ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Haunted House: A Night to Dismember

by chaddoughty after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

signs were ok if you knew where you wrer going but given that it was at high school should be easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait at all bought tickets went in

Most Unique

not sure ther was any thing unique per say but given that it was all high school kids they did good job

Actors' Performance

very well done i thought being teenagers they would be cocky and arrogant butthey were not they all dii very well. they stuck to charactor and alll are commended

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

very well done and was truly good time

View all Haunted House: A Night to Dismember reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hidden Valley & FFA Haunted Barn

by tripletranch after attending on Sunday, October 29, 2006 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Sign was lit and the directions were good, no problem finding it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no area for waiting, you lined up at the entrance and the allowed groups in a two minute intervals.

Most Unique

I loved the vortex tunnel. It makes you feel like you are spinning and you have a hard time walking through it. VERY COOL !

Actors' Performance

Not bad, I wasn't scared but my wife was startled a few times. She said the clown was annoying, he kept following us and was right up in her face. I think he did a good job of keeping things moving.

Appropriate For

pg 13

Summary

Not real long but it was put together nicely. fluorescent " dot " room was cool. We may go again, it was fun.

View all Hidden Valley & FFA Haunted Barn reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Trail Of Terror

by pud27 after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The haunt is located just off of Highway 41, so it is easy to get close to. Unfortunately there is another haunted trail in the woods that is in the opposite direction on the same road, so the two haunt signs get confusing, especially since the other haunts sign was easier to read and see. The location of the haunt is great. You are out on a farm in the middle of nowhere, and the whole woods thing at night is always kind of creepy. It was a little hard to find, because it is deep in a gully and you don't see it until you are right on it. They could use a bigger sign in front telling you that you are there, especially pointing to parking. A lighted sign or even just a bigger sign would have been nice.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was nice. It was in a stable so you could be out of the weather if you wanted to be. There was no entertainment that I saw, but we did not have much of a wait either. For being in a stable they did a nice job of setting it up to make you feel both welcome and slightly scared.

Most Unique

The most unique part of the trail was towards the middle of the haunt. You are told to sit down on a bench made of hay bales. The guide then knocks on a door to get the Old Hag who then proceeds to tell you a story. She was awesome! She knew her lines, was bale to improvise enough to get the right people into it. She really knew her part and did a great job in a truly unique performance. The whole trail offered various stops at scenes in which the actors interacted with the people going through the trail.

Actors' Performance

They were very good all throughout. The hag was great, as I mentioned, but everyone else did a very good job of interacting and staying in character as well. The use of non-seen actors was very good as well. There were numerous times that things came out of nowhere at you. Overall they seemed very experiences.

Appropriate For

I think anyone ten and up would enjoy this haunt

Summary

This was one of the most fun haunts we attended all year. While it was not the scariest of them all, it was a good way to spend 25 minutes of our night. They are only in their fourth year, but their quality says otherwise. I would have easily believed they were in business longer. Proceeds go to a great cause, and the price is definitely right. They could have charged more than seven dollars and I would have felt I got my moneys worth. I appreciate their modesty in their site listing, saying they are a medium scare. There were parts that made me jump, and anyone who scares slightly easily will be on edge throughout. Overall, it was a great haunt that I believe will only become greater over time. I would definitely consider making this a yearly haunt, even for the 45 minute drive.

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by pud27 after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions are very easy, as it is located on a major highway. I did not notice any signs until coming up on the place itself. A sign pointing the direction would have been nice. The place is very visible on highway 47, as it is all by itself with a big spotlight on it. The location was just outside of the city, but the building itself was kind of creepy. I think there was an open diner attached, but it all looked like it was rundown and unused for many years. The building works well into the believability of it being a haunted attraction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a small wait area inside, but if it were busy it would definitely wrap outside the building. We were there shortly after they opened and there was about a two-minute wait, so I don't know if there was entertainment. I do know they were playing Wishmaster on the TV.

