ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by iluvhauntedhouses after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We walked up to the house and heard a lot of screaming. There were a couple rooms that were similar to past years, but others that were totally different. Not every room was super scary, but some other ones had some really cool effects and some were just creepy! They got me and made me scream more than once!

Been coming to this house for years amd we'll be back again.

Summary

I think the price was fair, and even a bit cheaper than some of the others. Lighted sign a the entry helped (but we already knew where it was.) They have a new website this year and it has good directions and maps.

We had some good food while we waited (reasonably priced) and games to play. It was a cold night so we defintley liked staying in the gym. They had a radio station there which was cool and we all got a chance to win a prize. Don't know if Chloe went to the same house we did, cuz we had fun!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by abbeym46 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very scary! Everyone really got into character, and it was very spooky. Definitely worth the trip and money.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook is the only haunt I would drive 2 hours for! It is located on a large farm that during the day has hay rides, gift shop, petting zoo (with some cute and creepy critters), and did I mention PUMPKINS! This is a haunt that you would want to "make a night of". There is so much to do while you wait. You can sip on Hot apple cider, eat carmel apples, sit around a warm bon fire all while listening to a ghoul tell ghost stories. 102.1 out of Milwaukee was there handing out free ticket opportunites. If that isn't enough enterntainment than play some Halloween games and win prizes, or venture through the gift shop and get some great decorations for your very own haunt.



When it is your turn to go through the haunt a LED screen will show your number. The cornfield itself is spooky with sky rocketing corn stalks that make you feel very inferior. There is rarely a "dead" moment throughout the entire cornfield. Strobe lights guide you through rows of corn, but be careful to go the right way or you may find yourself lost! Don't fear, the ghouls may help you find your way or they may just guide you the wrong way. The animatronics were great, I am amazed at the props and scenes. Everything is HUGE this year ... above and beyond. There are several areas which you will have to enter through different themed "cabins" ... you could find yourself disorientated, crushed, or attacked by vicious creatures.



I would definitely drive 2 hours again to visit this Haunt. You can NOT beat the price, it is cheaper then most Haunts and far superior than any haunts that are the same price. The only bad thing is you have to watch the weather, this isn't a haunt you would want to attend on a rainy night! This haunt is a hidden "treasure" in WI, I live in Green Bay and would have never heard of The Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook if it weren't for HauntedWisconsin. I recommend this haunt to EVERYONE!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We used a GPS this year and had no problem finding it. However I know in previous years we had used Google maps and it was completely off. If you get lost the locals know EXACTLY where it is. Once you get there they have lit up signs at the entrance of the drive way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area at The Haunted Cornfield is equally as entertaining as the Cornfield itself. There is a huge gift shop with tons of decorations and other Halloween goodies. This is a HUGE farm and there are lots of animals all over, they have a petting zoo during the day. The radio station 102.1 was there also. The best part is sipping some hot apple cider or eating a carmel apple and sitting around the bonfire listening to horror stories. The also have an area where you can play games and win prizes. Did I mention pumpkins? They have one of the largest selections I have seen!

Actors' Performance


A couple actors were great, others were ok. Timing is everything with this type of haunt and a couple actors were easily seen before they scare.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It is set in a HUGE cornfield, "Children of the Corn" anyone. The Corn is abnormally large, I remember 2 years ago Rick explaining that he buys a special brand of corn just for such an event. It certainly does the trick, you feel very small and very lost. The Props were great, a lot more animatronics this year AND some very, very unique scenes. I have been to several haunts and often times you will see similar "props" or "scenes" ... you will not see this at Meadowbrook, everything is so unique! I would love to speak to the "designing" mind behind some of those scenes!

Length


Perfect length! It took us 38 minutes to get through the Haunted cornfield. I know 2 years ago it took about an hour to get through, but things were too spread out.

Crowd Control


We did manage to pass the group ahead of us and then fall behind again, I don't know how this would be prevented though. The group in front of us was going really slow because they were extremely scared.

