2006 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tesstundra after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

there were lots of signs indicating where the location was.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait airea was very interesting and scary

Most Unique

the most unique was the stalls they had us waiting in before we could go in!

Actors' Performance

very well done!

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

it was a very well done haunted house!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by evil_lives after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs out on road, easily visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait was not too long, actors in waiting area made it scary from the get-go.

Most Unique

I don't want to give too much away. Everything was unique in its own way.

Actors' Performance

GREAT! I was scared the entire time I was there.

Appropriate For

10 and up.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by louiscyphre after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was fine, its next to the Automotive Museum/VFW (?) in Hartford, which is a very visible landmark. Plenty of parking in front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We went on opening night, and close to closing time, so there was basically no wait for us. They had, as usual, a large covered waiting area with a "Spooky Snack Stand" staffed by eager volunteers. They organize the eventual entry into the house effectively, and it looks impressive. No entertainment provided the night we were there, though I'm guessing this will change as they get busier; there were TV's in the waiting area which I'm assuming will provide horror movies, etc.

Most Unique

Companions and I were all freaked by the juxtaposition of creepy laughing clowns and a school bus; Someone (Houdini?) once said that seeing a clown in a circus in the daytime is no big deal, but seeing one in the middle of the road at midnight is something else, and I would have to say I agree with that...

Actors' Performance

Good -- again, this was the opening night, so storylines/schticks were somewhat tentative; some of the actors seemed quite game, however, ("You're not revenuers are you? I hates revenuers...") and I'm guessing characters/scenes will develop better with more practice over the coming weeks. They seemed eager to interact, too. Good use of wigs (!)

Appropriate For

Usual gore and chopped up body parts, blah blah blah; there's a particularly good scenario which might freak out kids who ride the school bus...heh heh heh

Summary

Good misdirection in many scenes, particularly the checkerboard game. Clearly put a lot of time into it again this year; also fairly long haunt, took about 15-20 minutes to get through, I think. Felt like we got our money's worth. Does use some of the same special effects one has come to expect from Terror on Rural Street; I know they're probably very proud of their previous technical accomplishments, but maybe they should give the half-man-speaking-into-a-headphone-set a rest. Although we're still not sure how that works...Also, there is no central theme or storyline holding things together, so some of the rooms seem quite disparate from each other.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by born4acting16 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 6:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

This was extremely easy to find and the location was great.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was good.

Most Unique

The squishy floor was most unique.

Actors' Performance

The actors were great. They did an excellent job scaring you.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

This was a great haunt. The actors were great and the house was set up really well.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by born4acting16 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were enough signs for me not to get lost getting there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I had VIP tickets so during the wait we sat around a fire and had hot chocolate.

Most Unique

The air bullets were very unique.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very good. Some were out of character a little bit though.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This was an extremely good house. The 3-d house wasnt really all that different. The only thing is they had the vortex in that than in the original house with a bunch of rooms. The graphics were good.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by born4acting16 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 1:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions on here wernt right. i went about 10 miles out of the way following the directions they gave on here. They only had one sign that was right at the parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was good. They had a fire and food to buy. We got there early so we didnt have a long wait.

Most Unique

I like the whole effect of a pitch black maze.

Actors' Performance

The actors were good. I think they couldve done better. And the actors in the waiting area shoulda tried scaring you, not just walking around.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This was a great haunted house, but we ended up meeting up with another group because they didnt know where to go. They had 2 little kids and were using a flashlight, so it ruined the rest of the house for us, but im going again later this year.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by booboo1217us after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Ok location, we drove right by at first! Maybe another sign on other side of street would be helpful!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait to get out tickets or to hear about the rules, but there was a wait to get in the actual house. A little unorganized but also the first weekend!!!

Most Unique

Going from one area to the next how the different music was playing to go along with the theme of room.

Actors' Performance

There was a lot of neat special effects, could have been a few more live actors but the ones that were in there did do a good job.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

Overall it was good, we only went to the haunted manor. They also have a haunted corn maze too.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by booboo1217us after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Always a good location...Out in the woods!!!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait for us to get our tickets or to get into the woods!

Most Unique

The guy in the tree & bridge!

Actors' Performance

Very very very good! Never just sitting around or not expecting the next group to be coming! Always ready!!!

Appropriate For

about 13 and up

Summary

I have been coming to this haunted woods for many many years now, and by far I feel this is the best and scariest year yet!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by ilovehalloween after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was no Signage till you got to the place, so make sure you keep a look out for it. I think I noticed the sign as I approached the place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait, which was nice. Not too much entertainment, but that was fine with there being no wait.

Most Unique

You would think it is all in the woods, but there are some rooms out in the woods that you will walk into, which have different scenes in them. I liked that! The hearse ride out to the woods was very unique, but that's all I will say about that. I will leave the rest of what happens on the way up to you to go see.

Actors' Performance

The actors were for the most part into it. One actor was singing or jamming out rather then trying to scare us.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

It's somewhat different from other haunts, so if you want a little change and want to be scared at the same time I would suggest this one to you.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Corn at Lindners Farm

by moonie after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Nice big sign right out in front. We did turn into the school first (so did the van in front of us) that is directly before the Farm.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were lots of cars but the wait wasn't long at all. It was fun waiting in the dark and hearing all the screams.

Most Unique

We liked the tunnel the best. I also liked having to dunk to go thru a door way and walking thru the closet was cool. Funny, but I was afraid of a bubble. I thought it was a spider. ah ha!

