2002 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

149 total reviews. Showing 3 of 15 on this page (12 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by MelBell after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

They have tons of lighted signs once you get in the area to point the way, and their website provides great directions also. Their location is great too, they are just off of I-43 about 30 min. from Milwaukee.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait for the maze was about 20 - 30 min. when I got there. There wasn't any entertainment in line, but I wasn't expecting any. My friends and I just talked and listened to the sounds coming from the maze. There is a second line in the middle of the maze where entertainment is provided (note: the wait is TOTALLY worth it).

Length

The maze took about 35 - 45 min. total. Which is longer than most, and well worth the $9 spent.

Actors' Performance

They have some great actors in the maze. Everyone seems to put forth a lot of effort and the result is tons of scares. The costumes are very good too, some of the best I've seen at any haunted event. They also have awesome props which make for lots of scares too.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This is the 3rd year I've gone to the Haunted Corn Maze and was not disappointed. Every year it's different and the scares get better. I thought overall the haunted maze was very well put together, no part of the maze is the same. You never know what to expect next. Plus, they have a great store where everything is very cheap. There is tons of parking, lots of bathrooms (even one in the maze so you don't have to leave), and plenty of staff to help you if you have questions. Next year I'm getting the combo ticket and doing the Haunted Hay Ride too.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by TripsEndingHere after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was kinda a pain to travel so far, but it was made easy by directions on this page. Easy to see, out in the open.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was not much. Great music playing loud. And some drunk people sitting around.

Length

30-40 mins. I guess it depends on if your group is scared or not. If you have people who hate this kind of stuff it will take longer. There is a lot of stuff to do.

Actors' Performance

The actors were great. I usually can handle most of this kinda stuff and it freaked me out, Big time. THe lights were great and the effects were better. They spent tons of money on all of this [email protected]#$. BRAVO!

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

If you have people who think they are all tough and are cocky. Bring them here adnd they will change their attitude. It scared the [email protected]#$ outta me.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by dxzombie after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It is right down town, right across from city hall. You can't miss the big hearse that is parked in the front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

While in line monsters come up to you. There is also a snack shack that sells popcorn, pizza, soda, and even cheesecake. YES CHEESECAKE.

Length

Between 20 to 25 minutes. There are three levels in this place.

Actors' Performance

Awsome. Especially MICHAEL MYERS. Very authentic, very scary. You never know where he is hiding in the house.

Appropriate For

PG-13

Summary

Probably the most bang for your buck. You get pushed in wheelchairs, go under some stairs, go through a bed, go up stairs, get lost in a circle room, go down stairs, get chased by a chainsaw, go through a mineshaft, go up stairs, go through a coffin vortex (spinning room), and you never know where Michael Myers is. There was more, but thats all I remember from the trip.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Midnightgypsy6 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

No problems finding the location but the construction in downtown Waukesha is something to watch out for.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Visitors wait for their group's name to be called in a waiting room reminiscent of a hospital lobby. A "nurse" takes admission. Good setup but not really entertainment.

Length

About 5-10 minutes.

Actors' Performance

I was looking forward to this event because of the theme of a haunted hospital. I found this place disappointing, however. All props and scenes were highly visible throughout the house (except for the maze) eliminating the mystery and scare factor. It was also very short. The acting was phenomenal. It's too bad these talented students are showcased on a poor "set".

Appropriate For

Everyone

Summary

I appreciated that the theme was apparent throughout each aspect of the hospital. Remember, these are college students without endless funds and space. They probably did the best they could even though darkening some areas could only help.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by Midnightgypsy6 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

No problems finding the location.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait entertainment but the people running it were very friendly and nice.

Length

I would guess about 20-30 minutes.

Actors' Performance

I thought the idea of taking a hayride into the woods and being dropped off to find your way back was clever. I appreciated the fires lining the way. I was disappointed because I thought that "monsters" would jump out at you and chase you through the woods, instead mini-scenes were setup randomnly throughout the path.

Appropriate For

Everyone

Summary

I really enjoyed the scene with the boat on the pond, excellent idea.

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by tneumann after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The event was easy to find...many signs were posted along the roads.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited in line about 25 minutes to get into the maze, and about 15 minutes to get onto the hayride.

Length

35 minutes to get from entrance of maze to exit. (part of the time was waiting for a mini event within the maze, which was worth the wait)

Actors' Performance

There were many people scaring in the maze (some younger), all were good!

Appropriate For

all ages

Summary

The combination package for tickets seemed like a good deal. Two events for what one would pay for a single event usually.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Black Dog Productions after attending on Sunday, October 13, 2002 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find not far off the highway

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Story line, concessions not bad. The indoor wait is nice.

Length

Roughly 20min

Actors' Performance

The actors were a little dry however it was a slower night. The actors that got into it were great. Expecially the red neck trailer trash actor. Great first year haunt.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I think it would be great if you could some way automate your story line so you are giving the same story every time. The radio story line and the actor line didnt match 100%. A video, or just even audio would be cool. Ultimately a animatronic would be the cats ass.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Tetris after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to spot. Directions on map quest give a scenic view.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait was about an hour. You were able to wait in there heat gym. There we lots of food and drinks.

