ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by MAYHEM after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I live in the area so it's very easy for me to find. Actually within walking distance of my house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice to be able to sit down and wait. That clown is just sick!

Most Unique

The guy at the piano, he kept you off guard so you had no idea what kind of scare was coming.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very into their characters. Very believable.

Appropriate For

10 and up

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by samwise121 after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There's really only one sign, but the location is almost right off the interstate. With directions, it's very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nothing special. They had concesion stands and a one actor walking around who didn't really do anything. There was a band playing the night I went (which sucked) but I think that was only a one time thing.

Most Unique

I'm pretty sure It's safe to say there's a chainsaw guy, but where he comes from is the realy surprising part. They got me good on that one. There's one other part with a very loud noise which was quite surprising... You'll see what I mean.

Actors' Performance

Overall the actors did a good job staying in character but the person in the front of the group can usually pick out where the actors will come from.

Appropriate For

Nonbelievers in Santa, Easter Bunny... etc...

Summary

Throughout the house, the theme is excellent and the displays are pretty good. It's a good quality house with a decent scare. If you're in the neighborhood, I'd certainly suggest stopping in.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by jdude260 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

location is alittle of a jaunt out of the way but the torches were quite visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not much of any wait area entertainment but the people screaming ahead of you

Most Unique

the cart u had to lie on your back and roll through. The fridge and creative ways to get through the house instead of just walking.

Actors' Performance

very good scare tactics and stayed in chracter well. not enough scarers though for how large the house actually was.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

there was alot of void space at the end of the house which felt like they were short a few actors

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by jdude260 after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Almost too easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting line for this event is always interesting

Most Unique

The cave which really was unbelievabally imense ths year. The detailing was really amazing. They spare no expense at all. The nursery

Actors' Performance

WOW! I loved the actors performances they were mostly on the ball with the scares. They always stayed in character and were equally scary.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

Simply one of the best haunts out there. So creative and utilized both live and animatronics in the house. but why the extra 3 bucks for the so called new but same old vortex thingy?

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by jdude260 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

the red light was seen from far away well very easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the graveyard was cute

Most Unique

The very rickety feel of the second floor of the house

Actors' Performance

the actors were above okay for children

Appropriate For

6 and up

Summary

I had to say that it was barely worth the 4 dollars i did enjoy the family who made it and their enthusiasm.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Shanamae825 after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It is a little tricky to find because it is out of town a bit, other than that it was fine, the expo center was a good choice for venue.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was great. Except for the high school kids making out everywhere and pushing you. The actors are always out and about at least 2-3 of them at a time, and they were very good at scaring you.

Most Unique

It's not all walking...

Actors' Performance

The actors were fabulous! They really get in your face though!

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I cried because I was so scared in Haunt 2!!!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by halloweencupcake16 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage wasn't very necessary. Easy to get to. Directions easy to follow from this website.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We didn't even have to wait! The waiting area was covered though. No snacks for sale.

Most Unique

The most unique is that some places were pith blak. Others had such bad vision due to strobe lights and other lights, that you could not see any actor approach you. Awesome lighting.

Actors' Performance

They were AWESOME!!! By far one of the best houses I have been to! Just when you think its over....BAM! Actors were very scary and there were many of them.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

I would suggest this to anyone. Just remember, they love screamers!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by vegasbound365 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is not hard to find, but it is not that easy either & the directions located on www.hauntedwisconsin.com and the haunts website are good. The only signage available is right at the haunt. If you are not careful, you may miss it, but with the amount of cars attending when I reviewed this haunt, I did not have trouble finding it. Because of the popularity and location, the traffic was backing up. Please be courteous of local traffic. If traffic is backing up, do not block the road for oncoming traffic.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Dress appropriately for those chilly October evenings at this haunt. The wait area is outside; and is not covered. The evening of this review, the temperature was a chilly 35 degrees and the wind was picking up, so wear a coat! There was not any entertainment in the waiting area; however, there is a pumpkin stand next to the line where tickets are purchased. Also, once you enter the building, there is a small gift shop. As I said, there was not any entertainment in the waiting area but the entertaining part was the hearse that would drive you to the actual entrance of the haunted woods. This was quite entertaining as the driver was very friendly. Concerning the wait, I visited this haunt on a Saturday evening, at around 8 PM and there were already about 150 people waiting in line for this haunt! The approximate wait was around 2 hours. When I left, the wait was 3 hours plus! This is definitely a popular haunt. Plan your time accordingly, especially if you are planning to attend any other haunt that same evening.

Most Unique

The most unique part of this haunt was the location it was mainly located in the middle of the woods which add to the scare factor. Also, the ride in an old hearse was very unique and fun. Be aware that the operators try to fit about 14 to 15 people in the back of the hearse, so it will be a very tight ride, but only for a short time.

