2012 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

151 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We want change! Well you got it! The Haunted Barn, located in Stoughton, WI, brought a fresh
experience to the table this year. With new themes, new technology, and a new
path, it was definitely a switch-up from 2011. As always the crew at The
Haunted Barn are welcoming and actors are always aplenty while you wait in
line. It is never boring waiting for this attraction.

I waited for approx. 20mins to begin the haunted barn. The barn itself is well put together with a
smooth transition from scene to scene along with your pitch black corridors,
mazes, and other "traps". This year, however, one of these mazes
caused a jam when one group could not figure out how to proceed through the
maze. Inevitably this caused more and more people to group up and thus completely
ruining any pacing that was there.

Although the pacing was poor I can't hold it against the haunt because one group is not cognizant
enough to navigate a simple maze. Nonetheless be prepared to run into other
groups and as such you can always attempt to distance yourself from a group in
front of you so that the actors can have enough time and you can enjoy the full
experience of this solid attraction.

Otherwise the indoor portion, the barn, had great new scares this year and new technology in use. It really changed up the atmosphere from last year and put this attraction in line
with "corporate" haunted attractions that have hundreds of thousands
to spend on haunted houses. Most of the actors this year, as always, did a great job
using opportune moments to scare their customers. The pacing problem ,that I
already mentioned, however, took a toll on this effectiveness during my trip.

Heading outside to go through the haunted woods portion, I was again presented with a different
set-up than last year which just added to the experience. Scares in the woods
were moderate to non-existent this year but I was informed, later, that the
attraction was hit hard during my visit as the actors normally assigned to the
woods were out sick. Nonetheless the woods, as always, are a nice incorporation
into a haunted barn.

After going through the woods and going back into the barn for one last indoor scare I was presented with a completely new world this year with one room/one scare that I have never
really seen before. I will not ruin the surprise for anyone but the Haunted
Barn pulled off a really great scare and I give them 2 thumbs up for the
creation and successful application of such a scare.

Most Memorable Moment


Again my most memorable moment is something that if I told you would ruin the surprise. It is something that you got to see and experience for yourself. Please go and check it out.

Summary

All in all the Haunted Barn remains one of my top favorites and it sucks that I came to review when the business was dealing with a lack of actors due to illness. When everything is said and done, though, Haunted Barn puts on a solid performance and it’s definitely worth checking out. Make sure you dress for the weather as this IS an indoor and outdoor attraction. Don't wear any shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. Finally take the time to really appreciate the time and effort required to pull off such a strong attraction and enjoy the show.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Meadowbrook gets it right!  What sets a haunt apart from the rest?  Complete sensory overload.  Meadowbrook takes that sensory overload and amplifies that by 11!  Loud, bright, startling, disorienting, and lengthy, all done without a flaw.  But the thing that makes Meadowbrook better that any haunted corn maze you've ever been too is their awesome animatronics.  I can't imagine the amount of time and money that  is spent putting this haunt together.  The actors at Meadowbrook are nothing short of excellent.  The night we went was quite cold, which can be bad news for most actors, but not these pros, they don't miss a beat, and successfully spook you like no other.  Meadowbrook is one of the best haunts you are going to attend this season.  If you've been to Meadowbrook in years past, go again!  I have attended this haunt every year for the last I don't know how many years, and not once did it seem similar to years past.  Meadowbrook is truly innovative and masters of their craft!  Hands down, my favorite all around haunt!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Meadowbrook is down a very dark street, but you can't miss it once you get to it!  Well lit, parking help, and plenty of parking!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area is nothing to write home about, its a line leading to a corn maze.  No roaming spooks, no real decorations, aside from the farm animals in the pens next to the line...  Oh and a giant rooster statue!  Yup, a giant rooster statue!

Actors' Performance


Top notch!  These guys and girts put their hears and souls into scaring you, and do it with ease!  The best actors around!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Only the best at Meadowbrook!  I can't even begin to guess how much is spent on props here.  These people are dedicated to the haunt and you can tell in their props.

