2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by HocusPocus after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

“Gruesome!” “A disturbing display of gore!” “Nightmarish! …closing my eyes won’t be easy tonight.” These were comments made by the members of my crew of 6 haunt goes following their journey through Oblivion. All 6 of us attended this Haunt in 2010 for its inaugural season. Hands down we all agreed that this Haunt has made vast improvements since 2010. (…although we really missed the Puppeteer.)

If you’ve got a keen eye for special effects there’s a lot to checkout at Oblivion! The immense and intricately detailed gateway to Oblivion and an opening corridor with swarms of spiders crawling on the walls really set the tone for visual treats that lie ahead. The Sisters room was exceptionally well done and left me questioning whether what I saw was real or just an illusion. Many of the rooms featured gruesome effects with the smell of death violating your nostrils at some points. In fact, the smell of death was so intrusive that after departing Oblivion I was convinced I had taken some of the carnage with me as I could still smell the distinctive aroma of death! The maze within Oblivion was clever and fun. Not pitch dark like some haunts where you accidentally bash your head into walls and the person in front of you but rather visually and intellectually stimulating where the only head bashing occurs when your stumped about which door to open next.

My group attended Oblivion on its opening night so there’s a good possibility that this haunt may be scarier than what we experienced. Effects were certainly top notch at Oblivion but it appeared that the in your face display of blood, guts and gore were presented at the cost of maximizing scare factor. The hellhound was amazing but the lighting which allows you to admire this impressive effect also diminished the surprise for our group.

SIGNAGE / VISIBILITY / LOCATION:

Directions found on this website are easy to follow. The signs/banners leading to this haunt were flapping around in the wind and did not have a dedicated light on them when I attended so they weren’t the easiest to spot. Convenient, plentiful, paved and well lit parking can be found at this haunt.

WAIT AREA / LINE ENTERTAINMENT:

When we arrived there wasn’t a line so we didn’t have an opportunity to check out the “fully themed indoor waiting area”. Unlike when I attended in 2010, I did not see a concession stand outside of the complex but perhaps it was in the “fully themed indoor waiting area”. The costumed clown that greeted us when we arrived was fun and provided great photo ops. Oh…and did I mention that this haunted advertises a “fully themed indoor waiting area”? Check it out and include what you think of it in your review so I can read about what I missed.

ACTOR'S PERFORMANCE:

Performances were brief but effective. Creepy, gruesome, shocking…consistent with the unique theme of each room but not as interactive as much as they were a ghoulish vision on display for your journey through Oblivion.

SETS / SCENES / PROPS / FX:

Some sets could use a little more polishing (…although I did attend on opening night…) Others were exceptionally done with an outstanding attention to detail. Some unique special effects that I haven’t seen any place else. Not the most elaborate, sophisticated or numerous props I’ve seen this year but executed with precision.

LENGTH:
Our tour lasted 12 minutes. Of the 5 haunts I’ve attended so far this year this was the shortest.

Summary

Disturbing! Grotesque! Unsettling! Not the scariest haunt I’ve been too this year but the impressive attention to detail found in this haunt will certainly leave a lasting impression…a visual treat to say the least.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by A4dream after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my 5th year going to the burial chamber & I think it is scarier every year. Lot's of improvements in Insanity much better than previous years. One thing that I would suggest is that the actors be more proactive in scaring you before you are upon them & see them. They could take more advantage of the surprise factor. All in all well worth the money for the amount of the scare you get.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Fantastically Frightful!!  If you've never been to the Burial Chamber complex prepare yourself!  The sheer size of this complex is quite impressive and what lurks inside will take your breath away.   2012 was my actually my 3rd visit to Burial Chamber in the past 4 seasons.  (I do believe this is Burial Chambers 5th season…) Over the past 4 years as a Review Crew Member I've been to many of the haunts in Wisconsin and I’ve yet to find one as massive as Burial Chamber.

Of course for all you Haunt Connoisseurs out there I don’t have to tell you that it's not always the size of the haunt that matters.  When it comes to Burial Chamber, not only is this complex well endowed, it employs an amazing arsenal of creeped out corridors, crazy creatures and good ole fashioned in your face scares to maximize your ghoulish gratification.