Actors' Performance

The actors performance was less than what was to be expected. The costumes were not that unique and mainly consisted of masks. Some scare actors actually broke character because of the amount of people that were walking into the woods they had to ask them to remain for a minute so that they would not catch up with the rest. This was good and I was glad that they broke character to do this it added to the intimacy of the haunt, but it also took away from the scare factor. Apart from the occasional boo and grr many scare actors just followed you or banged a loud pipe. There were also a few VERY loud chainsaws and a shotgun blast.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

The hearse ride was the most interesting part of this haunt. The props were less than average. This is related to the vastness of the area the haunt covers. You will walk a lot and I do not believe that it is possible to put props at every turn. The props and building that were included were average and could have been more detailed.

For the size of the haunt, I would have expected more scare actors. There was a handful present for the entire haunt.

The end of the haunt came somewhat unexpected by me and many others. As I exited the haunt, I heard many say, That was it? There was not a build-up, nor was there a lot of attractions in this haunt, so as we entered from one building to another, that was it, it was over. I also heard some say that the best part of the haunt was the ride in the hearse.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 3-clown haunt, meaning there were 3 clowns present.

Happy Hauntings!

Johnny

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by vegasbound365 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is not hard to find & the directions located on www.hauntedwisconsin.com and the haunts website are good. Also, mapquest is useful as well. It is located next to the Waukesha airport. There is a big sign for the Waukesha Expo center & that is the location of Morgan Manor. Follow the little signs in the parking lot and look for the group of cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Dress appropriately for those chilly October evenings. The wait area is semi-outside; it is covered, but open. The evening of this review, the temperature was a chilly 35 degrees. I suggest purchasing the Scream Pass. This pass well worth the additional cost for a couple of reasons: 1. If it is chilly outside and you do not want to face the elements; 2. If you want to visit another haunt that same evening, this pass will save you time especially if there are LONG lines. Manor House does a good job entertaining the waiting guests with wandering ghouls that REALLY play the part! There were at least 4 or 5 scare-actors that were entertaining the guests. The costumes and makeup of these scare-actors were AWESOME!

Most Unique

What surprised me most was the quality of the costumes and makeup. These were not simply masks that were just slid on; they were full-blown, well-made costumes that were very detailed. The costumes were very unique and it must have taken them a lot of preparation time to just get the costumes and makeup done. Additionally, there were not repeat characters. Some haunts will have two of this character, two of that. Not Morgan Manor! Each character was unique in its own right and each character went out of their way to give a good performance.

Actors' Performance

The scare-actors were really into character and did not break character at all. You will definitely see some unique characters and not the usual cloaked creatures. Again, the performance was VERY good; many LOVED the smell of fear and would follow you and follow you and follow you. . . Not much else can be said I was impressed by ALL of the actors performances.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

One of the most interesting and worth while parts of this haunted house is the waiting area. After the initial wait and entertainment of the scare actors, you are ushered into some holding cages. While in these waiting cages, the scare actors come into each cage and interact with you. After this, you are lead into the entrance where the actors continue their performances.

This haunted house is quite interesting; the props are not as detailed as some that I have seen, but the performance and the uniqueness of this house more than compensates for this.

The size of the haunt is also a plus. It took us about 20 minutes to complete the house.

One thing about this house was that is was very popular, which means it was very busy. There were times in the house when we were in a line of people and were just walking along. This took away the intimacy of the haunted house because you were sometimes standing there, scooting along with other people. When the first people in line got approached by the scare actors, it took away the surprise for the rest.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 2-clown haunt, meaning there were 2 clowns present.

All in all, this was a very good haunted house, with very good actors and props. Get the Scream Pass because as we enter the end of October, you will be VERY happy that you purchased it!!!

Happy Hauntings!

Johnny

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by chaddoughty after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find and signs you could not miss

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

when we arrived thw hole wait time was about an hour and 45 mins, but during that time we rode the train and went through the 3d house. was no entertaimnet while waiting to go in to house which surprised me given they hadin the past and it was saturday night. also other reviews i have read said ther was. was little dissapointed about that. also i always loved the music blaring and it was not loud at all. yo me it adds to the haunt

Most Unique

the caves by far was the best prop i have ever been in, the beats inside the caves was very unique and was an awesome site. hats off to them

Actors' Performance

were not as many actors as in the past i the few that i have seen in the past and on their web site were not on hand. but the ones they did have did a great job. stayed in character and was very good at what they do

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

loved the actual house more than in the past but i would have liked to see more in line entertainment and louder musib=c it truly does add to the haunt and its what makes terror on the fox one of the best

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by pinkangel after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Couldn't see it from road... needed more lighting or signs!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Decent, cold, but sheltered!

Actors' Performance

They looked like they knew what they were doing and exactally what they needed to do to keep us enteianted

Appropriate For

13 +

Summary

It wasn't very scary...