Length


Easily 45 minutes.  You will definitely get your moneys worth at Meadowbrook.  I found myself thinking to myself on several occasions "it has to be over after this bend."  It just keeps going and going and going!  It's pretty awesome!

Crowd Control


The line wasn't super long on the night I went.  There really wasn't anyone controlling the crowd, but there wasn't any reason for control while I was there.

Most Memorable Moment


It's hard to narrow it down to one moment.  All the animatronics are the most memorable moments for me.  Yeah, I said moments!  Meadowbrook is too good to only have one!

Summary

If meadowbrook had a theme song, it would be that one Karate Kid (THE ORIGINAL!) used: You're the Best Around!  I go every year, and I will continue to go until they stop doing it!  If you can only go to one haunt this year, don't waste your time, just go to Meadowbrook, it's everything you want in a haunt!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last year Haunted High took me by complete surprise, and quickly became one of my favorite haunts.  This year, they have solidified themselves as the best in the area.  Only problem is, it's their "Senior Year," which unfortunately means, Haunted High will be no more after this season.  These people got it right, let's take a school that is shut down, and make it into a frightful haunted house.  It's everything I have ever wanted in a haunt.  The setting is familiar to us all, the halls of a high school, classrooms, detention, the boiler room!  Splash in freaks and creeps around every corner and you have the ultimate haunt.  The actors are what really make Haunted High awesome.  If you are looking for actors who play the part like they were born to spook, look no further.  This haunt messes with all of your senses, and exploits their weaknesses.  Beginning to end, Haunted High is a winner.  Please, do yourself a favor, check it out before it's too late, because unfortunately, this is your last chance to see this phenomenal haunt.  I'm begging you Haunted High, ONE MORE YEAR!!!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Haunted High can be a little hard to find if you are not familiar with the area.  I probably would have driven right past it had I not been there before, and had a GPS.  With that being said, it is in an old school, so how hard can it really be to find!  The only signage I saw was a banner above the entrance of the school, so unless you stumbled upon this haunt by accident, it really doesn't help much.  

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Spacious and fun.  Haunted High has big screens, actors, and snacks, what else do you need.  Set in the gym of the school, the waiting area is big enough to hold a large group, but makes the wait entertaining.  The water damaged gym floor makes for a wacky wait, and the actors roam the room spooking you all along the way.  P.A. announcements in the style that of a principal addressing the student body will make you chuckle and cringe!

Actors' Performance


Top notch performers!  Haunted High seems to only employ pros!  These actors have mastered the art of creeping!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Professional!  Top notch from waiting area to the awesome show at the end!

Length


Approximately 30 minutes from beginning to end.

Crowd Control


The waiting area is roped and well maintained.  Staff is on hand to control the crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


 Definitely the prom scene at the end!

Summary

Once again, one of the best haunts in the area!  Haunted High spares no expense.  If only this wasn't the last year for the haunt.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by Dave to the Grind after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We've all heard the commercials for the Hill Has Eyes. A haunt is in it's first year located at The Rock in Franklin. The story of the haunt is an old landfill that became filled with toxic waste. This toxic sludge then turned the people living on the land nearby into a town of mutants. The Hill Has Eyes is home to 3 separate haunts, a beer tent and bon fires. It makes for a for a fun atmosphere.

The price for the entertainment is $23, $32 for a VIP pass, which I found pretty steep compared to other haunts. Though they pack a lot in for it. The beer tent available offers music and a few types of beer in the $4-$5 range. The tent has music playing for your enjoyment and an announcer that will let you know when it is your turn for the haunt. There's also a bon fire near the tent in a roped off area so you can warm up and enjoy a beer. There's also another bon fire going outside of the beer tent area to enjoy while you wait if you choose not to hang out by the beer tent. Word of caution: there are portable restrooms available by the entrance but there are are no restrooms available once you enter to the haunt. Plan ahead. Another word of advice - if it has rained recently you should wear old shoes. They do throw hay down on the trial which helps.

