ad-header-top

2009 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

288 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted House at Halfway Creek

by IMScary after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Excellent haunted house! The whole house was filled with surprises and just when you don't think anything is going to happen, you get a surprise!
Very good costumes and actors!

Summary

Definately worth your time and money!
Can't wait until next year!

View all Haunted House at Halfway Creek reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by smmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We attented the house of bathory on thurs oct 29 at about 8:30 pm a group of 20 of us went to get scared and to our dismay, it did not happen. We read review of haunted wisconsin and were so excited about going. We traveled about an hour to get there. We were happy there was very little wait. appox 5 minutes. I like the first room featuring the bench you sat on to listen to a greeter. I led our group of 4 and could'nt wait to be scared. There were some fun areas along with one spot that, let me say, spooked a few of us. The rooms were large and brightly lit for a haunted event. There were a lot of young kids as actors. More makeup instead of large masks would have been a bit scarier.

Summary

Overall, I was disappointed at our visit. Our expectations were so high and we feel that if there would've been more adult actors, it would have been scarier.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by IMScary after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was my first time going to Sparta House of Shadows and I probably won't go again.
First and foremost, the actors weren't as much scary, as they were RUDE. I would preferred to be spooked rather than screamed at. At one point, in the Disco room, one actor was nose to nose with me, screaming in my face. Not scary screaming, yelling screaming. That was totally uncalled for, unprofessional, and actually quite rude. Come around a corner and scare me, or do something scary... don't scream in my face!
The house was dark and I did get spooked when going into some rooms, but nothing scary happened, just a lot of yelling from actors. Interestingly enough, I really didn't hear a lot of people inside of the house screaming because they were scared. And when people exited the house, they were unemotional - casually walking out... not terrified like they should have been.
The lighting could have been better. A lot of dark unoccupied corners.

The outside entertainment wasn't bad, but some actors just walked around and didn't do anything to pump the crowd up.

Summary

Wouldn't do it again. The only positive note is that the money goes to a good cause!

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by smmass after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have visited a few area haunts and have to say this is by far the scariest and haunt of all. The scares start as soon as you leave the ticket booth. There is a large screen featuring movie clips and trivia. made it worth the time waiting in line to go to the woods. there were scarey ghouls behind trees and cemetary stones. next moved to Belgianville and on to the corn maze. We then loaded a bus and were brought to the feature act, the haunted mansion. We entered the front lobby where a greeter talked about the house and moved on to the actual house. there are mazes, fun areas, action areas and of course many ghouls in hidden spaces ready to do their scaring One of my favorite things was the coolest costume I have ever seen. There were a lot of actors everywhere along with some hi tech scares. Well worth the money of $10 you bet, I will be back again next year Great job everyone

Summary

Overall, this is an excellent haunt. I'm so glad there were so many volunteers willing scare others for fun

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by Haunt2009 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first haunted house that I've gone to. It was very good. There was a line when we got there but it went very fast(lots of things to help pass the time like concessions pizza and the girl scouts were there selling baked goods). There were many actors through out the barn and bloodshed. Bloodshed is a great new addition, me and my friends loved the kitchen the mean kitchen lady and the guy by the fridge was very good. The woods was lots of fun also. There were lots of good actors out there. The guy with the chainsaw was scary. Then when I thought that it was done, a huge demon guy was awesome. We had lots of fun and were really scared.

Summary

Lots of fun & scary for the whole family. Definitely worth $8. Recommended highly.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by tripletranch after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well, we actually went through early in the season and I am just now getting to my review. ( Sorry for the wait ! ) I see a lot of good things here. A nice set up with tons of cool props, great environment and energetic actors. We got to meet the owners and they are nice people and care about what they present. A huge tent that will give you the illusion that you are safe. Well, go ahead and think that. Inside and out you will have monsters and creature encounters. But check out the props. Very cool.