Actors' Performance

The actors jumped out and said BOO. Even the security guards where yelling BOO. That's about all that happened. There was one actor who said, "What's up?!" We thought that was different.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

My husband would rate the scare factor a 2 but my sister and her husband would rate it at a 4. The maze really wasn't worth it. We were bored and we were laughing at the actors. We would even describe some of the actors as "cute". Be prepared to do a lot of walking and not much happens. We also bought pumpkins and scarecrows after (great deals)!

View all The Corn at Lindners Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by JeffGlok19 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

This was kind of difficult to find. Once we exited the highway, it was hard to find the road to turn on that lead to the Expo Center

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited approximated an hour. The wait area is extremely boring. I was totally disappointed. There were absolutely NO actors, nothing to look at, and nothing to do.. In fact, it was so boring, that one of the ladies in the line was scaring people.

Most Unique

I would have to say the props. Defintely awesome.

Actors' Performance

The actors were decent. This haunt is hyped up MUCH more than what it is... Especially the beginning with the cells. That was really lame.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

If you're someone that enjoys really neat props, then this is the haunt for you. If you're looking for a scare, it's not really all that it's cracked up to be. Also, there spacing out between groups is terrible. We caught up to the group in front of us, we stopped at waited, caught up to them again, and then the group behind us caught up to us...

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's a relatively easy location to find. If you're from Milwaukee it's a lot easier. Just know that it's on the north side of Mitchell Street and you can only see MARS written on the side of the building if you're coming from the west! Also, you'll probably be able to see the line waiting outside.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasn't much for wait entertainment, although we didn't have much of a wait, either. We only had to wait outside for about 5 minutes, it was a great weekend to go! Then we went inside to get our tickets and went into the haunt about another five minutes later. Unfortunately there was no music, no actors or no film clips playing in the wait area.

Most Unique

There were two excellent scenes. The first was the "Dollhouse." The woman/girl who let us into the room said "dolls always like to play" and it just totally set the mood for the creepy room. My other favorite was the Milwaukee County Asylum. You walk through this hallway where there are psych patients and the whole floor shakes as you're walking over it, that's pretty neat.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a spectacular job of both staying in costume and scaring my group and I. My favorite actress was the girl pushing the baby cart. She was excellent and so incredibly creepy!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This is one of the best houses I've been to this year, but at the same time, it's also one of the shortest. It would be perfect if the walk-through took more than ten minutes. They certainly know how to get to people and hit the right nerves to get you just scared enough.

Very well planned and the costumes and make-up were really neat as well.

I highly recomment this haunt if you don't mind that it's a bit short.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's difficult to find if you're not from the area. Make sure you look for 15th street and then it's on the left side of the road. No signs pointing to it, though, you just have to keep your eye out! The fact that it's in a big abandoned warehouse is kind of fun and scary.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no entertainment while we waited, but we also had no wait at all. As far as I could tell, though, there was nothing there. No actors, no music, just a line to wait in.

Most Unique

The best part of the haunt is when the rules are being explained to you. I don't want to give anything away and ruin it, so you'll have to check it out yourself! =) The first room of the haunt is supposed to be this outside courtyard type area and there's a couple of actors in there and they made me jump a couple of times. The majority of the house is dedicated to the surprise and make you jump and scream your brains out type of scares. It's a lot of fun and I certainly obliged to the screaming and jumping at the surprises, but it got a little redundant. One of the most creative rooms/scenes in the haunt is the one based on the movie "Saw." They have the clown character from the movie in one area and then you walk into a room based on the bathroom in the movie and it's just the coolest and creepiest looking room. The only downside was that there wasn't much of a scare in the room at all. There was one actor who didn't seem to fit the scene whatsoever and he didn't do a thing to scare us, just sort of sat there. That was a bit of a disappointment.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a good job of staying in character. There were a few that really did a good job of scaring my group and I. A lot of the scares were based on surprise - jumping out at you from behind a corner sort of stuff. The clowns in the "fun house" did a good job of confusing us since they kept telling us to go in different directions (very clown/fun house style entertainment). We eventually found our way out of the room.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

The only downfall to this haunt is that it's relatively short.

Also, they send a "guide" with you through the haunt which is basically a chaperone making sure you go in the right direction and don't hit the actors or steal/vandalize anything. I thought it was a little demeaning, actually. I can understand that they might have troubles with unruly guests, but I didn't enjoy it much.

Overall, however, if you're from the area and not driving too far, it's a fun haunt to visit. Nothing that would scare anyone too badly.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by swiftyslammajamma after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was somewhat easy to find - they had a red flashing light on the barn but it was slightly away from the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not too bad - in fact there wasn't a wait when we went.

Most Unique

Um..well I guess I've never seen so many little kids doing the scaring.

Actors' Performance

It wasn't that scary honestly, There were tons of little kids "scaring" people and they were probably the scariest things there.

Appropriate For

All

Summary

I guess it went really fast for $4. I wouldn't recommend it. It would be a good, quick performance for younger kids because it's quick and doesn't scare you that much.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by Randii after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easily located. Big signs posted.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasn't any entertainment provided in the wait area.

Most Unique

Walking through a "closet" with all the clothes hanging. The decorations were very well put together.

Actors' Performance

The corn maze: Some of the actors did an awesome job...while some of them just didn't have any heart in it. The Manor: All the actors were AWESOME!!!

Appropriate For

all ages

Summary

One of the actors in the corn maze picked up on one of our names and kept talking to her using her name. That really creeped her out!

In the manor the actors picked up on the fact that I'm deathly afraid of clowns and kept using that against me.

I loved how the actors paid so close attention to us, to make it scarier!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 9:44 p.m. CDT 1.6.3