Once you're allowed to enter, you follow a path into a clearing in the woods. the area is littered with old cars, appliances and such giving you a feeling of entering an abandoned area. Each wait was around 10-15 minutes so it wasn't bad not having the VIP pass.

The first haunt Failed Escape sends you on a path into the woods. There's are a few structures and some of the villagers are out to torment you. Overall the majority of the scares are actors hiding and jumping out to startle you. There were a few scenes set up but nothing out of the ordinary that hasn't been done before. The haunt took about 15 minutes to get through and I was hoping to see more done with the toxic village story. It felt like an average outside haunt.

After the Failed Escape you exit back into the clearing and enter into the line for the Hunger Hollow haunt. The line moved quick and also had the VIP skip option. Once you enter through a small structure you begin a path through the woods. This haunt dealt with more of the after life. Just like the other haunt there were a few actors jumping out to scare you. There was a cool scene with pin head but it didn't fit the theme. The best part is you enter a clearing with a cemetery. This by far was the best part of the haunt with some awesome scares. This haunt seemed to go by pretty fast and was shorter than the first haunt.

The next event is the Scare Lift. Which takes you for a ride up the hill on the ski lift to the last haunt. The ride up the hill is a unique feature that is not offered at other haunts. Unfortunately there are no scenes to see or frights as you ride. The best thing we saw were bats flying around.

Once you reach the top, you're lead off into another line for the next haunt. This haunt is held in a large tent on the hill. This was different from the other two because you are in a confined space. You walk through narrow hallways, with different doors to chose from with various costumed actors jumping out to give you frights. This part lasted about 5 minutes. Once you exit you're finished with the experience and walk down the hill to the parking lot.

Overall, we all had a fun experience and it was different from other haunts we attended. Though people who are experienced with haunts will be disappointed. The Hill Has Eyes scares aren't very original and leaves a lot to be desired. I'd like to see more with the mutant village story, some more scenes and some unique surprises. It's their first year, so I'd expect in the future they'll add more. My advice would be to find a deal for a half price ticket, go check out the Hill Has Eyes, but for the regular $23 price you'll be disappointed with your investment.

Summary

We liked our evening at The Hill Has Eyes but those of us who experience several haunts a year were disappointed. This being it's first year I'd expect them to work on expanding the sets, stories, situations and frights. The actual haunts were fairly run of the mill and not original. We wished there would have been something cool done with the ski lift and more with the 2 haunts in the woods.

I'd check it out again next year to see if they expanded and changed but not for $23. Someone in my group bought a ticket at half price and on the way out said she was glad she paid under $15 for the experience.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Another halloween season another new theme for the House of Bathory located in Manitowoc. Last year I found this haunt to be my most memorable and favorite stop last year. So I was excited to make another trip to the House of Bathory, especially when with this year's new Steven King theme. It proved to be worth the trip again with another masterpiece of fright.

New to this season along with the theme is indoor waiting. No more waiting out on the street corner. So if you're familiar with this haunt, don't mistake the lack of a crowd out front as a slow night or that it's not open. Just follow the sign and head around the corner. I was able to get in right away with no wait so I didn't see the waiting area.

When it's your time, you are brought in and given the rules. This haunt allows  touching, this is a cool feature that no other haunt we've been to has. You aren't grabbed or touched in any threatening or inappropriate way. Though an actor may yell and bump into your arm or someone will lightly touch your shoulder. It adds a realistic touch. Once you're given a lowdown. You head up the stairs, past the creepy portraits and into a world you will not forget.

Immediately you're taken into your first scene and enjoy the terrific acting the House of Bathory offers. The characters are unique from other haunts and have an excellent dialog that follows the situation you are put into. Remember, this year they have the Stephen King theme, so each room brings you into a novel of King's imagination. I left the haunt wishing I had read some of them prior to going. Though I did recognize some characters such as the crazy nurse from Misery and, of course, the creepy clown from IT.

