ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by fleshhunter666 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to see. There was a line outside kind of looked like an entrance to a nightclub. There were also signs on the building and on a truck in front of the place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited for about 25 minutes befor gon in and they had at least 3 different characters in the line that were gtting people worked up. This zombie crept up on this group of girls and growled at them and 2 of them took off running. They were ahead of us but their group did not go in until after we got out because they were to scared. Rightfully so.

Most Unique

I liked the clown room. You got to check out the bathroom - Gross!!

Actors' Performance

They were awesome. No "Boos" in here. They totally come at you. The smells inside were so disgusting and real. Be prepared and expect the unexpected. Just when you think something is going to happen, something completely different comes at you.

Appropriate For

+14

Summary

For a smaller haunt they really kept us in there for a long time. We had a blast.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by kmpatterson after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs were clearly visible from the road, getting to the back of the EXPO where the haunt is located can a little confusing, as the parking lot is spacious and there aren't large signs to indicate that you have arrived at the correct location within the parking lot. There was a popcorn wagon and a small, dimly lit booth - upon approaching them we knew we were in the right place. (It was a slow night so we couldn't simply follow the crowd.)

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Again, it was a slow night, but we were escorted into "holding pens" which are used in the summer months to house cattle during the Waukesha fair. The grounds likened them to "cells" where a staff "goul" waited in the cell with us. The performance of our character was undeniably one of the best I've experienced. It was a nice touch to have our own space while we waited for our turn.

Most Unique

Scenes and treatment of what is considered "scary." The lighting was especially good as were the attention to detail (pictures on the wall that seemed to be portraits would change as you walked past). In addition, subtle hints at unsettling items made it more hair-raising - they have seemed to master the "less is more" making it a thoroughly enjoyable experience for those who want a well-done haunt sans cheesy effects.

Actors' Performance

Again, some of the best I've seen. WE happened to visit on a special night - the makeup artist who did the makeup for the water scene in the Titanic worked on the actors that night - with amazing attention to detail such as different colored contact lenses. The actors did participate in typical haunt behaviors, but some particularly impressed us, including some disturbing behaviors that would be likened to a psychotic person (hovering in the corner, making noises that reminded us of a character playing a schitzo), diving onto the ground and crawling after us. The theme seemed to be one of cannibolism - many mentioned we smelled good and they wanted to taste an ear or our blood. Despite some of my friends' attempts to "break" them from character, they never did.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

I have to say, my favorite room was the nursery. The actress in this room was the closest I've seen to really making me creeped out. Couple of things they could improve, the trafficing to the haunt itself and it seemed obvious they were out for compliments - we were pummeled with "which was your favorite room" when we left - a good thing that they are seeking feedback, but at the same time, made me wonder why they were so thirsty for compliments. Also, the cross-referencing of some horribly bad haunts in Milwaukee (the downtown one) gave me pause to wonder.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by croiknuts after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

not sure i was sleeping in a trunk on the way up

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

they have concession stands and the tent you stand under just like every other haunted house has

Most Unique

the first room that guy did great...i liked how u'd walk pass a sensor and things would start going off but after a while i figured it out...umm lighting needs to be a little better timed because you'd always know when something was gonna come out because the lights would turn off and then when they'd turn on something would be there every time.

Actors' Performance

umm actors did a good job... amazing sound system...that had to cost some bucks...the first room with the strobe and the really tall guy i got to say great job that was my favorite room and i've been through a lot of haunted houses

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

good job overall very impressed with sound system makes for a more drammatic affect. alson the coffin with the alien on top was neat..but that first room is the room that got me...great job to whoever did that first room

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by Pyllz after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

the visibility is awesome and the location is great.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The entertainment was awesome, the wait area was ok but its outside thats the only bad thing.

