ad-header-top

2012 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by nevermind4494 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very impressed!!! I probably attend between 5-10 haunted houses each season and I have to say this one has made it into my top 5!

Let's start with the beginning...we got to the event and parked, it was pretty easy to find as someone guided us to the lot. The part that sucked was walking down a steep, long hill to the bottom after raining all day. It took me about 20 minutes to get to the bottom because I kept slipping. It would have been nice to have some hay thrown down to make it easier (like you did on the trails) or have a wagon pick people up and drop em' off - just a thought for next year.

We make it down and there are 2 bonfires roaring and a dj/beer tent area. It was pretty cool and unlike any other waiting area - I was impressed. The wait seemed like nothing because we were able to sit around the fire and have a few drinks first. The 2 things I didn't like about the wait were 1) the porta pottys - they were DISGUSTING, and not like normal porta potty disgusting, they were well beyond. Many were missing toilet paper and all of them had sanitizer. They were also on a slant so it made you feel like you'd fall over. 2) The "bartenders". There were 3 girls serving beer and none of them could keep it together/were obviously highly intoxicated. We were ignored several times after flashing our money (and waiting in line) and they just kept their focus one area which was irritating. Ourselves and another unrelated group were irritated by this. They also charged us the incorrect prices and told us that our beers were "Bud Light" after we asked for "Spotted Cow"...this happened 2x. I don't care if people are having a few beers while doing this (the guys by the entrance points in the house were too but were completely composed and friendly) but keep it together. It just looks trashy.

So the wait goes by pretty quickly and we get in. I don't want to give anything away but the first 2 parts are pretty cool. The actors gave a good performance - jumping out of trees, running at you, sneaking up behind you and I LOVED that there were actual "people" from The Hills Have Eyes - totally cool!

We get to the ski lift and it was a really nice addition. It was pretty foggy out so it definitely added to it. The last haunt was fun as well. My only suggestions would be to make it darker and have actual rooms instead of a maze...more actors in that part would have been cool.

You give my favorite haunted house a run for their money! I will definitely be back next year!

Summary

Great haunt. Reasonably priced and the wait is great because they have a bonfire, dj, and beer tent! Well worth the money, I will be back again next year!

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by MarleneLady after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Being dubbed 'possibly the countries scariest haunted house' made me want to attend this haunt.

I drove over 2 hours to go to this haunted house and was really disappointed. I have never felt that I wanted my money back after going through a haunt but this one just didnt hit it for me. Maybe I went on an off night, but the actors timing was off.

I cannot remember being startled at all. The overall ambiance is awesome and it has the potential to be a terrifying haunt. Just wasnt worth the money for me this year.

Summary

I wouldn't recommend this to my friends. Sorry guys!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Trzebiatowski Haunted Corn Maze

by Halloweenfan1990 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Was disappointed this year, was my second year going and only walked through the corn maze most the time, nothing really happened no one jumped out to scare us. We walked into the forest it was the same. Chainsaw guy came out running then stopped because some one had to be stupid and grab his mask. When everyone has to read the rules someone is always the dumb one. Was not scary more like a long boring walk.

View all Trzebiatowski Haunted Corn Maze reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by THEMANWHOLAUGHS after attending on Monday, October 15, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place is intense. Three haunted houses that really packed a punch. The thing that got me was the attention to detail. The shooting gallery at the end was a lot of fun too and if you have extra time after getting horrified through these houses I highly recommend it.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

State Scare

by Allin1woman after attending on Monday, October 15, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

My family and I walked up to the house to find adults standing outside drinking. We were asked it we were invited. I was confused, I thought this was a free hunted house per the site. I was not aware it was a party that we needed to be invited to?

The event information said for all ages, my group along with the children in my group was disappointed.

Summary

The outside looked very cool I wish we could have gone in to see the inside.

Thanks,

View all State Scare reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I recently attended Haunted high for the second year in a row, and thought I should make it here one last time before the haunt is gone for good. We arrived around 7:20ish and where directed to a parking space very easily. We arrived inside and got our tickets with no wait, but did notice a large amount of people have arrived before us. Now I must say the reason behind this large amount of people only 20 minutes after it was open, was more than likely due to the very rainy weather. We waited about 20 minutes before out numbers where called so we could enter the line. After in the line, it was bout 1 hour before we made our way thru the haunt. Upon entering the haunt, you are lead thru lots of different rooms, everything from locker rooms, weight rooms, etc…They did a very good job out of using the school theme. I believe all the actor’s where volunteers so, you didn’t get a huge amount of interaction from them, but enough to make people jump. I think the timing of the scares could have been a little better, as many seemed too early or too late. It probably took us about 40 minutes to make it thru the entire haunt.

Summary

Overall it was a fun haunt, and would be more scary for people in their teens to visit. Will be sad to see it go…..

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by Melissa3647 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I have been to this haunted forest before and it was not as scary as I remember. It was still scary but I expected more. I wish the spooks would interact a bit more. They seemed to do a lotof staring or following us around. While this scared my friend, I was not scared. I enojyed the hayride out to the forest a lot also.