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Salem's Plot

by Jpdoughgrl after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Upon arriving to the event, there was a big lighted sign pointing the way into the parking lot. Other than the sign, I couldn't see any other lights, decorations, or signs that made the farm visible from the road. However, since the haunt is located out in the country, the big lighted sign should be visible enough, in the dark at least. The location of the event helped the atmosphere of the event. They even had what appeared to be an old unused farm house sitting along the way to Salem's Plot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area for the haunted house attraction was outside of a barn-type building. The outside was dark and, if there was a line, I suppose you could take a relaxing break on one of the coffins around the haunt's entrance. The line was next to nothing, only a couple minutes wait. There was one ghoul waiting outside with the ticket takers, but she did not appear to want to scare anyone. One neat thing: To get to the haunted house, you had to wander through this little decorated, lighted forest-type area. My fiance and I followed a group of seven to the house, and everyone was completely lost as to how to actually get to the haunted house. However, once we started wandering in through the lighted woods part, there were ghosts who told us the way.

Most Unique

The most unique part of the house, or perhaps it was the part that mostly scared me, didn't even involve actors. My group turned one of many dark corners and we were greeted by the loud honking and bright lights of a Jeep charging right toward us. Also, some of the room setups were different, like a doctor's patient's body spurting blood, as well as the prisoner calling out names specifically from our group.

Actors' Performance

The actors performance varied depending on the room and their character. First entering the haunt, you're ushered into a dusty library and a ghoul/guest keeper, in a rather monotone voice, tells the history of Salem's Plot and encourages the group to look at one of the Plots remaining pieces. Our group then met our tour leader, another ghoul, who took us to each of the rooms and narrated each for us, telling us more of Salem's Plots history and beings left behind. Our tour leader knew her lines, although she didn't seem too excited about performing. She brought us from room to room in a rather fast pace, and it was difficult to hear her in parts of rooms, despite only being part of a group of four. The actors in the rooms, however, did a great job of staying in character and were able to surprise us. One really memorable performance was of the young prisoner calling to us for help, actually using one of our names, and because we didn't help him, we saw him meet his fate in the believable electric chair.

Appropriate For

12-20

Summary

While you can tour the Plot in a large group, I wouldn't recommend it because even in our group of four, it was difficult to see the entire room as our tour leader talked about it. There really was no time to stop and peer in each room after she finished talking. Also, perhaps because of the fast pace from room to room, the haunt was really short. I felt that took away part of the scary element and thrill of each room.

View all Salem's Plot reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by coachlaine after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We were familiar with the area, so once we were on Broadway, we knew right where to go. Big lit sign by parking area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The video while waiting for the train was interesting, but hard to see. My group sat on the top level in the train, so we were disappointed that the ghouls didn't come up there. The fog machine made us gag after a while (not enough ventilation). The line moved along quickly, but we couldn't believe there was no one out and about along the line. It looks like maybe there are some scenes where something could take place, but didn't. Since it was so cold, we would have loved to have some entertainment to take our minds off the fact that our hands, arms & feet were becoming numb.

Most Unique

the cave with its animatronics was a neat addition

Actors' Performance

The actors were acting out their scenes, but less than 25% tried to scare us. Many were sitting in chairs watching us go by. They looked tired and like they gave up their roles unfortunately

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

We went through it really fast and when we walked through the exit everyone in the group said, "That's it?" Try to win tickets to this one, because $12 is a lot for the little that you get. TOTF needs to re-evaluate what a good scare is. The technology is impressive, but the scare factor is missing.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by Courtney after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions on the website were good, considering me and my friends had no idea where we were going. There were some signs on Hwy P but that's all we saw

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Well I was disapointed that there weren't any actors walking around scaring us in line, and they're numbering system didn't really work that great.

Most Unique

I guess it was the fact that they made us histarically laugh instead scream.

Actors' Performance

I wasn't pleased with the actor's performance at all. Through the whole corn maze there was only like 5 actors that scared one of my friends. We kind of expected it too. Then there was a guy that was walking around that wasn't suppose be in the maze who was part of the crew, so that kinda ruined the mood.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

I was just surprised because there weren't many actors through the maze. I heard in past years that it was great, and this year it wasn't that great. I was just really disapointed about the whole thing.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by coachlaine after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We printed directions from the internet, but there were no signs anywhere, directing us to the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

loud heavy metal music while we waited. Loved the guy with long hair and the chainsaw while we were in line. Very entertaining!!

Most Unique

the shooting toilet! loved it! The room with doors numbered "1" and "2" was great, and when we ended up back there (or so we thought) it was freaky!!

Actors' Performance

All of the actors did a phenomenal job! I was terrified and jumped a LOT. You never knew where the next actor was coming from. They worked on everyone in our group equally, not just the front or back of the group.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

There are stretches of complete darkness! You really have to feel your way around...

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 22nd, 2019 2:13 p.m. CDT 1.8.19