Each scene offers a great setting with care to detail. Bringing the scene to life is the terrific characters and their dialog. What always strikes me with the House of Bathory is the terrific performance they get out of children actors. I was taken in by the teenage actors, as you will find out in the scene taken from Carrie.

Since it's from Stephen King there's plenty of fright. I wish I could go into detail of the scenes but I don't want to ruin the surprises. My wife has always been my gauge of how scary a haunt is. We were sent through a situation where we could not see and as we kept moving forward it became harder to get through without almost crawling.  The ending to this situation was so good that  she had tears in her eyes and was truly frightened. At the end of the haunt my wife, and the teenage girl we went through with, both ran flying past me into the street screaming. A tell tale sign of a good haunt.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The House of Bathory is located on a street in downtown Manitowoc which is easy to find with a big sign and setting in a storefront window.

Actors' Performance


Top notch and the best you'll find. The scripts are written by Dead by Dawn herself and performed perfectly by their hand selected actors.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props were arranged well to create the surroundings of the scene they were taking you into. It felt like you were inside a real horror movie.

Length


You walk through an actual house, which encompasses three floors. It takes about 20 minutes to walk through.

Most Memorable Moment


We found ourselves talking about a few moments and experiences after we left. I think the most memorable was the opening scene when you're first brought in. You enter a shop where the actor has you take a seat, asking you how much you'd pay for a dream. It's based on the King novel Needful Things. They added a twist I didn't see coming and kicked off the haunt in spectacular fashion.

Summary

Last season this was my favorite haunt, this year again it's so far the best we've hit. The acting is the best you'll find and the creative worlds we were sent through were just amazing. The frights were very unique and it goes beyond  the usual actors jumping and yelling to startle you. The House of Bathory takes you into a world that will make your skin crawl.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Graack after attending on Friday, October 19, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

The distressing in the haunt was almost none existent, everything looked to new. The actors were poor overall; their timing, their lines, (why do they keep telling me to get out?! I payed money to get in, not to leave), their looks, and do monsters drink Gatorade?! because they were "hidden" in most of the rooms.
I am a guy who enjoys a good haunt but pays close attention for what i am paying for. I go to haunts to have fun, but at this haunt all I payed for was muddy shoes in the parking lot.
This whole haunt is superficial, with the spot lights in the front, advertising two haunts (when they both barely add up to one good haunt) and the false statements to the news to improve their image. But soon everyone else, like me, will go through this "haunt" and will be will let down dramatically.
At least they had a "vortex tunnel" and lasers to make the haunt high tech.

Summary

Heard on TMJ4 from the owner that this was the scariest haunt in the country…. Really? Im sorry Corey but it seems that you maybe needed another year or two to get your act together. By that statement you made, it shows me that you have no respect for anyone else in the Haunted Attraction Industry. Very poor attitude.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Mars Haunted House has a definite advantage over the others, that being their claim to be a haunt that is actually haunted.  Truth or hype?  We were about to find out... 

We attended on a rainy Sunday night, and were able to immediately enter the haunt.  As you walk into the first room an audio recording tells you that there was a disturbing incident that happened there...  but they never go into the details of what in fact that was.  It's not until after that I read on their website what that incident actually was.  So if you're curious like me, make sure you read all about it on their site.

The haunt is dimly lit with very narrow hallways.  The flooring is filled with ramps and steps that make you tread cautiously, which gives you the feeling that they were put there on purpose to slow you down.  Who put them there, and why?  This had me feeling a little paranoid, like I was stepping into a trap.

There's all sorts of things hanging in this haunt, many I didn't want to touch!  The props were VERY life-like, adding to the 'real haunt' vibe that they hang their hat on.  Those who have weak stomachs... you've been warned!

There's an odor throughout the haunt that I couldn't quite put my finger
on.  If fear has a smell, I guessing it would smell like that.  There's
many twist and turns that provide many opportunities to scare in a
short period of time.  Unfortunately it seemed as though some of those
opportunities were missed.  I'm guessing that they do not have as many
workers on Sunday as they would on a Friday or Saturday.  I'll
definitely attend this haunt again on one of those nights to get the
full experience of the Mars haunt! 