Most Memorable Moment


I wish I could give away the "most memorable moment", but I don't want to ruin it for anyone and there is no way to describe it without giving it away. I guess everyone will just have to find out themselves.

Summary

I'm giving the Haunted Cornfield at 5+ for FUN, and a 5 for Fear. I will drive 2 hours again to see this Haunt!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Shockwave Haunts & The Fuzzy Pig Presents the Halloween Fashion Show & Sale

by JJack after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Blood Manor is a new haunt with new ideas and creativity, not the standard old Halloween pranks, but real scares and thrills.
The actors are realistic and not in rubber masks, that certainly catch you off guard. The scenes are unique and well done with details.
The cost is economical and the second haunt, A Howell In The Woods, is good too, making the trip even more worthwhile, plus it's only $8.00 each for a combo ticket.

The waiting is entertaining with the music light show, herse to look at, and food to eat in a heated ballroom/convention room.

Maybe the best part is the night sky and moon and clouds because this is in the country, away from the lights. Very eerie last night.

Whitewater is only 40 miles from Milwaukee area and less than that from Madison and well worth the trip.

Summary

Blood Manor is a new haunt with new ideas and creativity, not the standard old Halloween pranks, but real scares and thrills. Whitewater is only 40 miles from Milwaukee area and less than that from Madison and well worth the trip.

View all Shockwave Haunts & The Fuzzy Pig Presents the Halloween Fashion Show & Sale reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Gilly's Haunted House

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Looking for a haunt you can enjoy with your family? Gilly's Haunted House may be for you. While waiting in line I spoke with a group of five 6th graders who were anxiously awaiting their second trip through the haunt. When asked how they'd rate the scare factor of Gilly's on a scale of 1-5 they enthusiastically gave it ratings that were off the chart. (One even rated the haunt as a 100 on the scale of 1-5!)

While adults may not agree with this assessment on the scare factor scale I think all will agree on the fun factor. Solid acting performances are mixed with a creepy carnival / freak show circus theme and dashed with a few instances of special effects to excite the visual senses. If you're looking for a haunt that totally immerses you into the theme of each room you may leave a bit disappointed. While the acting is notable and some of the special effects will totally disorientate and confuse you, many of the rooms lack the attention to detail provided in other haunts. This is most likely the result of the room lighting which certainly will encourage kids to interact more in the sets than to send them rushing through in search of the exit.

If your into evaluating haunts with your senses you might find this helpful:

* Sight: Come prepared with your imagination and you won't be disappointed with this haunt. In some rooms the lighting makes it apparent that this venue does not have as much attention to detail as other haunts. The lighting, however, does encourage more interaction with the actors. The acting, though, does a great job of diverting your attention from the room detail. The vortex double dose will visually excite and disorientate you!

* Sound: The sound won't knock your socks off but is effectively used at times to compliment rooms.

* Smell: Nothing special on this front...although there are haunts that venture into this realm.

* Touch: Nothing special on this front...although there are haunts that venture into this realm.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Hard to miss this venue as it occupies nearly the entire street corner. Gilly's doubles as a floral shop / greenhouse during the day...but once the sun sets the floral displays found at the store font will do little to sooth your soul. Look for the scary bus in front and a fence that surrounds the entire establishment to ensure the creatures from within don't escape.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A canopied area covers the wait area to protect you from elements but will do little to keep you warm. Dress appropriately for the wait. There was no line entertainment while I waited.

Actors' Performance


Ghoulishly solid & fun to interact with. At times spoken lines were delivered with unique accents to set the tone of the room. Very enjoyable!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Loved the double whammy of vortex rooms and really enjoyed the comical maze of doors...clever! The boat ride and acting performance at the onset of the tour were a real treat.

Length


Of the three haunted houses in the proximity of Gilly's this one was the longest...which isn't surprising as it appears to enjoy the largest location of the three.

Crowd Control


I attended early on the first night of business so there wasn't much of a crowd to control. The line inside the canopied area is clearly marked and the narrow sidewalk leading to the entrance to the admission area appear to be adequate to control sizable crowds.