Most Unique

the kitchen lady and the psycho ward

Actors' Performance

the actor's rock Samora is an awesome character. she stares really scarey...then she almost scare the bejeesus out of some body with the out of blue screaming

Appropriate For

all

Summary

i would go again

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by bumhug2004 after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

ok, was kind of hard to find because of construction. no parking area, had to park on side street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait area really, no entertainment outside

Most Unique

the chapel room

Actors' Performance

there were too many long hallways, and everything was covered by very flammable plastic sheeting and the hallways were topped with cardboard

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

some of the security members didn't look like they had any security experience

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by gmaapril after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find plus I have come here every year.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Really no wait, but they had some cool characters creeping around us.

Most Unique

We wnet throught twice and it seemed different each time we went. The scares were different and got us both times. Very cool Setup.

Actors' Performance

Overall, very entertaining. They seemed to have a lot of characters working in there. We had a blast with the autopsy guy. That crazy girl was awesome. How she keeps her voice I don't know.

Appropriate For

+14

Summary

Once again, Mars scared the crap out of us. Nice Job!!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by demonseed after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Elkhorn Walworth Fairgrounds C

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The Clown up front where you wait was very creepy and got three people in front of me to quit right on the spot. They hadn't even went in the Haunt. The Haunt itself was Great. Very Dark had to feel way around. Guess that's why its the house of Darkness. Back to the Clown in the waiting area. Think he was like the clown from Spawn. Kept looking at people's Shoes. Pulling stuff out of his pockets and not letting anyone get it over on him has a comeback for everything. Whuch was funny. Inside the Prison room was one of my Favorites and the clown room with to very good clowns there :)

Most Unique

"Watch out for the Centipide" The clown up front kept warning us about not like you can see them in the Dark

Actors' Performance

Again Clown up front. and the one's in the Haunt. But Most the actors there were on the Ball

Appropriate For

Kids over 13 but seen people with kids younger But most of them ouit real ouick

Summary

Great for the Buck will bring more friends this week

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED

by taylerbaby after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

1559 Forest Home Ave., Milwaukee, WI

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We didn't have a long wait at all, it was early in the evening.

Most Unique

The theme of a haunted circus is very different and very creepy! I loved the way the Freak Show was set up.

Actors' Performance

The actors at this haunted house were very professional and "in character" the whole time. The actual scare factors in this house go beyond the standard darkness and mazes, and a lot of it has to do with the characters the actors played.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

The tour was about 20 minutes long and I felt like we got our money's worth. There wasn't a lot of time wasted in stupid mazes. The scenes are more cerebrally creepy versus blood and gore, though there was plenty of it. I really liked this one!

View all The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by Mercsadies after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I've been to this house before in the past. However, I was confused this year because the directions said it was in Luxemburg. I have ALWAYS known this to be the Dykesville house. Also, 57 no longer runs through Dykesville so the map that is provided ... is very wrong. We ended up in Brussels before getting off onto a county road to make our way back to the right junction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Lots of kids standing around. I assume these were teens who had already been through the house (or friends of the actors?) they would not move for cars entering the parking lot. The actors that were in the parking lot would have been able to do a better job scarying my party if hadn't been crabbily avoiding roadblocks.

Most Unique

This is a very "fun" house. They seem to change the order of the rooms each year ... however nothing unique or striking in the last 5 years.

Actors' Performance

Actors did a good job on timing. However, they were very young. More menacing (taller) actors would have lended better to this house. Biggest complaint - too loud. Actors get in your face and scream at the top of their very adolescent lungs. They only say the same thing ... over and over and over ...

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

What I think would make this house more appealing (given its location) is to incorporate the large yard and surrounding fields - if possible.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by iloveterror after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great directions from their website, signs were visible and easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Short wait for the train ride with appropriate music playing. Waiting area was covered.

