ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by CC2 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I attend this event regularly and this year's version was a successful production.

It's appreciated that the producers take care to try to diversify the rooms within the house year to year. I did not sense a lot of repeat from previous years.

This event features one of the better wait areas as they have one seperate theater area where they run scary movies while visitors wait for their ticket number to be called. When I visited, an unedited version of "Saw II" was on screen.

The Jaycee's home also has one of the better appointed concession stands featuring a diverse array of Halloween themed candy options along with packaged cotton candy, hot dogs and popcorn.

There is a significant security presence at the event as well as several police officers.

There are four portable toilets outside of the main waiting area and a tent with benches where the groups are formed for entry into the attraction. If it is windy, it can get quite cool in the tent.

Your journey begins with a walk through a torch lit forest path. When I attended the forest itself was lightly staffed, but that was acceptable considering cold temperatures and rain.

Ordinarily, several staff lurk amongst the shadows waiting to spring on the visitors.

This year's version of the woods now features a small, covered bridge guarded by an actor who will impede your passage.

Next, you negotiate your way through the inside of a large tank, however, at one point you have to crawl, which isn't pleasant when people tromping through a wet woods have preceded you. That would best be elimiated in the future.

You then procede up the stairs to the house where you knock and are let inside the attraction.

The actors inside the Jaycee's House frequently have scripted narratives prior to the initiation of the scares. Actor's performances were strong and costuming and make up were effective, as well.

In addition to the actor's performances, the experience in the house is enhanced with the usage of various pop up, mechanized startles.

One of the annoyances of this year's haunt is a small area with a clown in a box featuring booming horn noises that are too loud for the small area this scare is conducted in.

Otherwise, the event gives a solid performance.

Summary

The Jaycees Haunted House is a recommended haunt. Great care is put into this production and it features one of the more elaborately detailed, prop heavy attractions I've seen. It pays to look around in the rooms throughout the house as a lot of attention to detail has been employed here.

Fear factors are moderate to high with a heavy reliance on pop out scares, but this is certainly a worthwhile event to attend and an enjoyable experience.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by CC2 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have attended this event for numerous years and the producers of Splatter Haus always deliver a quality scare.

The house is located in a wearhouse in Two Rivers approximately 1.3 miles East of Lake Michigan.

Be sure to follow the directions from the website as there is currently a detour that will interfere with the most direct route to the facility.

There is ample parking on site and numerous portable toilets outside of the waiting area.

Splatter Haus' waiting area is the inside of the wearhouse housing the attraction complete with a consession stand and a booth selling event shirts and momentos, etc.

One of the more interesting aspects of the waiting area is a video game called "The Defecator". For $1, the visitor gets to trigger two real time scares within the house, which you can watch through closed circuit television.

Splatter Haus makes very effective use of explosive sound in its production as from start to finish, including your wait, you will be bathed in loud, death metal music. This aspect helps to enhance the suspense of the journey through the house, as well. Intense.

In addition, when the various scares are triggered, amplified sounds and roars will attack the visitor, as well.

This event also makes solid use of lighting to accentuate its scares. When entering a scare zone, the lights will typically go dark immediately prior to when the action will begin.

The home is negotiated via a continuous walk through numerous, large rooms.

Ticket numbers are called in groups of 25 and then smaller groups of approximately 8 are formed for entry into the house.

The house uses relatively few actors compared to other haunts in the state, but the actors they do employ give very invested performances.

Splatter Haus is prop heavy with elaborate sets and lighting effects.

In this year's production, you will meet Pin Head from the Hell Raiser series and he has grown significantly since those movies.

You will also walk through a nursery and meet the upset mother of numerous deformed babies.

You will walk through a graveyard with an angry keeper and encounter a pig headed butcher with a power tool.

There is also an armed skeleton lying in wait for you.

Splatter Haus features several lazor effects and a long hallway with a very ominous dead end wall.

It takes about 20 minutes to complete this house and the startles don't necessarily end when you exit.

This is a high quality production.

Summary

Splatter Haus has a well earned reputation as one of the top scares in the state and they deliver again this year.

The organizers of this project create a quality event with a concentration on generating fear using various sensory methods to achieve this.

In terms of startle factors, Splatter Haus sets a high bar.

