ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by MMRAD after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I went to The Haunted Barn, expecting to have a good laugh, and that's about it. A laugh I got, along with a sore throat from sreaming for about 20 minutes. Thankfully I had used the restroom twice prior to my visit! The hardest rule to follow....no running.

The actors, props, the setting...all fantastic!

All-in-all, it was worth every penny, and I will be making this a new Halloween tradition.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Jrmass after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have been to a numerous amount of haunts and having been raised in the Door County area and having moved away from the area only to be told that there was one from my past residence worth attending I was more than intrigued. After making the four hour drive I was very happy to say that is was worth the commute! Not to mention was this house different from the others but very reasonably priced in comparison to some of the others in the area (some of which I had been we'll say quite disapointed in as far as bang for the buck goes). Definately worth the drive and for any of you who live closer than I do; I can assure you that you would not be disapointed.

Summary

Good Haunt
Corn Maze
Bus Ride
HOT CHOCOLATE (Mmmmmmmm gotta love it)

I drove 4 hours to see it and would not hesitate to bring some of my buddies along to see it again!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by ghostlygoddess666 after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

AMAZING PROPS!!!! Totally worth the money!!! Took us at least 45 mins to walk through and the props at the very end were out of this world!!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by farbeyondtheshadows after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The complex was huge, but I thought it was kind of too big. Some parts of the haunted houses (Adrenaline and Insanity) were too long, and dragged out. I found myself getting bored time to time in Insanity. Tip for next year, add more rooms. As for the coffin ride, the room was too "1it-up" and every time it tilted, light got into the coffin and ruined the whole darkness effect. Phobia was my aboslute favorite! It was super creative, and really creepy. Overall it was pretty good, but I thought it was overpriced, $28 was a little much.

Summary

Ratings are as follow..
Adrenaline - 4/5
Insanity - 1/5
Coffin Ride - 1/5
Phobia - 5/5

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Atrophy after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

***This will be interesting... let's see how long my second attempt at reviewing Burial Chamber, one of this web site's featured attractions will last. Its a shame the haunt industry can be so political***

Location: Easy to find with google maps right off the freeway. Entrances to the haunted houses were well decorated, good signage on the main haunt.

Wait: Had youtube videos playing for entertainment which ended up being more entertaining than the haunt. The hostess of the haunt had a good costume and was creepy. Best actor in the haunt. Entrances were well decorated. In hindsight, I wonder if they used most of their resources decorating the entraces.

Adrenaline: The haunt itself was simply put: mediocre. Perhaps I've seen too many better haunted houses to have been able to enjoy this one. The actors definitely tried, but its not for "scary" I'm convinced they were going for. Perhaps it wasn't completely their fault though; the fact that most were wearing street clothes did not help to make their performances convincing. Needless to say the majority of the "costumes" were significantly unimpressive. The clown, gas mask fellow were exceptions. There was one animatronic that I remember. A haunt should not in my opinion rely on animatronics, but a nice balance would have been good. How was the decore you ask? Picture setting up some colored lighting in the section of Home Depot where you pick up 2 x 4s and throw in some debris from your garage. And then add in some black tunnels. That's about it. The scares are the same ones you'd see done better at other, less over-marketed haunts. In today's trying economic times, I would have felt better giving my money to a haunt that felt like it was trying harder. You win some you lose some.

Summary

I've been to some worse haunts, sure, but considering how much marketing there is for Burial Chamber, I expected quite a bit more. Perhaps if they had invested the effort and money less on how big the marketing campaign and the sheer size of the attraction was and more on how much and what was in the haunt, it wouldn't have been so terribly bland. Bigger is not always better, especially when it comes at the cost of spreading actors, set design, and scares way too thin. I'll give it 2 out of 5 since it wasn't the worst and because 2 is the closest from the bottom, much like this haunt is to the list of haunts I've experienced.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first visit to Monster Mayhem, and let me tell you they blew me away. I was expecting some small little haunt that wouldn't have many actors. However, that was the complete opposite. From the beginning, they had it set to give you a creepy feeling. Once in the house, they definitely followed through with their theme. It was like being in a secret underground workshop for the government, but you were definitely not supposed to be there. It was very different but very good.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location for this is very easy to find. Its right inside Paulo's Pizza. They have a sign hanging from the Paulo's sign which is a little hard to see but if you look for Paulos you won't have a problem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is right inside of a restaurant/pub, so while you're waiting you can have a pizza or a drink. When it is your turn they take you through the back and make you wait in their erie hallway but make sure you watch out for the zombie on the stairs!

