2006 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Courtney after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew exactly where we were going so it was easy for us to find and there were little signs along the way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We rilly didnt have to wait to get our tickets and go in line, i think for both it took like 10 minutes, we got there at the right time. There was a little food stand out by the ticket line where u could get stuff.

Most Unique

Putting us in the horse pens to wait. That was a rilly cool idea. I think all of the haunt was pretty unique. But i would have to say the "nursery" was one of the weirdest and scariest.

Actors' Performance

The actors were rilly good. I was rilly impressed. I screamed almost through the whole thing. Maybe thats y all of them seemed to go after me and my friend. But anyways, they were rilly good, very impressive and believable. The only mix up they had was at the beginning when one of the actors couldn't close our gate on the horse pen but they made it out to be scary.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This was a great haunt and worth every dollar. Me and my friend didn't even no if we were going to make it through the whole thing without losing our voice. It was great.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dirkadirka after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Should be easy to find. We got lost, but it was our fault. Its in the fairgrounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited indoors. The line was probably 100 people deep, but we only waited 25 minutes. It was pretty dark, and there were no actors, but it was late. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to wait in the horse pens, but the house made up for that.

Most Unique

The time and money that went into the rooms is obvious. Great detail. There are some very memorable rooms. We kept running into the group in front of us, but they were slowing down to take it all in.

Actors' Performance

They did an unbelievable job. The timing was great, and many of them had things to say or unique ways to scare. No two scares were the same. The costumes were spectacular as well. They had great makeup and hand made suits and contact lenses as opposed to masks.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Just seeing the fact that there are two pages of positive reviews on this haunt should be a good indication.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by dirkadirka after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find. Directions on the internet. $5 to park? weak.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

If you don't spend the $20 for the VIP pass, don't even bother going. We waited 2 and a half hours to get in! When the wait is that bad, its hard to stay objective. There was a DJ in the tent we waited in who was way too loud, and 3 or 4 characters who kept the line entertained including a guy with a real chainsaw. They sell beer for $5. It felt like we were at the mall.

Most Unique

The body bag room was good, as was the room with the two characters blending into the walls. The cage maze was ok. The vortex is really disorienting and the highlight of the house.

Actors' Performance

Ok. Pretty repetitious. 3D glasses and artwork make it unique, but none of the actors themselves stood out or made any unique noises. Mostly just a mask or something bought in the mall, no spectacular rooms or outfits. In the house there was a fake plastic chainsaw with a speaker on it.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

We were all very upset after we left this house. If I knew that we could pay $5 more and wait 5 min. versus 2 and a half hours I obviously would have. The line wasn't more than 150 people, but they were letting in people SO SLOW! That was just ridiculous and unacceptable for any haunted house. Once we did get in the house. The actors broke character 3 times and told us to wait. If that wasn't enough, characters told me repeatedly to hurry up (because I was last) even though it seemed quite obvious I couldn't go anywhere.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by x-kizzez-dont-lie-x after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about noon

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

When waiting in line to purchase tickets there wasn't entertainment but once you bought your ticket and went to wait for the train there was music and a video of Terror on the Fox.

Most Unique

The whole experience was unique but the train was cool!

Actors' Performance

Awesome and amazing. Very realistic!

Appropriate For

13 & up

Summary

This was the best Haunted experience that we have ever had. We will definately recommend this to our friends and we will be back!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Your Worst Nightmare

by lordanthony after attending on Tuesday, October 24, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

sign and torches at the driveway entrance

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

yes, graveyard dancers, it was unique and entertaining.

Most Unique

much creativity went into this event as all the rooms were unique.

Actors' Performance

Actors were in character and were convincing, there definitely was an eerie and ominous feeling walking through this haunt

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

the maze was disorientating, and kept us guessing which way to go.

View all Your Worst Nightmare reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Your Worst Nightmare

by laxman7606 after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Poor signage and visibility. Hard to find. Drive past it a couple of times before we found it. The driveway is located just north, 1/2 block, of Bain Station Road on Green Bay Road. Look for lighted Vulcan sign, pull in driveway and a quick left on gravel drive. Lined with patio torches.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There is no indoor waiting. We waited about 20 minutes before we entered. There is an outdoor graveyard with dancers that perform about every 10 minutes. The dancers then haunt the line between routines. Fun to watch

Most Unique

The setting. Old warehouse type building adds to the atmosphere and next to railroad tracks for added bonus.

