ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by lc after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to get to.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting area had two people walking around trying to annoy you. The Nurse person was good and tryed to make people jump. There was no music and no tv or movie clips.

Most Unique

The Chainsaw person had a fake chainsaw, it was some kind of plastic toy.

Actors' Performance

Some of the actors had awsome makeup but did not know how to scare people.

Appropriate For

Children not adult

Summary

The haunt was too short for the money you spent. Was never scared. All I can say is a haunt in a warehouse (or in this case a big metal barn) is not scary.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by laughinglady2980 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

directions were easy enough to follow, although there could have been a little more signage

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait area was good. they have people wandering around and interacting with the waiters. Plus they have good music and a dancer!

Most Unique

they have this really cool room with this spinning barrel and it is painted with neon colors and there is black ligth and you have to walk through it on this platform and you feel like you are moving and are gonna get dumped off the path. Plus there's a haunted train ride!!

Actors' Performance

The actors did very well. They stayed in character and tried scaring/intimidating us as much as possible

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

the site was very interesting this year. They added a lot, if you have been in past years, it is much different this time around. there are a couple of special surprises that you will have to wait and see when you go there.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by pud27 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were not any signs along the way, but the directions on their website bring you right to the complex. It is located about 2 ½ blocks off of Highway 41, so it is very easy to find. The complex itself is huge, and there is a big painting on the side that says Burial Chamber, so you cannot miss it. The location itself is great, as on the opposite side of the road behind the trees is Little Lake Butte Des Morts. The aura that the location amongst the rest of the buildings lends a little to the overall feeling of excitement as you come up to the place. There was plenty of parking space next to the building as well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is just a place to stand in line outside. There was a short wait for Burial Chamber, even though we arrived within a half hour of opening. We waited about twenty minutes, but it really did not feel that long. There were actors walking around scaring people and talking to them, scaring people with chain saws and just randomly walking up to people. There is also a concession stand as is a normalcy at haunted houses nowadays.

Most Unique

The most unique thing in this house was the use of shaking floors and walls. It really surprises you when your walking normal and the next thing you know you are almost falling over. It was something that I have never experienced in a haunted house.

Actors' Performance

While most houses group people up in six or so, we were allowed to go through just the three of us even though there was another group of three behind us. The acting inside the house was great. The costumes and makeup were incredible, as was the timing. The actors made sure that everyone got in on the scares. They improvised very well, and wouldn't give up if they couldn't scare you or if they kept scaring you. I can't think of any complaints about the acting in this house whatsoever.

Appropriate For

I personally would not bring anyone under 13 into this house. There is a sign out front that says PG-13, but there is a fair amount of gore as well as a lot of surprises.

Summary

This house is definitely worth the money. It is one of my two favorite haunted houses now; Blood City is the other one (this was my first time at both of these, but it won't be my last). If you have the time and desire for both, I definitely recommend it. As I mentioned, the wait was a little longer than I expected for being a Sunday night shortly after opening, but it is the longest house I have ever been through. It took us 21 minutes to get through the entire thing. The best part is there were very little dark mazes and hallways, and a lot more scenes, rooms and scares compared to most houses. There was a good use of air props as well, and the amount of actors was great. They did a very good job of using a few actors to cover a lot of spots and had the right spacing to accommodate that. Blood City scared me more, only because I lead through that one and was last in this one. In my opinion this is one of the best haunts in Northeast Wisconsin.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by pud27 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were not any signs along the way, but the directions on their website bring you right to the complex. It is located about 2 ½ blocks off of Highway 41, so it is very easy to find. The complex itself is huge, and there is a big painting on the side that says Burial Chamber, so you cannot miss it. The location itself is great, as on the opposite side of the road behind the trees is Little Lake Butte Des Morts. The aura that the location amongst the rest of the buildings lends a little to the overall feeling of excitement as you come up to the place. There was plenty of parking space next to the building as well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is just a place to stand in line outside. There was no line for this when we got there, and as soon as the front gate person finished giving us the rules, we were allowed to enter. Since we entered as quickly as we did we did not see any entertainment. While we were in line for Burial Chamber there were actors walking around scaring people and talking to them, so I can only guess that they would if there was a line for Blood City as well. There is also a concession stand as is a normalcy at haunted houses nowadays.

Most Unique

I think the most unique part of this house was the setup itself. A lot of houses follow a theme throughout the entire house, but I have never seen one like this before.. The theme that this house follows is one of a city taken over by oddballs and mentally insane people. It is awesome when you walk through doors labeled Post Office and see a post office completely torn apart. It was very cool throughout the whole house. Some parts were very scary while others were completely hilarious, especially Stuart the hairstylist.

Actors' Performance

The acting was incredible throughout the whole house. The makeup and costumes fit the characters the actors were playing, and they looked awesome as well. Everyone was cued perfectly and knew what they were supposed to do when. They didn't waste all of their scares on the first person, and they stayed in character regardless of what happened. The actors improvised very well with the interaction the wanted from us. For example, one character wanted us to have a drink at his bar, and I said we weren't old enough. He quickly responded, "It doesn't matter, we don't ID here". It was hilarious, slightly scary, and really impressive. There is no complaint I could make about the actors performance whatsoever. They played their parts very well.

Appropriate For

I would say that this house is appropriate for 13+. I think any younger than that might be too scared as some of the people and scenes are quite scary.