Most Unique

There were a couple of unique features to this house. I really liked the indoor corn maze. It was well done and the use of hay bales to make the pathway was pretty cool. The clowns were pretty unique as well. I know clowns are pretty much a given at all haunts, I have never seen a haunt that has Clown Room written right on the door. It was kind of funny, and it did not take away from the room.

Actors' Performance

The actors performance varied throughout the haunt. Some of the actors were very good and stayed with you if they did not scare you. Unfortunately there were a few who gave up after one yell. One girl even laughed out loud after she attempted unsuccessfully to scare us. For the most part, they tried. You could tell they were having fun, and somewhat inexperienced.

Appropriate For

I think it could be a good haunt for kids 9 or 10 years old. It would probably be a good first haunt for someone looking to take his or her younger kids to.

Summary

I really want to like this haunt. It is obvious they put a lot of time and effort into it. While inexperienced, the actors could be great with just a little bit more confidence. While the event listing says they are not wheel chair accessible, it appeared to me that you could get one through. They have a lot of room and the walkways are very wide. I think they could expand and add a few more scenes by simply narrowing the walkways a little bit. The scenes were decent, but they rely more on actors to do the scares. Unfortunately on this night the actors were not on the top of their game. According to an archive review from last year, it took 20 minutes to walk through. It only took ten minutes for us to get through this year, and we walk slowly through houses because I like to be able to take in the scenes. This is a disappointing slide from last year. Overall, this haunt has a lot of potential. I do not know how long they have been in operation, but last year was the first time I saw them listed on Haunted Wisconsin. If they can expand a little and make use of all the room they have available, it could be a great haunt. For $10, it is a little overpriced, but the money does go to charity.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by mcnamkj after attending on Wednesday, October 25, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Was easy to find once we got on the correct road. We are from out of town and I am sure locals will find it with ease.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait Area was fine. The hotel lobby was quaint.

Most Unique

The lobby and the intro story.

Actors' Performance

The intro was nice.... however, we assumed the actors could not touch us... NOT TRUE! Well at least they touched us. I had my leg grabbed as well as getting hit in the face with some sort of a whip. Those who visit St. Valentine will know what I am talking about. Accidental of course but very preventable while keeping the scare factor intact. No apology ever issued and the actor most certainly knew what had happened as she for a moment "came out of charecter." My girlfriend also left with a small bruise from an over zealous chain saw operator. Not so cool... I think the "very high" scare factor is a bit too generous. Compared to modern hauted houses it was better than most.

Appropriate For

13... nobody if the contact is the norm.

Summary

Let visitors know if the actors will be touching you.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by metalhed9 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is easy to find, off Winchester road, east, then a right at the 'T' intersection, and you can't miss the two huge warehouses, all decked out with custom signage for the ticket area, not to mention the big logo / Burial Chamber on the side of the warehouse.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I happened to go for the VIP treatment, so my wait was 'zero'. Plenty of freaks wandering around in excellent make-up. Good old Michale Meyers,a Devil guy, a dude with a chainsaw, 'natch - all to good effect, well-played. Nice tasty treats and SWAG available, and the VIP room is cozy with a big screen to watch the teens freak out on their way through.

Most Unique

I'd say the Blood City rooms that were decked out for the stripper room and 'hair salon' room, while not scary, were unique, and you could tell they were having fun. Also, the toilet with the 'plumbing malfunction' was a first-time thing for me.

Actors' Performance

This, I would say, is the strongest point of this complex, in both 'Burial Chamber' and 'Blood City', but more memorable in Blood City, I suppose. (The other strength is the variety of 'scares' which keeps you on your toes). Very creative characters such as these weird alien creatures, the, uh, 'stripper', the hair salon fellows, and your usual 'hallway-lurker-followers' hounding you 'til the end, and actors in 'scene rooms' fitting well into their area. Even as I saw some of the actors talking to each other, what's cool is they would STAY IN CHARACTER. I did not question the obsessive loyalty of these freaks at work.

Appropriate For

15-200

Summary

Burial Chamber makes good use of UTTER DARKNESS. If pressed to compare, I'd say it's 'scarier' because you have no clue what's coming up next.