Overall, the Mars Haunted House had our adrenaline pumping and had us jumping.  If you're in the area, make sure you check out this historic haunt!

           

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find, just look for the hearse parked out in front!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It was cold and raining when we attended, and it was a Sunday night.  There was no wait, and only one actor out front.  We were only around him for a few seconds, but he was entertaining!

Actors' Performance


The haunt seemed very light on actors, but the ones that were there gave it their all!  Great timing by every actor.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is a dimly lit haunt, but the rooms that we could see provided us with lots of eye candy.

Length


It took about 15 minutes to walk through, and we were really taking our time to look at all the great details inside the haunt. 

Crowd Control


We didn't have to worry about crowd control on a rainy Sunday night.  Good thing...  as it was cold out.  Brr! 

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the bathroom.  It was comical and disgusting all at the same time!

Summary

The Mars Haunted House appears to have lots of history and some great sets to work with.  It's a quick haunt, but done well and it was enjoyable for the most part.  I can't wait to attend again on a 'prime-time' night with better weather!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Haunted High is one of the most unique experiences at a haunt that I've ever had!  Not only do they have a huge school as their playground, but they really play up the school theme throughout!

After waiting in the gym, you start out in the basement, which just so happens to be the locker room.  To me, this was a scariest part of the haunt, as it was dark and smelly.  They had us jumping left and right. 

The rest of the haunt was literally a tour through the school.  It was light on scares, but lots of eye candy throughout.  It was a trip to walk into the auditorium near the end and see a skeleton band putting on a concert!  I've never seen anything like that, it was incredible!

I loved the fact that and the end of the haunt you 'graduated', and they even gave you a diploma!  We left, thinking our high school experience was over....  but was it?  Come see for yourselves!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We found it ok with a GPS, but drove right by it as the school is not visible from the road until you're already driving by it.  The sign was rather small, but you can't miss the steady stream of cars coming and going from their parking lot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a huge line for this haunt.  Lucky for us the waiting area is inside the school gym, so we were nice and dry while it rained outside.  It was organized very well, and there was some entertainment being projected onto a wall.  The wait for us was a good hour.  Make sure to go early to avoid a long wait, or upgrade to a fast pass.

Actors' Performance


All of the actors at Haunted High are volunteers, and some showed it by what I believe to be a lack of experience.  Some rooms they didn't jump out at us until we already saw them.  But for the most part, all the actors showed their school spirit and were really into their roles.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The only part of Haunted High that was truly dark and scary was the basement.  The other areas were bright enough where you could admire their work and the details they put into the haunt.  Each room had a school theme.  The mirror room seemed a little out of place, but was very cool! 

Length


The wait to get in depends on what time of the night you arrive.  It took us about 30 minutes to get through the school. 

Crowd Control


We had a few situations where we bumped into other groups going through the school.  This was towards the end of the night on a busy Saturday night, so I think they might have been making sure everybody got through before it closed.

Most Memorable Moment


We met up with the school principal, who berated us like the naughty school children we were.  I made the mistake of saying something, and he informed me that I had a 'bad attitude'.  I was having flashbacks! 

Summary

It's a shame this is the last year for Haunted High.  They get high points for creativity and standing out in a sea of cookie cutter haunted houses.  Make sure you check it out before they're gone!     

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by beastlysyl after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Hills Has Eyes I must say was worth the money I paid for it. I am a Halloween enthusiest and have a good perspective on what is and isnt a good haunt, and I must say that Hills Has Eyes did a pretty good job.
I bought my tickets for $11.50 because of a 103.7 offer. So i bought them on impulse and I'm very happy I did.
3 Haunts in one!
The First trail was roughly 15 minutes 20 if you really take your time. The set up and the organization was very good. The path had plenty of actors, most in masks and the haunt was mostly a "hide behind a tree and say boo, or scare you suddenly in some way" which made it ok. There were a few "scenes" which were off the path which was dissapointing because some of them were very interesting and I wanted to get a better look.
The second trail was roughly 12-15 minutes, a little shorter, but was less detailed but there were some good things about it (i wont spill the beans). Then they took you to a ski lift and rode up the hill which i thought was a fantastic twist! Ascended to a tent where there was a foggy haze and various lights. And it was a typical maze of doors and windows that people would pop out of.
The entertainment/music/bonfire before hand was a great idea and i think they should grow on that.