Summary

This house was one of the two best I have ever been to. The other is its companion, Burial Chamber. I inquired this morning (October 16th) as to which house has more people go through it, and I was told Burial Chamber sees about 20% more people each year because it is more established. It is too bad more people don't go through Blood City, as it the better of the two. We arrived and there was a wait for Burial Chamber but none for Blood City. If you are only going to attend only one of the two, make it Blood City. It is unlike any other haunted house I have ever been to, and it is well worth the money. It only took us about 13 minutes to go through the entire thing, but with no wait and the intensity of the actors inside it was well worth it. One suggestion, if you arrive and there is no one in line and it looks closed because of that, it's not. This house scared me more than Burial Chamber for the simple fact that I was first in line in this one. Overall this was a great house with a great theme and the perfect amount of scares.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by bob after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

lots of games and food to enjoy

Most Unique

I loved the fact that they actually make a theme of the house. SAW the movie. And the fact it is an old house. It was really scary going to the basement first.

Actors' Performance

It is a refreshing house to go to and have real actors. Much better than a walk through. They did a great job.

Appropriate For

12

Summary

I loved the maze downstairs. And I loved the earthquake room! Really a unique place to see!!!!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by stellablue713 after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great very good lights everywhere strobe lights etc

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Very long did not open on time had to stand out in the cold and now have a cold !!!

Most Unique

3D part was the best with the vortex

Actors' Performance

Good overall pretty good scare factor

Appropriate For

12 up

Summary

Very poor how they ran the waiting line other then that the haunted house was good and made up for that

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by stellablue713 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Ok Sign was a little hard to see

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good

Most Unique

Santa claus .... most of been the cookies i left out thats all i am gonna say about this scare :)

Actors' Performance

Very scary... I liked the alien area and the puppet part also the cage area but i wont give all the secrets out this is one awesome haunted house from all the twists of darkness and tight walls that close you in and the slide this is worth the scares!! I highly recommend to anyone splatter haus!!!

Appropriate For

13 up

Summary

Highly recommended go to this haunted house One of the best !!! Worth every penny!~

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by stellablue713 after attending on Monday, October 2, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good

Most Unique

I would say stuart's salon I liked it even though he did mess up my hair lol i found it very funny!!!

Actors' Performance

Good had a nice scare also enjoyed the different skits.

Appropriate For

13 up

Summary

I have gone the last two years and have found this a very fun haunt i like to go and its worth the drive every time !

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by digupherbones after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I wasn't from the area, so it took me a while to find it. it's out in the middle of nowhere! i suggest going to mapquest for directions instead of using the ones on the site.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait in line was about 30 minutes i think. it wasn't bad at all. the music playing and the lighting was spooky and got me pumped. the "green guy" scared me when i was waiting in line.

Most Unique

the bridge at the very end. it was really well built and the "suprise" at the end was great too.

Actors' Performance

very well done. i enjoyed all of the actors' performances except this one girl who tried to seperate my group, she was kind of rude.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

this was the first haunted house i've been to that i enjoyed. i definetly got my moneys worth and had plenty of good screams. the structure is amazing for being in a barn. i was indeed pleased.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by steve54961 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

LOTS OF SIGNS -if you can,t find it there is a problem

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good

Most Unique

THE BARKING DOGS

Actors' Performance

Good

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

This one has Lots of good Stuff seems to get better every year

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by joewodushek after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

no problem seeing signs once on Hubertus road

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

great food, good prices. Kids liked games, girls scared by actors walking around

Most Unique

kindda like an amusment park and haunted house in one. Lots of automated effects.

Actors' Performance

good, not over done. Good theme thru whole house

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

The fact that many rooms were like mecanical was cool, moving floors, walls etc. Very well done

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by KurtJones after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Fair grounds are very easy to find, There could be a few more signes for people who dont know where there going.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area is very nice there was a clown scaring the poop out of people when i went.

Most Unique

ALL OF IT, the rooms were very detailed but a little dark at times, fog was well placed and not to heavy.

Actors' Performance

EXCELLENT, These actors must have been trained because they were scary as #$%[email protected]! Makeup was unreal, i was in a group that hated clowns and the clown room FREAKED them out!

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

GRRRREAT this is one event that you CANNOT miss, I havent been to Morgan Manor yet but i hear that it is even better than The House OF Darkness, so i am going to go check it out with my friends this weekend!! GREAT JOB Nightmares4u !!!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by mikeg after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, since we've been going so long.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Decent sized waiting area with standard food and drink. An occassional monster walking the area helps to add to the atmosphere.

Most Unique

Watch out for the chess game. It was a funny yet scary twist. Our whole group loved it. The clown bus was also a nice scare.

Actors' Performance

For the most part the actors were into it and did a really nice job. I think they were excited to be back and it showed.

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

I was very impressed with what this group accomplished in a short period of time. You could tell that the haunt was not perfect as the mazes were pretty lit up and boring, but every room was high quality. I can't wait until next year when they get a bit more time to get ready for the season.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by mikeg after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find. You can't miss all the signs and the house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The gym is decent size and offers snacks and drinks for the wait. There are also a couple local establishments to patronize within a minutes walk for those 21 and over.

Most Unique

Near the end walking in the dark hall, the floor felt like you were walking on little exploding pellets. Quite the interesting effect.

Actors' Performance

Aside from the first character, the other monsters didn't seem to be very excited to be there. Maybe it was too early in the evening

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I've been attending this haunt for over 20 years and I would have to say I was a bit disappointed. Maybe it's because they've always been so good, but this year the characters weren't into it, the rooms just weren't so scary, and the effects quality wasn't there. It was also frustrating to arrive fairly early, have 90 tickets ahead of us and have to wait over 75 minutes to get in. I don't know if there was a problem in the house, but each group of 8 customers waited about 10 minutes before heading in.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by crazedvamp after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 1:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very good

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

awesome

Most Unique

soo many diff monsters

Actors' Performance

they all was very scary i give them alot of credit for all the hard work they have done will go back next year

Appropriate For

12 and up

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 22nd, 2019 4:43 a.m. CST 11.0