It is one of the premiere haunts in the state and is not to be missed if you are willing to make the drive.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Three Floors of Horror

by marie johnson after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the scariest haunted house i have ever been to, I have been to alot. It was lots of scares and lots of laughs. well worth the time and money. Would do it 10 times over again and still be scared

View all Three Floors of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by trapshooter2 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I help out at the Haunted Mansion and decided to take the night off and go thru. I knew the layout of the house and most of the people working and I still got scared! It was great! There were rooms I had to cover my ears and turn my back because I knew it was going to be scary. The actors in the house that night were right on. The lady in front of the house giving the rules of the house did a fabulous job! Great job to all!!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Trail at Scenic Ridge Campground

by ethel after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

although the 1st few minutes were silly, the actors seemed to find out our fears. the personal agony they put my friend thru was excellent. laughed alot along with a few good screams. no waiting line

Summary

i think if they would change the first few minutes with myron, the scare factor would be a 5 star. still all in all, am looking forward to next year. definitely worth the drive.

View all Haunted Trail at Scenic Ridge Campground reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have been attending this event for many years and the 2009 version was a strong one, comparatively.



Hubertus makes use of an old house on site, which leads to a natural ambiance of a haunt, including its earthy smells and its dark, stone basement.



The house is negotiated via a series of stops in various rooms where scenes are depicted behind closed doors before you move on.



The props and detail of the sets are at a high level.



You begin your journey through the haunt with a brief motion simulation ride on a school bus and then you enter the house itself.



This year's house features among its numerous scenes a mob shooting, a visit from the earthbound spirit of a fallen bride, an encounter with Pinhead including a person trapped inside a matress from the Hell Raiser series and a face to face episode with the Predator.



A memorable feature of this year's house is a simulated mine train ride.



Hubertus was an enjoyable experience again this year.

Signage / Visibility / Location


As has been mentioned in other reviews, once you get to Hubertus just follow traffic to the house.

If coming from the highway, take Holy Hill Rd West (Hwy 167) and then turn left (North) at the St Jacobi church into Hubertus. It's ironic that a glowing, white cross on the horizon is your landmark to mark the turn to a haunted house.

There is ample parking and rest facilities at the school.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for the attraction is the heated gym of the neighboring school. It is equipped with a concession stand and numerous video games. Characters occasionally stoll through the gym, however, for the most part one either sits or stands awaiting their ticket number to be called for entrance into the haunt.

Staff at the attraction are polite and engaging.

Actors' Performance


The actors' performances at this haunt typically feature a lot of scripted dialogue. This year's version featured several such narrative scenes.

The actors were creatively attired with good quality make up and they gave energetic performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The creators of this year's house paid attention to detail and the scenes/sets were elaborate and well appointed.

There were some interesting effects using compressed air, as well.

Length


Hubertus is negotiated via a series of stops in various rooms where scenes are depicted. It took about 20 minutes to complete the tour.

Crowd Control


Ticket numbers are called and 3 lines of visitors that are continuously formed for entry into the house. There was a visible security presence and two police officers on site during my visit.

Once outside, groups are spaced by a staff person to attempt to control catching up to previous groups.

Most Memorable Moment


This year's house features a motion simulation of a mine train that was an excellent production and very imaginitive.

Summary

This was a strong year for Hubertus. The level of imagination and production quality were well done. Scare factors are moderate to high, but it was a very enjoyable visit and is a recommended stop.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by ethel after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

oh my god ! i was a haunted house virgin before this. 90% of the actors were just plain creepy...this is a good thing! the wait was only about 1/2 hour and the line was tripled by the time we got thru. still have a sore throat today from screaming

Summary

just cannot wait until next year. went to 2 other places after this and this one was the greatest!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by greisen after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

There are four sections to the Haunted Mansion so you definitely get you money's worth, and my favorite is the MANSION! They must have over 100 people working each night because the activity and creativity is mind-boggling! You may go in the mansion with a group of friends, but if they want to separate you, look out! If you want some GREAT fun and want to view some wonderful Halloween creativity this is the place!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by ethel after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the actors had me jumping before i even got inside! screamed thru just about all of it...being chased in the maze was hysterical! took me an hour to relax. line was less than 1/2 hour

Summary

will definitely be back next year !

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Monday, October 26, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dominion of Terror is located in an old multi-story building, so it has the natural aura of a haunt.