Most Memorable Moment


By far the most memorial moment is not one but TWO vortexes. The first one was cool and disorientating...the second one took me by complete surprise and blew my mind. The opening boat ride and presentation also get honorable mention for the most memorable moment.

Summary

Great attraction for kids and families. Adults who are freaked out by clowns or enjoy the absurdity presented by fun houses will also enjoy this attraction. Solid acting and a fun atmosphere. Gilly's Haunted house may not stand your hair on end or blow your mind with dazzling special effects but it will certainly entertain you.

View all Gilly's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by JENNY1972 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

first time through, never been there before, get effects throughout the mind shaft, and through the woods. Actors are into doing there job. Great atmosphere.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by GoldDustWoman after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

They change it a bit every year which is good.They keep some same stuff the like vortex room which is always awesome.Pleanty of gore and scary psychos to fill up the house.No one touches you on purpose,but a ghoul did fall onto me on the elevator,when it shook to a stop.Lol.Thought there would be a more M.J. theme,but that's cool that there wasn't.We have had the pleasure everytime we went,to be in really cool and friendly groups of people.That makes or breaks the experience.Wish we walked a bit slower though,lots to see at every turn.I prefer haunted houses in the "Boonies",but for being so close,you can't go wrong!

Summary

We went early in the season,so there was absolutley NO wait.Which kinda sucked because they had a big movie screen playing Michael Jackson Videos,and we saw the best one;Thriller!!There is a waiting tent with dance music for the youngsters,and ghouls and creatures walking around.You are never bored.So we wouldn't mind the wait.AND I wore my free pumpkin spiced bracelet from there all week.Yummy!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

If you enjoy original / custom made special effects, this haunt is for you! Unlike other venues that present a variety of theme based rooms, Monster Mayhem plunges you into a unique story line that I would liken to a mix between Aliens and Resident Evil. What I particularly enjoyed about Monster Mayhem is that you don't just see and hear scary things....you actually get to FEEL them on a few occasions!

The superb acting, special effects and detailed story line at Monster Mayhem make for a very enjoyable experience. While every scene won't motivate you to run for the hills there are a few rooms that may make you jump. As a result, I gave this attraction a 5 out of 5 on the fun scale and a 3.5 out of 5 on the scare factor. This is definitely a haunt for all ages and not just adults.

If your into evaluating haunts with your senses you might find this helpful:

* Sight: Custom designed sets and special effects were top notch! See creatures blow up. Watch as the skin is ripped off a dying actor. Peak over the side railing and get a feel for how far the cavern descends.

* Sound: Solid! The sound in every room won't blow you away like some haunts but you certainly won't be disappointed. The element of sound is certainly leveraged to provide a few good scares!

* Smell: Nothing special on this front...although there are haunts that venture into this realm.

* Touch: Outstanding! If a creature blows up right in front of your face shouldn't you feel it? You do here!!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located in the basement of Paulo's Pizza / Pub. There are signs for the haunt but they're not nearly as obvious as the signs for Paulo's. Located right on the corner of 51st and Howard you can't miss Paulo's....but you may miss the signs for Monster Mayhem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Doesn't get much better than this! While you wait....order a pizza, have dinner, play a few games in the arcade or listen to music in the pub.

Actors' Performance


These guys REALLY got into it! Perhaps it was coincidence, but all the actors when I attended were adults....which consequently really sold me on the roles that were portrayed in each room. (i.e. the mad scientist looked and acted like a mad scientist...the military personnel looked old enough to be in the military.)

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


If you have an keen eye special effects, the props/FX at Monster Mayhem are the bomb! Feel creatures blow up. See the skin ripped off of a live actor. Hear & feel creatures bust loose from captivity.

Length


I must admit, the length of this haunt did feel short but the visual entertainment was definitely worth the price of admission.

Crowd Control


I attended early on the first night of business so there wasn't much of a crowd to control. Given that the venue is at a Pizza Parlor / Pub the logistics of how the Haunt patrons mix with those from the Pizza Parlor Pub may be interesting....but as this is their second year of business I would suspect that they've worked out any potential bottlenecks with the flow of traffic through the establishment.