Summary

The haunt was a very good haunt for the first year. Honestly the $23 would be too steep for me to pay for it that I didnt think it would be worth it, but its definitly worth $12-15
The scare factor was relatively low but It was a fascinating haunt and a great idea that I know they will grow on.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by bozo1234 after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was the first time I came to this haunt in 7 years. I must say it was pretty good! Although it's not the longest haunt, it had pretty much everything. Dark hallways, things touching you that you prefer to not, stinky smells, psychos, disturbing scenes, and very good actors that made it seem real!

Summary

Good job Mars!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by bozo1234 after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2012 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I couldn't wait to attend this haunt because of all the hype it was getting. Parking was easy to find, but the parking lot was a field of grass and due to all the rain from the weekend it was a muddy mess. We purchased our tickets and made our way around to the line. There was an actor outside in a devils costume. I guess he was there to entertain, but didn't say much... maybe a laugh here or there and didn't seem too scary. The wait wasn't bad that night probably due to the weather and the fact that there is only outdoor waiting. It was only my boyfriend and myself who attended and being it was a slow night we were hoping we could go alone but they put us in a group with 3 others. By doing this we missed every scare!!! The actors only scared the first in each group. They would try to come around and scare us again, but we already knew they were there. The actors barely made noises had very little if any creepy dialog to pull you into the scene. When they followed the did from a distance not getting into your personal space to make you feel uncomfortable. The scenes started off really good and detailed, but then it seemed that they would go on forever and that some were maybe repeated because of the similarities. By the end we were bored. The one thing to look forward to at the end of a haunt is a good chainsaw. It literally went on for 2 seconds and didn't even make the scaredy cats in our group jump and want to run out of there.

Summary

This haunt was not worth the hype! The actors need to be trained a little better... menacing stares are not scarey, and learn how to scare a whole group. More rooms with themes and less hallways. If your looking for alot of lights and sounds, this haunt is for you. If you want more acting and real scares... Go elsewhere.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is actually my first corn maze EVER.  If they're all like the Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield, it won't be the last!

After getting your wrist=bands, you head over to the bonfire where you'll hear some spooky ghost stories.  What Meadowbrook does best is create suspense.  Combine that with the great scenery, and you are in for a treat!

We were there early so there wasn't a wait for us to enter the maze.  Even before we entered, we could HEAR it.  The screams, the howling, the witch cackling...  they really set the mood for what you're about to experience.  There are multiple themes through-out the maze such as a pirate ship, aliens, red=necks, spiders, clowns, etc...

Speaking of clowns, I have a confession:  I've never really found them to be scary.  More like annoying.  There, I said it.  Most haunts have them in a 3D type room, or a room full of bright colors.  Not scary... to me they were more of a distraction than anything.  Meadowbrook was not only my first corn maze, it was also the first and only haunt with clowns that scared the heck out of me!  They looked scary, and they jumped out at us more than once.  I take back every time I rolled my eyes at seeing clowns in a haunt. 

Just being outdoors in the middle of a corn field at night is creepy.  I can't tell you how many times we stopped because we heard something, but it was only the wind blowing through the corn stocks.  They use lighting and sounds effects to make an already scary walk through a corn field terrifying.

I won't give anything away in this review, as I want you to experience the corn maze in all it's glory without any big spoilers.  But my hats off to Meadowbrook Farm.  You had us jumping, screaming and laughing more in your maze than several haunted houses combined.   