Actors' Performance


The actors did an extremely good job at staying in character. They were always right on target with their scares and lines. They definitely made it feel intense.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Very good job at their scenes and props especially their "monster" in the haunt.

Length


It took about 15 minutes to walk through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


They do a very good job at sending groups in without running into other groups. They have someone in each scene who keeps you occupied so that doesn't happen.

Summary

Overall, this was a very organized and put together haunt. I loved it. I would recommend this to anyone 12 and older.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Arrival to the haunt was effortless, all the directions were excellent and we made it there quickly.  Once there, make sure that you follow the smaller signs to the correct parking area, because there are more than one parking areas and we originally ended up in the wrong one.  Not the haunts fault, we did not follow the signs, we just saw a bunch of people and followed them.  This would have been great if we wanted to attend the high school dance that was going on, but we ended up going back to the car and going to the correct area by following the signs.

Once there it is very easily labeled, there is a ticket area, concessions, and bathrooms all right away when you walk up.  They have a cool hearse decorated in the parking lot.  We walked up to buy our tickets and were warmly greeted on a cool night.  We were given our wristbands and some instructions on how it will work and we were on our way.

Once in line, the first wait was about 10 minutes and they have a television showing highlights of some of the best scares they have created.  You can watch several people so scared they fall over or grab onto one another.  It is pretty funny, but just because you watch the feed does not mean you will not jump at the same place-I did.  At the front of the line they take your group and lock you up in a horse pen.  There are ghouls walking around and popping up heckling you.  They let you out of your pen and into the first haunt, Morgan Manor.  This haunt is about 15 minutes long and full of props that are everywhere.  The details in this haunt are very impressive.  I love looking at all the different scenes.  The props and decorations are definitely the highlight of this haunt.  There are fewer actors in this haunt and it relies more on sounds and sights to create the eerie feelings.

Next, after what was really at most a five minute wait, we entered Morgana's Torment.  This was my favorite of the three houses.  It is pitch black and you can see nothing.  They have some great terrain effects like foam bags that you have to push through to get to the next room.  Really panic inducing for anyone who has claustrophobia.  There were several actors who called out from inside the darkness.  They also work to seperate your groups so you are isolated.  This totally freaked me out, to the point, where I was almost on the verge of tears.  Wow, tears-way to go!

Finally, when you finish Morgana's Torment you head to the newest of the Wisconsin Feargrounds attraction, Unstable.  While you are in line you are greeted by one of the greatest creatures I have seen so far.  He is approximately 10 ft tall and has horns and makes a baa noise.  It is hilarious.  Once inside you are subject to tons of live actors, most of them seemingly insane.  My favorite character was a chap who seemed to be part chicken and part man.  He had some of the funniest one liners I have heard all season and really got up in your face.

Overall, a great set-up, extremely fun, well executed, and definitely worth the trip!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find.  Follow the directions and you will arrive directly at the fair grounds.  Once there make sure you do pay attention to the smaller signs that guide you to the correct parking lots because my friends and I were almost ready to attend a party of some type held in another building.  

Actors' Performance


Actors at this haunt are awesome, they are funny, scary, on-task, and in character.  One of my favorites was a guy that was dressed up like a chicken-man.  He was hilarious, in our faces, and all around entertaining.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes per haunt for a total of 45 minutes if you  choose to attend all three: Morgan Manor, Morgana's Tourment, and Unstable.

Crowd Control


Well controlled, there were police and several workers around to help out with any concerns.  There was also roped lines and rails to guide lines.

Most Memorable Moment


When my group was split apart from me and I started calling out to them in complete darkness and the actors heard one of my friends say my name.  Then all the actors started whispering my name and gathering around me, blocking the way towards my friends.  I will tell you honestly, I was feeling serious panic!  Great job!