There are colored lights behind the boarded up windows on the outside overlooking the outdoor waiting area.



Once inside the building, you progress up a staircase to begin your journey through the attraction which covers several floors.



This year's version of Dominion features a walk through a graveyard, complete with a hearse as well as a stroll through a mortuary leading to a morgue.



There are also rooms devoted to a classroom scenario, abandoned mine, a torture chamber with screaming prisoners and ornery guards and a segment of woods with a waterfall into a pond.



There was also an ode to the Confederacy with several Southern voice affected actors sharing some opinions with us.



At one point, we passed through a room set as a barn of sorts with a very strong odor that was quite unpleasant.



Dominion makes good use of its host facility and is a well thought out and diverse event.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Consult website for directions. If unfamiliar with Sheboygan, it might be a little difficult to find. The sign at the approach has a flashing marquee to look for once in the area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


One of the drawbacks of this event is that you must wait outside in the open to enter the attraction. In the event of rain/cold, dress accordingly as there is essentially no shelter.

There was one portable toilet facility available at the time of my visit.

While we waited, two actors in straight jackets gave very active performances interacting with those waiting in line.

Actors' Performance


During my visit, the actors gave good performances and were certainly conscious of trying to startle the visitors.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Dominion has fairly elaborate sets and props and a broad set of scenes in this year's haunt. Make up is better than average.

Length


It takes about 20-25 minutes to complete the trip through the attraction.

Crowd Control


As was mentioned, there is a rather small, outdoor corralled waiting area outside of the main entrance. Groups of about 4-6 are called into the house about every 5 minutes or so.

This event is not well set up to accommodate large crowds.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable character of my visit was a man in a top hat with a mouthful of needle teeth who met us at the inside entrance to the house. He led us into the graveyard after a brief speech posing under a blue light and he then triggered some scares during our walk through the graveyard.

Summary

Dominion of Terror has become a fairly polished event with the passage of time from it's early years in its current location. It is now an elaborate series of rooms with a number of different themes to experience. Care has been given to the construction of the sets and the appearance of the actors and it is a worthwhile haunt to visit. The scare factor is moderate, but it is an enjoyable haunt to attend, overall.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Sun Prairies Most Haunted (6th Annual)

by horror11 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I wasn't sure what to expect from this place because I had not been there before. Let me tell you all that this place might be the hidden gem for Haunted Houses in Dane County. The actors are made up of mostly high school students and a few adults but they had around 40 throughout the entire house. All the actors get into the rolls that they play. The interaction you get is worth the money alone. They have some of the most unique haunted house rooms I have ever seen. It took around twenty minutes to gp through the entire house. A great experiance that you all should enjoy.

Summary

If you like haunted houses this is truely a fun place to go. It is worth the $8 admission. One of the most unique haunts I have ever attended. It has scares great scares and even a few laughs along the way.

View all Sun Prairies Most Haunted (6th Annual) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror Trail

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 25, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Our fourth and final haunt of our three day 385 mile Review Crew tour took us out to Wautoma for Terror Trail. The location is out in the middle of nowhere, back in the trees, the type of area that just makes you feel like your going to die. There are signs off of the highway and then again where you turn to get back to the haunt, so it's not difficult to find even though its in the middle of nowhere. They park a truck with a flashing light on it and direct you to the parking area. There  was only one other car there, but there appeared to be an adequate amount parking available if needed. From the parking area it was a short walk to the ticket area. There was no line entertainment while we were there, but the only thing we had to wait for was the actors to resume from their break. There was a tent as well that would have provided cover for a few people if the weather required it. 
The cool thing about this haunted trail is they also built buildings that make it an indoor/outdoor event. you go through the door and speak with the nurse who allows you admission to see the doctor. This was a very well done scene with quite a few surprises. And when you think someone grabbed you, they did. This haunt allows their actors to touch, which enhances the experience in my opinion. Once through the doctor's office you find yourself out on the trail. It is lit by candles or lights in plastic pumpkin pails. IT provides enough light to guide yourself, but not so much that you see what's coming up. The trail winds a lot, which allows a small amount of actor's to be in a few different scenes. The scares are well done for what seemed to be a fairly small group of actor's. The set up of the trail requires good spacing for the groups, of which they do not allow more than four to go together. This may make for a longer wait, but a much more enjoyable time once inside. They use fog machines and strobes to really mess with your eyes which keeps them from adjusting to the dark. This makes every little scare just a bit scarier because you can't see them coming. The scenes and effects were great throughout. This haunt had possibly the coolest and simplest effect I have seen with the clown room, and the ending is quite a surprise as well. It is definitely a well run haunt that you should not miss if you find yourself in the area. The only problem I really found with it was it was a bit short. I feel they could use a little character development to make people slow up a little bit. At 12 minutes after an hour and a half ride from Green Bay it's a little hard to justify just this haunt for the distance. If you are in the area though, definitely put this on your list to check out, you won't be disappointed.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt was great. It's out in the middle of nowhere, in an almost junkyard/farm setting. As I stated earlier, as you get deeper into the woods, it's exactly like a horror movie, you expect to die.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They do have a small awning/tent that 10-20 people could fit under if close together. I did not see any line entertainment, but we had virtually no wait anyway. We did have a pretty interesting conversation with the guy at the front of the haunt, although it wasn't haunt related.