Actors' Performance

The house was filled with performers most were very good.

Appropriate For

12 and older

Summary

The hauted house has twelve rooms. I like the tunnel. Have seen it before but the actors at start and end of tunnel were good... The maze was also good.

View all Your Worst Nightmare reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by tap1987 after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It wasnt hard for me to find because I have been there before. The website directions are easy to follow as well, and if you call, they are on the answering machine.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasnt any entertainment in the waiting area, but the line moved fast anyways. What looked to be an hour wait, only took us about 15-20 minutes to get into the hearse. Make sure to dress warm though, it was chilly and we had some light rain.

Most Unique

The hearse ride, the bridge and the chainsaws. And a few more, but i dont want to ruin it for you!

Actors' Performance

Actors were on cue and stayed in character very well. The definately know how to surprise you!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I have been to a few haunts this year, and the Bear Den was by FAR the best. I have gone to this one for the past 4 years in a row, and this was the best year they had! There is only one weekend left....GO!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tap1987 after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find, being located at the Waukesha fair grounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line was extremely long, and we ended up having to wait outside (in the rain) for about 20 minutes. There was no entertainment while we were waiting.

Most Unique

I liked the skeleton room. You could tell they had a lot of work into it.

Actors' Performance

Poor. I was hit on numerous times by the same guy. A girl was yelling "Can I suck on your toes" which is neither scary nor funny. Just plain out stupid. Another one went up and kept touching a group member, and when we told him to stop he poked him more times in the arm. For the most part, the actors just got RIGHT up in your face...which i did not find scary whatsoever.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

I have heard a lot of people talking about how great Morgan Manor is, but I left feeling disgusted. I did not get scared once. We were left with the feeling of "thats it?". The quality of the haunt was there, you could tell a lot of time and money went into the structure and decor of the haunt...but the actors were terrible. Maybe next year they can pay more attention to the actors, and making sure they know what they are doing!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by Abby82 after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 5:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's pretty easy to find. They do have a big sign once you get closer.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much going on while you wait. They do have a small concesion stand, and there was one guy walking around with a mic talking to people.

Most Unique

There is one room that will scare you to death. I wont say any more about it. But it's really good!! And the big slide is always fun!!

Actors' Performance

They all did a really great job. In some rooms you don't know what is real and what it not. They do get you that is for sure.

Appropriate For

13 & Up

Summary

This is the second year of Motel Hell. I went last year and I thought it was one of the best haunted houses. This year it was just as good. It's still number 1 in my book of the best haunted houses in Wisconsin. I'll be back next year!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by rob.t after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

great,location

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

long but worth it

Most Unique

the entrance

Actors' Performance

amazing! the green gobblin was so freaky, but so funny! great hair-do's from the salon! so fabulus!!!!

Appropriate For

13

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by checkerdriver after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

large reader boards on both Taylor and Bond streets both very visible

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

actors at both ticket and consession stand as well as in both the regular waiting line and the R.I.P. line and area RIP area great with private porta potty,hot drinks,fire and movie screen as well as sovenir bag actors moving about in wait lines and RIP are were intense

Most Unique

3d effect is astounding and very outrageous

Actors' Performance

surprises were abundant actors did a good job of staying in character and were great at ad-libbing to interact with patrons

Appropriate For

11 and up

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by greenbaylover after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find. Should probable use your own mapquest to get directions. Once there it was a little hard to find the entrance unless you asked someone but that could be because we came early and there was no one in line.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

outside the train was boring but the wait was only like 5 minutes. Outside the house was alright. The music was way to loud. I think it would be better with more scary softer music. The whole outside of the home was dumb

Most Unique

The cave was great. There were several neat effects in there. I liked the different rooms nice touch

Actors' Performance

Actors insde the home played their part very well. Often they would interact with us. They didnt just jump out at us but made it like they really wanted us to be there to get eaten.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Wouldnt pay $12 to go to it no matter how much fun I did have. Its not a total waste of money but its not worth $12

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Mercsadies after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Upon exiting the Burial Chamber, we went over to Blood City. We weren't sure what was going to be so different about this one, seeing as how it's in a conjoined building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Actors did not seem to be as interested in pursuing people in this line. Wait time seemed to be shorter for this event. I did not like the fact the attendant at the front of the line, put us with another group. At the Burial Chamber, she had asked if we would like to join in to make the group larger, but we declined and she let us go in alone. I prefer this method. I do not like being stuck with people I don't know. Especially since I was with my nephew. Granted he is 14, but there is no controlling the mouths of other people you get stuck with.

