ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Randii after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find. They had lights glowing on the outside of the entrance and a big sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasn't any entertainment provided in the waiting area.

Most Unique

Riding in a hurse.

Actors' Performance

All the actors did an awesome job.

Appropriate For

11 +

Summary

All the chainsaws were really awesome!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by tiffabeth86 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were not many signs saying where this was located. I would say it was difficult to find at night.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no entertainment in the wait area. The lines did go fast because it was one the first days.

Most Unique

The last room in the haunted house was the only one I felt creeped me out.

Actors' Performance

The actors didn't seem very into there parts. Every room was basically the same. After the first two rooms of the haunted house I knew what to expect from it because everything after was the same.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

It was definately not worth $12 a person and a long drive from Milwaukee.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by sicilianpunk after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If your from Milwaukee and know your way around its easy to find. There was also a guy waiting outside to give you your ticket.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nothing really to fun. It was a small room where you pay and one of the actors was hanging out.

Most Unique

The floor that makes noise was fun.

Actors' Performance

The actors were great. They were really into the acting. There was one girl that was screaming really loud. She gets all up in your ears and just screams her heart out. Most of the actors where in hiding but the rest were easy to see. And with most of them you could tell who was real and who wasn't.

Appropriate For

14 and Up

Summary

I really thoguht it was fun and scary. I would go again. There were a few times when I was pretty scared.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Amyide after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good. The signs could have been bigger and more noticeable

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Very Unique and different

Most Unique

While waiting to go through the haunted house, we waited in Horse pens. Very unique.

Actors' Performance

Good

Appropriate For

13 +

Summary

There were no "scenes" more walking through hallways than anything. I would have liked to see more rooms with scenes.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by xfeberx after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

fire was nice

Most Unique

slide to hell

Actors' Performance

alot of actors you could hear talking before you go to them and then they got quiet and started acting scary

Summary

I don't really think the morgue imporved at all. i think if anything it went down in scare factor. there are way more little kids running around in the forest as the actors. they have less chainsaws this year.

i think the morgue is pretty much more are you afraid of the dark than anything.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Firefighter after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find and was well marked. The location couldn't be better.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The VIP room was well worth it. A live video feed from inside the Burial Chamber was broadcast on a screen and was very cool to see people go through in real time.

Most Unique

"air bullets" (you have to experience this to believe it)

Actors' Performance

The actors were all excellent and very professional

Appropriate For

12 or over

Summary

A very professionally run facility, great actors and also the staff on hand was very helpful.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was only one sign off of Cty P that was not lit up and we actually passed it and had to turn around. Once we were on Mileview Road it was really easy to find. This isn't a haunted house, it's a corn maze. The fact that it's a corn maze in the middle of no-man's land is just creepy and great!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait time was quite short for us but the wait area was great. We actually waited longer than we had to to go in so we could enjoy the area. They have a bonfire where you can sit and talk and they also have a gift shop, pumpkins for sale, food (including quizno's subs and domino's pizza!). We had a lot of fun waiting even though there were no actors trying to scare us or anything. There are decorations everywhere.

Most Unique

I LOVE that this is a corn maze. It makes it a completely different experience than any house in the area. Being outside in a corn field is so much creepier than being in a haunted house. One of the most unique parts of the maze itself is that they have a mixture of both fake people and real people. There were so many fake animals, monsters, etc. that when you finally got used to seeing the fake ones, a real one would jump out at you and scare you. It took about 45 minutes to walk through the whole thing which was a nice change from a house that only takes sometimes 10 minutes.

Actors' Performance

For the most part, the actors did a good job of scaring us. There were a few that actually knocked me to the ground even... It was completely based on jumping out and hoping the group was scared and screamed. But it was a lot of fun. The last actor in the whole maze was the one who scared me the most!

Appropriate For

14+ (10+ with adult)

Summary

There was plenty of parking available in the lot and there were parking attendants to show you where to go.

