ad-header-top

2002 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

149 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by xjallen after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We saw the ghost blowing outside on our way to Terror on Rural Street

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Concessions.

Length

20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Some great actors, some who were a little off on our trip through.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I like the feel of this house since it's actually a house--has a real unique feel to it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by xjallen after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Folled directions from their website and had no problem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Concessions and video games.

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Great job by the actors.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

This place has become a legend in it's time--great job once again this year. They've changed a lot around, but almost wish they could get some brand new scenery.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by cosmo after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find using directions off of Hauntedwisconsin.com. No real signs along the way, would be a good idea to add some. Pretty easy to spot the haunt, lights, banner, traffic directors, lots of people.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waitied about an hour. People can wait in their heated gym. There was food being sold and video games to play. It's a good way for them to cash-in on your wait time. Yet, it makes it more enjoyable while waiting. Plus they called ticket numbers, so you didn't have to just wait in a line, you were free to roam about. There were also a few characters roaming.

Length

It took us about 15-20 min. to get through the house.

Actors' Performance

Being my first time there, I was impressed. I thought this haunt was pretty unique. Without giving too much away, I thought the use of 3-D glasses was cool. (But, I hear they've done that in the past.) This house deals with more scenes and setups then just people popping out at you. But, they had a little of both. This is definetly one of the most colorful haunted houses I've been to. They had a lot of creative ideas in this haunt, enough to seperate it from others. The deeper in the house we got, the more creepy it seemed to be. Going with a group of 7, they waited until our entire group was in each room before they scared us, which was good because we all got scared, and not just people up front. The costumes were also pretty cool. There were a few, they must have spent a fortune on. The creepy clown in the closet was cool. They mess with your mind sometimes and you're not sure what to expect next. And the last room was a very cool effect.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Overall, I liked the house. For some reason, when I got to the end, I thought it would have been a little bit longer. But, I think they did a
great job with the people. There were a few times when they stopped us in between rooms to wait for the group ahead of us to clear out, which was good because then we didn't lose any of the scares. More haunts should do this type of thing. Otherwise, you keep running into the group ahead of you. However honestly, there were a couple of scenes that were just plain corny. People popped out, and it was
more funny then scary. You could almost tell that the characters knew it too. If we're paying good money and if it seems corny, why not change it up? Don't waste time just so people have a room to go through. But overall, most of the house was
very well done. Woth $7.00, heck yeah. This was probably the most affordable satisfying haunt we've done yet. Nice job guys. I'd come back next year.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by cosmo after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find using directions off of Hauntedwisconsin.com. When you get off the freeway, as you trun off of Hwy. 83 onto L, there are nice signs that lead you to the corn maze. They even had a huge lit up, flashing sign showing you where to make the turn. Nice to let us know that we were near the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We did the Corn Maze only, not the Hayride. They do have a store and 99 WMYX was there that night. The wait for the Corn Maze was about 20 min. Not too bad of a wait. There were quite a few people in line and at Stacy Farms in general. We arrived about 7:30p.m. However, there was nothing to do in line. We amused ourselfs by listening to the mayhem coming from the corn maze.

Length

I think it took us about 40 min. to do the entire maze. However, about 15 min. of that was waiting in the center for people to filter through. I'll explain below.

Actors' Performance

This was my first time to Stacy Farms, so I can't compare it to previous years. However, there were several things about this event that I thought I should point out. First, the Maze at night is not really a true maze, but more of a roped off path that you follow through the corn field and get scared. (I was kind of hoping for a free formed maze to get lost in.) I definetly thought they had a good amount of people to scare you. All throughout the path there were things happening. They made good use of effects & scares in a corn field and they didn't just limit it to people jumping out at you, they actually had lighting effects, music, and more. Even live wild animals! What really killed the entire event was when we made it about a third of the way through. There was a backup of people due to a trailer they herd you through with scares and effects. The backup of people outside the trailer caused a good 10-15 min. extra wait. After going through part of the maze and then having to wait again, it kills the atmosphere. There were some characters walking around, but at that point the maze started to become lame. I kind of see what they were trying to do with the effects, but it wasn't worth having to wait for, while in the maze.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Being my first time, I give Stacy Farms a lot of credit. They put a lot of effort into their maze. It's never the same the entire way through, and you have signs of wisdom and warnings to guide you along. Every part of the maze was a bit different, and the entire thing was very entertaining. At $9.00 a person for the maze, it seemed a bit high priced. Maybe $7.00 would be a little more reasonable for the amount of scares. However, you do get a free glow stick! Very entertaining, yet not as scary as we had hoped for. The haunts in
the maze were good, but the wait for the trailer in the middle really killed the mood.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Nicole after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Entrance from last year closed due to construction - but had sign at alternate entrance and direction on their website and hauntedwisconsin.com got us there with no problems!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great - Ticket/Waiting area: Had creatures interacting with guests, concessions, all indoors! Final queues leading up in front of main entrance to house was themed great with detail and special effects.

Length

18 minutes - perfect.

Actors' Performance

Actors REALLY got into their parts! Costuming and makeup was EXCELLENT. In 2 spots timing of actors in their scares was off, but we it was because a group of knucklehead guys (who were patrons) infront of us kept going the wrong way to "be funny" and held our group up in those areas.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Amazing attention to detail in scenes, GREAT SCARES, and ESPECIALLY LOVED THE ENDING which was interactive, funny and scary - which is an awesome combination! It was a TOTAL surprise! This was the last haunt we visited that night and it was a great Finale to our evening!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Nicole after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Sign off main road helped - directions on hauntedwisconsin.com helped and mapquest took us right there from Hubertus.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Had a roaming ghoul - who was funny, witty, told jokes.