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Great performance. All scences were great!! Everything was so detailed.

Appropriate For

16 and up

Summary

This is one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to. All actors and actresses did a wonderful job!!!!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Tetris after attending on Friday, October 11, 2002 at about 6:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find with directions on web site along with map quest.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait.

Length

Event was about 20 minutes depending on how fast you walk.

Actors' Performance

There were not many actors. The ones that were there were ok.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

It should have more scences and less just wandering in the dark. It is a big building and there is so much they can do with it if they try.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by descendent31 after attending on Sunday, October 13, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not too difficult to find. It's out in the middle of nowhere, but then again there's not many ways you could go to get lost.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much really. It was a Sunday night, and there was only a handful of people, so it wasn't much of a wait to begin with.

Length

It's advertised as 35 minutes, I can't honestly say how long it really took, but going at a relatively decent pace, it was probably around a half hour atleast. The one improvement that helped tremendously over last year... with no guides and the such, it's easy for groups to go slow or fast and then you end up with a group ahead of you, and behind you, and then it just loses the effect. This year there were several slow down spots to keep groups seperated. It was very much needed and I enjoyed it a lot more because. We still encountered other groups every now and again, but it always got broken up eventually.

Actors' Performance

Very good. I had a lot more fun than last year that's for sure! My complain in the past stemmed mostly because of the piled up groups and you missed out on every room. That was improved, and I enjoyed it much more. Definitely good work on the scenery. Group mix of rooms and dark hallways/cramped spaces. Always nice to see the actors locating the people in your group who are scared and exploiting it. Always makes for a good time. Could maybe use several more actors to throw in a scare at the end of the slides or in the dark hallways or the such. But this was a Sunday night so perhaps it's different on the actual weekend.

Appropriate For

14 and up

Summary

It seemed to be quite a bit different from last year. A change of pace is good to see. And you can tell quite a bit of work was put into the scenery.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great signage, directions from website helped.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None - but nice waiting area!

Length

25 minutes - great.

Actors' Performance

AWESOME! I give props to your actors - having to work in the cold, damp forest each night for hours - we went at end of the night (that had bad weather) and actors gave it their all!

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I GOT SCARED! Liked the ride out to woods.

We thought/heard it was going to be a ride deeper in the woods with people scaring you on the hayride, then you get dropped deeper in the woods and would have to find your way out and basically get "chased" out - which would have been cool...so we got something different than what we expected... would have been more fun if you had people running after you...but we liked this just the same - especially the finale - VERY COOL and UNIQUE! WAY TO GO! We want to come back again with friends!

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

A little hard to find - need better signage... had people from Waukesha from us and they even had a hard time finding it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None - waiting room was clever though - went with the Hospital theme very well. Would have been nice to have the "receptionist" in character.

Length

Short - we were in and out in 7 minutes.

Actors' Performance

ACTORS WERE TOP NOTCH! BEST I've seen so far!

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

ACTORS ROCKED - Best acting our group seen this season...BUT... would have been better with scarier surroundings - darker lighting, we were put in one room for a little while for no reason and just sat in there - lights on, not scary. Ambulance was funny - not scary. Would have been scary if lights came at you in dark. Overall lighting needs to be spookier.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Need better signage from main road - directions from hauntedwisconsin.com helped, but hard to see from road if you don't know the area or what you are looking for.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great - a fun werewolf and glowing ghost were entertaining.

Length

15 minutes - could be a little longer.

Actors' Performance

Actors were good - some were late with their scares. Would have liked a finale.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

One major problem: Groups were followed by employee/guides. MANY were directly behind us talking the whole time - which took ALOT away from the whole experience - and took away from the actors performaces which were great - non costumed guides/employees shouldn't follow so close, and should keep chatter down.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

by Phil after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was construction on the road, and few signs, but it was marked well once you passed it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was horrible. There weren't a lot of people ahead of us, and we waited for over an hour. Monsters came out after about a half hour and messed with the crowd a little.

Length

15 minutes (half of that being a little show). The house was way too short. The theater was a great location, but they didn't really do much to make it more "haunted." Would've liked to see more props.

Actors' Performance

They're all actors, so the performances were excellent. This is where they really shined, but it didn't make up for the wait, or the length of the house.

Appropriate For

Anyone

Summary

Groups of 8-10 were a bit large, expecially when they put us through cramped passages. There is a dead end that has a really low celing. Watch out. If you are a bit tall, don't let your head touch the celing. They will run on top and bang on the top, and it hit my head and gave me a headache for the rest of the night.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2002 season rather than the current season.

Haunted House at the Kemper Center

by Phil after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2002 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Kind of hard to find, but once we got there they had good directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Concessions, and monsters walking around. The monsters ALWAYS stayed in character. It was great.

Length

15 minutes. A guided house.

Actors' Performance

The performances were some of the best I've seen this year. Everyone was really into their roles, and this is the first house I was at where I didn't see any monsters break character to joke with their friends and whatnot.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Excellent house! Great job guys! You should charge more! $4.00 is a bargin!

View all Haunted House at the Kemper Center reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:46 a.m. CDT 1.6.3