Most Memorable Moment


Watch out for the exploding corpse...it doesn't just look messy!! :)

Summary

Fun for the whole family. A story line most kids can relate to and stellar special effects with an attention to detail that adults will surely appreciate. Monster Mayhem does a solid job of providing for a very unique experience that you will not just see and hear but feel as well!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by emmarkjack after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

My friend and I were very disappointed with this haunt. It was very short, with very few scares.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Ozzie_19 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had not been to a haunted house in maybe 10 years -- it had been so long I barely remembered the last one I had been to. But there will be no forgetting the Wisconsin Fear Grounds. From the moment we walked into the first stall to the time we walked out of 'Unstable' there was terror at every turn. The actors were tremendous, popping out of quiet spaces or sneaking up on you without you know, and their costumes and makeup were very professional. The sets were elaborate, way more so than I expected. In fact, I wish I had gone through the haunts slower to really enjoy all the work put into them. The second of the three haunts, 'Torment', was downright freaky.

Summary

I am certainly not a haunt enthusiast and had no idea how elaborate a production they have become. Wisconsin Feargrounds made me want to come back for more.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bobbrieko after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My friends and I set out to get scared this past weekend and we were definitely not disappointed. This haunt gets better and better every year. The attention to detail, the makeup, and the actors all are fantastic. This will be a haunt I will tell everyone about and will be visiting again with a different group of friends.

Summary

Three haunted houses in one place, you cant beat it. All 3 houses have a different unique theme to them. The first one was a creepy old mansion, the second house seemed to be the basement of the mansion, and the third one was the barn. To top it all off you get free energy drink after going through all 3 houses.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Year after Year I have took the drive out to the Waukesha Expo center to visit this haunt and have to say this year is no exception as the haunt was great! First of all the parking and large amounts of it is a big plus! Once you get there the lines where very short and a few creatures of the night where even walking around. As you enter you are putting into a holding cell before entering. Then greeted by a guy crawling on top of the cells! As you enter morgan manor you are greeted by a lady of the night and welcomed to the house. (Side note they made me kiss the baby and then I responded “ohhh I’m going to get swine flu. Her response “Ohh hunny you are a pig already, now you want to fly too” lol too funny) The first house is greatness as always!! The second house was a little on the short side but had some great effects. The third house is now the walk thru the stable. Very big improvement over the third house from last year. I can not say enough about the haunt as a whole, props, effects, professional actors all make it worth every dollar.

Summary

Overall it is greatness!! Highly recommend it!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kstar after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have gone through this haunted house every year, and I swear they keep coming up with new ways to make me and my friends scream!! I love the fact they brought back the "holding cells"!! On top of that their newest haunted house, Unstable, was beyond WICKED!! I haven't seen a haunted house like this one before, and I go to tons of them every year!! DEFINATLY GO!!!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Howell In The Woods at the Fuzzy Pig

by handyman after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Was told the Howell in the Woods was a kiddie haunt, but I beg to disagree.
It was scary and fun for all ages as they seem to step it up for adults and tone it down for the kiddies.

Summary

Fun for adults and they tone it down for the kids

View all A Howell In The Woods at the Fuzzy Pig reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by richrieko after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Me and some friends of mine decided to go to one haunted house every weekend in October. Our first stop for the year was Wisconsin Feargrounds. And let me tell you, I don't think its worth going to see any other haunted houses this year. We got there a little before they closed. From the minute we were in line to leaving the final house we were scared. All the actors alot of time into getting into their character. Each house had their own uniqe theme. The first a victorian style house followed by what seemed to be the cramp basement of the house and finally out to the creepy barn. To top it all off FREE energy drinks at the end of it all.

Summary

The price of the haunts, $30 for all three, is great. It is well worth the price. All the actors seem to take pride in their work. I would recommend this haunt to anyone looking for a good scare. We plan on returning again this year on the night of Halloween.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:46 p.m. CDT 1.13