Burial Chamber features two indoor haunts (Adrenalin and Insanity) that reside side by side and one (Phobia) that's outside.  The layout of Adrenalin and Insanity are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes.  The journey through both Adrenalin and Insanity progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits.  Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts is determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows. 

The pace of Adrenalin is fast and furious as the ghouls are unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group.  The lighting of Adrenalin is noticeably darker than Insanity but there was always just enough light for you to find your way without the worry of walking into a wall.  The maze of dimly lit hallways of Adrenalin did an exceptional job of building my anticipation of the scares that await but unfortunately made it challenging for the true haunt connoisseur in me to appreciate how elaborate the sets and creatures were.  Nonetheless, if you're looking for a good scare to get your heart dancing like Dracula's Discotheque Adrenalin will get the job done!

Insanity on the other hand left little to the imagination.  Sets were lit effectively…dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors.  There were fewer creatures lurking in the shadows of Insanity but enough to make you jump occasionally.  Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit.  Lazer lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights were just a few of the visual stimuli Insanity offered up.  For these reasons Insanity was my pick as top hell hound at Burial Chamber this year….. but when I offered this opinion to my group of haunt goers it was absolute pandemonium!  Which one was your favorite?

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find as it's just a couple minutes from Hwy 41. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait lines for Adrenalin, Insanity and Phobia are all outside. Two large screens outside of Adrenalin and Insanity along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation. There's also a snack wagon parked out back to help satisfy your cravings for munchies.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Nothing noteworthy in terms of an academy award type performance...but in their defense these haunts weren't designed to provide an opportunity for a theatrical display. Occasionally the actors would flash a performance that may creep you out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt.  Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects.  Trick floors, falling ceilings, vibrating walls, tripped out lazer lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes.  I particularly enjoyed the cleverly laid out lab maze in Adrenalin and the bloody pig pen found in Insanity.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete Adrenalin. Insanity also took 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Adrenalin and Insanity were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares....the bloody pig pen in Insanity was totally insane!

Summary

If you're looking to get totally freaked out this Halloween look no further than Burial Chamber.  Minute for minute Burial Chamber's Adrenalin and Insanity haunts provide more scare opportunities per minute than any other haunt I've attended.  Adrenalin's scares come early and often while Insanity showcases more gore and visual effects but still provides plenty of scare opportunities.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Hollow

by Haunted Hollow after attending on Monday, October 8, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is not your normal haunted house. or even haunted yard. It is an incredibly large yard that is in a rural location. Definitly worth the ride.

Summary

I think everyone should be a visitor at Haunted Hollow they get every age from 1 to 100 and all enjoy every minute of it.

View all Haunted Hollow reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by wisnowskm17 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. Scary's was fantastic! The house itself was huge compared to what I was expecting, and the maze was really awesome. I loved it and will be going back again

Summary

Great haunted house, price is good, and the maze is awesome. I would go again.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by Leatherface after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Going on a Sunday there was no line to wait in. I'm sure it is busier on a Friday or Saturday night.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful getting tickets and guiding you to the entrance.
I thought the "pathway" (not to give anything away) to the front entrance of the haunt was very interesting and unique.

The acting was pretty decent overall, we thought we were at the end though and the actors made us play some childish games, not sure what the intentions for that was. But entertaining to say the least. We had two males and two females in our group, females leading the way of course ;) They got almost all the attention which was amusing :).

The haunt has a lot of detail in the rooms but having to wear 3D glasses took a lot of that away, most of the rooms it seemed unnecessary to wear them.

Very cool special effects, room designs, and overall length was pretty good.

Summary

Overall i'd say this haunt is worth checking out. Had a lot of fun and hope they have a great season.

Thanks

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by cerqsk8 after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This site is located in Berlin, Wisconsin, in an apparently "Haunted Tannery". I had the opportunity to go on Friday night with a group of my fellow haunted house enthusiast friends. We were less than impressed, to say the least.