Most Unique

The cave, very, very cool and a nice surprise in store for all

Actors' Performance

Actors were awesome and did an outstanding job

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

The group spacing was great, didn't run into the group in front of us and didn't see the group behind. The only thing I would improve upon is more scares for the people near the end of the group. Most scares were directed to the front and having an actor sneak up behind would be an excellent scare.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by MissLissa1983 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The haunted house was really easy to find, there were line baracades up and a sign on both sides of the building. also a creepy clown and ghost where hanging from the roof.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait was fairly short...about 15 minutes. there were a couple of freaky people roaming the line, the guy scared the crap out of the girls in front of me.

Most Unique

every scene in the haunted house is different and keeps you guessing. there were times when you think nothing is going to happen then suddenly there is a goul in your face

Actors' Performance

the actors were really scary. they kept me screaming and jumping all through the haunted house. at one point i was pushing my brother in front of me to make him go through faster because i was so scared

Appropriate For

12+ little ones could get nightmares

Summary

i go to this haunted house every year and it just keeps getting better and better!! they changed a lot this year and it's awesome!!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by vixen1 after attending on Sunday, October 8, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find with the line outside and the signs on the side of the building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Very cool. They had a zombiew guy lurking around and this guy came out with a chainsaw and scared the crap out of us.

Most Unique

The rumbling floor, cool props, the characters really did a great job. A+++

Actors' Performance

I come to Mars every year and in the past they used masks or just plain white and black makeup. This year they had cool face paints and they really worked our group. They jumped out from every corner. The Asylum girl was awesome. Her scream was crazy and she made my sister fall to the ground.

Appropriate For

+12

Summary

Nice job Mars. We will be back next year!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by morgueman after attending on Sunday, October 1, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I know the area pretty well so it was very easy to find. The guys at the main enterance were very helpful.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It wasn't a really long wait so we got in right away. They put us in these cages and throughout the wait there were different ghouls jumping from everywhere. Very Cool.

Most Unique

The stuff throughout the house was very cool. Very well put together. Awesome displays. Very entertaining

Actors' Performance

Their actors were awesome - very entertaining. The girl as you were walking up to the house was creepy. The autopsy girl was gross. I don't know what she was eating but it grossed us out. The girl who jumped out of her crib was awesome. I can't imagine her doing that all night long.

Appropriate For

+12

Summary

We had an awesome time at Morgan Manor. We will definitely be coming back.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by morgueman after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was very easy to find. There were MARS signs on both sides of the building with a strobe in the front stairway with a huge hanging ghost next to it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We did not have to wait to long. It was a perfect weekend to go. There was a creepy, growling zombie in the line who really freaked my wife out. As we were going up the stairs, there was a freaky looking girl coming down the stairs and right after we passed her she gave off this outrageous shriek.

Most Unique

The moving floor in the Asylum room and most definitely the characters. We had an awesome time.

Actors' Performance

Very well done, inside and out the actors knew when to get us. Just when we thought they were done they would get us again. The autopsy guy, The asylum girl and the Toxic waste guy were awesome.

Appropriate For

+14

Summary

We have been coming to Mars for the past 7 years and this was the best timwe yet. We will definitely be coming back. Nice Job.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by mousie after attending on Monday, October 9, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

lots of dark hallways but there was light in there as well. you could see most of the actors while when i had my eyes open i could see most of the actors.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

there was this zombie that was grawling at me and this creepy girl that was staring and didn't smile at all. it was very creepy and scary. after a while she screamed at me too.

Most Unique

definantly the girl in the kitchen and the girl outside with her screaming.

Actors' Performance

the actors where great!! the thing with the scare crow mask on and the dr. guys where awesome. then when you got to the kitchen the girl in there with the mob outfit and black cape was freaky. she was just.... idk how to explain it. oh yeah the one pycho chick was really really freaky. she likes to throw herself into the walls and she is scream at you and she really makes you want to run. i tryed to look up thinking she couldn't scare me that way but that thing hanging there was just as bad.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

hurry up and go before the lines get long... last year they wrapped around the building!!!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:53 p.m. CDT 1.12