Summary

Well, we had a great time and I can really see this "newer haunt" going places. I have to go with the reactions of others since I am a hard scare. Lots of fun, cool props and actors. Go see it !!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by scaredstiff after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Walking up to the Freight Factory building I was in awe at the size and silhouette that this factory set for a mood. The entrance, a little doorway around the corner, not thinking much of it walked right in and was stopped in my tracks by the sounds coming from within. After paying and getting in line, the entrance was the start of something that I was not sure how was going to end. The layout of hallways and tight spaces kept you on your toes waiting for someone to get you, AND THEY DID! Not to give to much away, they had areas that kept the hairs on the back of your neck on end and made it almost impossible to anticipate anything. They had areas that were made up that were very unique and inventive, fantastic use of imagination and inventiveness. From start to finish this was an attraction that I will include in my arsenal of Haunts to attend during the Halloween season.

Summary

What can I say, this is a must see. TO the actors who were dedicated to scaring your pants off, to the detail in the different areas, to well lit and dark passageways, this was one haunt that kept me on my toes from start to finish. Great price and well worth the time and travel to get there. See you guys next year! Have a great last weekend!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scaredstiff after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I attended HauntCon back in April and toured the facility during the convention and I thought it was quite the set up then. Going to it during the October season, I did not think that much was going to change...BUT I WAS DEAD WRONG! The actors were amazing through out the whole 3 areas that we attended. (Side Bar: If you do one you must do all three...it is quite the production)
The detail to attention, 1.)while standing in line, and getting scared, to the first corralled area, getting scared, to the entrance to all three attractions (getting scared), was absolutely awesome! (Did I mention getting SCARED!) This was one Haunt that I will go to year after year to gaze in horrific glory. I was in amazement that there were hardly any masks, all real faces, real facial expressions and real eyes staring you down. I specifically appreciated the one actor that got up right in your face (inches away) that seemed like he had just popped a breath mint, no bad breath, that was a plus! This was like an amusement park of horror and the price, fitting to the park theme. I was concerned about spending $30 for all three but not after going through it. It was well worth my money and would do it again in a heartbeat, or at least the ones that skipped a few times after being scared. Great job Timmer, you and your crew of everyone involved deserve a pat on the back. Keep the Twinkies, HoHo's, and Ding Dongs on that silver platter, they will come in handy sometime!(haha)

Summary

Great Experience for anyone and everyone. Well thought out and planned. Great timing of the actors. This is an excellent production for anyone wanting a memorable moment for attending a Halloween Attraction. Will see you guys next year! Good Luck this last weekend...KNOCK 'EM DEAD!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tripletranch after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well, this was the second of two haunts we were able to visit this year and we ( all 14 of us ) were glad we made the drive from Stoughton and took the time to check them out. This is a very well managed, thought out and executed haunt from beginning to end and we had no problem finding it ( follow the directions ). These people all love what they do and they do it very well. From the moment you enter the wait line until you hit the parking lot after the three haunts ( and I suggest you see all three) they have tons of creey characters with great costumes and makeup to play your minds. The scenes are well thought out and highly detailed. The scares will come from every direction and the effects (lights, sounds and pneumatics) work un unison with what the actors will put you through. We did all three events and I don't know how you couldn't. All have a different theme, and all had lots of actors to make your adventure quite interesting and eventful. We loved the characterizations here and each haunt took us between 15 - 25 minutes depending on if you were lucky enough to get lost where you would find yourself tormented even longer. Not hard to get split from your group even when you are holding on to each other and hey, watch out in the dark when you reach around to find your way. You never know what you will find LOL !

Summary

We had a great time. Well worth the drive and a great value if you see all three. They had concessions on site and plenty of restroom facilities. ( Use them before you enter ! )
After we were done with our tours our group of 14 got back together and concluded: This was Awesome !
Met the owner (Kevin was it ???) Just kidding LOL !!! but hey, great Guy, great place, and well worth the visit. We'll be back. We'll make the time.
Thanks everyone for a great time !!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by tripletranch after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Our group of about 10 decided to hit a couple of haunts and have some fun. This was our first trip to the Fright Factory, and we had heard a lot of good things. When we got there the place just had COOL all over it from the creepy old factory to the big sign near the top of the building. We got our tickets and had a pleasant, not too long of wait ( about 20 minutes ) in line before we entered. The split up at the beginning was pretty cool. You never know what world you will encounter. Then up the stairs and the fun begins. Lots of creepys, and cool effects, rooms and sounds as well as well thought scenes played out with actors. I was stupid enough to stick my face right into an actors face trying to check out one of the rooms a bit better and he got me. I am a tough scare, but he gave me a good solid startle. I am using the reactions from the rest of our group to decide my fear factor since I love to go more to enjoy and appreciate than to get scared.