Length

10 minutes - could have been longer

Actors' Performance

Some were great some lacked. Witch over couldron and Nuclear waste guy were good. Some stared in your face and hung out behind you/followed you too long and became annoying - wasn't scary... felt like they were waiting for us to be scared?

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Great idea to have haunted woods before house but the Chainsaw guy couldn't get his chainsaw started. ALOT of actors timings were off and one room was broken - the crazy dentist was trying to scare us as a bunch of security guys were trying to fix something... maybe we hit it on a night when stuff was breaking down... ending was anticlimatic. Would have been better if things were working. They did do a great job of keeping groups seperate - felt like the show was just for our group - we felt alone in the house...kudos for that!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Nicole after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not many signs off main roads - that would have helped, but we "mapqested" it and directions at hauntedwisconsin.com helped alot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great venue to wait in: Had video games, great selections of concessions. As for creature roamers...a couple of costumed ghouls - one of which was checking out the food and talking to workers at the concession stand more than the "victims" waiting in line.

Length

20 minutes - perfect!

Actors' Performance

GREAT acting. Actors really got into their parts! Especially your nun - being a Catholic I got a kick out of it - she rocked.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

LOVED THE LAST ROOM - AWESOME! Funny, VERY interactive, and scary all at the same time - an EXCELLENT finale!

The unusual way you enter before you actually go through the house was unique, and unusual - but the windows overlooking it from the waiting area ruins the "surprise" so you know where you'll be headed first... should have blocked out windows in waiting area. be careful when you "Step down" from it - quite a large step - 2 of us almost fell.

Also, alot of actors where hanging out around and in the waiting area before the show began - took away from the affect - alot were peeking in at the waiting lines.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by hilarios after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Many signs to direct the way right off the highway

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no one was there. had very inexpensive consession and gifts

Length

25 minutes.

Actors' Performance

first house (its 2 in one) was pretty good.. great details, second house was poorly assembled

Appropriate For

7+ with adult

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by yambo after attending on Thursday, October 10, 2002 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

A little hard to find sense it moved from last year but other wise not bad

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not a whole lot of wait there was a tv a music playing to add to the effect of the waiting room.

Length

not very long at all about 10 minutes total

Actors' Performance

good spooks they really seem to get in there charecter some were better then others.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

It was a good creative idea and really had the atmosphere set.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by HauntedErick after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 5:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location was good... right off the highway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait entertainment was fun... lines were not long... but it was an opening weekend for a new house in the area.

Length

The house itself takes a while to walk through (if you take time to stay a bit in the attractions)aprrox a half an hour.

Actors' Performance

The actors have amazing interaction... with alot of charactor... its almost like watching a small play in everyroom. im curious to if they change it from night to night or even group to group.

Appropriate For

12 and over

Summary

great new haunt.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by HauntedErick after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location of this house was easy to find...just because we have been there before. The only difficult thing was that i think they moved the driveway... or maybe im crazy because we almost hit some snow fencing.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no one in line this time... we walked right onto the train. The train was so full... and we were shoved way to one end, that we didnt get scared, but it was fun watching everyone else.

Length

The house was a lot longer in length this year... its always fun to go through this house year after year to see what they reused where and such.

Actors' Performance

Overall the actors were good. We only made one girl break charactor. None of them interact with the groups... they get in your face and growl. Maybe thats kosher with others... but its not all that and a bag of chips with me... i like charactor interaction... thats all they lacked in.

Appropriate For

over 12years of age

Summary

The house is amazingly dressed and i would go there just to see all the sights again... the acting is iffy... but then again im so used to haunted houses... it probably is a lot more scary with a group of non experienced people.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by witchy after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, right off 43.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Chatted with the ticket taker but there was no line so no wait - first night.

Length

15-20 minutes

Actors' Performance

First night, maybe actors need to warm up. I saw or found "warm bodies" accidently, but several just stood there in the dark and didn't say anything or do anything. I did like the one that kept popping up all over saying "kissy, kissy!" - he was fun. They had scares at different levels, good use of space and surprise.

Appropriate For

teens and up

Summary

When we left we chatted with the operators. They seemed interested in our
experience, excited about the house. They recommended other haunts, we discussed
other houses. Worth seeing.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by witchy after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

You can look at lots of pumpkins and scarecrows.

Length

maybe 20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Ok. They have a great set-up, but don't put much effort into it anymore since they have been there several years. I think they just dust things off each year. Few actors, mostly mechanical scares. But it was the first night and pretty DEAD.

Appropriate For

anyone, even kids

Summary

They have a very unique maze that I love and haven't found one like it anywhere.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

House of Shadows

by Sentra after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Super easy to find. Signs are large and easy to see and accessible right from I-90

Length

20-25 minutes

Actors' Performance

Actors were freaky and scarey. Not even sure if some of them were actors, they were so freaky!

Appropriate For

those who like to be scared!

Summary

There is a not so scary one for younger kids, but ya gotta be tough to get through the "very scary!"

View all House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by sliv20 after attending on Friday, October 4, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Right off of Hwy 50, can't miss it big ole barn!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great Haunted Barn, and really good Haunted Hayride

Length

Haunted Barn lasts about 15 minutes, and Hayride lasts about 20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Great make-up, great effects, talent is good!

Appropriate For

NOT FOR KIDS

Summary

Price matches the event. Definitly do NOT miss this year!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 17th, 2019 4:05 p.m. CST 11.0