Actors' Performance


The actors were great. they were in multiple scenes, and never broke character. There were a couple of them that really made you feel like you were not going to be leaving there in one piece.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes they had were great as well. They really took their time to construct a really good haunt this year.

Length


As stated before, we completed it in 12 minutes. I'm not sure how it went that quick, because there were so many scares and surprises it felt like it was at least 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


There was no crowd to control, but they do only allow 4 through at a time, and the trail winds and gets close to itself in spots so the spacing has to be good when there is a crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment is tied between the building where my fiancee walked right into the wall as she didn't realize it turned because of the smoke, and the Jason character who was staring at us from the edge of the woods as we were leaving. Believe me, thats a creepy thing to see in your headlights.

Summary

Overall I was impressed with the quality of this haunt even though it was a little short for my liking. I've been through haunts that were longer and worse. The only major flaw is if you are going from a ways away  make sure you plan a couple of other stops to truly make it worth your while. Keeping in mind that it is a charity operation, it is really well done.

View all Terror Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by deleriousdragon after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A truely great experience. The actors were so in character that it almost seemed to be real. The props were top-notch, and the overall effect was amazing. The shaking "elevators" added a sense of disorentation that made even the bravest in our group not want to continue untill after regaining their composure. The actors were so convincing, I was expecting them to bite! The mad scientist was great; he had a casual conversation with us while still doing his part for the show. Then there was the alien... (Shudder) Most impressive!

Summary

An event worth repeating. I've been to many haunted houses, but this one makes me want to try it again and again. Plus the fact it is under a pizza place is a bonus, too.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Trail Of Terror

by scarypair after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

An excellent haunt well worth the $10. Get there early and plan to wait a bit. They do a great job of spacing out all the groups, but that also means more time waiting to get in. Plan for the weather. Dress appropriately and keep in mind there could be muddy spots, VERY uneven ground. The best part is that the actors WILL touch you!

Summary

We were led by a tourguide who did a great job of pacing the group at a nice slow tempo, especially in just the right areas.

We started in a haybale maze which is covered with tarps. Inside the maze are numerous dead ends, signs that misdirect, and lights that work intermittently. The actors inside terrorized the group and led us astray. It took a surprisingly long time to escape. What a great way to kick off the fun!

The trail is lit just enough with torches to see ahead, but still dark enough to enhance the loneliness of the woods. This is the first haunt I've been to where no other groups were seen or heard at all.

In the woods we passed various scenes with actors coming from everywhere. You can look around and still not see them coming up, down and all around.

The scares don't rely on too much acting, mostly just startling and terrorizing which in my opinion is more exciting. The actors did break character once, but otherwise were great.

The actors will touch you, bump you, and try to break through the group to single out the most frightened victims. The tour guide did a great job of keeping everyone together.

Overall we spent around 2 hours there from when we bought the ticket until we left for home. It is a terrific value for $10.

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by jrab after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Was very disappointed !! Waited in line 2.5 hrs for a 10 min boring walk through. There was nothing scary whatsoever. The actors were not interested in scaring anyone. I could of purchased a vip ticket but if I had I would have been very upset because it would have been a waste of money. Would not recommend this attraction to anyone.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:46 p.m. CDT 1.13