Summary

Easy to find and worth the drive. The creepy old factory will give you the right frame of mind before you even step foot inside. People were nice and seemed to enjoy their roles whether selling tickets, concessions or acting. Over all all of our group had a great time and we were glad we too the time to visit this Haunt. The scenes and characters are well thought out and the environment is perfect. Do NOT pass this one up, it is a great experience.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by danceluvr95 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I don't usually do the Haunted House thing - but my kids wanted to go - so I went. There was a line when we got there but it moved quickly. You had to be in groups of 3 – 4 and there was a large group in front of us. After entering and hearing the “Rules of the barn” the scarring starts. There was someone around every corner – from the beginning to the end. There were 2 girls that wanted to play games; there were 2 more up near the roof of the barn. There were more actors in the Blood shed to scare and someone yelling about their kitchen. Outside on the walk there were actors to scare everywhere as well and they didn’t stop until the very end with a VERY Large creature. There were a couple groups selling treats for locaal charities and there was a concession stand with food for sale while you waited. We will be making this a annual Halloween stop from now on.

Summary

Was worth the wait and admission

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mill

by lisare after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A almost pitch black maze you walk through, with a guide behind you. Good variety of characters. Great scares! You don't see most of them coming. No specific theme. "Monsters" are right next to you but don't grab you. Recommended minimum age: 8 or 9. It was a good scare for this adult.

Summary

Great!

View all The Haunted Mill reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by Freddy K after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was one awesome Haunt. Had a lot of laughs and screams. Love to fear the chainsaw guy.

Summary

About 20 min wait, 25 to 30 min to get thru depending on how fast you can run. Good signage to find it.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Freddy K after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Easy to find, 30 min wait.Worth the wait. Excellent acting and make-up. My group screamed our way through the entire Haunt. We'll be back next year to scream some more.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by debbie after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

i have to addmit the haunted barn was not my first choice of haunts to go to this night but i was out voted. thinking you get what you paid for right?
for the first time in my life i have to say i am glad i did not get my way! i started out thinking ok this is going to be a borring night ! upone ariving at the haunted barn i had to do a double take on the number of people that were waiting in line we had a chance to talk to other people every one was friendly and excited, their was deffanetly alot of errie energy amoungst the crowd and its actors mingeling with the crowd! awsome scarecrow!!!! there were plenty of baked goods(sold by a local girl scout troop) and hot chocalote there was also hot dogs or pizza if you wanted. once we entered the barn we were informed of the rules, then were on our way!!!!! i made it through the fist area but almost wet my self! the zombie girls really did me in i knew then this was deffanetly going to be a good night! i have just one question WHO DID THAT MESSED UP DOLL ROOM!!!!!! i will never look at a baby doll the same EVER! we made it through the barn thinking ok we made it........ then we enterd the BLOOD SHED! with at least 7 people acting like we were their next meal all i could think of was get me the heck outa here!!!!!! the trial to the woods i THOUGHT would be a releaf....... NO! you can see just enough to get were you need to go but not enought to see what may be waiting to jump out at you and let me tell you they jump out!!! i think i went gray at the cabin!!!! on the path to the exit when we finally thought we were done... we ran into this huge and i mean HUGE vampier creature!!! (lets just say HE alone is worth paying $8.00 just to see!) well this night was not what i thought it would be it was MUCH better all the actors did an excelant job! i like the fact that most of the adult actors have their children helping out as ghouls,(kreepy kids on the bus) this defanatly feels like a home town family/comunity run haunt!! for $8.00 you get more than your monies worth!

Summary

Great Deal for $8.00 worth the wait, awsome actros! scare your pants off fun!!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:27 a.m. CDT 1.10