Blood City has PLENTY of scares, however. I really recommend doing both; it's a value at $20 for the two, especially compared to other, smaller, less inventive haunted houses.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by kiwilime after attending on Monday, October 16, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We live close by and know exactly where it is and the sign is pretty visable.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

wait area is fine, they have games and a DJ and some walking characters (who are more fun rather than scary)

Most Unique

Definitely the elevator and the tunnel!

Actors' Performance

Honsetly, they have pretty bad timing. They jump out right when you expect them to or after you're too far away and some of them just stood there and never tried to scare anyone

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

Overall its more fun then scary....definitely not too scary at all. But the 3D thing is cool and there is some unique stuff.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by kiwilime after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs are small but the driver had directions and I knew the area somewhat.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Normal line nothing special, they did however have the in a good order!! I can't say the same for other haunts I've been to.

Most Unique

I really loved the entrance to the house, and the first couple of rooms with the paintings. I thought all of the rooms were pretty cool though.

Actors' Performance

Hard to say because there were so many people going through at once. But they seemed decent but not as great as people have been saying.

Appropriate For

10

Summary

I was pretty disappointed. After reading all the reviews on here I honestly thought it was going to be great! The stall in the begining is nowhere near as awesome as everyone made it sound. I read that they had actors scaring you inside which didn't happen we were in there with 5 other people just bored for about 5 minutes. Also they send in WAY too many people at once. First of all, we were a group of 5 and they sent in a group of 6 with us, We were cathing up to the group ahead and a group was catching up to the group behind us. At some point I'd say there were almost 20 of us trying to get through at once, which pretty much ruins it. Other than that, it was decent. It is worth the money and the wait, the props/designs are awesome and you can certainly tell they put a lot of time and money into it. I am still however a bit disppointed. People hype it up too much.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Courtney after attending on Friday, October 27, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I knew where it was so it was easy to find. There weren't any signs leading to it but when you got to Terror on Rural Street there was a large sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Me and my friends enjoyed the wait. There were creatures that would run after you after you got your ticket and then there were some in the place where you sat to wait. Some would talk to you, others would just sit and stare at you for like 5 minutes straight, kinda worried but it was fun.

Most Unique

The checkerboard was quite interesting so was the bus thing(kinda odd but in a good way)The scene with the butcher was quite interesting too.

Actors' Performance

The actors were pretty good. There were some really good ones and there were some not so good ones. Overall they were good.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

It was pretty good,it was scary most of the time except for when we had to stop because we were catching up to the next group, they coulda handled that a little better. But other than that, it was good.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by feliciad_06 after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We got lost and had to ask for directions at a gas station, but I am really bad with directions so it was probably our fault we got lost. It wasn't that hard to get to once we figured it out.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wair area wasn't very entertaining. It didn't seem like it took that long to get in because the line was moving pretty fast. Being locked up in the little holding pens was kind of boring because nothing happened. I think they quit scaring people in the cages shortly before we got in there because all of the sudden we just stopped hearing screams coming from there.

Most Unique

The most unique thing was probably the decorations along the walls. Especially the one with all the skeletons and stuff. I found myself admiring many of the decorations.

Actors' Performance

They asked alot of weird questions. One of the girls basically kissed me, her face was touching my face the whole time and she wouldn't get out of my face and kept asking "wanna play"? I didn't really find any of them very scary because they all asked weird questions that made me be like "what???". But there was also two guys in front of us that gave away everything that was coming up and the actors didn't really try to scare us.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Overall, I was scared only once. This is because I went and saw texas chainsaw massacre a few weeks ago and I heard a chainsaw and ran for my life. Other than that, I didn't find it all that entertaining. The actors didn't really seem to be trying to scare us though, we just sort of walked by most of them and said "hey". I wasn't all that impressed. I scare very very easily too and for me not to get scared says something.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by augdog15 after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Comming from manitowoc we got lost big time! We were on the other side of GB because mapquest doesn't work. This place is located 2 miles northwest of the airport so keep that in mind but it paid off let me tell u!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Because they understood how long it took us and the mix up in directions the two ladys at the gate gave us immeadiate entrance on the spot. THANKS AGAIN!