The actors were really pretty convincing. The only problem I had was that there were long periods of time sometimes where you'd be walking for a while in the maze and there would be no actors, only scenes with several props, that was a little disappointing. But overall the group I was with was very pleased with the maze.

The music they played and the sound effects they used were very appropriate. There were two actors who made the weirdest but greatest noises as we passed by them, one sort of growled in this crazy animal-type voice and another one used this screechy crazy voice. We really enjoyed the two of them a lot.

You should definitely make the trip to West Bend for this corn maze. You won't regret it!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by abby82 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Pretty easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were two people outside that gave us our tickets. When we got to the ticket booth there was one guy in the room. Now much entertainment at all while waiting. But there was also no lines.

Most Unique

The coolest part was the stars that people are under and they are banging on them as you walk. So your feeling the ground banging. Very cool.

Actors' Performance

Very good! They were all ready and set up to scare you to death.

Appropriate For

N/A

Summary

I thought it was very well put together. I would go again.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was decent. There were plenty of signs and the event was very easy to see once you were on Hubertus Road. It was fun that the house was located in an old school house. Very interesting atmosphere.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were there early enough that the wait was incredibly short. We arrived and god our tickets. There was a group that needed two more people, we were put in that group and got into the house in about five minutes. The wait area is in the gymnasium of the school where they have tables, video games, and some food available. There were some decorations but nothing extravagant. There were a few actors in the wait area, most helping to get people into the house and none of them were trying to scare anyone. It would have been nice to have some sort of entertainment such as movie clips playing on a tv or some creepy music playing.

Most Unique

My favorite part of the house was when you go into the "Blood Donation" room, and more importantly the waiting room to give blood. You're all cramped into this room and the actor says that the doctor prefers his applicant's "shaken not stirred." Right after that the whole room starts skaing, it's great. Also, it was really creative that in the first room they used the movie Saw as the theme with the clown character and the last scene in the house is with this same character. It was nice to make the house come full circle like that.

Actors' Performance

There were a few actors that did an excellent job of scaring my group. Unfortunately, the majority of the actors in the house are children and I have a difficult time being frightened by kids. Right at the beginning you're ushered through this big room/hallway where there's kids telling you to "get out" and "go away," it is not very convincing and does not set the mood very well. Although the characters did manage to stay in character is was slightly disruptive and ruined the effect when, after they would scare us, they would follow it up by telling us to "watch our step" or "be careful" down the staircases and such. I was surprised a few times, they definitely tried to use the "boo" factor.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I very much liked the themes in the house and that it came full circle in the end. The actor who scared me the most was probably the "Saw" clown character. One of the other good rooms was the one with the gorilla. You get scared twice in that room. It was crazy.

There was plenty of parking available in the parking lots and on the street.
The sound effects and music were pretty good, too.

In my opinion, the best actor in the house was the lady before the Blood Donation room that kept asking us questions and wanted to know if we were ready to donate. She was really good and stayed in character very well.

I only had one problem with this house. About half way through, the group in front of us must have lost one of their members somehow and we were stuck waiting in a hallway until they found their other person for about 20 minutes. After that, we did have to wait for some employees to fix part of the mechanics of the house. Otherwise it was pretty decent.

Lastly, I would not recomment this house for anyone under 10. Although I was not very frightened, there was a boy of about 10 in our group who cried through the whole thing and was scared out of his mind. Therefore, I would not recommend it for anyone around that age or younger.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by svault7 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Extremely easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice wait area, everything you could want in a wait area.

Most Unique

The cave was pretty neat.

Actors' Performance

On the train, OK. In the house, so-so. Many were off, meaning they jumped out when we were already on our way out the room. I know it's still early in the season, so maybe their main actors weren't working.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I really want to like Terror on the Fox, but the past few years I walk out disappointed. It's clear they spend a lot of time, money and effort into getting the look they want... but the scares aren't there. Neat to look at, but just not scary.

The new feature this year is not worth the extra ticket price. It's just the Vortex that they've had for a decade in a different place and a bunch of 3D art on the wall. This should just be included in the price. I personally feel they are over-priced.

