2006 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by halloweencupcake16 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was good after getting off the highway. There were orange pumpkin signs telling what direction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area was great. There was a bonfire, animals to look at, including an emu, and lots of snacks to purchase. You could also purchase pumpkins and halloween decor.

Most Unique

There was an emu.

Actors' Performance

I wasn't impressed with the number of actors in the maze. I thought there should have been more actors to make me scream. At one point my friends and I were discussing what we were doing for the week. I don't think this should happen while you are on a haunted trail.

Appropriate For

8 and over

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by morgueman after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to see. There was a flashing strobe outside with a hanging ghoul with a sign on both sides of the building

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wasn't a very long wait. Good weekend to go. There was this creepy growling zombie guy outside who was awesome. As we were walking up the stairs there was this freaky looking girl coming down and right when we got past her she let out this horrific shriek. Scared my wife a lot.

Most Unique

The moving floor in the Asylum and all of their actors. They did a great job keeping us going! Well Done.

Actors' Performance

The actors outside and in were awesome. They knew exactly when to get us. And just when you thought they were done there was another chain of scares. The asylum girl was unbelievable. That screm shot right down my spine. The creepy doctor and leatherface with his chainsaw would not let up on us. felt like I was in the movie.

Appropriate For

+14

Summary

We come to Mars every year and this was by far the best time we have had. We will definitely be back!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by creepycat after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Directions were easy to follow, large sign to the fair grounds could have been lit up for easier viewing.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were grouped together in horse stalls. The trapped feeling was kinda creepy.

Most Unique

The "nursery" was great, really creepy.

Actors' Performance

Interactive and energetic. Great makeup and costumes.

Appropriate For

12 and over

Summary

Set design was very detailed and professional looking.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by creepycat after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good signs, easy to find with directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait, got there early. Good concession stand though.

Most Unique

The sound system was unbelivable! It made the house ten times as scary as it would have been without it.

Actors' Performance

Actors were energetic and intense. Costumes were great.

Appropriate For

Over 14

Summary

Well worth the wait (if you have to wait) and the price!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by laylow414 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find if coming from milwaukee a little construction if coming from the north

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They advertise a bonfire with games to play to win you and your party to the front of the line. No games to play no hot chocalate and the cider was cold we waited an hour for it to heat up.

Most Unique

Lots of fog and lights

Actors' Performance

They advertise over 100 actors NO WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!! we counted 7 through out the whole corn field 7!!!

Appropriate For

8

Summary

very upset not at all like thay advertise very disappointed

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by xiamsammyx after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to see, right on the corner of 8th and mitchell, there is a flashing strobe light and a line of barrels outside the door.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the glow in the dark flames on the stairs up are a great visual, but there was very little line so there was not much as far as entertainment aside from one roaming zombie.

Most Unique

scares from start to finnish, non stop fun

Actors' Performance

All of the actors were absolutely top notch. The guy with the spiked shoulder pads was especially good.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This one is definatly worth checking out.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by vegasbound365 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We live in West Allis, and the haunt is located in Hartford -- it took about 30 minutes to get there. It was pretty easy to find using the directions from the website as well as some signage that is located near the haunt. There was a hard time finding parking and we had to park way in back of the lot -- there is a recreation center next to the haunt and they also share the parking lot so plan accordingly and be prepared to do a bit of walking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line? WHAT line? We were the second in line. You wait until your number is called, and we were second in the door. Our wait was less than 10 minutes since there were not many people that visited that evening. Even though there was no line, the operators of the haunt still ensured that a -- scare actor -- came in to amuse the guests. The costuming was very good; it was an undead guy wrapped in bandages. VERY well done.

Most Unique

The BEST part of this haunted house is the detail -- the haunt really took time to create props and scenes that are very detailed -- and gory at times. They also had some scenes that I have never seen before, meaning they seem to change from year to year. Some scenes were creative. (How did they get that school bus in there?)

Actors' Performance

Performance was somewhat expected.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

My favorite part of the haunt was the size of the haunt -- there were 13 rooms, but my least favorite was the lack of variety in the -- scare actors -- within the haunt. There were too many cloak wearing actors with either face paint or a mask that you can pick up at Walgreens. But with the amount of work that went into the scenes, this was easily over looked. Some of the -- scare actors -- followed you for awhile while staying in character.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 3-clown haunt, meaning there were 3 clowns present.

Additionally, this haunt is not handicap/wheelchair access friendly because there are some tight turns and an area where you have to bend down and almost squeeze through.

All in all, Terror on Rural Street is a yearly favorite of mine that never fails to entertain. From the detail, to the size of the haunt, Terror takes the time in the off-season to prepare a haunt that many will enjoy -- and it shows.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bunnehop after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very visible easy to locate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Variety of food and beverages.

Most Unique

Located in the woods. Fire lite paths. They had a bridge you cross over water.

Actors' Performance

Well played, stayed in charachter. Good costumes and makeup. Great jumpouts and positioning.

Appropriate For

12 and up.

Summary

A variety of different scenes, awesome event for the price paid.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by ange after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If ur not familiar with GB, u will need directions as there is only one sign right outside the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Covered waiting for the train, and a cool walk thru the woods to the house. The facade is always cool and the music was very loud. Good job getting us in the mood.

Most Unique

As always, the train is unique, and i love the caves. I also liked the room u have to go thru the closet full of clothes.