Most Unique

This house was more creepy, sexual-content and carnival-like fun. The salon is definately the most unique experience. Although the dancing area is an extremely close second. Go Stuart!

Actors' Performance

Excellent. These actors liked what they were doing and had fun doing it. They were interactive with our group. Blood City actors took the time (inside the house!) to make sure that if you were moving along too quickly, that you didn't run into another group ahead of you. They actually held us back so that we wouldn't miss anything or walk in on the end of stunts.

Appropriate For

16+

Summary

I was quite impressed with this event. My nephew could not stop talking about it all the way home. He even suggested we go again!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Mercsadies after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We printed out directions from their site and had no problem finding the place. Parking lot was a bit conjested when we arrived - and a lot conjested when we were leaving.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The actors making their rounds of the lines did a good job picking out their targets. Mostly shrill teenage girls could be heard ... but every now and then a mumble from a guy going, get away from me! Music could have been more "scary" and less hard rock.

Most Unique

My favorite part was the maze when you keep returning to the same room. I've seen this done elsewhere and I always love it. It could have more difficult to solve though.

Actors' Performance

Inside the house actors were very interactive. We especially liked that they split us up and made you keep going. I preferred that the actors spoke and dialogue as opposed to the monotonous scream and just being loud in your face.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

After exiting the house, a guy was taking a survey. I hope this place becomes an attraction for the summer as well!!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Salem's Plot

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 5:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions I got from the website were actually incorrect. We made it there alright, but the house is actually on the SOUTH side of the street... not the North. There are no signs whatsoever, and we would have passed it had there not been a bunch of cars in the parking lot. Getting there was fun, though, since it's in the middle of nowehere, it's pretty creepy!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

At first we were confused as to where we should go to get the tickets. Once we figured that out, we had to find our way to the house. There were some signs pointing us in the right direction, but it was still a little confusing. You can walk through this tunnel to the house (or take a train ride for an extra cost) and that is pretty neat and creepy since they have lights up and some scary manequins. Then we waited outside this giant barn for about 15-20 minutes to go in. The wait wasn't bad but it was really boring. No one trying to scare us or anything. There was a woman character outside the house, but she wasn't in character. She was supposed to be scary, but she kept smiling very kindly at the guests, so it sort of ruined the effect. No other entertainment.

Most Unique

My favorite room in the whole place was the electrocution room. The actor in that room was just incredible and the effects made it look so real! By far the best actor in the house and the best decorations and everything!

Actors' Performance

To be completely honest, I was only jumped once or twice through the whole haunt. You're led through the whole thing by a "haunt guide" who tells you the story of the people who originally lived at Salem's Plot, but they can sometimes be difficult to hear. Although I must admit, our guide certainly remembered all of her lines perfectly and also stayed in character very well, save for the fact that she was yelling a story at us the entire time. When you first enter, you have to sign in and they show you a "real skeleton." The person behind the booth begins telling you the story and that room and the effects used are pretty cool. Then you meet your guide. The majority of the scenes in the house don't actually have any actors. They're all mechanical and there isn't a whole lot in any of them that actually scare anyone. In my group of five people, I'd say the majority of us never jumped. To be fair, however, the actors that were present did do a great job. They all stayed in character. The only ones who actually scared me were the ones in the electrocution room and the ones with the chainsaws.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Overall, I think the theme of the haunt is great. They tell you the story and give you a guide to walk through with. It just was not as put together or executed as well as it could have been in my opinion.

There is one scene where a car drives toward you and the lights go on and the horn blares. It's meant to scare you, but the only thing it did to me was cause temporary deafness. The horns were so loud, it really hurt my ears! =(

Like I said the two best rooms were with the electrocution and the one with the chainsaws. Those were very well put together and executed perfectly.

Unfortunately, there were a number of rooms here that just did not work well. There is one where they have plastic rats eating what is supposed to be the remains of a man's wife. It just looks too fake to be even remotely convincing.

The price was not bad for this haunt considering I think the people that would be most entertained by it would be children. It's only $7.50 for the haunt, and extra for the train or other attractions.

I wouldn't recommend this haunt to anyone who wants a good scare. It would be good for someone ages 10-18.

View all Salem's Plot reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 9:54 p.m. CDT 1.6.3