Signage / Visibility / Location


It felt like it was in the middle of no=where, but you can definitely see it as you approach. They have the pumpkin patch lit up nicely, and you can see it a long ways off.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We did not have to wait, I'm sure the weather was part of the reason along with the fact that we also arrived fairly early.  The bonfire will keep you warm and the stories they tell will keep you entertained if you do in fact have to wait.   

Actors' Performance


I can't say enough about how these actors went all out.  Their timing was spot on, and a few even kept following us.  It's hard to keep one eye in front of you and one eye in back.  This haunt was huge, and they did a great job of placing their actors throughout the maze along with triggered scares. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I believe many of their props are self made, which makes them all the more impressive.  The first prop we saw was the pirate ship, and it was incredible!  You never knew what you were going to get from one scene to the next! 

Length


It took us about 45 minutes to get through the corn maze, and that's not counting the story time by the bonfire.  You definately get your money's worth! 

Crowd Control


There was only one time we saw another group in the maze, and it was because we were trapped in a cage and couldn't get out!  I honestly think they thought we were a part of the show!  EXCELLENT crowd control.   

Most Memorable Moment


They do such a good job at having mannequins throughout the maze in between your encounters with the actors.  Just when you think that you're looking at a prop, it comes to life and chases you! 

Summary

I wish I lived more close to Meadowbrook, I would attend every year!  This is a quality haunt that you need to check out if you haven't already.  If you have previous years but haven't this year...  what's stopping you?  Oh, that's right.  The clowns...

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

“Off the chart!”, "Scare-tacular!”, Sensational!”, “Best Hubertus House Ever!”, “Unhinged!”, “I almost peed my pants!”, “Awesome!” These were the words my tour group used to describe this year’s Hubertus House of Horror.  Hands down everyone I have spoken to about this year’s edition of this haunt have agreed that this either was the best or tied for the best Hubertus House ever.

The House this year and your journey through it have received a complete facelift.  Gone were the school bus and the entrance through the basement.  Only a few of the best scares from last year remain and even those were creatively enhanced to provide a new twist to the scare.  Unlike prior years, this year’s journey began on the third floor of the house and sends you spiraling down through a whirlwind of creepy corridors, multiple mazes and countless rooms that each carry unique themes and actors performing ghoulish skits.

The special effects this year totally rocked my world!  They were frequent, very creative and effective in not only entertaining you but keeping you immersed in the action.  Rooms with extraordinary effects that I enjoyed the most included the Zombie splatter, spider cinema, the wild elevator ride, the deep tunnel sewer surprise and the Vortex.  Of course there were a lot more rooms than these five (…sorry, I lost count…) and given the unique surprises and effects found in each room my list of favorites would most likely change after each tour.

The Hubertus House is an interactive style haunt with each room containing a unique theme and skit performed by costumed actors/actresses.  The ages of these actors appeared to cover the spectrum from elementary school kids to adult.  While this haunt does contain a little gore and some loud scares I’d say it’s definitely suitable for haunt goers of all ages.

My only negative comment about this haunt was with the group sizes.  From what I observed many of the tour groups (…including mine…) had 8 people.  This made for a very tight squeeze in many of the rooms and also spoiled a few of the rooms as the skits/surprises would begin prior to entering the room.  Luckily for me 3 people in my group got lost early in the tour so most of my journey was with a group size of 5.  Some of the other groups I spoke to also shared their displeasure with group size particularly during the elevator ride.  Nobody, however, said that the group size ruined their experience and that they wished they could have toured with a smaller group.  (Perhaps next year this haunt could offer a ‘VIP’ option that would allow you to tour with a smaller group size?)

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find but if you're on the right road you really can't miss it. Also, if you come across a mass of parked cars in what feels like the middle of nowhere you've probably found the right place

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


One of the best wait areas around! The Hubertus House leverages a school gymnasium to keep you warm, well fed and entertained while you wait. The concession stand was well stocked with sweets, popcorn, drinks and even burgers. Costumed actors also popped in occasionally to heighten your anticipation of what was to come

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were good at adlibbing and allowed you to interact with them

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a few outstanding special effects. First times and annual Hubertus House haunt goers will be dazzled with this year’s thrills.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Get your tickets early!  This place fills up in a hurry.  Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets now and come back later in the evening for immediate entry into the waiting line.