Most Unique

The slide at the end very fun! Also huge bonfire for waiting!!!!!

Actors' Performance

Awsome, some were just in spots you wouldn't believe!

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

This placed rocked....and i would recomend it for 9 crux!!!!!

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by billy after attending on Sunday, October 29, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was good, however County Road O was closed and all street signs were down. We just followed the road until we saw the glacier rock farms sign and from there it was easily found. Hoard Road itself is spooky in a rural deserted kind of way, threre is a wooden bridge on the road which you cross that adds a nice 'deserted old farm' touch.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was heated with food/drink. There were also kittens and puppies running around which keeps you busy if you like cats or dogs.

Most Unique

The most unique thing about the trip was the haunted coal mine at the begining. I do not recomend it for closter phobic people however, as there are tight dark spaces with seemingly no where to go. If you are closter phobic, you can easily walk around the mine if you ask the instrucor.

Actors' Performance

The actors performance was average - below average, but since we were there on the last night and the last ride, I can understand if they're worn out and tired.

Appropriate For

Hayride & Cornmaze: Yes; Haunted Coal Mine: 10+

Summary

The Glacider Rock Farms trip was fun, however I would recomend going eariler in the season next year.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by postal1969 after attending on Sunday, October 29, 2006 at about 1:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Directions to place were very good from site,but if you are going to have a major road closed needs to be known. That being said sign was well lit to let you know where it was.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice big area with snacks , soda and hot cocoa how can yougo wrong. Many outside port a pottys is a plus and the cats and dogs roaming around help entertain kids. They had heaters, but not sure if they were on.

Most Unique

The mine shaft was well done, and seems to get better every year. The lady by the fire where you start walking to finish was great. Her energy alone made it fun.I loved the accent and the wait for screams all probably the best part.

Actors' Performance

Actors were good. I will always say they could have been better, cause I want to be scared and they did their best. They tried very hard. One thing is they broke chracter too much. That is my biggest pet peeve, but that is just me.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

This place has changed in the last 3 years all for the better. I hope they continue to do so in the future. The mine has improved so much, the hayride itself has changed not for the good but is still fun, and the walking trail at the end is great. Kepp it going!!!!!!!!!!!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by frightfulgb after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good sign on Hwy 57. Small sign on K for turn, which could be larger due to the darkness of the night. Good sign for turning onto lane. Curvy K makes it spooky.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great wait area. Lots of spooks and music. Had smoke. Had fire pit to keep you warm if needed. Great house design.

Most Unique

Many rooms with scenes. The opening scene, The dinner table, and end scene were great.

Actors' Performance

Great performance. Actors did an excellent job. Many of them. Most I have seen at any house. Scare factor was high.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Great house! Excellent. It was their first year and they did an outstanding job! Our 40 min ride there was worth it. They could draw more from Green Bay area/lower Kewaunee County area. It is really worth the ride.

Heard screams from the parking lot! And throughout the evening. Non-stop excitment!
The haunted wagon ride was awesome. Many spooks. Really scarey. Same goes for walk to the mansion.

The mansion was very spooky. Many ghouls around. Most I have seen at a house. Every ghoul was in it's form. So many scene rooms.
They did an excellent job. Many smiles coming fromt he exit. Left an impression. This is a must see house. Hope they do it next year!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by ehouston after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great sign... almost past it though only because it was night time.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was non-existant. Got our tickets walked over to the staging area and boom we were off.

Most Unique

The most unique thing was all the creativity and excellent effort that was put into created this haunted house. GREAT JOB EVERYONE!!

Actors' Performance

Very good job to the actors and actresses.

Summary

Only rating it a medium in scare factor because I'm honestly too old to be going to these but, it was AWESOME!!!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 18th, 2019 6:26 a.m. CDT 1.27