ad-header-top

2002 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

149 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Kahhlouahh after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Need to put up signs to direct people to house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

one monster

Length

10-15 min.

Actors' Performance

It was poor. Not enough monsters in the "maze

Appropriate For

12-16

Summary

The house is not all that good. They could have done alot more with the maze. They don't need guides to go with every group. They could send them with the younger kids, not ADULTS!!! The guides tell you to keep moving if you stay in a room for more than a couple of seconds after a "scare". Some of us would like to look at the room to get the effect of the "scare". They need to go and look at other haunted houses to get some better ideas.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by rodavlas after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Tanks to the directions that I found on the website and with some help from the wonderful people at a local Citgo, we found it without a problem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were able to be the last group to go in for the night. They losed at 1 and we got there around 10 after. So points forthem for holding the doors open for us onsidering we drove up from Milwaukee.

Length

It was about 15 minutes.

Actors' Performance

The actors themselves did a fine job. The scenary/set/props whatever were decent.

Appropriate For

10 and up sould be fine

Summary

My group and I have driven up from Milwaukee to go to Splatterhaus. We were fortunate enough to be in and out of there quick bcuse of no line. So we were able to get this on in as well since we were in town. Unfortunately, after going there this one couldn't compete. But like us, if you're town you miht as well check it out also. It's worth a peek.
Only complaint was the sincewere the lst goup, the workers there that took our money and were at the door followedus through the house and pretty much killed the thrill for me. But in our group, we were satisfied.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by Phil after attending on Sunday, October 6, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good. Bright sign, easy to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait or entertainment.

Length

10 minutes

Actors' Performance

Varied. Some were very well hidden in the dark, but others weren't really paying attention. In one room, someone in supposed to flash a flashlight so you can see, but they didn't do this for me the first time, so I got turned around, and bumped into a monster who was waiting for the next group.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Good old school house. Do it if you haven't before, but nothing really new this year.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Phil after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good. Lots to lights to see from the street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The laser light and stunt show was great. A lot of time and effort was put into it, and it showed. The truck ride was also a great treat. The little monsters there were really good.

Length

45 minutes (with preshow).

Actors' Performance

The performances were all terrific. No one broke character at all (and there were a lot of kids). Excellent training of the monsters!

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

One of the best houses this year. Do not miss it. Very disorenting, which is a nice change from the other houses I was at.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Phil after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The sign was not illuminated. Hard to see, if you don't know where it is.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They were showing Scream on a screen.

Length

15 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Good performances overall, but the monsters should have held us up a little bit. We ran into the group ahead of us very rapidly, and there weren't that many people at the event.

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

Need to space out the groups better, and running into poles in the dark "maze" wasn't too cool either. Other than that, good house, but sometimes it was hard to tell where to go.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Phil after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Without the instructions on the webpage, I probably wouldn't have found it. Need lighted signs and stuff

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much. Very few people there, but 20 minute wait. The history of the house and the t-shirts were nice to look at.

Length

15 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Varied performances. Some of the monsters gave it their all, but some seemed to not really try to scare you.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

A nice house, but nothing that made it stand our from any other house. You'd think after doing it since 1974, they'd have more stuff for it...

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Phil after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Confusing with the construction this year.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A monster blocking the door. He wasn't doing anything. Just standing there.

Length

20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Great house this year. Less big open rooms than last year, so more scares were had. The monsters were all very professional.

Appropriate For

16+

Summary

One of my favorite houses so far this year! Check it out!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Phil after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Better than last year. Good bright sign on the street, but be sure to make a right immediately after your turn there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not a long wait, but I love the atmosphere of the waiting area. Much better than last year!!

Length

Very good. I loved the outdoor path, and I'm glad it wasn't as muddy as last year (they put down gravel). The house was fantastic, and much better than last year (and I liked it last year).

Actors' Performance

Very good. Everyone stayed in character, and the girls really screamed their heads off.

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

If you didn't like the audiance participation last year, it is more limited this year. It's a great house. Some very cool effects.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Phil after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Same location as always. Visibility could be better. Need brighter signs or something.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not ready for customers at all. Didn't get ready until an hour after the supposed start time. Need to be more on the ball here.

Length

Good. Was exactly the length a haunted house should be.

Actors' Performance

Some of the performances were very good, but the monsters need to stay in character when they're walking around outside of the house. Having giggly monsters just kind of kills the mood

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

I understand that I was there on the first night, but they really need to get the video games on right away, and not have so many giggling monsters walking around the waiting area.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by mc after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find.. was well marked..