Actors' Performance

Although i think their costumes/makeup could be scarier, they never broke character and the scares were timed well.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

It was fun. The rooms and props are the best-u can tell they put alot of $ into it. I didn't like the fact that a few of the actors were trying to rush along, as there is alot to see. I was also very disappointed they took the Vortex out of the house and charge an extra $3 to go thru it. I think it works much better when ur already disoriented from walking thru the house.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by chaddoughty after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

good directions, led me striaght to event. well lit and signs very easily seen from ways away

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

when we arrived not much of a line, but keep in mind we arrived early in the evening. they a few actors walking outside tha interacted with us very well, stayed in charactor and set the tone for what was to come.

Most Unique

i feel the most unique was the dining room, very detailed and very realalistic.

Actors' Performance

actors interacted very well styaed true to what they were, i like how they had everyone remeber my sons name and in evry room they pointed him out and whispered thier names, made them feel like the house was truly haunted. i had a six year old son with me (kinda young but he likes going) thay shyed away from him which i liked so he was not to scared so i commend them on their heads up on that. overall great job by all

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

this was my first time to this haunt and was overall pleased and surprised at the house for a small group to put on. i feel a little pricy for the kids and for the time to get through was a little short for the price. i would reccomend going for the entertainment.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by April after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to get to - right off the freeway, I pulled up MapQuest

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Covered waiting area outside, some of the actors come out and scare you while you're waiting.

Most Unique

Make up the night we went was applied by the makeup artist that worked on the Titanic skeltons, etc. Very realistic.

Actors' Performance

Absolutely wonderful! They really played up their parts and did a fantastic job!

Appropriate For

13 & Up

Summary

This is a great scare! I try to hit as many as I can during Halloween and I don't scare easy. This was very entertaining & really scared the group I was with. If you get too scared inside they do allow you to "quit" and will take you out.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by loverofscare after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Had no troubles with signage. Marked clearly on cross roads.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice and large in a gym. Food and snacks available and pretty reasonable too. Kids enjoyed the video games and atmoshpere.

Most Unique

Do I really tell you what is in the haunted house? That would give it away. Effects and graphics including very high technology involved. Pretty cool!

Actors' Performance

Actors we very good at scaring the pants off my son. And even the wife was clinging to the walls.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Had alot of fun and will attend again with others.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by capsized after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great visibility. Though I've been coming here fore years now, so I know what's up.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I think the wait in line is half the experience! The music is great and is in sync with the lighting, and really gets you pumped. They always have actors roaming the lines, or running around. Just have someone keep an eye on the port-a-potty you're in if you've got to use it ;)

Most Unique

You might just get a horrifying makeover if you're lucky enough.

Actors' Performance

Usually, I think the Burial Chamber is the better of the two houses. A staff member told me they spent more time and money on the Burial Chamber this year, and next year they'd do the same with Blood City. But Blood City totally blew Burial Chamber out of the water this year. Some of the actors had AMAZING makeup. They had their characters down chillingly well. And quite a few of the scenarios/rooms you find yourself in are humorous combined with the scary. It works out well.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Awesome makeup and costumes. Great haunt. I'm not sure if I'd say this is a scary haunted house though. Go to the Burial Chamber (same complex) if you want that. This one is more humorous...

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by liht after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Location was awesome. It's got a lot of stairs to enter, the lighting is wicked! You can see the banners from down the block!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Oh wow. The creature zombie thing. Amazing! He totally catches you off guard. There's also the lady of the house who is totally not very scarey too look at...IF you don't look long. Her scream will deafen your life!!!

Most Unique

The creativeness of the Kitchen character. Pay attention to her closely! I thought she was going to bite my ear off, with the way she was chomping on her feed.

Actors' Performance

The scarecrow dude was amazing, and I loved the freddy hat!!! The growls were sickening. I wanted to run! The autopsy dude was totally SICK! He was not to be reckoned with. I won't tell you to run through the closet. Walk! It's definately worth it!!!! The kitchen area was off the hook! I totally didn't notice that she was real!!! She just kinda watched and then BAM! right in your face! Light helps you see the horror in her eyes. Realistic as hell, but I still thought it was a dummy! And their DOG Spike. OMG. Did you know he can fly? Stay off the floor just after the kitchen. That dog made me think I was going to get eaten alive! The bedroom dolls are totally gross!! And...they will follow you!!! The chick in the psycho ward was also a great piece. She really makes you think about that one show with the haunted ward!! But don't look up! Whatever you do...DONT LOOK UP! I thought I was going to FAINT!

Appropriate For

Not for Wimpy Kids.

Summary

You TOTALLY have to check this haunted house out. It's got all the gore for the horror and more!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by r77925 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I loved the location! Being near the river made it kind of damp and the train ride very cool. The trees were also creepy. Great location

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The effects outside of the house never dissapoint! This house is always fun, especially when there is a line. The music and actors make the line part of the event.

Most Unique

I was super impressed with the actors outside the house. It is very rare that waiting in line is one of the highlights.

Actors' Performance

I thought the actors outside the house were amazingly creepy and really got everyone psyched for the tour. The actors inside were great 2. Everyone stayed in character and I did scream a few times!

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

I am planning to go back to this one again and hope to have more time to look at the details in the house. I was too scared the first time around to catch all the details, but the ones I did notice blew my mind. This is always my favorite house and is changed up every year!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 10:47 p.m. CDT 1.6.3