Apparently this is the first year that the haunt is in the Berlin Tannery (a 75,000 square foot facility that has paranormal societies from all over coming to investigate.) It is obvious that it is the first year that the production is within the building. Many things were lacking and there were parts of the haunt that were simply bare, open, and completely unfinished.

Given-the owner had only secured the building the week previous because the local fire marshal was giving him a lot of grief...still... If you are not entirely ready to open to the public then you should not or you should offer a walk-through at a discounted price. As it was, the haunt cost $20 to enter and it was nowhere near being worth the price.

Inside of the haunt, some of the props were well placed and added overall effect. However-the actors were very inexperienced and it was incredibly easy to predict exactly where they were coming from and what they were trying to do. Beyond this-there simply was not enough to entertain and/or scare the hugely experienced haunted house enthusiast.

Something that shocked me was how open one part of the haunt was. More walls were needed to make the haunt seem more enclosed and more claustrophobic. If others were going through the haunt at the same time as my group (which they were not-in fact, we were the only ones there for probably over an hour)...we would see the groups and it would lessen the effect of the haunted house even more.

The only truly impressive part of the of the haunted attraction was the 3D "Clown Room". They did a nice job with this room...using awesome painting techniques, tubes, and animatronics that were actually startling and impressive. It was the only part of the haunt that I truly enjoyed and truly found impressive.

Overall-the haunt took us only about 15 minutes to get through. It was not stimulating. It was not impressive. And it was only about 2,000 square feet out of the 75,000 square feet that they mention. Also-there is no heated waiting area so don't let them get you on that...not that you would be waiting...

Summary

In summary...I was less than impressed. My advice would be to wait this one out this year and hope that they add more next year. Happy Halloween!

-Kari

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by MarleneLady after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We have been attending this haunted house since it opened. We have NEVER been disappointed! Each Halloween year we go through as many houses as we can. I am always impressed how Oblivian changes everything from year to year.

This years scares really got me mentally. When purchasing tickets, I was chased by some guy with panties. People try to get me to run at other haunts with chainsaws and I screamed like a little girl from a guy chasing me with panties. They really know how to get in your head.

I was disappointed when I saw their poster that they did not have any backstory about the 'sisters' they speak of. When I went it - I was supprised how pleased I was that I did not know a backstory. I found myself looking harder to see what the sisters were and trust me! You cannot miss it!
It is so mentally draining and terrifying I was trying to catch my breath afterwards.

Summary

Again a two thumbs up. I loved the new theme and layout. They now except credit and debit cards and have a larger ticket booth. If you went last year and got a poop easy sticker, you can now buy a t-shirt that says 'dont scare me I poop easy.' My husband wanted one but I told him he couldnt wear it in public with me :)

We will be skipping some of the other haunts we usually go to to come back to oblivion this year. So awesome!

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by PTV28 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great haunt! No need to travel for a professional, well put together experience. We were entertained from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. Great attention to detail, an all around fun time. Food and drinks on site, bathrooms, well moving line with music and fun! Take a peek at the line, if it's huge, do like we did and grab the fastbpass option.

Summary

For a first year house, this haunt exceeded experienced group of haunt fans expectations! Summary = DO NOT MISS IT!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by 6pksummer after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

For 20 bucks, the price isn’t too terrible. However, if you are looking for really scary, this is not the place. There were not enough scary parts. People would just stand around the corner and say “Boo” or scream in your face. They weren’t even scary looking people. They need to have people scaring people while they stand in line and wait. That part was very boring and doesn’t get you pumped up for a scare. The haunted hay ride had a few “jumpy” parts but then had farmer type people jump on the hayride. These people weren’t even scary. They need to have more people scaring you during the hay ride. The corn maze had nothing scary at all!!! Need to have people hiding in the corn stalks scaring you. Or people following you. Very disappointed in the scare!!!

Summary

Not scary

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by mikegroll2012 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Being the opening weekend of the haunt season, the lines weren't that bad to get through. I was pleased to see how well they were timing the groups (2, 4 and 6 people)into the house. They had one really good scarer (evil clown) during the wait in line that kept people on their toes. I enjoyed their creative rooms as I have never seen anything yet that focused on spiders and snakes. Well done!