Summary

We took a hayride to the forest and then walked through the forest until we arrived back at the exit to take a hayride back to the farm.

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Melissa3647 after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This event was the most fun haunt I have ever gone too! But at the same time, it wasn't very scary. I jumped a fair amount but that was mostly during the haunted mine. I did like that the spooks interact with you and don't just jump out or follow you. The green house was probably the least scary because only two things jumped out the whole time we were in there.

Summary

This haunt went through a mine and a ride through a haunted forest. We then walked through a ahunted forest, followed by a haunted corn maze and ended with a haunted green house.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Halloween Hollow

by lisare after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 8 a.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

The Enchanted forest and pumpkin town were very disappointing. A waste of money. Very few characters were there, many tents were closed and only a few treats for the kids. The characters that were there in costume were great, but there were only about 10 total. Very few fun activities for the kids. The best was the woman zombie who was doing a cooking show! very funny for adults and kids!

Summary

Don't waste your money!

View all Halloween Hollow reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by rottn1013 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Beetlejuice ROCKS!!! This place again has out done it self. This was our 2nd year there. The staff was so nice and concerned for our safety since it was a rainy night. The attraction is awesome and amazing. You will be at awe on all the stuff there is to see. Expect the unexpected!! Will be back again next year!! At the end Beetlejuice and the other head guy came and shook our hands and Thanked us for coming and asked our opinions. TRUE PROFESSIONALS!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by hauntedfreak767 after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I consider myself a haunted house afficionado, and when I read an article about how this may be the "scariest in the country", I was hooked. According to the article, the owner has spent the last 1.5 years building this haunted house, modeling it after many great haunts he/she found throughout the country. A group of friends and myself decided to go on October 12. This haunted house is basically a maze, walking a long hallway throughout, with occasionally being startled by an actor/actress jumping out and surprising you. I was expecting more theatrics and/or rooms where there is a plot and then the "surprise" that scares you. If you like going into rooms where a plot happens, then avoid this haunted house. Also, depending on your group size, the actor will scare someone in the front of the group, while everyone else in the middle/back knows there will be someone around the corner. Finally, the second half of the haunted house lost a lot of the "fear factor" since we caught up with many groups, and it was one large group of people walking in a line. Not that scary if you ask me.

Summary

Overall, this haunted house did not live up to the hype. There are other haunted houses in the area (i.e. the one in Zion, IL) that are much scarier.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by lovehalloween after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Just had to give this haunt a try considering how much advertisement they have. We got there and worked our way down the hill to where you get tickets and had to sign a waiver. Never had to do that before so I just knew it had to be the best haunt ever! A few scary looking guys on our way to get in line for the first haunt. Went thru the first haunt and it was ok-could have used some more actors, but overall nice effects. When we were done, we headed over to the second haunt, which was a little better then the first one. The hellraiser guy in the tree was AWESOME. We had a few people following us thru there and I loved the cemetary scene. Very well done. The Scare Lift was great! When we got to the 3rd haunt, I was disappointed. That one was a complete waste of time. Hardly any props or characters in this tent.

Summary

Overall, for a first year haunt it was ok. If I would have paid full price, I would have been a little upset because I don't think it was worth $23 at this point. If they take comments and suggestions from people, I think they will do great as the years go on. They have an awesome location and lots of space to work with. The scare lift is a plus and you can do so much with it.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Phantoms of Fond du Lac

by Spook hunter after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It was old school fun and creepy!

Summary

The Galloway house and village in of it's self is creepy...but add creatures and wow makes your mind wander! The Witch in the first house was creepy and I loved her cabin it was errie! Almost wet myself three times in the next building....didn't know what was real and what wasn't great make up on the zipper lady! Train was creepy and lots of fun great music! Toy shop was horrifing! Wolfman made me jump ten feet high, butcher shop was enough to make boys scream like girls! Jason holy crap is all I have to say!!! Dr was creepy! Loved the doll lady with her creepy doll with no eyes! Zombies everywhere! All and all thought it was good old fun filled with unexpected things popping out! Worth the money!

View all Phantoms of Fond du Lac reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by crickert42 after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Macabe Manor is pretty cool. The sets are the best I have ever seen, but fear factor is very low. The blackout maze is by far the best feature of the WI Fear Grounds and the best I have ever go to...this part is 5 for fun and 5 for fear factor!!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by khenk246 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

This haunted house is one that I have been looking forward to going to for years. I have to admit, I was a bit disappointed.

Low on the scare scale; ideal for kids or novice haunted house enthusiasts. ;-)

Summary

We stood in line for about 45 minutes. The staff informed us that the inside tour would take about 15 minutes, and the "Haunted Forest" would take about 5 minutes.
The coolest part about this "house" was the makeshift elevator in the beginning. Very impressive.
It felt like it only took our group of 5 about 5-7 minutes. The chainsaw guy at the end was a nice finish.
The "Haunted Forest" had only a few scares in it. I was half-expecting another chainsaw guy at the end of the path, but there was nice.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 20th, 2019 3:09 p.m. CDT 1.27