Summary

This haunt is one you should not miss, I loved the intensity of Morgana's Torment, and the crazies in the all new Unstable.  Fun, Fun, Fun, and also frightening!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cartdaddy after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I thought is was more funny than scary... nobody in my group even screamed for that matter and we went with someone that is affarid of haunted house.. scenes were not that good. pretty much walking though dark hallways the whole... not worth the time or money. in my eyes.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by robone after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I don't scary easiely but there were a few things that got me by surprise! More important than that for me was fun factor and the amazing creativity that was used. It was definately worth the 35min drive from Green Bay.

Summary

I liked the fact that it was not another wait in line for an hour for a quick 15 min. in and out and your done. This truly was an adventure with a fun corn maze start, a dark and scary bus ride middle, and the endinging was just the start of what they called the haunted mansion! endinging with

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Deanofthedead after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is great! Friends of mine recommended this haunt last year, am I sorry I did not get here until this year. Just going to the haunt is unnerving especially when you cross the old wooden bridge at the entrance to the farm. They have a covered waiting area with all kinds of things to eat for sale. The wait was not long, they take large groups up the hill to the old mine shaft. It really feels like you are going down into a mine shaft. The laser vortex thing at the bottom of the shaft is great. There is a swamp like area that make you feel like you are sinking in. The actors scare you the old fashioned way, none of this breathing in your face which is just annoying. The mine shaft would almost be enough, but it is only the first of four parts to this haunt. After a short wait around a bonfire we were loaded on to a wagon with a soundtrack and special effects. We went way back into the dark woods (don’t ask me how the driver knew where he was going in the blackness). I loved all the pyrotechnics; you don’t see that in a haunted house. Even the expected chainsaw attack on the wagon was memorable. Sit on the left side to get the best effect. After a couple of miles on the wagon we were dropped off in the middle of a pine forest. Here the grave yard scene is spectacular. And don’t skip the abandoned cabin in the woods. The final part of this adventure is a trail through the corn field. As you would expect from this haunt it does not disappoint. By the time we were done it had taken more than an hour to complete this haunt. This is a great haunt for a group of friends because with the bonfires between the different elements it allows everyone to recount their favorite parts before taking on the next challenge. . They also have a corn maze that is open at night. I was sorry we arrived too late in the night to do the maze.

Summary

I don’t think you can find anything like this event anywhere else in the country. This should be a must see for all haunt enthusiasts. Check this one out with your friends you will not regret it.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Once we arrived at the haunt, it was obvious we were there.  There was a huge hearst out in front that said Mars Haunted House on the side.  There were also multiple other signs around on the building.  The line was not too long and there were creatures waiting outside to greet us and entertain us while we waited.  The length of time we waited in line was only about 15 minutes total.  Pretty good considering the fact that the line is usually around the corner of the block!  When we went upstairs we were greeted by a ghoul and she brought us into a dark room.  In this first room we listened to a voice that spoke about the legend of the Mars House.  Once this was done, we were let in on our own and it was super dark.  The house was creepy with narrow hallways leading to each new room.  Some of my favorite rooms had a girl crawling around on the ground, and a room with a guy reciting a willy wonka speech in a creepy voice.  Overall, Mars was, as always, fun.  Screams and jumping came and went but we also laughed quite a bit at the actors.  Overall, I would say that if you live in the Milwaukee area, it is a must see.  It not only is right in the middle of town, but it also has a huge history and has been around for years, with people coming back year after year!

Length


Approximately 15-20 minutes without the wait time included.

Summary

Overall, I would say, if you love haunted houses than this one is as nostolgic as it gets.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got to the haunt in the same time the directions said.  Once we arrived we could easily spot the haunt.  There were quite a few people there for a night that was below freezing at times and because it was so late.  However, this did not suprise me, because I have gone every year for the past five and it is always has tons of people in attendance.  Once we got there we got in line and quickly got our wristbands.  We then looked around and saw some great decorations, the store, and concessions.  We headed toward the bonfire to listen to the creepy ghost stories being told.  We waited only about 15 min.  Then we got in line, the wait in line was another 15 min, but you have cute farm animals to visit with while in line. Then we were let in.  You are immeadiately met by a creepy surrounding that is very dark and full of cobwebs.  You follow a path that flows through the corn.  You come into contact with a lot of strobing lights that make your whole body feel like you are walking sideways and completely disorientates you.  Intermeadiately, you come across several animatronics and or live actors in the corn.  You will also visit several scenes that are extremely elaborative.  I love the pirate ship and the clown areas-really keeps you on your toes.  We made quite a few screams and even more jumps from the frights.  This place is always great and I highly recommend it.
Go now or as soon as you can!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow the directions provided by the website or my google or yahoo maps.  It is very easy.  There are large signs and as soon as you are close you can see all the pumpkins and the bonfire!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very organized.  They have lines running to buy tickets.  Once you get your tickets you are encouraged to look around at the props and pumpkins or even stop in the store.  After you have taken in the scenes, you can go sit by a super warm bonfire that has a storyteller, who tells spooky  ghost stories.