I highly encourage everyone to pay for both haunts, the second is a maze. Now I have been in my fair share of mazes, and typically I make it through pretty quickly. This one was very different. It used heavy fog, strobe lights and darkness. Each possible exit was either labeled "I quit" or "winner". We were confused to the point of being in there a good 25 minutes before finding the "winner" door.

I would highly recommend this haunt to everyone I know!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by BahamasSue12 after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We go to The Darkside Haunt every year and Love it, every year they add on to the already great haunt. This year in addition to the haunted mine shaft and haunted wagon ride through the woods they have added other haunts among your journey out of woods; a haunted green house and a crazy lady in a cabin sending you in all the wrong directions trying to get out of the corn maze.
The use of pyrotechnics during the haunt is awesome.

Summary

The haunt is laid out on a large farm, there are numerous experiences to it, and takes about an hour to complete. Being outside under a starry sky going through this haunt adds to the whole experience.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Cutelycurvy28 after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Just went through all three haunts. A ton of fun! Actors were extremely talented! I had a blast thank you everyone!!

Summary

We started in insanity. Very fun and confusing. Adrenaline was entertaining, especially the clowns. Phobia was awesome! The actors were funny and scary!!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by JJrakman after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was a professional level haunted house, comparable to what you might see at Wisconsin Fear Grounds, though not quite as large.

A word of advice to haunt goers, if you might be interested in the fast pass, walk around to the left of the building to see how long the line is because the line is directed around the back of the building. When we bought passes, it didn't look like there was a line, but we walked around the building and there ended up being a sizable line. If there would have been someone walking around the line selling the fast passes, we might have bought one.

At any rate these are really first class scenes and actors with make up. I think just about anyone will be pleased with this haunt. The parking lot is a bit dark and there aren't many streetlights so you'll have to keep a sharp eye out if you're going at night. It was a decent length too, I think it took about 20 minutes to a half hour to get through..

*SPOILERS*

Just a few minor nitpicky suggestions for the haunt owners here.

Really appreciated the music while waiting in line. If you're able, you could also project movies on a wall outside. You could project the Monster Channel www.100ymm.com on a wall or something with a digital projector.

I'm glad the fog wasn't overdone because my girlfriend has asthma and fog and asthma don't mix well. The fog was just right.

The search light is cool, but usually when I see search lights I think it's a car dealership. What if you put a red gel over the search light? How many red searchlights do you ever see?

The small waiting area just before you enter the haunted house could use a bit of decoration. This small space could be used to kind of whet the appetite for the main course inside. So much effort was put into decorating every square inch of the place, why leave in this little space untouched? Even some simple classic vintage Halloween decorations or cotton spider webbing would be good enough to help evoke some anticipation and get customers into the spirit right from the beginning. To that end, maybe even some large scale murals could be painted on the walls outside for folks to look at while they're waiting in line.

I knew there was a chainsaw at the end because I could smell the gas from around the corner. Never a fan of the gas smell, particularly when in enclosed places. It usually just elicits nausea and not in a good way.

I think this is just a matter of personal taste, but for me I generally don't get scared from army type scenes. It tends to evoke the Rambo movies to me, but that may just a a product of my age.

I also never care for the inflated hallway you have to push through. This to me seems more of a fun house thing than a haunted house thing. I would have much preferred to see more cool scenery.

I noticed a small house off to the side that might look like it's used for storage? What if you turned it into a small haunted cafe or restaurant? If you did, this thing could go year round cause people would go there just to eat too. Then as people are waiting in the restaurant, you could use the buzzing devices they have at restaurants for when people are ready to go into the haunted house. Just a way out idea.

Summary

Very professional level haunted house, something for everyone I think. Worth the price.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (3)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Seventh Circle Haunt

by pfectangel after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

It was hard to find since it is so dark there. We weren't sure it was open. Once we found the entrance we could here other people in the background screaming. I was really fun! I was so scared in the woods, thought I was going to get lost. I was scared in every room!!!!!

Summary

I almost peed my pants!!!!

View all Seventh Circle Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 9:19 p.m. CDT 1.6.2