One thing that pleased me is that it's not so much a techno club (lots of neon and dance lights) like it was in the past few years.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by dewriter after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Visible and very easy to find. Great location that is perfect for a good time.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area was very entertaining and enjoyable, along with much entertainment throughout the house. Never a dull moment.

Most Unique

Characters ranged from mentally insane to completely demonic. Great choice of characters and very well made rooms.

Actors' Performance

Top notch actors that are dedicated to their job. Quality actors that know how to find and exploit a persons fears.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

Worth going to again and again and again. If you are looking for a good scare or a good time. Burial Chamber is the place to go.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by svault7 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find with directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Excellent wait area with the bonfire and grounds. Walking through the woods to get to the wait area is the best, it really sets the mood! The actors should stay in characters when around customers. There were several just walking around, but not doing anything. (have your smoke breaks somewhere the customers can't see) I know it's early in the season, so hopefully they will beef up the scares while people wait. One problem last year was you could not hear the groups being called out over the music. This year they turn the music down when announcing. The music was Pink Floyd and the movie they were showing was The Wizzard of Oz. Neither scary. Here's a great opportunity get people in the right mind-set... so hopefully they start playing scary music/movies.

Most Unique

There's a few, and I don't want to give anything away. But they really give you plenty of surprise scares.

Actors' Performance

Once in the house they were very good. One girl gave the best screams I ever heard!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

They did a good job of changing some things from last year to keep it fresh. The slide is always fun, but you stop half-way down. They advertise no cameras or flashlights, yet they sell glow sticks, etc.. This defeats the purpose of a dark scary place when people walk in with things that glow or light up. They need to inforce the "no light" policy better. All in all, this haunt is great. Nice and long, more bang for your buck!

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by milla0225 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There is no signs, but you can definitely tell where it is because of the entry way with the strobe light, and the building says MARS in red on the side, good location, parking lot on side street to left of building

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no waiting for us, must be a good weekend to go during October, no line at all.

Most Unique

Close encounter monster action, not too close don't worry, just enough to scare the heck out of ya. Great costumes too!

Actors' Performance

The Actors did a very good job of scaring us! Lots of monsters in here, lurking around every corner. I would say all it is missing is some more loud scary music. Although the qiuet moments and then all the sudden loud works too.

Appropriate For

Appropriate for 12 and up no wimpy kids

Summary

This haunted house will definitely make you scream, you won't be let down. Could be just a little longer though, but maybe we were fast going through it.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by milla0225 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find, signs were posted a couple turns ahead of the location,plenty of parking on the property

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There could be more wait area entertainment, but there was big tent to keep warm and also a concession stand

Most Unique

I would have to say the most unique thing about this haunted house was the HUMONGOUS giant monsters they were very scary!

Actors' Performance

The actors were GREAT, very scary costumes and excellent makeup, probably the best costumes I have ever seen

Appropriate For

not for kids under 13

Summary

We drove from Milwaukee, and it was well worth the drive, good job Splatterhaus actors!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by punkmeal_bastard after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs were fairly visable, and the location its self was well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was alot of extras too look at before going in line. The wait was less than 5 minutes.

Most Unique

nothing, really. the best part was the fog, and the almost full moon.

Actors' Performance

Unfortunately, many were not into character very well. Walking along, one even had his mask off.

Appropriate For

6+

Summary

I have to say, i was very disappointed with this attraction. It was very boring, with very few scares. There was probably a total of 10 actors in the extremely long walk. There were little scenes, but no lighting, so you could hardly see them. People became very backed up and it turned into one long line of people walking through a dark cornfield. The only good thing about it was the length. It took about 35 minutes to walk through.
Oh and, dont waste your money on the "bonfire" Its nothing exciting, and definately not something you should have to pay for. Over all the whole attraction was nothing exciting, and too expensive for what it really was.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:30 a.m. CDT 1.8.19