Most Memorable Moment


I can still see those glowing red eyes when I close mine!

Summary

Of the 8 haunts I’ve attended this year the Hubertus House of Horror has the best special effects.  In my opinion this year’s edition of the Hubertus House of Horror is the best ever!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side at The House on the Rock

by cryptkeeper after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was a perfect night for a haunt, overcast and misty, this haunt was hands down the best ive been to in a long time, and a great value for the $, A haunted house,haunted wagon ride, and haunted woods, ending in a awesome corn maze and haunted greenhouses, VERY COOL place, Highly recomended.

Summary

If you are looking for the best, this is it!

View all The Dark Side at The House on the Rock reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Twelve years of creative, creepy and chilling concepts and counting for Terror on Rural Street.  Unlike some haunts that showcase the same themes year after year I have never been disappointed at the Terror on Rurual Street. The Barber Shop, the snake room, Clown Funeral, the Mad Scientist and all new maze were a few of my favorite new rooms.  Terror on Rural Street features 17 Cinema quality sets many of which are pimped out with a dedicated sound system and special effects you won't find any place else.

Terror on Rural Street is an interactive style haunt with each room showcasing a unique theme and a skit performed by volunteer actors. While the actors may be volunteers the costumes and make-up were professionally done and very realistic.  Memorable acting performances included the bizarre barber and his unfortunate patron, the sinister scientist and his shocking secrets and who could forget the wretched witch and her collection of trophies.

Admittedly not all of the acting performances knocked my socks off nor did every room send me off screaming to the next.  But what Terror on Rural Street lacked with its actors and potential scare factor it more than made up for with its dazzling special effects and elaborate sets.  Scares and surprises frequently came from unexpected flashes of brilliant light, dedicated room specific sound systems and a variety of lifelike techno effects.

Here are some interesting tidbits for those of you who are particularly interested in the quality of your haunted experience or may just be wondering "how did they do that?"

* Each room and hallway is under constant surveillance by staff members with a very keen attention to detail. These staff members remain in contact with the ghouls and monsters lurking in the shadows and rooms around the haunt to ensure they are always perfectly positioned and timed to scare the bajeezus out of you and your fellow haunt goers.

* A staff of Professional theatrical make-up artists with over 25 years of experience volunteer their time at Terror on Rural Street.

* Terror on Rural Street is a not for profit organization.  Proceeds from this event go to support Hartford Community Service Inc.  Scholarships, Community Projects, and area Non Profit Organizations

* Curious about how this haunt can churn out so many new sets each year?  A workshop full of additional sets and props found directly behind this haunt is used to construct new sets year around.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Don't let a full parking lot scare you away before this haunt does!  Terror on Rural Street shares it's parking lot with the Schauer Art Center and the Wisconsin Automotive Museum.  Not all the cars parked in the lots may necessarily be for Terror on Rural Street.

This haunt can be found right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area with a concession stand that features beer and mixed drinks.  "Best Haunt ever!" exclaimed a fellow haunt goer when he glanced up at the menu and noticed beer on it.  By the way...all proceeds from the concession stand benefit the Schauer Arts Center which is located just next door.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers in many of the sets.  Most notable were the performers of the barber shop and the clown funeral.  Elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up really enhanced appearance of all performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some superb special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate the creative concepts and elaborate sets that have the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, the rooms here were quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


My tour lasted 17 minutes which included getting lost in the maze.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious. Plenty of room in the court yard to wait also. Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from for me...I particularly enjoyed the visual effects and set layout of The Poltergiest room as well as exploring the multi-level set of the trophy room.

Summary

A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make Terror on Rural Street a haunt definitely worth checking out!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:14 p.m. CDT 1.6.3