? This was an excellent addition to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds this year!!

Overall they have out done themselves once again!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by AndreaR after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've gone to this for several years and it just keeps getting better. New haunts and creeps made it frightfully fun. I will definitely be back again next year!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 19th, 2019 4:27 a.m. CDT 1.14