Actors' Performance


They were amazing.  It was late into a very cold night and I felt that they really had it together.  They were funny, scary, and on their marks.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I go to Meadowbook every year and each year they never cease to top themselves.  Not only do they put a lot of hard work and love into their haunt, it shows through the entire time from beginning to end.  They have the best animatronics in the area-some are of such quality, I would guess they get their props from the same places hollywood movies do!  Great scenes and I love the fact that even though it is in a cold, sometimes wet, cornfield, they are still able to make all the props run, including the motion and weight sensored kinds.

Length


This is one of those haunts that does not let you down.  You have an easy 45 min to an hour once you enter the maze to enjoy all of the wonder that surrounds you.

Crowd Control


Once again, crowd control is great due to the lines set up and the fact that they have a number calling system which tells you when you can enter the maze.  This counter is located near the bonfire.  However, one cavet I would add is that for a night that had freezing temps and rain for several days before hand, it was a little less busy than I have seen it in past visits so the crowd was easier to control.  However, I have also been there when it was extremely busy and have never had a concern.

Most Memorable Moment


My favorite moment was when my group was just completely mezmerized by one of the new animatronic figures that moves, makes noises, and is just incredible.  I don't want to give it away but once you see it you will know.

Summary

Overall, I think this a great haunt.  I love going each and every year, knowing that I am going to be impressed all over again.  You want to go the Meadowbrook corn maze, don't miss out!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by halloween725 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt has to be the best deal in the area. For eight bucks a piece, my group of friends and I were entertained for the night. The barn has grown over the past few years and we really enjoyed this years addition Bloodshed. All of us were scared pretty bad at different times. Even my friend who is 6'2" 280 lbs. jumped about 6 feet in the air. All of our favorites from previous years were there - Leatherface, Michael Myers, the trippy tunnel, and Jason (who caught me off guard more than once). The kids this year were great. They seemed to be placed according to their abilities. There were two girls in particular who deserve mention - I didn't enjoy their "game". All in all, this really made my night and I will come back again with a new group of friends to scare.

Summary

GO SEE IT!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by blackjack262 after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We went close to the time when the last tickets were being sold so not many people were there , the wait was minimal.
As we entered a ghoul jumped out and definitely scared us because we were not expecting something to come out before we even bought tickets.
The ghoul did a excellent job at getting us excited for the maze because she/he did a good job at keeping us on our toes untill it was our turn to go in.
We were expecting to be terrified because before we went in all we could hear was screaming from different parts of the maze , but we were let down.
Much of the maze was "pop out scares" and got boring quick.
The barns in the haunt were decent but felt undone to me.
The actors were mostly smaller children so i didn't wasn't very scared at small people jumping out at me.
I didn't think it was worth the $10 it costed but thats my opinon.The maze seemed like it was aimed for younger children to go into.

Summary

Boring actors.
Not much scare.
Need more to the haunt.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by blackjack262 after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Me and 4 other friends went to this haunted house , and found it quite easily with a gps we had , and was easily visible to see with the hearse infront and the 2 "ghouls" outside trying to scared people.
We went inside , and paid the $12 which was definitely worth it.The whole haunt was very well done and didn't seem akward in parts at all.
The acting was AMAZING!
What i thought was good acting is when a inline enterainer came into the haunted house and started acting with the actors for the haunt even though he was a outside actor.
No rooms were boring and was quite fun.
Very good! Would recommend to everyone.

Summary

Easy to find.
Great actors.
Very good haunt.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 22nd, 2019 2:02 p.m. CDT 1.8.19