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait entertainment, but then we got in right away..

Length

20 to 30 minutes

Actors' Performance

characters were well trained.. stayed in character throughout.. awsome scares with some really cool rooms..

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

we liked the music..also liked the clown room the butcher room was really well done.. we liked the coffin room and the splatter room was the bomb..
we didnt care for the lab room {boring}
but overall this place rocked. wish there would have been some entertainment outside... overall this was a great haunt.. keep up the good work cause we will be back again..

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by hosewoman after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Had multiple signs, big ghost to help you out. House looks haunted on its own.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Concession stand.

Length

About 20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Actors did a good job, mostly stayed in character. Where I was not scared, there were good visual effects. Good use of props on trail and in house.

Appropriate For

kids and adults

Summary

Overall, I was impressed with the house.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by rodavlas after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

For the most part by following the directions should not be difficult to find although maybe a sign of some sort directing you to turn on the road leading to the airport would help out of town travelers such as my group.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were fortunate enough to have not even a 5 minute wait. Doubt we'll ever see that again for a house of this quality.

Length

20-30 minutes depending how fast you go through it. Be patient and wait, some rooms wait for the entire group to enter before they "do their thing".

Actors' Performance

All the actors did a very good job. Even though it's nohing major, ther were afew moments you could tell the actors were caught off guard but I owe that more to it being the 2nd night.

Appropriate For

teens and up

Summary

All around thumbs up for it. Good job splatterhaus. I must say it's the best haunted house I've been to yet.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Mark after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good Location (some road construction-but don't let that scare you!!)

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice waiting area (maybe too nice) concession stand and a few monsters. The waiting area needs something more???

Length

If you count the waing time as part of the overall experience then around 45 minutes-2o minutes to go through the house

Actors' Performance

Great unepected scares. Lots of "unique" aspects to this house. Long dark mazes and well timed scares through out. I only reconized on room form last year (a few aspects of some of last years rooms were reworked) Very good actors- some were stand out great!!

Appropriate For

teens and adults

Summary

Always my favorite house. It was nice to see so many changes could be made but the results were the same as always. Great time!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by cosmo after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Somewhat easy to find using the directions from Hauntedwisconsin.com, but no signs near the house at all and no big signs on the outside of the haunted house either. We drove right past it several times. They have two small glowing ghosts in the window. Only when you get closer can you tell it's a haunted house. THEY NEED BIGGER, LIT UP SIGNS MARKING THEIR HOUSE!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Dissapointed with the wait. It must have been our luck that we stopped by when the monsters were going on break. But it really didn't make sense. The haunted house opened at 7pm and we arrived at 9pm, there were only about 15 people in line, yet we had to wait about 30 min. with nothing to do because the monsters were on break? Didn't make too much sense. It would have been smarter to take care of the people waiting in line, then send the monsters on a break. Besides, why should monsters be on break after 2 hours? Come on, there weren't even that many people in line.

Length

It took us about 15 minutes to get through the house.

Actors' Performance

This was a pretty decent haunted house. Nothing really sticks out in my mind to define the event. The scares were right on, the effects were cool, but I thought they could have done a little bit more. Some of the monster costumes were really cool.

Appropriate For

Anyone over 16.

Summary

The grave yard was cool, it almost felt like we were outisde instead of inside,
the moving skeletons were cool, and the kitchen was cool.
It's worth $6 for a good time, but it wasn't what I would call "scary enough
to die for."

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by cosmo after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location was easy to find using the directions given on Haunted Wisconsin.com, no Splatter Haus signs showing the way along the side roads though. Only the big light up sign outside the haunted house area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No real wait. I think we waited about 5 - 10 min. all together for tickets and getting in. Excellent night we picked to go!

Length

It took us about a half hour to get through the house.

Actors' Performance

EXCELLENT! Scary! They have changed the house quite a bit from last year. They seem to have themed it a bit differently on the inside. The scares were right on, however, if you go, try to be in small groups or get to the front of the group when going through the house otherwise you'll experience the scares too late, and they won't be as fun. Lasers, small passages, slides, it's very much like a scary fun house.

Appropriate For

16 and over. Anyone who really wants to get scared.

Summary

I was again impressed with the Splatter Haus this year. I think they did
a great job. The effects were awesome and you can tell they put a lot of
work into it. I'd be interested in knowing how many people it takes to operate
the Splatter Haus (including monsters). It must take quite a few. They
raised the price from last year, but I think it's still well worth it.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 21st, 2019 8:31 p.m. CDT 1.8.19